Turtle Bay 179 West *
|Rental type||Apartment / Condominium|
|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
This condo has air conditioning in the bedroom. Table and chairs on patio. Special year-round low rate of $89 a night.Wireless Internet access.
Property Code: 1177-15067
Check-In: 3:00 pm
Check-Out: 11:00 am
Turtle Bay 179 West *
(Property location is approximate)
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$89||$89||$623||$2,670||2 nights|
|Mar. 1 2013 - May. 31 2013||$89||$89||$623||-||2 nights|
|Jun. 1 2013 - Aug. 31 2013||$89||$89||$623||$2,670||2 nights|
|Sep. 1 2013 - Nov. 30 2013||$89||$89||$623||$2,670||2 nights|
|Dec. 1 2013 - Feb. 28 2014||$89||$89||$623||$2,670||2 nights|
|Mar. 1 2014 - May. 31 2014||$89||$89||$623||$2,670||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
Additional notes from owner
The minimum stays for certain dates may be longer than advertised.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 22, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Big Sky, MT, United States
Basic condo, good price.
Had a great time. The condo was a great price. My only complaint is that some of the staff at the turtle bay estates condo rental office were rude. I would suggest if you are that annoyed with tourists don't work in this industry. We own a restaurant in a ski resort town so I understand the frustration but at the end of the day we are customers and you are there to give good service. One woman was really helpful, however.
We had a great vacation. A few disgruntled employees definitely didn't put a dent in our fun. I would recommend turtle bay to friends!! Affordable, clean and good location.
Moses Lake, WA, United States
When we walked up to the front door, we felt we had been had. The first thing we noticed was the cheap, bent screen door hanging open. When we opened the front door, the broken laundrey room door was the first thing we saw. In the kitchen, most of the cabinets doors wouldn't shut. The drapes in the beadroom were torn. The carpet was dirty. Just felt like we had checked into a cheap hotel, which is very unfortunate, because it is a great location, with beautiful grounds. This condo just didn't fit with the rest of the property. The bed was comfortable, and the appliances worked. A few dollars towards upgrades and a little time could make all the difference.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
The first thing you notice when you walk into this condo is the smell. The smell is like a cross between an old room in your Grandmother's house and old stuff in an attic. The place was clean though and kind of like being around a farm for the first time you get used to the smell after awhile. The futon in the living room was broken and cracked when my 14 year old son sat on it, he weighs about 105 lbs. When we took the mattress off the futon to see what cracked we observed at least three previous outright breaks in the frame that had been re-glued rather poorly. The futon could not be sat on or slept on, so at night we moved the mattress to the floor and my son slept on that. However, not having the biggest available seat to sit on during the day or before bed was a pain. It is hard to complain because the price was right, however, our traveling companions also had the exact same condo layout in a neighboring building for the same price...with updated furniture and no crazy smells. We ended up checking out a day early because of the futon situation (we had guests visit every night and it was just awkward sitting on the floor)but were not offered any type of refund even though the property management company was aware of the damaged futon. I would recommend this place again if they replaced the futon and did something about the smell.
Cottonwood Heights, UT, United States
Great vacation in Hawaii
We thoroughly enjoyed staying in a Turtle Bay Condo.
Koloa, HI, United States
Motocross Get Away
This was the second time staying at this condo while on Oahu for motocross. It it conveniently located to the Kahuku Motocross Track. Having a kitchen, washer, and dryer made it feel like home. Will definitely stay at this condo again.
Lakeland, MN, United States
been their will definitly keep doing their
exceptional location, resort is very accomadating, you just can't beat the country, the vibe
Juneau, AK, United States
Eagle River, AK, United States
Great Place on the North Shore
Loved the stay and will look into staying here again. On-site management was very professional in addressing two incidents on site (loud noise from one unit and kids not following pool rules). Would love it if there were discounts for monthly stays (or 2-3 month stays).
Irvine, CA, United States
Could have used a blow up mattress and extra pillows and bedding. Tis unit was great but it really sleeps 3 not 4. The futon is too small for more than one person. Other than that the place was perfect......and thanks for t]letting us leave the keys on the counter instead of driving to Kahuku.
Naperville, IL, United States
My 2 kids (5 & 2 yrs) had lot of fun. Pool and golf course were close by. Ample room for all four of us.
Surrey, BC, Canada
Turtle Bay is a 10 minute walk. It is one of the few beaches that are safe for a leisurely swim and snorkel during surf season at the North Shore. The property was good value. One should not expect the condo to be a luxury suite, the whole estate has been around for awhile. I wish they placed the chopping board with the rest of the pots and pans, and not under the sink because I didn't find it until the end of our stay. Lots of towels and enough toiletries for 2 people in 6 days. AC works in bedroom, not in living room, but you really wouldn't need it there. What disappointed me was the grill. I was under the impression that it would be a gas grill. It's literally just a grill so you'd have to supply the charcoal and set it yourself. It's therefore not worthwhile to cook with it for 2 people and on a daily basis.
