- 2 bedrooms
- 2 bathrooms
- Sleeps 6
Description from the manager
Expansive Ocean & Sunset Views
Covered Private Oceanfront Lanai
Oceanfront Master Bedroom
Unlimited, Free Local Telephone Calls within Big Island
1 free assigned parking
Additional amenities include: coffee maker, kitchen - full, twin/single bed, restaurant - 10 min walk, beach - 5 min walk, laundry - in unit, bbq grill [gas/electric] - shared, iron and ironing board, golfing nearby, hair dryer, rice cooker, cooking utensils provided, king bed, tennis courts, parking - free, honeymoon spot, tea kettle, snorkeling - 10 min walk, internet - wireless [free], queen bed, oceanfront resort.
Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club, Condo 2-203
Additional Location Information
More About This Location
Last updated on July 13, 2014
Not available for your dates? Check availability for 701 other Kailua-Kona rentalsCheck Availability for Kailua-Kona
Rates shown in $ USD
|See all dates
|Don't see rates for your trip?|
- Linens Provided
Phone / Internet
Pool / Spa
- Shared outdoor pool (unheated)
- Ocean or water views
- Balcony or terrace
- Pet friendly - no
- Smoking allowed - no
- Suitable for children - ask
- Suitable for the elderly - ask
- Wheelchair accessible - ask
What Past Guests Are Saying
Have you stayed here? Write a review
48 guest reviews
100% of guests would stay again
A TripAdvisor Member
Napa Valley ,CA
Might work for you.... if you can match the neighbor's noise
If only I had found some reviews of unit 2-203 that were somewhat more objective, we would have been saved a somewhat unpleasant vacation experience - so, to that effect, here goes.
Yes, the view from the lanai is "heavenly" and the grounds of the complex are like "paradise", but this particular unit falls somewhat short of Eden. We've previously had great experiences at the Keauhou S&R, so perhaps we were spoiled by our earlier accomodations which were nicely appointed and well stocked with condiments, spices, oils, cleaning supplies, & bathroom soap/shampoo dispensers. Unit 2-203 had a half eaten jar of peanut butter. Oh yes, and some bread crumbs. (We know that the units are not required to provide these items - just making a comparison). Any price advantage that this unit may offer will quickly be given up at the local stores due to the meager stock of the kitchen & baths. In addition, the fridge has no icemaker, the stove is of the old exposed electric coil type, the cabinetry is poor, bath & kitchen fixtures are really cheap (35 years experience in the trade. I see posts stating that this unit has been remodeled - Wow, I don't know where one can get this stuff outside of a second hand store), and the cooking utensils are a haphazard collection of items that make it difficult for a novice such as myself to prepare a decent meal. One definitely gets the feeling that the owner is offering the bare minimum that they can get away with and still pull in the bucks. Another, and worse, issue during our stay was the noise from above. I understand that this is not necessarily a fault of unit 2-203, but we had not encountered this problem before at KSRC; perhaps the unit above (2-303) is not carpeted - every footstep, every dropped object, every dragged chair is amplified through the floor into 2-203. If you are as unfortunate as we were to have a full house above you starting their days at 5AM, unless you're a heavy sleeper, you also will be starting your vacation days at 5AM. After one particularly jarring awakening, we tried contacting the owner for advice in saving our vacation - no reply. The local contact returned our call late the following day and mentioned something about talking to the folks upstairs, but the fact is that the people above were, for the most part, not doing anything abnormal; these were just the normal sounds of living raining down upon us. There were no pleasant evenings on the lanai for us on this trip; in fact we made every excuse to stay away from the room that we could: going back just did not seem attractive at all. Our experience with unit 2-203 has made us decide that it is too risky to stay at KSRC - if you end up in a bad situation, the only remedy is to forfeit your payment and go elsewhere. Over the years we've had many enjoyable trips to Hawaii; Unit 2-203 made us, for the first time, somewhat glad to leave. Read more
Response from Aloha Condos - 12/31/1969
While we seldom respond to guest’s reviews, we felt this particular one justified a reply and we would like to respond to at least some of the comments made by this guest.
We are sorry the guest had a less than pleasant experience. As to the various issues brought up by the guest, we were particularly taken aback at the guest’s insinuation that other guests’ review comments were less than genuine. It’s one thing to send us as the owners comments negative in nature, much of which we will try to take into consideration in attempts to better the vacation unit experience; but quite another to question the integrity of the many other prior guests. All reviews by guests are done independently based on their own experiences.
