A5. South Shore 35 - Honolulu
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
This spacious home features a large sunken living room and multiple rooms that open to the ocean. The front of the home has a grass yard that spills down to a private beach, accessible only by the few upscale homes located along the beach. Central air conditioning and a jacuzzi with an ocean view are a few of its features. RATES: Regular Base Rate $625nt. up to 8. Each additional guest $35/nt. up to 15. Summer Base Rate (6/1-8/30) $625/nt. Thanksgiving Base Rate $675 . Christmas Base Rate (12/15- 1/5) $800/nt. 5 night minimum Spring, Summer and Fall seasons 10 night minimum preferred during holiday season
# w11321221-01 Local Contact:...Read more
Rental Property is located in Honolulu, Hawaii, but cannot be displayed on a map. Contact the manager for more details
We do not have the specific location for this property. Contact the manager for more details
A5. South Shore 35 - Honolulu
located in Honolulu, Hawaii, but cannot be displayed on a map. Contact the manager for more details
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$675 - $875||$675 - $875||$0||$0||-|
|Christmas Rate , 8 person occupancy, $35 per additional guest||$875||$875||-||-||-|
|Regular Rate , 8 person occupancy, $35 per additional guest||$675||$675||-||-||-|
|Summer Rate , 8 person occupancy, $35 per additional guest||$695||$695||-||-||-|
|Thanksgiving Rate , 8 person occupancy, $35 per additional guest||$675||$675||-||-||-|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
- Cleaning Fee (9+ guests) - $400 / stay - Fee
- Cleaning Fee (up to 8 guests) - $250 / stay - Fee
- Reservation Fee - $100 / stay - Fee
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 18, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Irvine, California, United States
Gorgeous location, abundant space, great service.
Walk through the front door and the vision through the opposite wall just envelopes you. Behind the glass windows and door that in front of you is the ocean. This is what is meant by oceanfront-- not across the street, not downstairs, not across the hotel lobby, a patch of grass in the backyard is what separates you from the sparkling ocean. That is *the reason* you want to rent this home.
We had a party of 8 adults and 5 kids. There was ample room and beds for everyone and never did the house feel cramped. As others have eluded to, everyone finds their little niche in the house and it is great for entertaining. The back yard easily accommodated 18 people for a family backyard barbeque. There's a Weber Genesis (great Grill) grill in the backyard along with a hot tube, hammock, and lots of seating to enjoy that view. It's an older house and the furnishings weren't spectacular, but adequate. Everything was clean and comfortable. Same goes for the kitchen, we found everything we needed to prepare multiple meals. A second refrigerator was immensely useful.
The beach is a bit rocky but is calm and shallow and good for kids to go playing and wading in. We didn't spend much time in the water in front of the house. The location is is also ideal. It's a 15 minute drive to Waikiki (when there's no traffice). There's Costco, Safeway, and Foodland within a 7 minute drive. Close to Hanauma bay and several of the strip malls in that general vicinity.
The minor issues with the house was that being right next to the road, there is some road noise in the bedroom next to the kitchen if you listen carefully. We had the air conditioning on most nights (that room has its own aC unit), so it became white noise and we had no issues sleeping. The road noise was not noticeable in the rest of the house. Getting in and out of the driveway was also a little harrowing as it is right on the major highway and backing out into it was always a bit of a hassle. There was also some burnt light bulbs, circuit breaker trips, and a clogged sinks, but they sent someone out the same day and they were all addressed. Excellent service.
Some other nice perks included a some beach equipment (beach mats, snorkels, masks, water shoes) were available in and around the house.
All in all, if you're looking for a decent, clean and comfortable home with a stunning view and good location. This is it.
Fall River, Massachusetts
great place for large group, driveway can easily hold 3 cars. We enjoyed walking out to the sand bar at low tide. Courtesy and friendliness of neighbors. easy to get to large grocery store, shopping centers, and Hanauma Bay. You definitely need a car because a taxi = $75.00!
we really enjoyed the hot tub, barbecue, beach, ambiance!