Long Beach, NY, United States
Great Location for Turtle Bay
Great location and value for your money if looking to stay on the North Shore. Under a 10 minute walk to Turtle Bay and all their amenities. Only drawback is having to pick up and drop off the keys at a separate location around 4 miles away - very inconvenient when you don't have a rental car!
Staoughton, WI, United States
Just a place to sleep
Maintenance problems. Air conditioning was out, microwave didn't work, several lights didn't work. Place was a bit beat up, but clean. If you are just looking for a place to sleep and don't plan on staying in the condo much it would be fine. Management did not respond to our request to have not working AC serviced. Have stayed at Turtle Bay resort in the past and thought a condo would be a nice alternative. Would not stay in this unit again.
Ridgway, CO, United States
smelly and cheap
The place smelled and we had to keep the wondows opened, it was old and very dated cupboards wouldnt close but if you dont care how it looks it was cheap and that was all
Response from The Estates at Turtle Bay, Inc. - 10/23/2012
You would be hard pressed to find a 1 bedroom condo in Hawaii with full kitchen, washer and dryer and access to pools, tennis courts and 10 min walking to a beach for $89.00 a night. Sometimes the older units can be smelly when closed up due to the humidity but opening it up should take care of that. This unit has not been updated but again is a bargain at this price.
Newbury Park, CA, United States
We have stayed at this location (not this condo) many times and love the area. The condo is old and needs a bit of updating but fine for the $$$$$.
Tempe, AZ, United States
Affordable, spacious condo
Had a great time with our kids. The beach at Turtle Bay was OK (no fish), but 3 Tables was the best for snorkeling and beach fun (saw a seal there). Condo had washer/dryer- great for families, around the corner from a nice pool. Thin walls in unit, so with noisy neighbors we could hear all the partying. Did some cooking but also enjoyed the shrimp and pie at Ted's Bakery.
Tequesta, FL, United States
It was ok
The carpet had a smell that was overwhelming, we were lucky to have a breeze to keep the place aired out. Two of the four bath towels were old and stained. The back is located on a road with little or no traffic and an open patio was a plus. The front is across from a work shed and the trash bins, noise was not a problem for us. The condos in general are in a great location, close to beaches and 15 minutes from Foodland, and some of the world’s best winter surf. By the looks of the air conditioners I am glad we didn’t need to rely on them; badly rusted and missing a knob or two. The sliding door in the bedroom is in need of new rollers. The TV and wireless worked fine. No hair drier and the kitchen was equipped with the basics. No beach equipment. It was one of the cheaper units which is why we picked it, we would consider paying a few more dollars next time for a different unit.
Penfield, NY, United States
The checkin and checkout process is terrible, also to contact someone is very difficult, I tryed several times to call to a number and all the time someone answered me telling I got the wrong number, but I was dealing the number on the reservation form. You charged me one more night staying without my agreement, once I went suggar mill to delivery the unit key and it was closed, there were no sign to delivery keys in the drop box, and I was already paying for another unit, so on the 1st April I payed 2 different rentals. I don´t think it´s fair.
Chuiak, AK, United States
March 2012-turtle bay condo
Nice resort area. Condo nice for the budget price. Short walk to the beach. Right next to the tennis courts and pool. 2 tv's with cable. DVD player. Comfortable bed.
Haiku, HI, United States
Love Turtle Bay
I have been to Turtle Bay numerous times before and have enjoyed each stay. I love the resort and the surrounding area. The condo was clean, conveniently located, had all of the ammenities needed and priced right. I would definitely stay there again.
Hubbard, OR, United States
We love the area around Turtle Bay because it is away from the crowds. The beaches and paths are wonderful for strolling. It would be a shame to ruin the shores and country side with more condos/hotels or development in general.
We had a great time. Location is perfect. Great value for the money. We will definitely come back!
North Shore Escape
We enjoyed our time at Turtle Bay Estates. Great value for the money.
Better places to stay on the north shore
There are so many more places for the same value that are cleaner and the TV works. this is very old and needs an update It is worn out.
What a steal!
While the building is a little older, and smells a little like Girl Scout camp when you open a drawer or cupboard, it was such a great deal! Perfect location, had everything we needed right in the rental (washer dryer, fridge, coffee maker, etc), and was really quiet. It was nice to stay on the North Shore without paying Turtle Bay resort prices. If you want luxury, pick the resort, but if you're there to travel the island and have a place to wash up and sleep, pick this rental.
