Hale Le'ale'a Ohana
|Minimum Stay||3 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Unit enjoys two huge oceanfront Lanaiâ€™s (a rare find on the Islands) as a special treat. One being right off the huge master suite sanctuary.
You will guaranteed spend more of your time enjoying the direct oceanfront views and sounds of the ocean than in watching television! Watch the dolphins swim by during the day back and forth in their playgrounds. Whales frequent the waters from December through March and put on a show right in front of you!
A white sandy beach just steps away for time in the sun and Turtle Cove is just yards away. This home has every creature comfort you will need to have a wonderful time of family enjoym...Read more
Rental Property is located in Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, but cannot be displayed on a map. Contact the manager for more details
We do not have the specific location for this property. Contact the manager for more details
Hale Le'ale'a Ohana
located in Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, but cannot be displayed on a map. Contact the manager for more details
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$285 - $455||$285 - $455||$1,995 - $3,185||$8,550 - $11,780||3 nights|
|Mar. 1 2013 - May. 31 2013||$285||$285||$1,995||$8,550||3 nights|
|Jun. 1 2013 - Aug. 31 2013||$285||$285||$1,995||$8,550||3 nights|
|Sep. 1 2013 - Nov. 30 2013||$285 - $455||$285 - $455||$1,995 - $3,185||$8,550 - $11,780||3 nights|
|Dec. 1 2013 - Feb. 28 2014||$285 - $455||$285 - $455||$1,995 - $3,185||$9,750 - $11,570||3 nights|
|Mar. 1 2014 - May. 31 2014||$285 - $325||$285 - $325||$1,995 - $2,275||$8,550 - $9,750||3 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
Additional notes from owner
The minimum stays for certain dates may be longer than advertised.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 22, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Blaine, MN, United States
Nice location about 2 miles south of Kona
This unit is for sale and needs some updating, but everything worked and the property was clean, neighbors were quite - well, except for the local roosters:) and the ocean was stunning. Saw turtles and dolphins from the Lanai, beautiful sunsets.
North Bend, Nebraska, United States
We really enjoyed unit 5 but 6 had a couple of extras that we did not miss. Unit was well stocked to start our stay. Great place and we would be there every year if the plane ride was 5 hours. If we come back it will be here but I'm 68 and have other dreams. Get the plane ride better and we will come back in the next yrar.
You have a great place
Lancaster, CA, United States
My 60th birthday
I had originally booked a small private house. Seems there was a flood in the kitchen and it was more extensive than they thought - so this condo was offered. There was a reason that we opted for a house instead of a condo- we voiced our concerns about common walls and noise. The common wall condo was in foreclosure so we didn't have to worry about that. It was GREAT for the first 5 days (very private and serene - then someone moved into the one across from us (non common walls) for a 90th birthday party. They did tell us there would be 30 people coming to the party - so we found somewhere else to go for the day/nite. The view was BREATH TAKING and except for the first night for our new neighbors (who stayed up till 2pm talking) we could only hear the pounding waves as we slept! We kept all doors and windows open to keep it cooler in the house. The back bedrooms are noisy when there is traffic on Alii Drive. All amenities were great. My recommendation would be a table on the top lanai and lounge chairs on the lower lanai. Other than that a great place (if you like Condo living
Dennis & Debi M.
Pine Bush, NY, United States
will definetly stay here again!
fabulous place!! we had such a great time here, loved waking up and sitting on the lani and listen to the waves crash. we got to swim with the turtles just steps away!! amazing place! i would definetly recommend!
Sharpsburg, GA, United States
The unit is in a great location. The air/cnd was poor, we went out and purchased two box fans for the master bedroom Hope they help the next couple. Thanks goodness we were there when it wasn't too hot, with the box fans it was bearable. Down stairs is fine, but too hot upstairs. Furniture was fine, but a little long in the tooth. Understand that unit is forsale, hope you get the price. I would recommend with qualifacations. Everyone we talked to was wonderful.
Kalispell, MT, United States
Beautiful home with all the amenities; Prince staff were very attentive and responsive; neighbors were friendly and helpful; be sure to get air conditioning as the back rooms get stuffy without it;
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Lovely oceanfront condo
If you enjoy the sound of surf and relaxing on large lanai's watching whales and sunsets, this is the place for you. Short walk to turtle cove was nice (on uneven ground). A few negatives include cheap kitchenware, no recycling available (all goes to trash bin) and the carpets are stained and very dirty (almost a deal breaker).