Our own little piece of Paradise on the Beach
We were awestruck from the time we walked thru the door of this beautiful well appointed home. We were traveling with a group of 10 people, the youngest being 43, and the oldest was 90 (whose Birthday we were in Hawaii to celebrate). All of the rooms were so spacious, and decorated in true Hawaiian "style" which only added to the experience. Very large and open, but yet felt very warm and cozy. Everyone soon found their favorite spot to sit and enjoy the views, whether it was on one of the three deck areas, on the beach, or relaxing on the chaises in the sun room. Even with a group of 10 (incl only one couple), everyone felt that there was plenty of room for each of us to have our own "space". I could go on forever. I am writing this on behalf of my Grandmother, Marge, whose 90th Birthday we were there to celebrate. With my Grandma's limited mobility, she had thought she would never be able to make the trip to her dream vacation spot, but after her knee surgery a year and a half ago, it gave her a whole new lease on life, providing her with the ability to once again travel, and finally have her life long dream (to visit Hawaii) realized. Our stay at this home was truly the icing on the "birthday" cake. We will definitely recommend to friends and family, and hope to visit your beautiful home again. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality, and a special thanks to amanda, and the rest of the staff at Hawaii Beach Homes for their assistance throughout the planning and booking process, and for ensuring all of our needs were met. Mahalo!!
Huntington Beach, Ca
Our family just returned from an extended visit to Oahu for our son's graduation from the University of Hawaii. Our stay at the house was amazing and so much better than we expected. It is a beautiful home with plenty of room for a big family to spread out. We spent the majority of our time on the back deck and yard enjoying the incredible weather and lovely views. The kitchen and living areas are bigger than they appear in the pictures, and there are plenty of dishes and cooking utensils. We found everything that we needed to make our stay comfortable - even a portable crib in the storage closet. Thank you for sharing this amazing home with us and helping our family create lasting memories of an amazing family vacation!
We had the best family vacation in February 2012. Lovely rooms and breathtaking views. Our only regret was that we didn't spend enough time home to enjoy the spectacular view. Highly recommend it for a large group.
Hawaii at its best
This home was a fabulous place for my husband and myself, our 2 daughters and their families. We were on the island fo 10 days for our son's wedding. The location is fantastic for vacationing. After the wedding we did all things tourist. Thanksgiving on the lanai was fantastic, since usually we have lots of snow to look at.
The house comes completely equipped, with towels, pack & play for baby and a highchair. The beds are comfortable. Having 4 bathrooms was wonderful for us. The kitchen was well equipped except for silverware.
We loved South Shore 35. It's located right on the bay and the view as you step through the front doors certainly looks enticing. As you advance through the house and out on to the deck, it's breathtaking.
The house is nicely decorated, was really clean, and has all the amenities you could ever want during a vacation. We loved the little things like unfettered wireless.
This was a combination business/vacation trip, so being able to quickly get into Honolulu was important, but the ability to hit a hammock and hear the sound of the surf at your feet was equally important.
Oh, the home is right along the highway, but that's just the geography of that area of Honolulu. The road noise at the back of the house isn't bad, and in the front, you only hear the ocean.
The home isn't far from the world famous Hanauma Bay, and the snorkeling and beach fun there is terrific. Diamond Head is also close by.
For a group or family, I'd highly recommend South Shore 35.
House for wedding guests
This house is beautiful. My fiancee and I rented it for our wedding guests from the mainland. It's nicer than the pictures show; it has high ceilings and is quite roomy. It was hard for us to coordinate everything between our guests (some were staying for different days and we weren't positive who all would be staying there until last minute), but the staff were very accomodating.
James A. Harrell Jr.
I was there for a week with my family (wife,three sons and two wives). We had a great time and enjoyed the house. Our only complaint was the location in terms of the road(it was difficult to enter and exit). The extra lane on weekdays helped as I had to go in each morning to participate in a conference).
Amanda was very helpful. She set the house up and all instructions were very clear.
