Niulani Beachfront Home-Beachfront! Sleeps 2-10!
|Minimum Stay||4 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
NERATOR" /> Niulani Beachfront Home Rates:
$2450 per week up to 2 guests, $2550 per week up to 4 (2 b/2 bath. Main House)
$3050 per week up to 6 (Includes upper level Bungalow; which becomes 3rd bedroom & 3rd bathroom formerly known as "Niulani Bungalow")
$3550 per week up to 8 includes 3 bedroom/3 bath; Niulani Main, 3rd BR & detached cottage.
$3850 per week up to 10 guests
plus tax & out-clean fee.
The rate for this home is based on the number of occupants and will AUTOMATICALLY quote the cost for 3 to 4 guests. NOTE: PLEASE DO NOT SEND ANY MONEY...Read more
Niulani Beachfront Home-Beachfront! Sleeps 2-10!
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$445 - $625||$445 - $625||$2,450 - $2,550||$0||4 nights|
|May. 1 2013 - May. 31 2013||$510||$510||$2,550||-||4 nights|
|Jun. 1 2013 - Dec. 14 2013||$510||$510||$2,550||-||4 nights|
|Dec. 15 2013 - Jan. 5 2014||$625||$625||-||-||7 nights|
|Jan. 6 2014 - Dec. 14 2014||$510||$510||$2,550||-||4 nights|
|Dec. 15 2014 - Jan. 5 2015||$625||$625||-||-||7 nights|
|Jan. 6 2015 - Dec. 14 2015||$445||$445||$2,450||-||4 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 23, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Great property right on the beach!
Rented Niulani for a week in april. The house is great! Very comfortable and very quiet! In Kapa'a so there is easy access to both the North and South sides of the island. Very close to two grocery stores. Hanalei and Poipu are short drives away and both offer great beaches. The house is clean and well appointed and maintained. The beach behind the house is like a lot of Hawaii in that there is coral and the beach is small at high tide. At low tide, there's plenty of room to spread out. It's in a residential area so beach use is lower than other parts of the island. Quiet and secluded. Kauai is a great island and this is a great house!
Response from Garden Island Properties LLC - 04/23/2013
Mahalo for your review! Niulani Beachfront Home. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back!! Kapa`a is in a central location and easy access to the north and south shores like you say! Aloha and Mahalo!
RYE & JAN
Awsome location, beatiful house, spectacular view of ocean.
The service in renting the house was great, explained everything clearly. The home was more than I had expected, all the amenities were there and the view of the ocean was spectacular. The location of the house is off the main road and no traffic noise, great shopping and dinning in local area,(Kintros) is a must to eat at down the road.
santa monica, californias
I love this house
we've stayed at the house for multiple years. it's always great and it feels like my home away from home.
The Niulani Beachfront Home was fantastic in all ways. Great house. great views of sun and moon rises. The location made for a fun basecamp for daytrips, markets are close and great place for food adventures. We will be back, thanks JR.
Response from Garden Island Properties LLC - 10/24/2012
Mahalo JR! During humpback whale season which is coming very soon, you can watch them breaching from the lanai as well!! It is in an ideal location and on the beach!! aloha and mahalo!
We booked the entire unit (main, bungalow and beach home) for a 10 day stay with a group of friends. Setting up the arrangements with the owners was quick and easy - from arranging the contract, to submitting the deposit, to getting the final details, house codes, etc. No hassles at any point in the process.
When we arrived, we were very happy with our choice. The full unit easily accommodated our group (unlike most group trips where someone ends up with an inferior set-up, this time around everyone was very satisfied with their assigned room/unit). A nice big open kitchen with all of the necessary amenities (another rarity for group accommodations in my experience), spacious living and dining areas, and a good-sized deck looking out onto the water. 5 second walk from the lawn to the beach - it was perfect. Yes, there are definitely some rocky outcroppings in the water at that section of the beach, but reef shoes made it work, or else a short walk down the road and you're at baby beach. No issues.
Location overall was very convenient. Easy walking distance to groceries, shopping, restaurants, etc. Also a quick walk to a great oceanside walkway that goes on for quite a few miles.
Never did see the owners (access codes, keys, etc were all waiting for us when we got there, so we didn't run into any problems where we needed their help). Although there are neighbouring houses on both sides, we only saw one neighbour once in the 10 days we were there, and he seemed very friendly. All in all, we were happy we got to enjoy a great deal of privacy.
I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking to visit Kauai, especially if you are travelling with a large family or a group of friends. It was the one property that really stood out to us out of all of the property websites we visited, and it did not disappoint.