Nisswa, MN, United States
Kona at its best
We had a great visit the my family of 8. The accomadations were excellent as was the proximity to the ocean. The view is incredible. We were busy the first few days with activities and saw little whale activity out front. The sixth day was pretty laid with a great church 1/2 block south and we must have seen 15 whales that day with some dolphins as an added bonus. Hopefully we will be able to return in the future.
Vancouver, WA, United States
Overall, a good value
Location as advertised - beautiful view. Few minor off-notes: some fixtures missing light bulbs, kitchen furnishings adequate, some cabinets contained odd paint-and-repair bits and pieces.A little more inexpensive attention to detail would lift the ambience. It was a tricky climb over the rocks to the "Turtle Bay" which left out a couple members of our family - but certainly worth it for those who could manage the trek.
Lyons, CO, United States
disappointed with the condo, but the location and views are grea
The lanai windows were grimy inside and out & we couldn't see through them so we cleaned them. The kitchen appliances were ALL filthy & had to be cleaned. The teakettle was also rusty. The metal burglar door & the door behind it in the downstairs bedroom is 90% rust. We called it the 'tetanus door". We made cookies for Santa one night & there isn't a cookie sheet, so we had to use a scratched-up teflon pan. There was a small amount of salt, no sugar, and no pepper. We tried to use the disposal on the countertop sink and it didn't work. Fun! The A/C wasn't working even though we paid for it, so we waited for it to be fixed. There weren't any hangers in the guest rooms or enough bath/beach towels, so we had to borrow from relatives on the island. There wasn't even a hanger rod in one of the bedrooms! The kitchen is old and cabinet bottoms are rotted out in some places. Lots of ants. We had visits from roaches and a rat.
The dishwasher doesn't clean dishes well, so we wasted time re-washing dishes. We didn't have enough plates (only 5), so Prince representatives went and bought more. Prince Properties handled all of our complaints with total professionalism. I read the reviews of this condo and others have had similar complaints to ours. Prince Properties reimbursed us for the A/C and other issues, so they do care. I just don't think they rectify issues within this condo (or else they don't read the reviews). Unfortunately, I can't recommend this condo. If you use Prince Properties, I would carefully read the reviews. We will choose a newer condo next time!
Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
December 2011 Family trip to Kona
It is a large unit with comfortable furnishings. The kitchen is well stocked with any tool or dish you could possibly need, but is showing some wear. All food had to be stored in the refrigerator because of an ant infestation. The location is great with a fabulous view, if you can see it through the dirty glass. We had to clean the glass panels on the lanai to see the view while seated at the patio table or from the sofa inside.
Great view and nice master bedroom but.....
Be careful with the air conditioner deal. It will cost you $30 more per day if you have any other people staying other than 1st Master Bedroom. Back rooms are not airy and very dumpy, it gets hot especially if you use dryer. If you open windows, then you
have to hear all noises from the road traffic, yard maintenance noise, air conditioning noise from other complexes, and early birds! It was hard to sleep. Dishwasher is almost not working, it was better wash dishes by hand for your vacation stay, and roaches
are your visitors. It is natural in Hawaii and I was explained that extermination happens quarterly, but it was scary to see definitely big guys almost everyday in multiple areas in the condo. Bug spray is in the pantry. If you do not like roaches, do not
visit here. If you need to use 2nd master downstairs, please bring your personal sets of bath towels. The towel sets there were stinky and we washed them twice with hot water but could not get rid of the old towel smells. The housekeeping crew number is hidden,
so it is hard to call when you need something simple. But there is an emergency number to clear problems, they are helpful, except weekends. You will only have maintenance help Mon-Fri. After all, the front view is great. I have heard you can see dolphins
swim around sometimes.
San Jose, ca
Hale Kai Okona #6 review
Place was great to stay at. Only problem was that the fusebox switch for the fans in the upstairs bedroom had been turned off, along with the lights in the upstairs bathroom, and the A/C. Too late to call to address issue when we arrived at 9PM. The next day we called at 2PM, got no response, called again and was put in contact with the maintenance lead. At 5PM, still nobody arrived to address issue. Called again & was told that the issue could not be addressed until the following day due to the time of day. So, once again, can't use the fans upstairs and guest slept on the couch for the 2nd evening in a row. 1st thing next morning, maintenance guy shows up and reverses switches on fusebox...which was locked by the way. Took less than 5 minutes to fix problem.