We certainly feel for the guest’s concerns regarding the noise coming from the unit above. As noted, since we are but individual owners of just this one unit (the complex is a condominium complex all with individual owners), we do not have control over other units. It appears this upstairs issue may have ‘colored’ much of the guest’s opinion of the unit with respect to many of the other comments made. We did receive a phone message from the guest. We, the owners, both work. We at that time could not take the phone call immediately. Contrary to the guest’s comments that we offered ‘no reply’, we, the owners (not the local contact person), did in fact attempt to address the issue and get back to the guest as soon as we could on the same day. Based on the ‘time stamp’ of the phone
message left by the guest, we called the guest’s cell phone within about 2 hours, but the guest did not answer and we had to leave a verbal message. We stated in that message that we had contacted the onsite property manager whom we did call. The manager went to the upstairs unit and informed the guests there about the noise problem. The manager also contacted the owners of that unit mentioning that their guests in that unit were violating the complex’s ‘quiet time’ rules.
With regard to the guest’s ‘remodel’ and ‘condiments’ comments, the website for this unit provides many photos and a video showing the unit’s features as well as written verbiage concerning what is available and what is not. We as owners try our best to be as honest and forthcoming as possible with regard to the unit and its amenities. Assuming the guest saw those photos and video as well as reviewed the written verbiage prior to reserving the unit, there should have been no surprises concerning appliances, cabinets, and so forth. Specific to condiments, what may be in the unit from time-to-time fluctuates as guests use and leave such items. We do not provide food items or condiments. However, we do instruct our cleaning folks to leave such items for follow-on guests to use as those follow-on guests see fit. True, the guest’s other vacation rental experiences in these regards may have differed, but again we can only make good on what we say we will offer. As for cooking items, we stay at the unit at least once per year and re-stock as best we can. Our last visit was just 2 months prior to this particular guest and we did buy a new set of pots and pans, as well as some dish ware, utensils, drinking glasses and coffee mugs.
Steve & Canri, Owners, Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club, Condo 2-203
heaven on earth
Condo 2-203 made us happy from the moment we walked in. The apartment is light, nicely decorated, and comfortable. Everything worked. We could see and listen to the ocean from almost every room, and enjoyed waking up to the sounds of birds. We loved sitting on the lanai watching the ocean crash against the shore, seeing beautiful sunsets, and eating meals. We sometimes cooked in the condo kitchen, and found everything we needed to make that happen. The condo is just a few minutes drive to a good grocery, and tasty restaurants. We walked down to the beach and found a big green turtle sunning himself, played tennis, swam in the pool, and grilled several times on the condominiums' outdoor grill. We stayed with our four adult children (in their twenties), and we all had plenty of room. Before we went, we had a few questions and Steve was quick to respond. It was, also, great having a washer/drier in the condo.
Ocean view from the balcony and the back half of the condo!!! pl
This condo has a wonderful view! We loved sitting outside and eating our meals from the balcony! We made many meals at the condo because the view here was better than many restaurants. Plus, there are a lot of very quick and simple meals to make in Hawaii after going to some farmer's markets to get fresh fruit and veggies. Yum! The location can't be beat. It was super easy to stop in for a shower and lunch after some time on the beach and then head somewhere else in the afternoon. It was easy to get to and felt like it was our own home. The owner made sure we had everything we needed beach towels, snorkel gear, beach mats, etc (just remember they're there and look for them - likely in the 2nd bedroom closet). With the laundry facilities right in the bathroom, convenience was absolutely wonderful after needing to wash smelly beach stuff. I was sad to leave this condo because I loved the view and really enjoyed our stay. Go for it!
The views from the condo are amazing! Amenities of the condo and complex are very nice and the people are all very friendly. The location is convenient with easy access to groceries and other shopping. We recommend the 3 hour drive south to the volcano and on the return home (pack lunch) and stop at the black sand beach and then to South Point. Well worth the trip! Aloha and Mahalo!
Fort Worth, TX
Everything I Needed to Get My Money's Worth
This condo is perfect as far as what I need to do my day-to-day exploring of the island. I have laundry in the unit, a high-speed internet connection with a dedicated router in the unit, and a well-stocked kitchen. Having both the living room and master bedroom face the ocean with an oversized lanai is a bonus. I would definitely want to stay here again as long as possible even when doing some stuff on the other side of the island. The location was generally peaceful and quiet with only the ocean waves to listen to. I sent an e-mail to andrew Doughty, the author of Hawaii Revealed, requesting to give this place a Solid Gold rating.
Seal Beach, CA
Pleasant: as expected.
I chose this place for two reasons; our friends were staying here and the reviews on Tripadvisor. This unit was " as advertised". Clean, pleasant with an ocean view. Although the water entry was a bit rugged, our kids had a great time snorkeling off the cliffs. Close enoug and far enoug from downtown Kona. We would visit here again.
canyon country, ca
Peaceful and Serene
Our stay at this beautiful, clean condo in Kailua-Kona could not have been more peaceful. What a view!
