Beck Edge is a delightful 3 bedroomed barn conversion Sleeping five which is situated in the pretty village of Braithwaite at the foot of Whinlatter Pass. There are many walking, cycling, cimbing and sightseeing opportunities directly from the door. The lounge has a cosy wood burning stove which is warm and cosy perfect for relaxing in front of on chilly evenings.
Beck Edge is situated in the charming village of Braithwaite only two miles from the bustling market town of Keswick. It is a village favoured by those who enjoy a peaceful setting with the convenience of essential amenities. There are 4 pubs / restaurants within the village w...here you can enjoy a meal or sample some of the fine real ales on offer. There is a well provisioned village shop that also stocks some Cumbrian specialities. Wi-fi is available at nearby public houses.
Braithwaite nestles at the foot of Whinlatter Pass with it's mountain bike trails, woodland walks and the award-winning Go-Ape. The village boasts a fantastic backdrop of mountains, Causey Pike, Grisedale, High Stile and Barrow, together forming the famous Coledale Horseshoe.
The cottage, as its name suggests, sits by the Coledale Beck, just below High Bridge which leads to Coledale and it is ideally placed to take a variety of day walks without the need to drive. Beck Edge is a delightful barn conversion darting from the 17th century, recently converted the property retains a wealth of character and charm.
The gas centrally heated cottage comprises:
Lounge with TV, Playstation 2 and wood burning stove.
Dining/kitchen with feature gas stove,
seating area, electric oven and gas hob, microwave, dishwasher, fridge, freezer and stereo system with blue tooth and i pod dock.
Utility room with washing machine and tumble dryer.
First floor: Master double bedroom with en suite shower room, hand basin and WC.
Galleried landing with seating for reading.
Family bathroom with hand held shower attachment over bath, WC and hand basin.
All gas, electric, bed linen, towels and initial supply of logs included.
Private parking for 1 car and additional on street parking available.
Additional amenities include: visit britain 4*, october half term availability, keswick and district, wood burning stove yes, no. bathrooms: 2, star grading: 4*, changeover saturday, early booking discount, no smoking, may half term availability, christmas and new year availability, price g from £440 pw, february half term availability, no. bedrooms: 3, valentine availability, open fire/stove: wood burning stove, pets no, bedrooms 3: 1, keswick convention availability, summer school holidays, school holiday discounts, parking facilities: private parking, easter availability, sleeps 5, bathrooms 2: 1.Read more
BECK EDGE Braithwaite, Nr Keswick Keswick, Cumbria, England
Additional Location Information
Last updated on July 10, 2014
Not available for your dates? Check availability for 90 other Keswick rentals
All prices include all taxes, gas, electric and bed linen. Please check property description to see if towels, logs, coal and cots are included free of charge or at a supplement. If a pet friendly property, the charge is £20 per pet per week/part week. Please telephone or email us for short break availability and prices.
A really good cottage for 5 people during the winter & early sp
Left on 04/04/2014 for a stay in March 2014 | Gillian
This was an excellent property in most ways. Very well presented and equipped. Spotlessly clean when we arrived. Things that could be improved are:
More information regards the very limited parking. On street parking as suggested is impossible owing to the position of the house so near the road and its proximity to nearby junction.
Not enough cutlery for 5 people
No hair dryer (& this was not mentioned in the information)
Very slow run off to sink
Shower bracket in second bathroom was broken
Very poor light for reading in main living room
If these things could be attended to the house would be pretty well perfect. Also it is really only suitable for a winter/early spring let as there is no outside sitting area; nor is there room to make one.
Left on 01/17/2014 for a stay in December 2013 | Brenda
Spent New Year at this beautiful cottage, Very clean well equipped. Loved the quirky style plenty of room in cottage for 4 adults. The only down side is the parking, as we had 2 cars is was a problem even 1 would be difficult if you had a larger car my daughters audi 3 just managed to fit in the space. 2nd car was parked outside the school only 2 minute walk away. Term time could be a problem. Read more
Thank you for your review of your stay at Beck Edge.
We are pleased you found the property very clean, well-equipped for your stay and you enjoyed the style of the cottage.
Regarding the car parking, Lakes Cottage Holidays advertises that there is only one private car parking space available at Beck Edge and additional on street car parking is available in the area. However, on street car parking is on a first served basis.