We enjoyed our stay at Turtle Bay and would definitely recommend it to a friend. We do a lot of traveling to the Hawaiian islands and stay in hotels, condos, beach houses, etc. The owners did a nice job supplying this condo and making it comfortable for
guests. The only thing we needed that it didn't supply was a flashlight, the power went out for a couple of hours the night before we left. We enjoyed our stay, thank you.
4th of July Motocross Get Away
This condo was perfect for our needs. It was very affordable (cheaper than hotels in town)and convenient being close to the Kahuku Motocross Track. I would definately stay at this condo again as we travel to Oahu every year for motocross. A new front screen door and replacement of the AC in the living room would make this condo and even better place although it didn't affect our stay.
Response from The Estates at Turtle Bay, Inc. - 07/22/2011
There is no A/C in the living room.
Turtle Bay 179 West
this rental is just in front of the Turtle Bay resort, it was very clean, easy to find. I would definitely choose to stay there again.
The perfect place for our needs
We visited Hawaii to drop our daughter off to school in Laie. This place was perfect for our needs. It was less than 10 minutes away from everything we needed/wanted to do in the area, and at a price we could afford.
The condo was okay....
The condo was okay. However, we were constantly fighting the ants and found a cockroach also. The living room air conditioner does not work and were told there was no intention of replacing it. The bedroom air conditioner can only cool the bedroom, not the rest of the condo.
Response from The Estates at Turtle Bay, Inc. - 05/20/2011
The condo is advertised as having air conditioning in the bedroom only.
El Paso, Texas
great location and very comfortable
The property is a short 7 minute walk to the Turtle Bay resort, and an easy drive to other nice beaches, food trucks, the grocery store etc. You definitely need a car to get anywhere other than the Turtle Bay resort, but it's only a short drive to most places. The unit itself was very comfortable and clean with just a minor ant problem, but that didn't bother us very much.
San Juan Capistrano, CA
We had a wonderful time at this condo at the estates at turtle bay! We had stayed several days at a hotel on the South Shore and were so relieved to leave and come to this peaceful and comfortable condo. It was a home away from home and we cannot wait to come back!
Visit in 2011, 1 Feb - 3 Feb
Our brief visit was mainly to see the new show at PCC. Excellent! Also to see the Temple re-do. Beautiful! Glad the Estates are so close. The condo was quiet and the gardens well done. Could the grounds crew start garbage pickup later? The only other noise was our squeeky headboard! (we put a handtowel between the board and wall to fix it for 2 nights) The guest book mentioned difficulties getting on wifi,but the network info warns that TurtleBay access is poor. Can another network be used?
Took lots of photos of the beach,flora and fauna! Goodbye to lovely Hawaii!
Ft Worth, TX
A great place to stay.
A great place to stay. very clean and quite only minutes away from the beach.This condo was great for our family of 4.
Las Vegas, NV
There were ants in...
There were ants in the kitchen that kept reappearing despite how clean it was. Our friends stayed in a different unit on the same property and had the same problem, so I think it might be the area.
the kitchen was not...
the kitchen was not cleaned before we entered. I could not get the wireless internet connection to work and the vacuum did not work. However, we loved the area and everything else went smoothly for us.
Redondo Beach, CA
It was a great...
It was a great place. We were barely there so thought the cleaning fee was a lot. Everything else was great.
Rohnert Park, CA
The location was quiet...
The location was quiet and I always felt secure. I think an important improvement that could be made is to fix the front door and screen - it was difficult to open the door and the screen was loose on the hinges. I was surprised at the amount of noise I could hear from upstairs guests and some nights it was quite loud and disrupting.
need more information on location
spent hours searching on vrbo, no easy access to location/address information so that I can tell how close they are to the actual Turtle Bay Resort. ridiculous to assume that we all have time to e-mail each owner directly and request the address. why not just post a map and display the addresses prominently?
Had the opportunity to stay at the Estates while taking my son to BYU-Hawaii. The condo was older but well kept and clean. It had everything I needed. The property and surrounding area was beautiful. I would add that it would not be good for someone with limited mobility. The condo itself was single story and would work fine however even though it was a ground floor unit, there were stairs up and down to get to the front door. Overall a wonderful experience!
Los Lunas, NM
This condo was very...
This condo was very comfy and a home away from home.