Every night we watched the sunset on the ocean from our lanai and even saw a pod of dolphins playing in the surf. The gentle breeze blew through the condo at night and there was no need for air conditioning in august. Every morning we had papaya; star fruit; and dragon fruit on the lanai and watched the surf break on the lava rocks below the unit. Yellow birds would chirp and eat on the grass below, and a lovely tree with white blooms (plumeria?) framed the right side of the lanai deck.
There is a small, rocky beach a short walk from the unit just alive with turtles. At about 10:00 am on an august morning we counted 5.
It's a short drive to snorkeling and swimming beaches. The unit has a nice pool.
This unit is clean and well kept. The beds are comfortable and the kitchen well stocked.
Very Hawaiian. Very aloha :)
Felt like paradise
I have never written a review before but this
place was so wonderful, I felt that it was
worth sharing with others. Steve was very easy
to deal with. When I walked into the home
, it was very clean. We loved the lanai. It overlooked
water. Simply amazing! I truly enjoyed listening
to the waves crash against the rocks. We only
stayed for 3 nights. We wished we had stayed
longer. We mostly dined out but there is
a supermarket near by so one could easily purchase
groceries and eat. Many restaurants nearby
so quite convenient. I would definitely stay here
again. We can't wait for our next trip. The only problem
We had were with a few mosquitoes that got in.
We noticed a hole in the corner of one of the screens
Which we already made Steve aware of. Hopefully
this will be repaired soon and the next people
can have a perfect vacation.
Santa Barbara, CA
The condo was very clean and well-appointed. We loved being so close to the ocean! In fact the ocean was at first a bit too loud at night while trying to sleep! We were happy to have beach towels, coolers, and beach mats available to use (and use them we did). There were also flippers and boogie boards available. Beds were comfortable. The grounds were pretty and well maintained. The pool was nice, but very basic. That was probably the only real drawback. It was a great condo for a week for a family of four. I would highly recommend it!
The Woodlands, Texas
Excellent Condo Rental
My wife and I really enjoyed the condo during our visit to Kailua-Kona. It had a terrific view of the ocean and was very clean and well equiped. We would staY there again if we visit the Big Island in the future.
Our only compaint would be that we had no experience using lock boxes and had a hard time retrieving the key to the condo when we first got there. The problem was that we did not know that the combination buttons to the lock box had to be pushed far in until you heard a click. It may be a good idea to inform future renters of this. We could not reach the "contact" person to help us with the problem. We asked and got help from passerby within the condo complex. Read more
Response from Aloha Condos - 07/23/2013
We use a fairly standard ‘real estate-type’ lockbox to allow access to
the unit. We have not before had guests note any problems with getting
the lockbox open. Nevertheless, based on the comments received back from these recent guests, we have slightly changed our “Check in Information and Directions” to incoming guests by elaborating how the lockbox needs to be operated. We appreciate the guests’ comments on their enjoyment of the unit, and while we were disappointed that they saw fit to slightly downgrade the rating based on their issue with opening the lockbox, we hope they will visit us again.
The Landrys, Owners, Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club, Condo 2-203
Green Bay WI
Awesome, once again!
This was our 3rd stay in this condo since 2009. We love staying here as the views and location could not be more perfect. The amenities are wonderful, beds comfortable, and the condo is spacious and quiet. We (the same 4 of us) have noticed though, since 2009, the condo is starting to look a little tired. The things we see are purely cosmetic and does not interfere with a comfortble stay. We feel a minor facelift of a new stove, new paint, regrouting some of the tiles on the lanai and kitchen and ridding the bathroom (the one off the master bedroom)of the black growing in the shower corner would be all it would take to give this condo an a+ once again. I realize the challenge of upkeep can be quite daunting with the saltwater issues and I applaude what has been done already. That being said, I absolutely would not hesitate to stay here again and actually can't imagine myself anywhere else. God-willing we will be back in 2015!! Thanks again, Steve. Read more
Response from Aloha Condos - 03/13/2013
We as owners appreciate the comments passed on by our recent guests,
particularly as they are repeat guests. We would like to address some of
the points they made to let our guest know we do take upkeep seriously.
