The Cottage, "Mahina Meli Makai" (oceanside Honeymoon)
From $150 / night
- 1 bedrooms
- 1 bathrooms
- Sleeps 2
Description from the manager
"The Cottage", Mahina Meli Makai (Oceanside Honey Moon)
This truly oceanfront (and we mean oceanfront) cottage, is all about a peaceful quiet Romantic Hawaiian Holiday dream come true. Just the two of you.
This "Honeymoon Getaway" begins the moment you arrive and step through the gate. Once inside you will see nothing but the exotic truly tropical décor right at natures hypnotizing oceanfront door!
This darling cottage is fully equipped with all the accoutrements you can find yourself wanting, all in Hawaiian style! You will forget there is another world out there.
Watch the calming seas from the master bedroom (als...o oceanfront) and let the sound of the sea lull you to sleep. The main living area spills right onto the oversized oceanfront lanai designed for early morning coffee, quiet reading, or lighthearted entertainment by the dimming light of Kona’s spectacular world famous sunsets.
This bungalow is a true Hawaiian tropical paradise.
Come to be rested, come to make special memories, come to be delighted. Leave booking your stay for next year!
Just a few steps down the shoreline you will find Kahalu’u Beach State Park, famous for its encounters with the graceful green Hawaiian Sea Turtles.
If you are seeking local markets and historical context, downtown Kailua-Kona is approximately a 10 minute drive for easy access to shopping, businesses, waterfront restaurants and hotels. Watch the people and the cruise ships come and go from the Kailua Pier. Visit the famous Farmer's Market. Enjoy a shave ice or a cup of Kona coffee, have a light snack or a gourmet meal, buy an inexpensive souvenir or a piece of fine art, book an activity, go for a swim or hang out on the many beautiful beaches.
Up the coast is a busy marina with Hawaii's best scuba diving, big-game fishing, kayaking, dolphin and whale watching and other ocean activities. Hale Akala is conveniently located, a great home base to explore the many wonders of the Big Island including Volcano National Park, Mauna Kea Observatory, coffee and macadamia nut farms, artist communities, and more!
HAWAII TAX ID: W40950112-01
Additional amenities include: playground, dolphin watching, beach walking, tennis, boating, surfing, beach, near beach, dolphin habitat, manta ray diving, jet ski rental, nearby grocery, firepit, movie theatre, cookware, beachcombing, washer & dryer, ironing board, exceptional sunrises, boogie boarding, exceptional sunsets, coffee plantations, deep sea fishing, medical services nearby, craft shopping, exceptional views, snorkel beach, shopping, dinner cruises, biking, atv rental, swimming, coffee maker, hiking trails, miniature golf, galleries, oceanfront plus!, utensils, fishing, sight-seeing, whale watching, snorkel trips, scuba diving, snorkeling.
Check-In: 4:00 pm
Check-Out: 11:00 amRead more
About the manager
Prince Properties Inc. Full profile
Calendar updated: today
Overall rating: 4.3 / 5.0 based on 562 reviews and 43 properties
The Cottage, "Mahina Meli Makai" (oceanside Honeymoon)
Additional Location Information
More About This Location
Last updated on September 30, 2014
Not available for your dates? Check availability for 734 other Kailua-Kona rentalsCheck Availability for Kailua-Kona
Rates shown in $ USD
|See all dates
Enter dates to see your price
|Don't see rates for your trip?|
Additional notes from the manager
The minimum stays for certain dates may be longer than advertised.
- Linens Provided
- Fitness Room
Phone / Internet
- Internet Access
- Stove or Oven
- Boat available
- Pet friendly - no
- Smoking allowed - no
- Suitable for children - ask
- Suitable for the elderly - ask
- Wheelchair accessible - ask
What Past Guests Are Saying
Have you stayed here? Write a review
58 guest reviews
San Rafael, CA, United States
Paradise + roaches
15-20 dead cockroaches littered the floor of entire unit when we arrived. Apparently the unit had been vacant for some time. As a result feel that management should have checked the condition prior to our arrival. That said, Cottage itself is a great place for a couple to spend a vacation as the ocean waves break at the foundation creating a mesmerizing effect of being "in" the nature.
Overall, we would go back to The Cottage again.
Tony & Cathleen B.