Then I get a call from maintenance lead person telling me that situation is fixed and A/C is available too, but if I use it, there will be an additional daily charge.
Seems to me, this person should have been apologizing for the screw up in the 1st place and offering some kind of compensation to me for having one of my guests sleeping on the couch for 2 nights...all for a 5 minute fix, which was somebody's error in the 1st place.
Everything you could ask for, and magnificent sunsets too!
I spent 4 nights in this townhouse with my husband, two teenagers and my father. The location is just beautiful - on the shore, with a lovely view of the sea and a beautiful sea breeze to keep you cool. The accommodation is spacious and well appointed, and the property is well stocked with kitchen implements, guidebooks and games. There is also wi-fi.
The master bedroom in particular, which has its own lanai and looks out onto the ocean, is roomy, airy and nicely decorated.
Only two gripes - there were no clothes hangers at all despite the huge hanging space available, and we did not know that there was a $30 per day additional charge for air conditioning. In the end, we opted not to take it, and once we stopped trying to make it work and opened all the windows to let in the breeze, it was perfectly fine. Thanks to Kathy in maintenance for her prompt response to our questions.
We all enjoyed our stay and would love to return. We'd certainly recommend it!
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
One Week Vacation in Kona - 4 Couples
Great location. Enjoyed sitting on the deck eating breakfast and whale watching at the same time. Would definitely go back again.
, , United Kingdom
First class property, so close to the sea that you think the wav
The property is 2 floor terrace house i would describe it as. it is fitted with carpet apart from the kitchen and dinning area. i think i would prefered hardwood floor if this is my property. Watching the sunset from the lanai that is so perfect is feels unreal! Internet and phone just installed during our stay so this won't be an issue anymore, it is not wireless though, i would recommend to fit a wireless router as it doesn't cost much but it means guess can have multiple pc access to the internet. I would suggest to have a printer as well, this means the guess can print the boarding pass when they checkin the airline via internet. Overall the house is excellent all round, we can't fault anything at all, furniture is very high quality. about 5 min drive to the south is perfect place for snorkling and surfing, 5 min drive to the north is all restaurant are based, so the location is perfect.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Hale Le'ale'a Ohana - you can do better
The only saving grace to this place is its oceanfront location. $30/day for A/C that doesn't work is outrageous. The electrical system is terrifying (lights/ceiling fans randomly turn on/off), no beach items, extremely dated interior, paint peeling off walls, no supplies (ie. toilet paper, garbage bags), hair found in shower stall....need I go on? All this for only $279/nt!
Response from Prince Properties Inc. - 12/03/2010
Aloha KitstenI am sorry for your expereince. This unit does need an update and actaully it is planned for this month. I will comp you for one night for your inconveneince and we are soory. We hope you will consider us again some day!
David S.'s review of Hale Le 'ale'a Ohana
1. ads made this property look like a beach front home , instead it was a condo.
2. the unit wasn't prepped for our arrival; the hot water heater wasn't on and the air conditioner was locked at 84 degrees; not something one want to deal with after 3 flights and 14 hours.
Other than this the units was nice with a great view, fairly quiet and well appointed
Response from Prince Properties Inc. - 08/30/2010
Aloha'Thanks for the nice review.We are soory it was 84 degrees upon arrival.AC is an option you were asked if you wanted before your arrival and you did not choose it prior to arriving. It appears you ripped the AC cover off the wall, so we assumeyou used it and it worked after that.Aloha!
Kona Stay June 2010
My only complaint was that the air conditioning was shut off during our stay. It turned out that the weather was not too bad and the house was around 80 degrees most of the time, but had it gotten any hotter we would have been very unhappy. The rent was high enough that the air conditioning could have been kept on even if it were set at a fairly high temperature, say 78 or 80 degrees.
My wife & I had agreat time & the property was excellent. Every thing went perfect. We plan on contacting you soon for a repeat performace.
Haines Junction, Yukon, Canada
Big Island Stay
The location on the ocean was great; the only real drwaback to the location is that there was not really a nice place to go for a morning stroll (except down the busy Allii street). Having our mothers with us limited the amount of rock scrambling we could do in front of the building and they were disappointed to not be able to walk to the ocean & the small beach areas because of the rocks. Overall though a very enjoyable place.