Stayed here with two other couples. Plenty of room. You can snorkel in the back during high tide. You also have enough beach to lay out there also. Great location.
We were disappointed
We were disappointed. The house in general and bathrooms in particular wasn't as clean as we expected. We actually had a cockroach in a bed. The beach was tiny compared to what the pictures on the internet showed. The stairs and gate to the beach that were shown were gone completely and it was awkward to get down there.
All-in-all the photos online must be about 10 years out of date and set our expectations too high.
Response from Garden Island Properties LLC - 05/16/2012
Unfortunately you didn't let us know the cleanliness was not up to your standards until after you left, as we would have immediately sent housekeeping in to address your concerns.
Nice Beach House - many great memories here!
We rented this property the first week of april as a family vacation with our adult children. We were filled with anticipation on our arrival and were not disappointed. It was easy to find, set on a quiet sandy road one block off the highway. It is the nicest home on the street: there are other vacation rentals and a collection of smaller local homes nearby. The driveway was easily accessed and provided private parking for both our rental vehicles. We stopped at the Costco when leaving the airport, which is recommended, as they have the best prices we found on the island (by far!!). Failing that, the Safeway is only 2 blocks away as are other options but you will pay more.
The property is beautifully landscaped, and the gardens well maintained with a central barbecue area and a new gas barbecue. There are two separate buildings with private and spacious accommodations other than the main house. The unit above the garage does not offer ocean views from the deck, but looks out onto the gardens. The beach cottage is not actually on the beach and has no ocean views; it is adjacent to the sandy road. It has its own private deck and looks out onto the gardens as well. The two bedrooms in the main house are very spacious and well separated for privacy, each having their own bathroom. The separation between each of the accommodations is one of the best features of this house, offering privacy to couples, yet the great room provided ample space for togetherness. The loft space was smaller than we expected, hot and not really useable.
Our other favorite feature of this home was the ocean front deck. We spent hours here, watching humpback whales breaching. We rose each morning to view the sunrise over the ocean, and watched the moon rise each night. When not on the deck, we enjoyed the private sandy beach. It is true that swimming here is not easy, but experienced swimmers can manage. There is a good ‘baby beach’ a short distance from the house if you have small children. Kapaa does not really offer great swimming beaches, although some stretches of water are more easily accessed further down the beach . The home is not air conditioned, but is equipped with ceiling fans, plenty of screened windows and good air flow which kept us all relatively cool. It was well equipped from the kitchen to the garage and its beach supplies. There is no noise from the busy roadway only 1 block away, and it is within walking distance to many restaurants, shops, bike rentals (which we highly recommend! Kapaa has a very scenic bike trail leading north to many splendid and secluded beaches).
The downsides: The home that is visible from the deck and is adjacent to the property has a bit of a ‘ghetto’ appearance to it. The occupants were noisy and woke those in the beach cottage each morning. The second bedroom in the main house looks directly at this rather derelict home. The Niulani beach home could use some upgrades, the curtains, upholstery and cushions are showing wear. Although we had numerous iPhones and laptops, none of us were successful in accessing the internet. This was not an issue for us during the 5 nights we spent there, and did not complain or request any remedy.
Over all, good value, a great location for exploring, hiking, kayaking. I would recommend this home, and did not see one we would have preferred in the area!
Response from Garden Island Properties LLC - 04/26/2012
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Niulani Beachfront home. We do agree that it is one of the nicest homes on the block! And being on the ocean can't be beat! The close proximity to "Baby Beach", bike path, grocery stores and restaurants is a definite added plus.
We are sorry to hear that the internet was not working during your stay. The modem may have needed to be re-booted. We do have palms growing between the neighbors and fortunately they are growing in this tropical weather and should be a great asset. We do hope you'll be back again with your ohana. Mahalo again!
Beautiful Home in a great Location!
We had an excellent trip to Kauai and the beach home made it even better. Everything that we needed was provided for our week stay (even laudry soap). Everything in the home was in good repair and the master bathroom shower was wonderful. The beach is beautiful but does have large rocks (possibly lava rocks) blocking the entrance to the water (it is still possible to enter the water as they are flat).
Other guests had mentioned in the review that a fence between the house and the neighbors would be nice. I agree with this as there is little space between the houses and the bedroom window is very close to the neighbors back yard that they use very frequently. Not a big deal, but it would make it a little nicer.
If you are going to use the loft as a bedroom for someone other then a child, I would recommend bringing an extension cord to charge your phone. I always charge mine at night and there was only an outlet in the very corner, no where near the bed ( I like to use it while it charges).