Fort Bragg, CA, United States
Wonderful Hawaiian Vacation
Looooved our stay here. That being said, it is very loud because of the surf pounding right below. Could use some new sliding doors, the existing doors are very difficult to open and close and offer no sound insulation.
Scott & Shauna K.
CHico, CA, United States
Amazing Ocean View
The Location of this cottage was AMAZING! The online pictures are accurate... being on the lanai with the ocean literally 10 feet away 24/7 was a major highlight of our vacation. The cottage is very close to the Turtle beach and great snorkeling. We saw a whale and some dolphins from the Lanai as well as many surfers who were present promptly at sun rise until the last drop of sun was set. The Cottage was broom clean accept for the bugs and geckos you find everywhere in HI. Repairs are needed as this place was built in the 60's and when they say "starter supplies" they mean one roll of toilet paper and a few garbage bags, so prepare to shop. Overall, we would love to go back and we would recommend this place to our friends but be prepared for a rustic and no frills stay (as they posted this is NOT a hotel). It's all about the location, location, location at the cottage.
Novato, CA, United States
We stayed in this beautiful house three years ago and enjoyed this stay even more. Great laocation and canT beat the view. Can't wait for our next trip.
Auburn, CA, United States
A Special Place
This is our 9th year staying in the Cottage, we love the place but the owners need to add some tlc after all this time.
Denver, CO, United States
If you like being on the water, this is hard to beat
We expected "The Cottage" to be a little funkier than it was. It's clean and had everything we needed to make meals, grill outside, and enjoy the Pacific right at our feet. The location is great - walk to snorkeling and beach. Surfers are always riding in front of the cottage. Most of the ocean-side wall opens up, floor to ceiling.
Henderson, NV, United States
Perfect place for two to enjoy the Big Island. Saw some whales during our evenings on the big lanai. Very short walk to some of the best snorkling on the island. Great location and very comfortable. Loved it!!!
Poulsbo, WA, United States
I would rent the cottage again in a second
Perfect. If you have a chance spend some time at the cottage. The perfect place to explore the Kona coast from or just sit and relax.
Eugene, OR, United States
Everything you need, nothing that you don't
Lovely little cottage by the sea - perfect for a couple. The views of Kahaluu bay are great - saw an Orca breeching, schools of dolphins swimming past, and great sunsets. The house itself was clean - it is approaching readiness for some improvements, but all in all a good value.
Fairbanks, AK, United States
Oceanfront Alii house - Very nice
The structure is ON the ocean, in fact the waves wash against the building's lanai foundation. It is next to a great beach, snorkel area, and popular surfing spot. The surfers sometimes launch from the rocks in front of the house, and occasional fishermen using the rocks, too.
House seemed a bit 'tired' but in good shape. We appreciated use of the outdoor grill.
Access is off a busy street, but there is parking on the street and room for one car in an off-street alcove at the edge of the property. There is a fence between the road and house, so it doesn't have excessive road noise inside the house. Street is quiet at night.
There is a section of wall made of folding doors that can be opened between the living room and the lanai overlooking the ocean. These doors are not easy to operate, but do provide a wide-open feeling between indoors and outdoors.
If updating, we'd suggest a small indoor dining table and replace the sliding wall leading to the lanai with something more user-friendly and perhaps sound-deadening.
Overall it was a very nice place.
Stevenson, WA, United States
Honeymoon - with a warning
Overall this place is great with a few exceptions. There is no hot tub, the jets in the bathtub don't work. The place is for sale. We could never figure out how to turn certain lights on they should be labeled. There was a mouse or mice that left little droppings for us every morning. It had everything in the kitchen except for the most important thing, a wine key. We ended up just having to stab the cork through. The location great and right on the water. When you wake up on the morning there are surfers literally 100 feet from your back door surfing. It is the best place to see the sunset by far. We are on our honeymoon and The Cottage was the 2nd stop for us. Maui being the 1st and Kauai the 3rd. We rented a condo in Maui , The Cottage in Kona and a little house off VBRO in Kauai. The amenities in Maui and Kauai were just better and more. For what you pay for the cottage they should give you unlimited toilet paper and paper towels everyone else does. All in all I think The Cottage was a great place but would not return b/c of the little things that were not working or what we were not made aware of. The other 2 places we stayed on the other two islands I would return to year after year. That is what you want your customers to say and I cannot say that about The Cottage.
