St Johns View is a light and airey 2 bedroomed apartment, sleeping 4. Situated in the heart of Keswick, with a variety of shops, restaurants and museums on the doorstep, a five minute stroll will take you to the shores of Derwentwater. Guests are very welcome to bring along a pet.
St Johns View is located on St Johns Street which is in the centre of Keswick. Although only a small town Keswick offers so much interest to occupy its visitors and has a range of shops and services far larger than might be expected. It has two public parks offering sports and leisure facilities, specialist shops for food, gifts and outdoor equipment and not f...orgetting the wonderful Theatre by the Lake. For the more adventurous there is a climbing wall, while the leisure pool, tennis and bowls add to the list of activities.
This spacious apartment which is furnished in a contemporary style is situated on the first floor the apartment is very well appointed and is furnished and equipped to a very good standard.
The apartment is centrally heated and comprises:
* Spacious Lounge with high ceiling TV, DVD player PS2 and a selection games and films.
* Dining/Kitchen with electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washer/dryer and DAB radio.
* Double bedroom.
* Double bedroom.
* Bathroom with shower over bath, WC, hand basin and heated towel rail.
All prices include all taxes, gas, electric and bed linen. Please check property description to see if towels, logs, coal and cots are included free of charge or at a supplement. If a pet friendly property, the charge is £20 per pet per week/part week. Please telephone or email us for short break availability and prices.
Thank you for your review of St Johns View, Keswick.
We are pleased you could not fault this property, with its central location in the popular town of Keswick and the well-equipped kitchen.
Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to St Johns View or another Lakes Cottage Holiday property in the future.
Lakes Cottage Holiday
St John's View
Left on 09/01/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Angela Hyland
It was an excellent flat, so spacious and comfortable.
The central location gave us a wide variety of places to eat in the evening, within walking distance.
A handle for the elderly getting in and out of the bath would have been great for my elderly relatives.
The trip to the car park with all the luggage was hard, since the road outside was too congested to park the car whilst unloading.
It was a pity the entrance was so uninviting and the shared stairway so dirty, but once inside the flat it was great.
Well located stay in spacious, comfortable and clean appartment
Left on 07/25/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Mature Lady
Four adults and a dog had a lovely week in Keswick. The town is so dog friendly. Everything we required was provided at St. John's View, it's spacious, clean and the beds are very comfy, we all enjoyed our stay and would book this accommodation again. It is situated very centrally, over a convenience store, which does have some early morning deliveries but their prices were very competitive, so proved very handy for providing your provisions. You do get some traffic noise and occasional loud passers-by, but we all slept very well despite this and having to have all the windows open wide due to the heat that week. We were provided with a parking permit for the week in a nearby car park, so once unloaded our vehicle was left there and buses were used for transportation (the car driver can appreciate the views too that way) no parking fees, and free travel is available to Bus Pass holders. On collecting the keys from the office, it would have been nice for the staff there to have offered us a map so we could get our bearings on arrival but Moot Hall (ti) is just down the road, so you can pick up that and all other information there.
A little tricky to find as you enter via an entrance hall that serves two shop units (one a small grocer/deli, the other empty). No lift, stairs up to the property. Quite a spacious property inside with high ceilings and big windows and a high standard of furnishing. Both of the two double bedrooms weren't enormous but were of generous size - felt larger because of big windows etc. On weekend we were there weather was incredibly hot for Keswick (23Cish) and the windows, which took in sun, are done up in a way that you cannot open them - so felt quite hot and a bit stuffy but nothing too bad. Kitchen and bathroom well fitted out. Shower was good. Location was excellent being less than a minute's walk to main square. No immediate car parking, unless you get lucky at a few spaces up the street, although easy to briefly stop outside to drop stuff off and a voucher is provided to free park at local car parks - nearest one abt 6-7 mins walk. Property's not cheap, but would highly recommend and would definitely stay there again.
Left on 06/10/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | Claire and Serge
We very much enjoyed our stay - the flat was very clean and comfortable. As expected there was some early morning noise from the delivery lorries delivering to the shop underneath the flat but we soon got used to it. It was very quiet during the night despite being right in the town centre. Overall we felt the disadvantages were outweighed by the advantages of being in the middle of the town and the close proximity of the lake - 5 minutes walk. The only amenity we really missed was having somewhere outside to sit for breakfast.