Unquestionably, while being on the ocean has its great features,
particularly if you are on vacation, for an owner it presents significant
upkeep challenges. We have a continuous program of ongoing maintenance
which includes, for example, plumbers coming in once per year to clear
drains, check toilet functioning, and drain the water heater. We, as the
owners, also spend about 2 weeks each year in the unit and try to do as
much as we can in terms of maintenance, repairs, and upgrades. Please
understand we try our best. Since this guest started coming in 2009, we
have made some of the following upgrades:
1. 2009 – Purchased lanai table and chair set; replaced all screen windows
2. 2010 – Installed new ocean side (lanai) full-length sliding glass
windows (this was very expensive) which entailed punching out the frames,
reframing, installing new windows and metallic frames, new screens along
with patching and painting around the window frame area; replace several
window corners which had rusting corner pieces.
3. 2010 – Replaced all appliances (stacked washer/dryer, dishwasher,
refrigerator) except stove; bought wood lanai lounge chairs.
4. 2011 (December) – Painted entire (100%) interior all walls and all
ceilings of unit (only about 13-14 months prior to this guest’s stay);
replaced guest bedroom bedding; updated guest bathroom by taking out old
sliding shower doors and replacing with island motif shower curtains;
replaced guest bathroom mirror above sink; replaced guest bathroom towel
rods; reglazed guest bathroom bathtub; installed ocean side (lanai)
curtains and tracks along entire length of unit (both master bedroom and
living room; replaced all screen windows in unit.
5. 2012 – Replaced guest bedroom window blinds.
We trust you see we have invested significantly in trying to have the unit
meet the expectations of guests who want to stay in our vacation home and
enjoy that great sun-setting ocean view.
This is an absolutely beautiful location and a clean and comfort
We had a comfortable stay at condo 2-203. The views were stunning and the location was close to beaches and activities. The condo had all the amenities that we needed. We chose to eat more meals at the condo than we planned because it was hard to go to a restaurant and leave the sunset behind.
Chapel Hill, NC
5 of us had a very enjoyable stay. The views are great. We had high surf at the beginning of our stay. The waves crashed on the volcanic shore and sprayed up 20-30 feet in the air. Cool to watch. The only issue we had was there was only one key attached to the lock box and no loose keys provided. A trip to Lowes fixed that problem. Liked having the restaurants just up the hill and the option of snorkeling nearby. We also went ziplining with the organization just up the hill. All in all a great vacation.
Relaxing as usual
We have stayed in this condo complex numerous times and always enjoy it. Building 2 is usually quiet and has a good view of the surf and sunsets. This condo had good furnishings and we enjoyed our happy hour times on the lanai. We also enjoyed the holiday hula performances at the Keauhou shopping center and the farmers market.
This is a well maintained self-contained condo with fabulous views from inside the condo and from the large balcony. The layout is ideal for sharing with one or two other people. The grounds are beautiful and the pool is large and clean. We could easily live here!
Definitely worth it!!!
I'm not going to make this long. Just know that everything you see in the photos and description of this condo is accurate. It is absolutely beautiful, very well taken care of, clean, comfortable and affordable. The location is perfect, close enough to downtown Kona, but just far enough to be away from the noise. We stayed here for 3 nights and then went to Oahu. We found ourselves missing this condo while in Oahu. Do not hesitate to book this place. Steve is also very responsive and makes the whole process worry-free!
Greater Boston, MA
Serene setting with gorgeous view
My husband and I stayed for four nights in this comfortable, quiet, second-floor unit. To be honest we spent so much time exploring the island that we didn't take full advantage of everything available to us: we never went looking for the pool, and we didn't use the kitchen beyond the fridge and a few dishes. But just listening to the waves colliding with the rocks just steps from the balcony was worth it, and we definitely enjoyed the extra space and made use of the wifi. The nearby shopping center (with grocery store, drugstore) was very convenient and seemed more reasonably priced than other places on the island and elsewhere in Hawaii; we went there daily for breakfast foods and drinks. I can definitely see us coming back someday and staying longer, with or without kids in tow, and taking better advantage of what the unit has to offer.
Erica & Brad
Vancouver, BC & Calgary, AB
Home away From Home!
This was our first time staying in Unit 2-203 at the Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club, and it will not be our last! This unit has to be one of the best in this resort, truly a home away from home. The unit was tastefully decorated, immaculately clean, no mold, moisture or bug issues. The king sized bed was very comfortable and we loved being able to fall asleep to, and wake up to, the sound of the crashing waves each day. The huge private lanai is really right on the water's edge and what an amazing view! We spent hours just enjoying the sunsets and breakfast every morning on the patio was great. Just a short 5 minute walk to the right of the unit is a great little natural beach, while it wasn't an ideal place to swim, it was a great spot to see turtles! We can't wait to book our next visit!
Dick and Linda
This was our second time staying at 2-203 Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club. We love being right on the ocean, the very private feel of the condo and huge lanai, and the master bedroom with an amazing view! We saw whales and dolphins regularly... from right there on the lanai. The entire complex is convenient, beautifully landscaped, and very quiet.