Oak Harbor, WA, United States
Right on the water!
The location was absolutely fantastic! We loved watching the surfers and saw turtles and marlin from our deck, which was not near, but over the water! The only problem was that there are no screens. We learned how to cope rather easily though. Overall we loved the Cottage. We will be back.
This was everything we wanted. Right over the water at a good price. My new wife is already telling me this is the place we are coming back to. Wonderful place can't wait to go back. I even snorkeled right of the front of the property.
water's edge getaway
we really needed a break and this was a perfect location for us. Everything we needed was on site, and we rented snorkels and masks across the street. turtles abound. Surfers are very fun to watch and they love the waves in front of the cottage. If you want to be in the presence of the ocean, this is perfect.
Claire & Norman S.
We really enjoy the"Cottage"; but the windows and glass doors needed washing.
San Francisco, CA
Our 2nd Kona Cottage stay
The view and ocean sounds are amazing! We were very disappointed to find there was no hot tub, that was a main selling point for our vacation pick at the cottage. It was in all the ads and virtual tours as well as was there 3 years ago when we stayed here, a big let down to find it was gone when we arrived.
Everything worked well and the pests were at a minimum, being so close to the ocean and all, but there were still enough to make us cringe a few times. There was also trash in the kitchen garbage can and fridge when we arrived.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
A wonderful honeymoon in and idyllic setting
This property is in the best location with waves lapping onto rocks below the lanai and beautiful sunsets ! We had an amazing 7 nights here and really enjoyed ourselves - the property could do with a bit of updating and maintenance but we didn't tend to notice due to the amazing location and view. We would highly suggest this property for couples that want a more private honeymoon :)
Delta, BC, Canada
Our Hawaiian Getaway
Aloha from the West Coast of British Columbia!
The Cottage was the perfect little getaway if you like being right on the ocean. You have to like hearing the crashing of the waves for sure - and we do! From the lanai watching the surfers trying to conquer the might seas is a great theraputic way to get rid of the city hum-drums! The only "issue" we encountered was the broken coffee pot! Always a city dweller, the first morning was a little rough until Walmart opened and we purchased a new coffee pot. Java is on us! We are hoping to make the Cottage our yearly retreat.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Quaint little cottage with great location, but some drawbacks.
Overall the cottage was a unique experience. The location was stunning. However I would chose a location off the beach next time.
However, I would have some reservations before recommending it to a friend.
1) It is very noisy, if you are a light sleeper the surf is a distraction.
2) There is no air conditioning and the trade winds were light and fitfull when we stayed. Although the overhead fan helps it can be stuffy if you shut the doors on the lanai to cut the surf sounds.
3) The extras were not there. We had to purchase toilet paper and laundry soap which in my estimation should have been provided in more abundance for the 10 day stay. Also we could not access the internet or use the telephone without undergoing some complex process or paying extra (this was not clear).
4) Some extra indoor furniture and lighting would be appreciated. Difficult to read in the rooms at night because of dimness, nowhere to recline inside except the bed. Somewhere to eat inside would be nice, particularly if the weather is inclement - though this is not often.
san diego, ca
It’s on the water and cheap, so we accept the issues…
We have rented vacation homes many times, have rented from this property rental firm twice and in fact have our own vacation rental.
It is difficult to find a one bedroom free standing home right on the water anywhere. So this place, and the one next door (to your right as you look at the water) are nice finds. This property is pretty tired, but because of its price, that is fine. The property to the right has a pool, a second bedroom, but smaller outdoor lanai. And if you are going to rent a place right on the water, I presume you plan to live outside as much as possible.
Some reviewers complain about the noise of the waves. It is loud. But a joyous loud. If you don’t want to experience the crashing waves, then don’t rent a place with a rocky shoreline, therefore don’t rent a house on the water in Kaliua-Kona.
Extremely difficult to open the accordion doors to the outside lanai. Almost made us stop trying. But having that openness is why we were there, so we kept pushing forward. We succeeded. But we also just left them open the whole time there, even when away. A risk? Sure, but we have never had a problem in Hawaii with break-ins.