Response from Garden Island Properties LLC - 03/29/2012
Mahalo for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Niulani Beachfront Home. We now have areca palms growing along the boundaries and with the sound of the ocean as a constant, we do hope that will maintain privacy to the second bedroom. (The master bedroom faces the ocean; making it wonderful to wake up to!) We do hope you will be back to enjoy our island again!
Perfect Paradise Kauai.. as always!!
We've been going to Hawaii for ever and are always happy with the service we receive, this property was no exception to that. Fantastic & easy bookings.
The home is so equipped there is everything and every appliance youll need and more. Such a great location, groceries, coffeeshop , Longs Drugstore all within walking distance, along with Shopping and dinning. Perfect location. The home is great for a family lots of space and a ocean in the back yard. The master suite is so amazing, the en suite (massive) is breathtaking with a large shower with 2 showerheads all overlooking the ocean ... Amazing. We will be back and so will the rest of our families.
Eaton Rapids Michigan
What a wonderful home in a great location! Loved the setup for multiply families.
Victoria, BC Canada
8 of us including three generations rented the entire property over Christmas and New Year. It was perfect! What you see in the photos is what you get: the house is roomy, the kitchen has everything you need and the water is right there to watch sunrises, whales and kayakers. Beds are comfortable. Furniture funky but very comfortable for a large group. It is close enough to town that we walked everywhere - for coffee, lunch, groceries and souvenirs. There are water shoes, coolers, lots of beach towels and chairs for outtrips. Only thing missing was boogie boards that can be rented around the corner. One small problem with the internet access that management looked into and fixed immediately. I would definitely recommend this house to families, big and small. Would come back again!! Mahalo!
Larry Mrowka & Evelyn Lee-Mrowka
Friday Harbor, Washington, San Juan Island
My Husband & I stayed here for our HoneyMoon, What a amazing home. We loved falling asleep listening to the waves break over the reef and access to the beach right in your own back yard. The house had everything we needed for our stay. I would also like to thank Sue "The Property Manager" she was great!
Response from Garden Island Properties LLC - 12/19/2011
Mahalo and congratulations! We do hope you will be back to celebrate your anniversaries!! it is hard to beat the sound of the ocean lulling you to sleep! Aloha and mahalo!
Bainbridge Island WA
A lovely home with room for a few small improvements
We stayed at the Nuilani Beachfront home for 7 days this month and really enjoyed the experience!
This house is "80's Tiki Fabulous"! It has vaulted woven ceilings, great bathrooms and showers and the deck, living room and master have unobstructed ocean views. Set an alarm and watch the spectacular sunrise, you won't be sorry and you can always nap later!
Located a short drive or even walking distance from restaurants and shops we found the house to be a great jumping off point for all parts of the island.
The house was pretty well appointed - a good knife set and wine glasses, coolers and beach mats to take on your adventures, a comfy bed in the Master (the only one we used) and a large safe for security. There is also a washer and dryer which was helpful. Do note that there is no air conditioning only ceiling fans but we didn't mind it. The breezes off the ocean at night were lovely.
The management company was really great to work with. Despite this there are a few small suggestions. The house is a tad dated and could use a small investment by the owners to really make it perfect. The stovetop is really old with a broken grill and should be replaced (but the ovens and fridge are new). The biggest issue is that your deck is completely exposed to the neighbors yard (which is a bit of an eyesore while on a tropical getaway). Apparently there used to be a fence but the county had them take it down. We suggested some type of small privacy screen for the deck - this addition would ensure a completely private and tropical feel that you want in a place like this. The light in the fridge was out and the garbage disposal was broken as well. Finally the internet connection isn't great. We needed to do a little work while there and it became really frustrating as the connection kept booting us off.
All this said the issues are really quite minor. The property also has a small guest space above the garage and a separate guesthouse out back. This is a perfect spot for a large or extended family trip.
We plan to visit Kuaui again with a larger family group next year. Providing the deck has been screened from the neighbors then we would be very happy to rent the house once again!
Response from Garden Island Properties LLC - 10/20/2011
Aloha and Mahalo for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Niulani Beachfront Home. We do agree that it is a fabulous property; perfect for 2 or as you say an extended family due to the addition of the detached cottage and bungalow above the garage. The stove top grill had been removed as it had become a fire hazard and in return an outdoor BBQ grill was created. Happy to report that the garbage disposal is working again. Houskeeper discovered it was not working after your departure (screw was found and removed!). Niulani is quite possibly one of the only true beachfront homes in Kapa'a and due to it's close proximity to the shops, restaurants, bike path, yoga center and health food stores....it has become a favorite of many!