Best rental property in Hawaii for large groups
The nicest home we have ever stayed in, anywhere. Great location, central to everything on Oahu, wonderfully appointed home. We cannot say enough about how much this property enhanced our vacation in Hawaii. Large rooms, bathrooms for all, great lanai - total relaxation in a wonderful home. Hawaii Beach Homes staff was great to work with - highly recommended.
Great Oceanfront Beach house
What more can you say about oceanfront Hawaii. Close to Honolulu and all attractions too. Its worth the money.
Great Island Getaway
This house was almost perfect for us (2 families, each with 2 teenagers) - the layout of the bedrooms, the view, and the proximity to things we wanted to do (snorkeling, shopping, Waikiki). It was clean, well appointed and very spacious. The property management company was very helpful in answering our questions and directing us to good recommendations for things to do. Two disappointments, however, were the amount of road noise inside the house - especially at 6am in the morning during the week (this made it nearly impossible to sleep in), and the quality of the beach (it was very rocky and full of coral). Our kids, even as teenagers, LOVE to play in the surf and build sandcastles, which is the one of the main reasons we picked this house as it "had its own private beach". Sadly, it was not suitable for what our kids wanted it for. As a result, I think the kids spent more time inside watching TV instead of enjoying the outside - a real tragedy when you come all the way to Hawaii to enjoy its warm water and sandy beaches.
South Shore Paradise
Rented the house for a group of friends coming to Honolulu for the week, and the house was the perfrct place to relax--noise from the main street barely noticeable once on the beach side, amazing views, hot tub, hammock, new Weber grill, all the kitchen tools one could want. Even a big LCD TV with a Blue Ray player. Truly a fully loaded property arranged in such a way that 15 people can enjoy it without constantly bumping into each other and stepping on each other's toes.
Perfect for our family vacation!
We stayed with our 3 kids (ages 15 - 22) and the number of rooms and baths was perfect. The hot tub was a huge hit. We watched fireworks on the 4th of July from the bay right off of the backyard. The kids took surf lessons at Ala Moana Bowls with Nancy Emerson, whom I *highly* recommend. The kitchen and BBQ let us enjoy "eat in" meals that were fabulous (we love to cook). The extra fridge for beverages was a fantastic idea. We had originally looked for a property with a pool, but we didn't even miss it staying here!
Satisfied renters from Peshastin
There were 6 adults and 6 children ages 13 to 21 and there was plenty of room for all!
A great home away from home.
stan lott's review of BD. South Shore 35
The home is beautiful and comfortable and the view is great. We were however, a little disappointed in the beach. It was very shallow for a long way out. Not a swimming beach. The home was very acceptable. You just have to go elsewhere to get in the water.
Had a great time
It was unfortunate that we ran out of Propane on the grill while we were cooking dinner (back up tank was also empty) - but office was prompt in bringing a new tank when I called. Housekeeper was especially helpful when we checked in.
The family was large satisfied. It is difficult to request perfe
It satisfied it overall. Please let me ..point how many.. comment the experience.
The garden is wonderful in front of the sea.
The room is ..beauty.. wide. The bed is large.
Furniture, the consumer electronic, the Internet, and the gas barbecue are equipped and it is functional.
A little problem
The noise of the car that runs at high speed on the road is anxious for a moment in the bed room.
The temperature of the hot water of the shower became the temperature of water when there were a lot of numbers of use.
On the weekend, time when the jacuzzi was blocked and did not function was just regrettable. (Corresponded to Monday. )There was a commotion where the front door had been locked opened in the middle of the night twice. (cause uncertainty)
Other broken things
Key in the glass door on dining side. The CD recorder doesn't function.
There was a trouble to which the number of the key was not able to enter equally. (..coming at once reporting.. thank you)
bd. south shore 35
Wedding and Family Reunion
We truly enjoyed our "paradise" in south shore. When the weather cooperated, the ladies will walk the beach with "Kona" the neighborhood "canine ambassador". We were minutes away from good restaurants, shopping and within walking distance to several churches. We will not hesitate to rent this property again.