The fact that there is still no cork screw is a huge indicator that the property management company just doesn’t care. They have such a huge set of rules for renters, but don’t seem to care that the place is adequately supplied. Thank goodness that I read the review noting that the coffee filters were in the cookie jar. The property management company wants you to do almost all of their work before you check out. I’ve never experienced that with other rentals.
I wish we had known when we checked in that there would be a steady stream of dying cockroaches each day. We would have collected them and made a nice cockroach soup on our final day.
Old property. Dirty property. But right on the water and priced right. We would stay again if the property next door wasn’
Santa Cruz, CA
The property location was...
The property location was wonderfully, located, near great snorkling beaches and close to Kona. Feedback, the coffee filters were hidden away in the cookie jar not easily found and a wine bottle opening would have been helpful. A couple of bulbs were out but we were able to fix. The views, and the sound of the pounding surf was exceptional.
New Richmond, WI
Cozy and Private
It's a wonderful house--right on the crashing waves. Stirring and lulling at the same time. The house is solidly built, with gorgeous wooden/glass doors. It's small, with only one bed, which was okay for us on this particular trip. Sometimes we bring friends/family, though and sadly, will have to go elsewhere. The furniture is of good quality, but there's no couch (only two chairs)--probably just for lack of space. The only real negative for us, though, is that there's no table inside--so all meals have to be eaten on the lanai. For the days we were there, the weather cooperated, but I'd worry about that a bit.
Return to Paradise!
This was our 2nd stay at The Cottage, and once again, we absolutely loved it. The location is wonderful and we can't wait to plan our next stay here.
San Francisco, CA
We'd stay here again
Overall this is an excellent vacation property and location. Given the location right on the ocean's edge, the place has a kind of funky old beach house feel to it. Perhaps someone could apply some WD-40 to the glass doors, but obviously maintenance is a challenge given the location. It's worth it.
One problem: I'm a professional blogger and needed the high-speed internet connection they claimed was available. Not too much, but a few minutes every day to stay on top of my work. No high-speed connection to be found. I worked around it, but it shouldn't be listed as an amenity if it isn't really available.
ocean front cottage
The only problem with the cottage was the noise. If you are not a sound sleeper keep in mind the waves crash under the porch and are LOUD. You can not shut the doors because there is no A/C, so either noise or heat. Did not bother me, my husband ended up sleeping in the closet. Seriously. Other then that it was beautiful and very convienent.
watchd out for this clever ripoff
Prince Properties' security deposit turns out to be insurance for damage up to $500 non refundable. Normally I would have caught this [you are allowed to opt out] but I was undergoing chemo at the time I made the reservation. this is at least non-standard and at most a clever ripoff. good bye Prince Properties. Read more
Response from Prince Properties Inc. - 06/14/2010
I don't get your complaint? It was for $5000 damages. It saves you also having to pay a security deposit up front.Is there something I missed?I am sorry about your medical condition. I hope your stay was nice other than that.
South Pasadena, CA
The Cottage near Kahaluu
We spent a week at 'The Cottage' (Mahina Meli Makai). We visit the Big Island frequently (this was probably our 20th trip over 10 years) and are familiar with rental options in Kona. We had mixed feelings about our stay at the Cottage. On the plus side, the location is ideal - 3 houses up from Kahaluu Beach with a great views of the bay and surfers from the lanai. The cottage was also surprisingly quiet in the evenings despite the proximity to Alii Drive (thanks to the constant sound of the surf). On the negative side, the house is not well maintained. The lanai awning has been replaced with several tarps which are functional but unsightly. Roaches are a problem - more so than we're accustomed to from our many other visits to Kona (or from living in a tropical setting before). The problem here is the house has large gaps at the bottom of the doors on the lanai and the side patio. So roaches are free to enter the house. There's no safe way to preclude this with pesticides and the roaches will come looking even if you're fastidious about cleaning and taking out the trash as we are. With regards to service from Prince Properties, the reservation and checkin/checkout processes were smooth. With regards to support during our stay - we called immediately after we arrived with two requests. The gas grill on the patio had run out of propane. They sent somebody around the next day to replace it. Also, the spa on the patio wasn't working (no power to heat or jets). I checked the breaker box and noted the breaker had blown. I reset it - it ran for 5 minutes then tripped again so I shut it off and notified Prince. When I called they admitted that the spa heater hadn't worked for about a year and the owner didn't want to fix it but the jets should work. I explained the tripped breaker and that there was no power at all going to the spa. They said they would have to look into it and get back to me but never did. Overall, we enjoyed our stay given the loc
Newport Beach, CA
Very hard to leave...