Perfect Location for the North Shore
This is the perfect location if you are staying on the North Shore. Five to ten minute drive both ways to great North Shore beaches. A short drive to Laie and Polynesian Cultural Center. The place was clean and had the necessary kitchen items we needed. Love that it has a washer and dryer to use. It was the perfect size for my husband and I and our 14 year old son. The pool on the grounds was nice and it was very close to the well maintained tennis courts. Overall, great value for the price you pay. We would definitely recommend to anyone.
A reliable Internet access...
A reliable Internet access is a must have and it would stop working.
Mountain View, CA
Nice condo, good price
This condo is very nice and cosy. Everything needed is on site. Cooking pan need to be replaced but apart from this, all appliance and furniture are great. We especially enjoyed the cool bedroom and the washer and dryer in condo is really helpful!
Sterling Heights, Michigan
A great place to stay at a great value price.
Great location. On the "quiet" side of Oahu, but close enough to towns like Haleiwa for restaurants and shopping. Great beaches and parks nearby.
best kept secret
security was a little over the top when i had guests over, some of the guests were actually residents and they couldn't believe the attention given to us, not a big deal though. love the place period
Tired Condo Needs Redo or Rate Decrease
With taxes and cleaning fees adding nearly 50% to our 3-night rental rate, something needs to change in the pricing or condition of this tired condo. Also it claims to be "waterfront...ask for details" when actually it is road-front, no details needed. Crazy! We enjoy the area and would return to Turtle Bay but not to this condo, which added ZERO to our experience.
Response from The Estates at Turtle Bay, Inc. - 12/23/2009
The condo was rented on another web site, VRBO, not our web site. We do not advertise "waterfront." All hotel condo rentals are subject to taxes and all condos have a cleaning fee, which is stated in the info we send out, which we assume is read by the guest before they provide their signature.
Ross, Tasmania, Australia
Anthony H.'s review of Turtle Bay 179 West *
VCR player needs to be changed out for DVD player, Millipedes and cockroaches in the apartment, was woken on two seperate nights by millipedes in the bed with me - most unpleasant.
Wire screen front door - bad and front door lock awkward to operate due to the lock being so close to the door jam.
Apartment could be cleaner. Overall, i did enjoy the apartment and would stay again, however the apartment needs to be cleaned/detailed properly before my next stay.
COMPLAINTS: NO DVD PLAYER, CONSTRUCTION NOISE, COLD POOL, TRASH TRUCK COMES AT 6:45AM, GARDNER AT 7:00AM, MILLAPEDS, SLIDING SCREEN DOORS DO NOT LOCK, FRONT SCREEN DOOR IS TORN AND DOES NOT LOCK, FRONT DOOR KNOB IS WOBBLEY AND NEEDS A FEW MORE SCREWS TO TIGHTEN, POOR COOKING PANS, TV RECEPTION CONSTANTLY GOING OUT THROUGHOUT 11 DAYS, NO WIFI, SOME NEIGHBORS ARE INCONSIDERATE RE MUSIC NOISE THROUGHT THE DAY.
OTHERWISE CLEAN COMFY BED, NICE BATHROOM, WASHER/DRYER NICE,
Litchfield Park, Az
Turtle Bay condo
Enjoyed stay at the condo. Kitchen made it convienent to enjoy a home cooked meal. A/C units in the bedroom and living room helps a lot during the daytime. Nights were nice and breezy. Aside from the construction and water shut-off, we really enjoyed our stay. The ambience made it all worth while. Thanks.
Ewa Beach, Hi
The unit was clean...
The unit was clean but there were many ants in and around the kitchen and even on the frame of the futon. A sickly centepide laying on the hall floor. The unit as a whole smelled musty, the kitchen the worse. The TV remote doesn't work, the seal on the freezer is falling out. There needs to be an upgrade of the radio and in this day and age there should be a DVD player and not a VHS.
Sons graduation and fun at the beach
The location was great! We loved having a homey, private place to stay the week for a great price! the beach nearby waas wonderful, I saw so many cool fish up close and the water and beach were clean and warm.
we had my son's roommates over for dinner. They were amazed with the place. We had everything we need to make a feast. We also enjoyed a BBQ by the pool.
It was a wonderful week!
San Manteo, CA
There were a lot of ants in the bathroom & living room of the condo.
There were tons of ants coming from under the kitchen sink. They were everywhere in the kitchen and the bathroom. Two worms were crawling on the floor. And a 4" slug was crawling on the floor in the living room. The condo is very outdated compared to some others that we visited. The dresser in the bedroom shhould be replaced. Half of the drawers don't work.
Sunbury, Melbourne Victoria, Australia
A Fairway View
We loved the location and setting of the condos at Turtle Bay - just off the fairway but close enough to walk to all facilities. The only thing I would stipulate next time would be to be on a top level apartment, not the bottom.