The Niulani was amazing. It was everything we were expecting and more. We rented the entire property and all of the accomodations were nicely furnished and well maintained. Although the beach was not for swimming, there was enough sand to sit and enjoy the water and view. We came home with a bounty of beautiful seashells collected on the beach. The location was ideal as it was pretty central for trips north and south. I'm sure we will be back!
Response from Garden Island Properties LLC - 08/23/2011
Mahalo for your review! Glad to hear you enjoyed the Niulani Beachfront property. It is one of the rare oceanfront bach homes on the east side of Kaua`i and we do agree that it's central location on the island is a definite plus! We look forward to your return!
Beautiful Rental Super Convenient to Everything!!!
We really enjoyed our week at the Niulani Beachfront Home! Although it was a bit on the pricey side... It's very true that you get what you pay for! The house was very clean and well equipped with everything that we needed for our stay. The location is very close to all of the restaurants in Kapaa... just a street or two away. It is however, far enough off of the main street so there was no traffic noise. We never heard the neighbors either. It's a very quiet community. The house had a very nice cross-breeze when the windows were open and it was completely wonderful to fall asleep to the sound of the waves at night. This home is a truly Beachfront home, with only a hedge row between you and the ocean for privacy. We never saw another person (other than a paddle boarder) near the beach in front of the house. The beach is not a good swimming beach as the shoreline is rocky. The rocks are not visible at high tide. There is approximately 15 feet of sand (between the hedges and the rocks) to enjoy which was plenty for us! There is a small sandy incline that you need go up/down to get to the shore. The able bodied will have no problem with this whatsoever. It would be more difficult for the elderly or those who are wobbly on their feet as there are no steps. There are a few branches that you can hang on to as you take 3 or 4 good size steps to get up the small hill. The house has beach chairs, mats, boogie board and other toys for your use! All in all, the photos & descriptions on the website are very accurate. The property managers were very friendly and courteous to deal with. I would definitely recommend this beautiful rental!
Response from Garden Island Properties LLC - 07/05/2011
Aloha and mahalo for your review!! We do agree this is a beautiful home and this is one of only a handful of true beachfront homes in the Kapa'a area!! We do hope you'll be back! Aloha....
Beautiful comfortable home!!
The house is fantastic and the location is perfect for exploring the island. We will definitely be back with more people to take advantage of the bungalow! Greg was a pleasure to work with. Every amenity is in the home that you could ever need and the boogie boards and beach chairs were very much appreciated. Will be back!!
Response from Garden Island Properties LLC - 06/16/2011
Mahalo and we look forward to having you back at Niulani Beachfront Home!! We too love this gorgeous property!
This house is absolutely amazing!
We had the most relaxing, rejuvenating experience imaginable.
We'll be back
Maureen & Bob
Medford, New Jersey
A wonderful and comfortable home for our family vacation
We stayed at The Niulani Beach home for 8 days in april with our 2 children and parents. What a wonderful home! It was a perfect size and every ammenity you could think of was provided for, making it extremely comfortable for all! The location was excellent - very convenient to shopping and restaurants. It was also very centrally located for touring the island. The view and sounds of the ocean only added to the whole experience. Greg and Sue were pleasant, easy to deal with and very responsive. We'd recommend this home and hope to come back for another visit to Kauai!
Fantastic vacation at Niulani
Gorgeous location and home, owners are totally delightful, Garden Island Properties personnel are wonderful! We would come back and stay here!
Amy and By
Contemporary living in a tranquille part of the planet
Felt like a home that fits our sensibilities. The architecture with the high ceilings and overall comfort provided many goo relaxing evenings.
Fair Oaks, CA
This was a great place for our group of four generations of family. The adult children and grandkids stayed on the main house. The grandparents stayed in the bungalow and the great grandparents stayed in the cottage. Our one surprise was that on the agency web site it said that there would be kitchenettes in the bungalow and cottage. The bungalow had no kitchen and the cottage had a refrigerator and coffee pot but no microwave. This meant that we all had to go to the main house for all meals. The main house had a wonderful huge kitchen so it did work out. I just do not like it when things are not what they say they are.
Response from Garden Island Properties LLC - 06/22/2010
aloha! Yes, this home is a great place for couples to large families! Due to a new County law, kitchens had to be removed from the smaller units on property. Cottage does have a large capacity refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker, silver ware and plates only. We apologize for any inconvenience. Thus the kitchen in the main home on property is very well equipped to handle large family groups. aloha, Garden Island Properties
Perfect in every way.