We arrived in Hawaii after 4 busy days in Las vegas so we were r
As soon as we waked in we were really overawed. The house was very spacious we appreciated this as we were a party of 5 adults. We loved the open plan layout inside and the outside space wss fantastic. Only drawback was there were only 2 loungers but there were plenty of other seats We loved Oahu and the people. House couldn't have been better only drawback if you are not used to traffic noise this may disturb you at night. Hope to return at some time (soon)
South Bend, In
South Shore 35 thumbs up
Great clean property. Nice bedrooms and outside area on beach. Beach is a bit rocky but nice. Neighbors very nice and friendly....
Pacific Palisades, Ca
OK Beach House - a few big issues
I was surprised to find that the house is directly on H1. Traffic is loud is all but 1 rooms. And because the house is on the HWY, you can not open the windows in the back three bedrooms. Also, the beach has a lot of garbage on the beach. Other houses clean up the garbage, but this house has piles of broken shells, seaweed, plastic, etc. that has been collecting for some time.
We stayed here 5days.
Thia house is dream house.
We love it!!
We stayed here just 5days that,s mean too short stay this great house.
We,ll coming back to over week this time and we like to more enjoy to this house.
Great for main bedroom.
But other room is to noisy about heavy traffic road outside.
Also need more entertainment in living room
Response from Hawaii Beach Homes - 01/01/2009
A new intertainment center was added. House had just under gone new furnishing before these quests arrived.
Gail P.'s review of BD. South Shore 35
A couple small items of concern: shower control in 2 bathrooms difficult to regulate water temp; 1 fan did not work; light switches not labled, guessing game what worked what; wash cloth left in washer soured, took a few loads to get rid of smell.
An item of large concern: huge amount of termite droppings into and behind kitchen sink. When cleaned, were back in a short amount of time. Tried to catch with paper towel, but still dropped into and around kitchen sink.
Response from Hawaii Beach Homes - 11/10/2008
kitchen has been replaced no more termites. temp gage in showers fixed the parts finally arrived from the mainland. Good idea to label the switches so many fans and lites. Thank you for your comments. Delores
Vacation in Honolulu
We would highly recomend this home. The CD player skipped. The hottub was great and the bay has these sandcrabs that bite. The kitchen was perfect to cook for 10. A bit of road noise. Neighbors friendly.
Webb City, Mi
Hawaiian Holiday for 14 School Teachers!
The beach house was WONDERFUL! We were a group of 14 teachers enjoying a Hawaiian vacation. We ALL totally were impressed with the house especially being right on the beach. The location was close to Waikiki, Diamond Head and Hanauma Bay. We definitely would recommend it for a large group.
The house was perfect for our family. The children and adults all enjoyed being on the water. We were able to snorkel and enjoy the water without leaving the house. It's location is close to Waikiki for shopping and dining out, but still far enough away for quiet time too. We would certainly consider staying there again.
We had a great time at the houst, but by looking at the pictures you think that you can walk to the beach. You can't, it's just like a lake, and at certain times of the day the water gets very dirty. We had to drive to the beach everyday. A shame since we thought we renting a house with a beach.
We loved the very spacious home with wonderful views of the ocean and beach. The only problem we noticed was that in the hall bath between bedrooms we were unable to get warm water in the shower. It would be nice to have that checked. It was wonderful having so many baths along with the bedrooms. We loved the beautiful wrap around deck and hot tub with tables, chairs and grill to use.
Poor professionalism from staff
We loved the property and location but were extremely disappointed in the treatment, professionalism and attitude of Hawaii Beach Homes staff.
A VACATION TO REMEMBER
THE HOUSE WAS PERFECT. WE WERE NERVOUS ABOUT RENTING ON LINE AND WERE SO PLEASED WITH THE LOCATION, THE HOUSE, HAD MORE THAN ENOUGH ROOM. EVEN HAD A NEIGHBORHOOD DOG WHO CAME AND VISITED. THE INSTRUCTIONS TO GET IN WERE VERY CLEAR. HAD A SMALL PROBLEM WITH HOT TUB, THEY WERE OUT IMMEDIATELY TO REPAIR. WOULD LIKE TO MAKE THIS A YEARLY VACATION SPOT-YOU WILL NOT GO WRONG RENTING THIS PLACE. THE KIDS DIDN'T WANT TO COME HOME/NEITHER DID THE PARENTS. THIS TRULY WAS PARADISE.