Would definetly stay there again.
Left on 05/23/2012 for a stay in April 2012 | Happytraveller
We chose the apartment because 4 nights was almost as cheap as 3 nights and overall presented good value for money. Rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable.One or two things just made it less suitable for us than other apartments we rent in Keswick. 1. The curtains in the bedroom keep out very little light - no good for a light sleeper. 2. There is not one place in the living room to put down a cup or glass other than the floor - not good with children around. 3. There is no dining table and the breakfast bar stuck behind the door in the kitchen does not compensate. 4. The shop gets early deliveries - not a problem for early risers. Overall, this property offers good value for money. Read more
Thank you for your recent review on St Johns View.
We are sorry to read about the issues you encountered on your stay at this delightful property. The owners have taken your comments on board and have now purchased a nest of tables for the living room and are in the process of measuring up for new heavy duty curtains and carpets.
We do take all comments and reviews seriously and appreciate the time you have taken to submit your review.
We do hope we can welcome you back to one of our properties in the future.
This was not the best experience although we didn't let it spoil
Left on 04/25/2012 for a stay in April 2012 | Gill
The service we recieved from Lakes Cottage Holidays in the booking process was excellent.
We have stayed in cottages/apartments, with this agency before and they have always been very good, but our stay in St Johns View was not the best experience. There was animal hair under the breakfast bar in the kitchen and in the bathroom, also vomit stains behind the toilet and on the bath panel next to the toilet. The washing machine didn't work and the kitchen pans were unusable making self catering difficult.
The location was very central. Easy to get to restaurants, shops, bars and supermarkets. There is a mini supermarket below the apartment and delivery vans arrive in the early hours, although this didn't disturb our stay.
I wrote to Lakes Cottage Holidays letting them know about these problems, so that they could put it right for the next visitor. Someone from the company phoned me and said I should have let them know about the problems, but we arrived late Saturday evening and went out to eat and the next day we had already planned a long walk, so didn't pick up on all this until we got back to the apartment late Sunday afternoon. There were cleaning products and a vacuum cleaner, so I cleaned it up myself. The Lady who phoned said she would send a voucher off our next break but this hasn't materialised.
Further to your recent stay in St Johns View, Keswick
May I firstly thank you for the letter which you have sent in to us regarding the cleanliness of the apartment and the quality of the pans. The pans have now been replaced and I have spoken to the caretaker about the cleanliness. The caretaker apologises if she missed the vomit and hairs, however, I did explain to her that you told me it was not easy to see it and you understood how she could have easily missed this.
Once again thank you for your feedback. It is very important to us that we receive customer feedback regarding the cottages we let, this enables us to make the necessary changes to enable holidaymakers to have an enjoyable and trouble free holiday.
I am please to see that you have made a futher booking with our company and have redeamed the voucher which we issued to you. We shall look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Left on 04/09/2012 for a stay in March 2012 | monaghan
After a hitch with the hot water on arriving, the rest of the stay was great.Excellent accomodation for dogs, with laminate and tiled flooring in all but the bedrooms. Downstairs shop really handy for bread, milk etc. Right in the centre of town, so easy access to shops,restaurants and the lake.Found accomodation quiet at night despite being in the town.
Left on 11/04/2011 for a stay in October 2011 | Karen B
The location of the flat wat fantastic and the overall upkeep of the flat was really good, one or two problems that we didnt report whilst we were there that i am hoping from their prompt reply have now been recified
Left on 09/03/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Bethbvr1978
Great location in centre of Keswick. Upstairs 2x double bedrooms, plus pull out couch in lounge. There is a road outside so you can unload luggage from the car. There is no parking outside of flat , but you are given a free parking permit for local car parks. We did not encounter any problems with parking spaces. The flat is upstairs, above a local shop selling all you need, including dvds to hire. The flat is done out modernly and was very clean.
The only negative is being in the centre of town and above a shop there can often be noise late at night (from the pubs and restaurants) and early morning (deliveries for the shops).
However the above comments aside for location, value and flat itself i would give it 9 out of 10. Fab holiday
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 240,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.