This house is so central on the east shore in Kauai that you can go to the north or south shore beaches quickly and with ease. The house was more than adequately equipped with all your needs including a few beach related items. The house can sleep 6 comfortably and we rented the cottage as well and that had everything you needed for two more people.
There are lots of shops, fishing areas and even "Baby beach" is in walking distance. We swam in the beach behind the house and it was fine, there are just very few fishes and fishing is not recommend, because all you will be catching are the rocks and be very careful swimming if you are not good at it.
There is a dive shop next to the Chevron that has all your rental needs for cheap, much better stuff than Bobs Snorkel wet suits for $20 a week which I recommend if you want to do any snorkeling early morning or before the water hits 80 degrees or more. My wife doesn't know how to swim well, but with the suit she was able to float without any other help. Get a dry snorkel as well, you won't regret it.
Poipu has the best snorkeling on the island, Anini beach is great for beginners and beautiful and Polihale beach was amazing and beautiful. Island food is good, but Costco has the best prices on everything including gas. We spent $150 on food for 4 people for 5 days 2 meals a day. The house had everything we needed to prepare the meals including very good cookware.
The house doesn't have AC, so you have to keep the windows and doors open to keep it cool but other than that the place is wonderful. Do not hesitate to rent this house if you are in doubt.
Great location, wonderful home
We really enjoyed our stay at the Niulani Beach Home. There were two couples with young children and my mother in our group. The house is located right on a sandy beach which was great for the kids. It is conveniently located walking distance from grocery stores and many other services and restaurants. The house is beautiful and well maintained with great ocean views. The kitchen was huge and well stocked. We also rented the cottage and was a perfect 3rd bedroom for my mother. We would definitely stay here again.
Everything we could ask for
Niulani was perfect for our family reunion/vacation. It had everything we could ask for. We were really impressed at how the reality of Niulani and the website matched. Compliments to both the home & the website. We used the main house, bungalow & cottage & I received many compliments for booking such a great place. Everyone called it their best vacation ever!
Fell Asleep To the Sound of the Ocean
This home is right on the ocean in the town of Kapaa. There is no swimming
beach but I loved falling asleep and waking up to the sound of the ocean. The
house is an open floor plan with a great kitchen. There is adequate dining at
both the kitchen bar counter and the dining room table. Both bedrooms and
bathrooms were extremely nice and there is also a loft upstairs with a double
bed. The house is one of three on the property and you share a yard and the
BBQ. This was a non issue when we were there because we were the only ones
renting that week. If there is a criticism of the house it would be that the deck
off the back is so small. It would be great it if were bigger to accommodate a
couple more lounge chairs. We enjoyed the central location but not everyone
will enjoy the traffic to get there! Garden Island Properties was very nice to
work with; all the directions, etc. were easy to follow and everything was as it
should have been. We rented this house as the beginning of our two week
Thanksgiving family reunion and we all enjoyed it very much.
Response from Garden Island Properties LLC - 10/20/2010
aloha and mahalo for your reivew....Niulani Beach Home is definitely a special piece of paradise..one of the few oceanfront homes on the east side of Kaua`i. The deck facing the ocean comfortably has an outdoor patio table & 6 chairs as well as chaise lounges. It would be nicer if we could enlarge it, but unable due to County setback regulations, with its close proximity to the ocean.
We now rent it as one property; so you do have complete privacy should you choose to not rent all 3 units. Moonrises and sunrises from this home are spectacular and a definite must see! aloha, Garden Island properties
Santa Monica, California
The best of everything
The Niulani Beach House is tucked away on a hidden street that many locals
don't even know about. It's oceanfront location is magical, and you can
conveniently walk into old Kapa'a town for restaurants and shopping, or
across the street to Papaya's or Longs Drugs.
The gourmet kitchen is great, if you choose to eat in. We took advantage of
the many farmers markets and ate locally whenever we could. The master
bedroom/bath is large, and the 2nd bedroom and sleeping loft were big
enough that everyone had sufficient living space. The TV and stereo were a
bit funky but who comes to Kauai to watch TV anyway?
The beachfront backyard gave loads of much needed chill time. We whale
watched, kite-surf gazed and walked down to the beach for a snorkel.
I have mixed emotions about writing this because I'm not sure I want my
Kauai paradise to become too popular. When we stay there, we don't really
feel like tourists. That's the beauty of renting a house like this. I really
truly wish that this house belonged to me.
It was so wonderful being right there on the ocean. We watched the full moon come up and it was beautiful. The house is the most interesting architecture I think I have ever seen in a house.
The neighborhood was quiet and nice. We enjoyed the large kitchen, we had three cooks and we weren't crowded at all. I would highly recommend this house to anyone.