The house was beautiful. The location was very good. Near a Costco and a Safeway. I would definitely rent from Hawaiian Beach Homes again.
San Jose, CA
Unfriendly Management People
The property only had ONE roll of paper towel for one week's stay. There was not enough toilet paper. The washer/ dryer were not clean. Had mildew smell. Nephews and Niece came over to visit my kids on the way to a water sport outing and we were having BBQ, the stayed for a bit to have a bite to eat and we were charged for violation of contract. Better read your contract clear. I don't appreciate their accounting office either. They over charge me at first and did not want to refund me until I contacted them many times. The location was great though but I would not put up with their unfriendly management people. I am a rental property owner myself and I don't treat my guests like that. I will not go back there again even though it is a great location.
Family vacation house
Terrific family vacation home. Plenty of space and ocean front. 10 min to Waikiki. I already had two more friends rent this house when relatives came to visit. Cheaper per room than a Hotel. Much more fun when everyone stays together instead of different hotel rooms.
San Fransico, Ca
Beach is good for...
Beach is good for wading and some fishing but not really for swimming.
Great family vacation house in a great location
Location was great with Aina Haina shopping center nearby. Parking was a bit tricky and the beach was not exactly a swimming beach, but rooms were large and comfortable and kitchen well stocked. We would go back, which is what counts.
Thank you very much! We loved your place and so happy that we could invite people to take pictures for wedding!!! For sure, we will let you know when we wanna rent the house again!! Thank you agian!
Spring Break 2008
One negative was if you had to back out of the driveway. It was the main street and quite busy. And, there was only parking for 3 cars (maybe 2 more, but someone would have to move their car if someone else wanted out). No street parking. Plenty of room both inside and out. 3 of the 4 bedrooms had their own private bathroom. It would've helped if they would've labeled the many light swithches. Since we had a late flight out of Honolulu, they were able to accomodate us with a later check-out.
Would love to go Back
Even though I live in Honolulu, I would love to have the chance to stay at this place again... my guests and I couldn't have been happier. As a resident, it was nice to provide a place for my friends and family to stay... and also take advantage of the opportunity to stay with them and feel a little like a tourist in my own town! One thing that was pivotal to me about this place was its location... outside the madness of town and Waikiki but still reasonably close so that it was convenient to other attractions, familiar restaurants, etc. Everyone was happy with these stellar accomodations. Aloha!
Hawaiiana at it's best!
We lived in Hawaii for five years and always feel as if we are returning home when we vacation there. This home was lovely with a beautiful view of the bay. Our granddaughter came with us and thoroughly enjoyed going out each day to build sandcastles in front of the house. The calm waters are perfect for children. The home was comfortable with lots of space. We picked this location because it was so centrally located to stores, Sea Life Park, traveling north up the coast, and getting quickly into Waikiki. It was away from the hustle-bustle of the Honolulu central so gave more of a feeling of tropical vacation time. Will stay there again.
Salt Lake City, Ut
My 50th Birthday Celebration
I had the whole family together for the week and it was fabulous to all be staying in the same house! There was plenty of room for privacy as each couple had their own bedroom room and bathroom. We took turns cooking and the kitchen was very well set up. We woke up every morning and had coffee on the deck, watching the sunrise over the ocean...Wow!!! It could not have been a more perfect stay!
Kristy I.'s review of BD. South Shore 35
the beach water was the only thing that was a little disappointing.
10 Days in Paradise!
The house was fantastic! It felt like home away from home. The rooms were nicely decorated and clean. The beds were comfortable and with high thread count sheets which were very soft. The home was right on the water and the hot tub and hammock were added bonuses! We enjoyed the time we spent with my sister and parents and left with memories to last a lifetime. Thank you!