As mentioned in other reviews this condo is large, clean and quiet. It has a wonderful view of the ocean from the lanai, the living room and the master bedroom. The pool is large and quiet and the grounds around the complex are well maintained. The condo is located close to surfing, a grocery store, restaurants and a farmer's market on Wednesdays. The owner of this unit was very timely in responding to my emails and very thorough and clear in directions and instructions for checking in.
Bob and Judy
This is one of our two preferred units in the entire complex; and the complex is our preferred location on the island. Hosts (and on-island staff) are responsive and extremely helpful. Efforts are made to replace/upgrade/maintain the furnishings and unit itself as needed. This is especially significant (and expensive) because the climate and salt air are particularly hard on all metal (including appliances, cookware, ceiling fans, electronics, etc.). We would prefer having brighter lighting for reading and doing jigsaw puzzles. There are no elevators; however, our preference for the second-floor unit outweighs our dislike of hauling luggage, groceries, coolers, beach equipment up the stairs. We have stayed in this condo before and expect to do so again.
Lovely view, comfortable place
Enjoyed our second stay here very much. Views during the day are fabulous, surf sounds at night very soothing.
Dan & Susan
Beautiful location with ocean right outside your door
Convenient location to Kona area
Nice quiet area
Great Place to Stay
Well maintained property; quiet location; loved the sound of the waves hitting against the lava -- very relaxing (you can hear them from the master bedroom too).
Tiki Island, Texas
Just another day in paradise
This is the 3rd time we've stayed at the Surf & Racquet Club and the 1st in this unit. Obviously we like the complex, and were very pleased with this unit. The owner was very responsive.
Green Bay, WI.
This was our fourth time in Kona and second time at this condo. My only regret is that we didn't stay here the first two times. The location could not be more perfect. Close enough to downtown Kona but far enough out for peace and quiet. I love the short walking distance to the snorkeling beach, grocery store, restaurants, shopping and post office. The condo is spacious and beautiful. As always we spent most of our time on the lanai watching stunning sunsets and whales. The crashing waves lull us to sleep at night. It is our peace of heaven for a few days. The one extremely minor downfall, which is easily rectified, was that there was only 4 washcloths in the unit. One for each 4 adults. (we looked everywhere and couldn't find more) so we had to do a load of laundry everyday. No big deal and believe me, it didn't stress us out! All of the other amenities more than made up for it. Steve made the whole reservation and payment process very easy and simple. Personal note: As I watch out my window today and see it snowing heavily, I already long for the paradise we left a few short days ago. God-willing, we will be back again in this condo in two years. Steve, thank you for sharing this wonderful gift with others!
Our stay in Hawaii was wonderful in part due to the exceptional condo we had in 2 - 203. We were very pleased with the condo and the condition of it and would gladly stay there again in the future! As a matter of fact, I had a brother/sister/mom & dad that moved out of their condo 5 - 304 when we left and moved into 2 - 203 because it was so much better then theirs.
Mount Desert, Maine
We spent a wonderful week in condo 2-203, close to the very active high surf of that week, but always protected and dry. Beautiful panorama, sunsets, and whales galore. Kitchen worked just fine, bathrooms clean and up-to-date, beds comfortable (though the one twin bed was quite creaky and rather hard). Perfect location and very comfortable!
comfortable, clean accomodations
Our group of two grandparents, two parents and a 10 year old plus a 7 month old baby were comfortable during our stay here for Christmas week. We cooked in a few nights, and found local restaurants for the other days, as the location is convenient to town. We would have preferred to use the barbeque grills on the grounds, but found there was no propane provided, so we made do with kitchen cooking. It was a fun stay for all of us. Read more
Response from Aloha Condos - 01/26/2011
We as owners appreciate the comments passed on by our recent guests. We would like to address the points made concerning the “barbecue grills on the grounds”. This vacation unit is in a Condominium Association that expressly prohibits grills on the condominium lanai’s (decks). Instead the Association provides both charcoal and gas grills in the common area. These grills are common property and do not belong to any particular unit. The gas grills are already hooked up to a gas source, while the charcoal grills require the individual(s) to bring his/her/their own charcoal. Given the common property nature of the grills, any problem such as “no Propane provided” should be brought to the attention of the onsite Association Property Manager who will address the issue or get a question answered. When we called the Manager to follow up on this particular guest’s comments, he informed us that no one from our unit had contacted either him or his staff. Furthermore, he noted that some people do not know how to properly turn on the gas for the gas grills. In either case, a simple call to the Manager’s office could have remedied the situation.
