Dancing Bear Chalet is located less than ½ mile from the Main Lodge. It sits on a private heavily wooded lot in the Alpine North subdivision. This chalet features a rustic exterior and interior with quality appointments throughout. Southern exposure provides a bright living area. The large family/rec room provides games for the whole family. New this season is an outdoor hot tub.
Booking requirements: 3 night weekend minimum stay (ski season only)
Not a bad thing to say from any of the nine people who stayed.
Left on 02/13/2014 for a stay in February 2014 | Gumby
Requested more towels twice ( once by mistake), and they arrived within 15minutes. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms clean. Everyone used and enjoyed the hot tub. Wi-fi came in handy with the kids texting and being able to listen to Pandora. Large area when you enter to put boots, jackets, and so forth. Would come again.
Jump River, WI
Cozy cabin with a great hot tub!
Left on 02/05/2014 for a stay in January 2014 | J Oelkers
It was a very cold weekend, but this cabin kept us warm and cozy. Check in /check out were a breeze. The kitchen was adequately stocked; we cooked our meals and appreciated the variety of items to cook with. The hot tub was awesome.
Annual Ski Trip
Left on 01/10/2014 for a stay in January 2014 | Mike
Dancing Bear was a very clean and comfortable cabin. The kitchen had everything we needed to make our meals. We had a lot of fun playing darts and night and spending time in the hot tub when it wasn't absolutely frigid. I'd recommend this unit to anyone. The only thing I would like to see are auxiliary audio cables for the sound bar in the basement and surround sound in the living room as apple changed the plugs on their new products, so none of our electronics were compatible. Read more
Response from Big Powderhorn Lodging Association - 01/20/2014
Thank you for the information about the cables. The issue has been addressed and taken care of. We appreciate your feedback and hope you stay with us again!
iron river, mi
the perfect getaway
Left on 04/10/2013 for a stay in March 2013 | tbstorti
We absolutely loved Dancing Bear. Perfectly located near the end of a road, which produces very little traffic and offers privacy. The interior was so welcoming and cozy, everyone we invited was very pleased with the accommodations and shocked at all of the amenities. A full kitchen, game room, outdoor hot tub, controlled heat and scenery were just perfect as well.
We will definitely use Powderhorn Chalets again...probably Dancing Bear
Left on 01/02/2013 for a stay in December 2012 | Chris
This is our second stay in Dancing Bear and overall we have stayed in approximately 10 different properties over the years. I would rate Dancing Bear right at the top. The space is very comfortable and offers a great family setting. The living room/kitchen is a great space to relax with a great view out the front windows. We love the hot tub being moved outside this year as it's great fun to sit out there in the evenings with the snow coming down. While it's not trailside this is a great option for any family or group.
Left on 03/01/2012 for a stay in February 2012 | greg
place is clean, well set up and well stocked kitchen
Left on 01/04/2012 for a stay in December 2011 | Deeter
The stay was a great experience overall, the house was very nice, only down side was small beds. The kitchen was very updated with everything you need provided. The hot tub was nice to have even though it is indoors. The lodging association provides great service providing a shuttle to take you anywhere on the mountain and very quick friendly service if anything else is needed. This is a great house for a ski retreat or anything else you may want to do.
Steve "Spike" Skjold
St Paul MN
A winter wonderland!
Left on 02/24/2011 for a stay in February 2011 | Steve "Spike" Skjold
Turn up the Hi-fi, get out the booze and start having the time of your life. This is a don't miss opportunity for pure pleasure.
Luxurious a frame, clean, warm and authentically decorated by the owners. And a real maintained hot tub. Always plenty of snow. Short distance to ski area with short lift lines. Plenty of cross-country and snowmobile trails. WiFi to stay in touch. Don't even have to go outside with modern kitchen and giant picture windows.
My only regret is that It may be all filled up for next year!
Githee Gumee Gang
Elk River, MN
Left on 03/18/2010 for a stay in March 2010 | Githee Gumee Gang
We stayed at Dancing Bear March 11-15, 2010. Dancing Bear was perfect, clean, wonderfully equipped (the owners really know how to please the guests) which resulted in a wonderful experience for our family. We have been coming to Powder Horn for over 20 years, and this is the best "rental" we have stayed in. We will ask for it next year for sure.
We loved everything about Dancing Bear, and could have done without the rain the first two days (which we know you can't control). It's the UP, and one never knows about the weather.
Thank you for contributing to a another great experience.
Cliff and Patty
Issues with Association
Left on 02/03/2010 for a stay in January 2010 | ThanksButNoThanks
The house itself is located only a minute shuttle ride from the main lodge which was very nice. Definitely ample space inside the house for everyone. The sound system with an Ipod dock in the living room was very welcomed. The hottub had a pump go out on the first night of our stay leaving it with only half the jets. Rather than let us keep using it with half the jets, or even just the hot water... they came and drained it the very next morning. Thanks lodging association, considering the only reason we selected that house was because it had the hottub. They were originally only going to refund $30 since that was the difference between a house w/ a hottub and one w/out.
other issue came in with the housekeeping. they put signs up about towel replacements, etc. Not once during our 4 day 3 night stay did the towels get changed out. The trash was not picked up often at all. To add a cherry on top, we had accidentally left a bunch of items in the drawers upon leaving. i called housekeeping to which they were about as helpful as braile on a drive up atm. kept making it sound like i was bothering them to get my items back. i still had friends staying up there who were willing to pick up my stuff to avoid making them ship it. Once again, made it seem like such a chore for them. In the end i got my phone charger back, but oddly enough the 50+ packs of hand warmers and about $60 of unopened food "was never found." needless to say, the resort feel was ok, but this house was not worth the grief of the lodging association. We'll be taking our trip back to Whitecap Mountain next year. Read more
Response from Big Powderhorn Lodging Association - 11/28/2012
You have gone over the limit for submitting inquiries in a certain amount of time. Please wait a moment before trying to submit another.
This helps to eliminate SPAM and keeps the bad guys out.
About the owner
Big Powderhorn Lodging Association
Office location in: Bessemer, MI
Call: (877) 926-0947
Email this listing to a friend
Vacation Rental in Ironwood, MI
Please Enter the Verification Code
You have gone over the limit for submitting inquiries in a certain amount of time. Please wait a moment before
trying to submit another.
This helps to eliminate SPAM and keeps the bad guys out.
Get 10% off your total stay
BPLA has Spring, Summer & Fall Multi-day savings!
Stay 3 Nights and receive a 10% discount.
Stay 4-5 Nights and receive a 15% discount.
Stay 6 Nights and receive a 20% discount.
Stay 7-29 Nights and receive a 25% discount.
Valid for travel dates between 05/12/2014 and
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.