Alii Drive Oceanfront Townhome
We stayed during winter high-surf & were treated to big wave surfers and waves crashing in front of the property at a famous surf spot called Boneyards. The surf crashing was loud, but we loved it! We also viewed Humpback whales breaching a couple hundred yards out. The home is very comfortable & I would stay here again. Note - there is jagged lava rock & no beach entry to swim, no pool, & no hot tub. It's all about the view! It's also about a half mile to the weekend Farmer's market & a couple miles south of town.
Christmas at Kona
The condo was beautifully laid out. The location and views were fantastic. We watched the sun go down every evening and awoke to the sound of the surf every morning. The sleeping quarters were very nice, especially the master suite. The kitchen was great, especially on Christmas day when we fixed dinner for both my own and my sisters families. We had a wonderful time.
Fabulous, amazing, wonderful (in other words, OK)
The place was spotless, except for a missing screen on the lower bathroom window. It was later found UNDER the house. That needs to be replaced.
My biggest complaint about the place was the dishwasher. It seems to be missing a spring in the door, and the VERY HEAVY door falls open. I whacked myself in the knee the first few times, but this could be a VERY dangerous situation for a young child or elderly person. I will contact Brad Lusk about this.
I like the simplicity with which the unit is decorated. It is neat, clean and not over-tchotchke'd. It lets the location be the decoration---who can compete with being RIGHT on the ocean?
Would I stay there again? IN A HEARTBEAT! Please send me a ticket---I can be packed in 5 minutes.
April S.'s review of Hale Le 'ale'a Ohana
Overall had a good experience. Condo is nicely furnished and in a great location. Would have liked to have more than 1 wash cloth to share between the 5 of us. Also for the amount of the cleaning charge, cleaning could have been more thorough... coffee pot still had used coffee filter from previous guests, crumbs on countertops, several plates in cupboard had food particles/crumbs on them, and carpet throughout needed vacuumed. Previously we have stayed at other condos in Hawaii that charged $75 for cleaning and were spotless! Also the old, beat up, unuseable patio furniture on the upstairs lanai should be disposed of, it is an eyesore.
Long Beach, ca
better than expected, and expectations were high
Best location on the Island!
The view from this townhouse's lani is the best there is! We have traveled to all of the islands and this spot on the Big Island continues to be our favorite. You have the convenience of Kona right near by, access to the best snorkeling just down the street and you are in the comfort of a well furnished, welcoming home. This was our second time at this location and we will be back - soon, I hope!
Beautiful ocean view. No...
Beautiful ocean view. No working smoke dectors. Lani's were never cleaned and very very dirty. Could only find four washcloths even digging though the extra linens. Captain chair at dining table leg was broken, in addition caster kept falling out when moved. Needed to call the property manager once as the water was shut off and he returned the call promptly.
The view of the ocean was unforgettable! It was a great location to the towns many shops and eating places. We were sad when we had to leave!
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Thomas S.'s review of Hale Le 'ale'a Ohana
Hale Le 'ale'a Ohana was everything we could have hoped for. It is a beautiful waterfront condominium with gorgeous views. We will stay here again when in Kona.
Great View!!!! Lots of room!
Everything was great, and I dont want people to think that I am being too picky, but there is one need for improvement.... just communicating to us that right next door they are in a process of building a new condo!! So, we left most of the day to get away from the sounds of hammering and saws... Nothing was communicated to us before arrival about the construction. The property is very reasonably priced!!!!
Wonderful Vacation at Hale Le 'ale'a Ohana
This condo is in a great location; easy access to Alii Dr & Queen K Highway and so close to the water you can hear the waves through the closed windows. All 3 bedrooms are large, with plenty of privacy. We'll stay here again next time we vacation in Kona. Only complaint were the little ants, but that's to be expected in a tropical location.
Palm Desert, CA
Wonderful place to stay
Great oceanfront condo. We saw lots of nice sunsets from the condo lanai. Sea turtles a short walk from condo along the beach. Close to town. Can't wait to go back, will stay there again.
Oak Park, CA
The condo was very nicely furnished and very clean. We were traveling as part of a group of three families and our condo was the nicest by far!
Kailua Kona, Hawaii
At the ocean's edge
Nice accommodations right on the ocean. Enjoyed the 5 day stay with family.
Randy R.'s review of Hale Le 'ale'a Ohana
This beautiful condo is in a great location, central, yet quiet, with gorgeous ocean view. Would love to stay here again.
Great X-mas Vacation
We loved our stay. The place was a good as we hoped it would be. Could not be in a better location.