The location was so perfect, it was sometimes hard to pull ourselves away from the waves breaking right below our feet. This unit is perfect for a couple who'd like a little piece of paradise for themselves. The pictures are not doctored, the place really is as good as it looks.
Bell Canyon, CA
We would recommend this...
We would recommend this property solely on the location, which was exceptional! The condition of the property was disappointing... Our expectation was that it would be clean and well-maintained, but it fell short of our expectation in these regards.
Suquay Varina, NC
Chris P.'s review of The Cottage
was hot inside , had to leave doors and windows open at night, so the security system was in vain. otherwise great location and view
San Clemente, California
Great location, will book again (if possible after sale)
Wasn't aware that the property was for sale when I arrived, with the possibility of clients potentially walking through. Perhaps the addition of an in-house safe would be appropriate for security, as most guests will spend most of their time outdoors while on vacation. I hope this home continues to be available for rent in the future, I would like to return. And, like a ship on the water, there are signs that it needs a little TLC, but nothing that will dissuade my re-booking. Thanks for a great time!
Salt lake city, ut
Great little bungalo right...
Great little bungalo right on the water. Kitchen was well equipped. Only complaint was no door on the bathroom (open to the closet) which made it less than 100% private.
Santa Rosa, CA
Do not want review...
Do not want review published.
Thousand Oaks, Ca
Ray H.'s review of The Cottage
The place grows on you. We have many fond memories of the stay. Property Mgr. was excellent, property is aging and needs some repair. Property is for sale and I am sure someone will fall in love with it and take good care of it. Would not repeat visit, but for "our" reasons, not the property's fault.
Perry Anderson RPh
great location but building in poor condition.
I'd have the owner fix the front gate and the moving wall in the bedroom (especially since it's up for sale). Many light bulbs were out and the switches were a bit hard to figure out, but WOW the location can't be beat, right over the water, a few houses away from a beach with decent snorkeling. It was GREAT.
honeymoon in paradise
wonderful location. lanai hanging over the rocks made it hard to leave to explore Kona and the Big Island. Will definitely consider The Cottage on our next visit to Kona.
We had an exceptional visit to the Cottage. The tour books were very helpful with getting around. The property was stocked well with dishes and utilities. I would suggest giving instructions for the hot tub with the reminder that the maintenance person comes by on Thursdays. Directions to the nearest grocery store would also have been helpful upon arrival. We would definately recommend this to friends and love to visit again. Read more
Response from Prince Properties Inc. - 10/09/2008
Thank you for your stay here at the Cottage. We hope to have you back again soon. Brad (mgr)
San Francisco, CA
Amazing location and views right on the water
Right on the water - great breeze even during the heat of the day, with a fully covered lanai. Front room opens up completely to the lanai and ocean. If you want direct sun, another side area off the bedroom is completely open to the sky (except for palms above) and ocean . Gas grill is great. New tile throughout is great. Kitchen has all the utensils you need. Only bad - place smells very moldy when the doors are closed.
Oro Valley, AZ
Great Place, But Needs Maintenance
The cottage is in a beautiful location, and very nicely decorated. But it's very close to the road (something you can't tell from the photos). Unfortunately, it needs some serious maintenance. The sliding doors don't work very well, the lanai leaks when it rains, the skylight in the bathroom leaks, and we had continual problems trying to get the bedroom door closed so we could activate the alarm. It's certainly better than most, but it could be much better. Read more
Response from Prince Properties Inc. - 08/21/2008
Aloha, Thank you for your review. The doors are a constant fix as they are right on the water. The owners do enjoy the rustic part of the cottage and are also aware of the repairs needed to the skylight. We were not aware of the other door problem until now, so thank you for letting us know. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Brad Property Manager
San Francisco, CA
The Cottage vacation
The cottage is in a great location with incredible views. The ocean right at your doorstep and the sound of waves at night are very relaxing. Unfortunately The Cottage was overrun with huge cockroaches which are found all over The Cottage. This made for a very unpleasant stay. The dryer did not work and the BBQ did not get very hot. As much as I liked the view and location, I will not be back to stay at The Cottage. Read more
Response from Prince Properties Inc. - 08/21/2008
Aloha, Thank you for staying with us. As we all know cockroaches love it here as much as we do. In effort to minimize the amouts we see, Ecolab pest service services this property monthly. They have proven to be valuable. Rain does increase chances of sightings. The dryer has now been fixed by sears, sorry for that. We will check into the BBQ and find out what is going on there. It may be rust problems. We have not been made aware of the BBQ in the past nor did we receive a call from you, but thank you for letting us know via this review. We hope to have you back with us again soon! Brad Property Manager
nice place to watch...