Steve Landry, Owner Surf and Racquet 2-203
Wellington, NSW Australia
The property was a large size, clean, relatively new and well maintained with all the amenities, appliances and services one would expect. A wireless internet service was a big bonus, especially for the children. I would recommend the property to others, especially families. A great location, quiet, and with great ocean views. Handy to great snorkelling and surfing at Kahaluu Beach. It was good value for money, close to many activities and attractions in Sout Kona.
Sunset dinners right by the ocean.
A beautiful condo right on the ocean. We had dinner every night on the balcony, looking at the sunset. It was great. The condo is cleaned and well stocked.
The shore by the condo is rocky but the public beach is an easy five minute walk away. The snorkling at the beach is very good.
One downside is there's not a lot of privacy in the master bedroom. There's a path between the ocean and the condo and the bedroom only has a very light sunscreen. The moveable wall between the bedroom and the living room is paper thin.
Overall, a very relaxing place. Recommended.
San Diego, Ca
A real vacation.
This condo has it all. Internet, fabulous views of the ocean, comfortable livingroom, bedrooms, (King in main, twin/Queen in back bedroom) upgraded appliances, brand new washer/dryer, clean, prestine and a must stay if you're looking for a condo to enjoy some time on the island!
A few blocks away (very short walk) is a local shopping plaza that offers groceries, movies, pharmacies, banking, post office etc. Conviently located on ali'i dr for easy accessibility to Queen K Hwy. It's a must if considering condos on the island.
Eagle River, Alaska
Perfect in every way!
Let me first say that I spent many hours looking for the perfect Kona accomodations, and I found them in unit 2-203! From beginning to end, Steve was professional and made our trip flawless and fabulous.
This condo is clean, spacious and the view is to die for! We watched spinner dolphins and beautiful sunsets on the lanai - the ocean was so close you could almost reach out and touch it!
For the price, this condo can't be beat! We had hair dryers, and every emenity you can imagine. Even the cooler and ice packs for our picnics!
We vacationed with our daughter and son-in-law and we all loved the condo, we felt pampered here. When we had an issue with the washer, Steve called to help us solve the simple problem. The only things we needed during a 10 day stay were a cookie sheet and vegetable peeler, but I bet Steve has those stocked for the next family to stay at this wonderful condo.
I would not hesitate to return here or to recommend this unit to anyone looking for the perfect vacation getaway at an unbelievable price! We tried going through a travel agent first, and would have paid double had we gone that route. Loved everything about this condo, thanks Steve!
Seoul, South Korea
We had a wonderful time visiting the island and enjoyed staying in this unit.
The owner sent very detailed information which made it easy to find and get in
The home has a great view of the ocean and the property is well maintained.
The location is convenient to shopping and restaurants.
The home is showing some wear and tear and could use some renovations.
One of the fans did not work and the kitchen knives were very dull and in
need of sharpening. Read more
Response from Aloha Condos - 05/06/2010
As with all our guests, we appreciate the comments passed on by "cdj".
To add some clarification, we as owners would like to address the comments in the last couple of lines of "cdj's" comments. First, after the check-out we had our inspection and cleaning service check out the fans. All of them worked. The fans all work off newly (about 2 ˝ years ago) installed electrical wall switches which have multiple buttons and settings. We can only surmise that one or more of the buttons was in the off position such that the fan obviously did not turn on. During any guest's stay, the easy fix for this sort of issue, along with the knives, is simply to call our on-Island contact person who can ensure that the guest's concerns are taken care of. That person's contact information is noted in the check-in documentation and is visibly posted in more than one place within the unit.
We would also like to briefly note some of the renovations we have made since acquiring the unit a few years ago. Three (3) years ago we did a significant renovation to the kitchen area putting in granite counter tiling. This year we will be changing out the appliances in the kitchen (along with the washer/dryer in another room). Over the past 2 years we have renovated the master bathroom by completely tiling the shower area and making improvements to the sink area. Over the past 4 years, the entire set of furniture (excepting some decorative items) has been changed out to include the lanai furniture. Further, all electrical switches, outlets, and even the entire breaker box have changed out with all new and upgraded replacements. As this unit is directly on the ocean, and noting that it is in significant demand by potential guests wanting an ocean experience in Hawaii, there is a constant need to keep up on the upkeep and maintenance of the unit.
What we are trying to address concerning "cdj's" comments is that we do acknowledge the need to continuously keep the unit in top shape, and importantly we have been doing our best on a yearly basis.
Steve & Canri Landry, Owners, Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club Resort, Condo 2-203
Little Egg Harbor, NJ
Perfect Place for Total Rest and Relaxation.