nice place to watch the surfers and the crabs below our feet.
Missouri City, Texas
This was a great place to stay and also do snorkling nearby and watch the surfers in the morning. The only issues we had were some unwanted 6 legged "guests" that would pester us at night. The roof in the bathroom leaked during a torrential rain. The alarm system had a few glitches. However, we still enjoyed our stay.
The Cottage, Kona Hawaii
My husband and I loved the locaton and the feel of the cottage. It was such a treat to wake up and go to sleep to the sound of the ocean. The ability to open the doors wide to the view, bringing the outside in, was fantastic. You have to be able to move beyond cockroaches though. My biggest complaint would be in the fact that in addition to the price of the room/house, you pay an additional cleaning fee, however only the towels from the morning can be left in the wash without an additional fee. That is a bit extravagant. The cottage has only room for two, so the amount of laundry that is generated is low. When you have towels from the beach, bath and kitchen, there should be no reason that one load of laundry couldn't be left for the staff to handle.
The Cottage review
Improvements: needs laundry basket, higher wattage bulb in kitchen and living room area, strainer net for jacuzzi, adjustment to entrance gate, carpet cleaning throughout especially in bathroom. Lots of water and moisture damage in bathroom near floor and very dirty in some of the nooks and crannies around bathroom, hot water heater and closet area (most of the contact we had with bugs were from these areas). House could also use a very good dusting above the divider between bedroom and closet area. Other than that we had a wonderful time.
Could have been heaven but was ****
We rented the Honeymoon cottage for our 25th anniversary. Our stay was to be for 8 nights. I fell in love with it as I scanned through the pictures on the web. It was a darling cottage and on the water. Unfortunately, when we arrived, there were dead cockroaches and bugs all over the cottage floors, sinks, counters, and tub and fecal matter on the toilet. The hot tub had bugs floating all over in it, more dead ones on the bottom and seats, and squished between the cover and ledge. We would not walk around barefoot in the cottage as cockroaches as big as three inches would scamper under cabinets when we turned on the lights. We first spent our own money and bought some roach killer after we sanitized and cleaned all the surfaces and swept the floors. (Not exactly how I pictured spending our first evening in beautiful Hawaii. After 3nights of coming back from our daily explorations to be greeted by scampering cockroaches, we called prop.manager and asked the to have some one clean the cottage and hot tub so we could use it and also spray or bomb for bugs. Our request was refused. We asked if there was another house on the ocean we could move to. We were told there was but we'd have to pay a large sum for the difference of the two houses. I asked if under the circumstances, wouldn't they Comp the difference. Again, our request was refused. We had planned this anniversary trip for over 3 years; saving and looking for the perfect place to stay. Our third child just graduated college and it was tough to scrape the funds together for this trip. Brad Lusk did offer us another accommodation. It was a unit in a complex. No privacy, no hot tub, no beautiful lanai to look out over the ocean from. This special trip was nearly ruined, as Prince Properties would not, did not, step up to the plate and do the right thing. Fortunately, my ever positive husband and I consoled each other and we enjoyed all the big island had to offer despite the extremely poor hospitality via Princ
San Pedro, CA
Amazing view and location
Waterfront doesn't begin to describe this cottage. At high tide, you feel the spray on the large lanai. The living room doors unfold to make one huge patio, and you can watch and hear the waves from the bedroom and side patio too. Just 2 houses down from a fantastic snorkeling bay w/sea turtles, and from the patio we could enjoy watching dozens of surfers riding the waves there from pre-dawn to nightfall. Absolutely loved it.
Skip this rental!
Great view & OK location but the home suffers from lack of care! Door in bedroom wouldn't open, gate didn't open all the way, interior of cupboards in kitchen smelled funky, no screens and lots of dead & live bugs; didn't mind the ants, hated the roaches. Bed was comfy but no blanket, just an empty duvet that I'm sure hadn't been cleaned in some time - ick. Carpet had been cleaned but was sticky & the smell most unpleasant. What a surprise given all the 'warnings' about what you could & could not do stated in the rental agreement. No way would we return to that property. Read more
Response from Prince Properties Inc. - 07/24/2008
Aloha, We thank you for your review. The bedding is washed and drycleaned on a regular basis. The carpet has now been pulled and tile has been set in its place. Thank you again. Brad
Great Falls, MT
A very nice romantic get-a-way for two.
My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at The Cottage. A very charming one bedroom home with a terrific view of the ocean, and surf. If you were any closer, you would be getting wet. Very nice living room, lani and side yard with plenty of chairs, lounges and tables. Just a short walk to Kahalu’u Beach Park with very good snorkeling, swimming and surfing. While the unit was very clean when we arrived, do take advantage of the provided Tupperwear containers for any dry food stuffs. There was evidence of some small four legged visitors during our stay. Overall, very nice. We would gladly stay again.
The Cottage On the Ocean
We loved this vacation home and have booked it again for next fall. We had two problems: We arrived late at night and there were NO lights on anywhere. Fortunately, we had a flashlight to help us grope around in the dark to find first the address, then the front door. The ice maker in the fridge didn't work, and there were no ice trays for making ice - a must for those Mai-Tais. The sound of the surf is quite noisy, so if you're a light sleeper, this may be a problem. Because there is no A/C, it's necessary to keep the doors to the lanai open all night. The location is fabulous, and we loved the openness of the living area to the lanai.
This location is great, it's close to local activities, and a great sunset view.
Ginny H.'s review of The Cottage
Awesome location! We overlooked the stained carpet, the leak under the kitchen sink that had obviously been leaking for some time (it was repaired quickly after our call), and the broken bathroom accordion door, but what almost ruined the stay was that the property was over run with cockroaches! We could actually see them coming and going under the exterior bedroom door (not sealed)every night. We have stayed on almost all of the Hawaiian islands, in a variety of properties, and never experienced so many cockroaches. In one of our nightly chases of cockroaches we found several dead ones, that appeared to have been there prior to our stay, under the bed. This property had such great potential if it weren't for the over abundance of cockroaches. We loved the general area and we are planning a trip back to the same vicinity this year, but will not staying at this particular property again. Read more
Response from Prince Properties Inc. - 07/24/2008
Aloha, We have now pulled all carpet in the home and replaced it with tile. Constant spraying keeps the ongoing pest control at it best. If they enter they will not live (roaches) Thank you for your review. Brad
Amazing Property Right On the Water!
Great and fun property for 2 people. Amazing location, the waves come up to the foot of the property. Beautiful sunsets. We will definately return, as well as recommend to friends.
Heaven on Earth
This was our second visit to the Cottage. We love it there. Our favorite past time is snorkeling at the nearby Kahaluu Beach. The surfers are fun to watch too. Its wonderful. Read more
Response from Prince Properties Inc. - 07/24/2008
We are glad you had a great time.
Didn't want to leave
We had a great stay at the cottage, I could not imagine it being any better. Waking up to the sound of the ocean and going out and setting in the hot tub under the gazebo, watching the cruise ships pass by and the surfers settling in for the day. This was our first experience in Hawaii and it was a great one. I would recommend this unit to anyone. It was one of those places that you just didn't want to leave.
Big Island 5-Year Wedding Anniversary Trip
The Cottage was a fabulous, romantic getaway for my husband and I. Even though it rained half the time we were on the Big Island, we were still able to enjoy the ocean and palm trees from our covered lanai and hot tub. Fabulous--can't wait to come back!
The property had rats...
The property had rats and the fridge barely worked. Overall not very clean. Read more
Response from Prince Properties Inc. - 07/24/2008
Aloha, Thank you for your review. Pest service was stepped up to control this problem that comes up on the ocean. No signs of rodants thus far. The fridge has also been looked at as well. Thank you again for your reviews as we strive for quality control. Brad