This Condo is great. Loved the Location and layout. Great lanai for a relaxing breakfast, or just sitting having cocktails and watching the Breathtaking Sunsets. Watching the whales (when in season) and the dolphins. Loved being on the ocean and hearing the surf as it lulled us to sleep. Keep the doors open on the lanai all night to hear the surf.
Steve was wonderful to deal with and Thank you for sharing this great condo with us. The grounds are beautiful, and a perfect Location for this unit. Sometimes we just stayed there all day and couldn't leave our lanai. Can't wait to go back and we will definately be staying here at 2-203.
Mahalo again Steve for renting this out so others can enjoy you slice of Heaven.
Al & Jo-Ann
Heaven on Earth!
Our time staying in condo 2-203 exceeded our expectations! It was spacious,
clean, convenient, and peaceful. The view was heavenly! Some of our favorite
memories involved our time spent on the lanai enjoying the sunsets. Not only
were we lucky enough to witness the famous "green flash," but we saw whales
and spinner dolphins, too!! The condo was well-equipped with all of the
expected amenities, but we were pleasantly surprised to find fun extras --
beach towels, snorkel gear, travelers' guides, etc. We fully intend to return to
the island and to stay in condo 2-203. It helped to make our visit to Kona one
of our best vacations ever!
Clean and comfortable
The room was very clean and had comfortable furnishings. The view was great from the lanai. Wish there was a pull down shade on the lanai to block the afternoon sun from heating up the room.
Response from Aloha Condos - 04/06/2010
First, we would like to express our appreciation to Kyoko for being our guest at our Hawaii Ocean Front home.
Most of our guests rent our vacation home expressly for the ocean "feel" and particularly delight in viewing the nightly sunset over the ocean. With respect to Kyoko's comment concerning the afternoon sun, the unit faces west with a 180°, unobstructed, direct ocean view. The lanai does have a ceiling extension that fully covers the lanai floor area, and thus provides protection from the rain and provides shade from the sun into the early to mid-afternoon.
In order to not obstruct either the ocean or the sunset views in any manner, understanding that the late afternoon sun does shine on the lanai, we have purposely opted to not install a pull down exterior lanai shade.
Steve Landry, Owner, Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club, Condo 2-203
Pacific Island Gem
The view from the lanai was beautiful, you really knew you were sitting in the South Pacific, and watching the sunsets over a few drinks was just fantastic.
The condo was very nicely furnished and decorated, spacious, well equipped, had everything we needed and was brilliant for our family holiday (five of us). The second bedroom has a double and a single and the master is seperated from the living room via a 'shogi' and enjoys the same stunning lanai view, from the bed.
The kids enjoyed the clubs pool, the free wi-fi via their PSP and Kahalu'u beach park which is about half a mile down the road towards Kona where they enjoyed snorkelling. Its about 6 miles into Kona for restauants, shops, ABC stores etc and as we had a car this was no problem.
Getting off the track here, This condo made for a lovely, relaxing, affordable and very enjoyable stay on the big island. Wish we had booked more than two nights ............
PS : Steve, the owner, fantastic guy, great service. Thanks Steve
Round Rock Texas
We stayed in 2-203 and had a beautiful view. All our needs were met and we loved the grounds. The tennis courts and pool were well maintained and the condo was clean and comfortable. We would definitely re-book this condo
Great View, Great Condo
Very nice 2 bedroom layout. One whole side of the condo is glass window/door and faces west so you get to watch the sunset every day. The lanai stretches the whole length of the side and has nice furniture on it. Sitting on the lanai, you're probably 30 feet from the very rocky (so no one will be swimming in front of the condo) shore. So you get to go to sleep to the sound of the ocean. Free wireless internet too.
The only downside is that there's no A/C. But with the windows and doors open on both sides you get a great cross breeze
The condo was fantastic. Excellent view, perfect breeze, soft mattresses, big washer...clean, organized,
Dick and Linda
Right on the Water!
The condo was beautiful, comfortable and well equipped. Even though we had seen photos and videos before we went, none of that really prepared us for how nice it was! We truly enjoyed being so close to the water, the rocks and the crashing waves. To have our bedroom right there off the generously sized lanai overlooking the water was an extraordinary experience we will never forget. We fell asleep to and heard those ocean sounds all night, waking to them the next morning! We have raved to everyone how really great that was. What an experience!
SF Bay Area
We were very happy with our choice of this condo. We loved the ocean front setting. We spent lots of time sitting out on the balcony playing cards and drinking smoothies we made from fruit we bought at the outdoor market.
The condo was very spacious for our family of 4. The location was nice - just south of the more crowded tourist area of Kona. If we were to visit the Big Island again we would not hesitate to rent this condo.
Jo Ann from Salt Lake
Salt Lake City, Utah
This condo is in the perfect location in the complex...a short stroll to the pool and barbeques. We found it extremely clean and well-kept. The views from our lanai couldn't be beat. We saw whales every day and a pod of dolphins. The grounds are beautiful and our morning bird visitors were so cute!
The condo was nicely furnished and had everything we required...right down to the beach towels and sand mats. We lots of dishes, glassware and cooking appliances.
There were a few things that need attention; toilet runs in 2nd bathroom; mirror on vanity should be replaced or fixed, and, alas, the ice maker didn't work. The beds were all very comfortable except for the twin in the second bedroom. It was hard as that lava rock! Read more
Response from Aloha Condos - 11/09/2009
We wish to thank each guest who takes the time to provide feedback on our Hawaii Vacation Home. We sincerely appreciate the kind comments passed on by Jo Anne from Salt Lake. Noting that Jo Ann took the time to put together her comments, we would like to address some of the concerns she noted.
We did not know until after her stay that there was a problem with the 2nd toilet. Turned out that the flushing handle was broken on the inside (literally a $5 dollar part at Ace Hardware), and we had our on-island repair person fix it in about 5-10 minutes. With respect to such items, we provide to all incoming guests some check-in paperwork listing the on-island contact person. That information is also posted in multiple locations inside the vacation home. Should any of our guests see a needed repair, the provided information suggests that the guest contact our on-island person for immediate attention. For some reason this was not done during Jo Ann's stay and we only noticed the toilet handle problem during the cleaning and inspection after the check-out.
Every year during the May/June time frame, we as owners stay in the vacation home to effect repairs, renovations, and upgrades. We had previously scheduled a mini-renovation of the master bathroom which we did accomplish in June just after Jo Ann's stay. Specifically, we completely replaced the Master Bathroom mirrors, medicine cabinet, and the lighting above the vanity area. Having noted the replacement and upgrade, we would like to note that living on the ocean has its challenges to just about anything human-made. With regard to mirrors, the salt air can penetrate between the glass and the backing of mirrors especially around the edges. This deteriorates the chemical backing such that one gets an oxidized (blackened) effect making the mirror look darkened and losing its reflective ability.
While the model of the refrigerator is designed for ice maker capability, this vacation home does not have an ice-maker water line to the refrigerator. Thus, it is not the case that an ice maker doesn't work, but rather that there is no ice maker. We do provide several ice trays and a freezer ice bucket, as well as several "ice packs or pads" which can be used in ice coolers.
As concerns the hard twin bed, we would like to note that we have 3 beds (a king, a queen, and a twin) as well as a queen sleeper sofa hide-a-bed which folds out from the living room sofa. Our experience with guests over the years is that there are as many opinions w.r.t. hard and soft beds as there are people. We try to accommodate by having different levels of hardness and softness across the various beds in the vacation home. The twin may be firm, but the other beds will vary in firmness. We also include a special "egg shell foam mattress pad" which can be put on or taken off the king size bed to accommodate the firmness desired of our respective guests. In short, we purposely have beds of varying firmness to accommodate the varying firmness desirability of our guests.
Steve & Canri Landry, Owner, Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Condo 2-203
We have enjoyed our vacation so much.
This is our second time to stay this condo, so we knew how confortable staying here.
We MUST book this condo for our next vacation ASAP, because it is so popular.
Thank you Steve and Can.
Ken & Linda B
This condo is big - plenty of room to spread out. We especially enjoyed that both the living room and bedroom faced the ocean so we always had a view of the water and fell asleep to the sound of the waves. We spent most of our time on the lanai which is both long and wide with table & chairs and 2 loungers. Spectacular sunsets with the waves crashing on the black lava rocks only feet from the building. The bathrooms and kitchen have recently been updated and we found both clean and well stocked. The condo complex's position in Keauhou means it is close to great snorkeling and shopping with grocery stores, restaurants, theatres and a farmer's market on Saturday. Keauhou is a guiet, safe area for walking and other parts of the island are easily accessible. KS&RC has a very large pool, excellent tennis courts and convenient free parking. The owners of this unit were very accommodating and easy to work with - the condo was exactly as represented - we will definitely return.
Hear the waves crash!
My family really enjoyed staying at this condo. The pool is close and we could watch the sunset every evening. I especially enjoyed listening to the waves while drifting off to sleep. It was clean, the beds were comfortable, and it all worked very smoothly.
Exactly as advertised! Anytime we go back to Kona I will not stay anywhere else. It was fantastic! The owner's could not have been more helpful.