According to our records, Lakes Cottage Holidays were not contacted during your stay, if we were contacted we would of been able to advise you on alternative on street car parking in the area.
Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Beck Edge or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.
Lakes Cottage Holidays
Left on 11/28/2013 for a stay in November 2013 | G Mcgeorge
Excellent accomodation in a great location for the amenities of the area,3 minutes walk from the Pub,right on the Whinlatter pass road in Braithwaite.The house was very comfortable and warm and everything was well layed out ,we particularly liked the kitchen which was very welcoming after a day in the hills,in fact we found ourselves sitting in the kitchen rather than the lounge which we thought was a little dark ,the Music system was a nice touch as well and i plugged my kindle hd into it to good effect ,the only real downside was the parking at the side of the house ,it was a tight squeeze to say the least and with the house being virtually right on the main road manouvering was difficult with cars going past.apart from that everything was lovely ,would recommend it to others. Read more
Thank you for your review of Beck Edge, Braithwaite Near Keswick.
We are pleased to learn you enjoyed the location of the property and found the facilities available at Beck Edge well laid out and welcoming after a day on the hills!
Thank you for recommending Beck Edge to others!
Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Beck Edge or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.
Lakes Cottage Holidays
Left on 11/08/2013 for a stay in October 2013 | VeeBee
The cottage itself was well-fitted, warm and comfortable. Braithwaite was superbly situated for our needs. As a family, we are all keen walkers, & despite the almost constant downpours that week, we were able to walk from the cottage to places of interest on most days.
Two pieces of information in the "Cottage Holiday Group" brochure are misleading though. Parking is a major problem in the village. There is only parking for one vehicle alongside side the property. During the time of our stay, a vehicle, not one of ours, was parked opposite the front door, but as the cottage is sited directly on the road, on a junction, it would be impractical to park on the road, as recommended for a second car. Our second vehicle had to be parked 200 wet metres away. The second matter with which we had issue was the ststed "Wifi - Yes" Only when you read on do you find that in fact the wifi is only available when you visit the local pub. That's hardly free wifi. This cottage has a lot going for it, but more honesty in the brochure information would have helped; we'd probably have booked elsewhere, since parking and wifi were of high priority for us (we have dependents who need constant contact, and mobile coverage in the Lakes is variable (for 3 of our phones, non-existent in Braithwaite). Read more
We are pleased to hear that you found the property well fitted, warm and comfortable.
I have investigated the issues you have raised and can confirm that we advertise this property as having "private parking for 1 vehicle and additional on street parking is available". We do not recommend parking on the road side, however, there is additional on street parking in the village which is free of charge.
We can also confirm that the property details in our brochure state that WiFi is available at a nearby public house.
Our offices are open from 9am to 9pm 7 days a week and our staff are available to answer any questions or queries you may have about our properties. We also have Live Chat available should you wish to correspond by computer rather than call.
Due to the geographical nature of the Lake District National Park we are unable to confirm mobile signals at our properties. Coverage and signal strength details can be found on individual service provider websites.
We hope that despite the above issues you enjoyed your stay at this property and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Lakes Cottage Holidays
Tel 017687 74060
Great Holiday Cottage
Left on 10/02/2013 for a stay in September 2013 | Fleetmum
This holiday cottage was ideal for us, a couple with a toddler. There was plenty of space for a travel cot in the master bedroom with the ensuite, and also in the single bedroom, though not in the other double bedroom.
The cottage was clean and had everything that we needed, including bedding and lots of clean fluffy towels.
We needed the heating on as it was a bit chilly that week, and the cottage was really toasty warm, in fact, a bit too warm as we then couldn't justify using the log burning stove!
Please note that it is called Beck Edge because you can see and hear the Beck which is a lovely soothing sound at night, but might not be so great if you have bladder problems!
The only problem was the parking space, it is quite small and difficult to get in and out of, but my husband managed it in his Jaguar XF which is a big car, so it should be fine for most cars.
The village is great with 3 places to eat out at in the evening within a 5-10 minute walk.
Thank you for your feedback regarding Beck Edge, Braithwaite.
We are delighted the property was ideal for your needs, including the heating and cleanliness of the property and that you would recommend this cottage.
We hope to welcome you back to Beck Edge or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the near future.
Lakes Cottage Holidays
Beck Edge... fantastic
Left on 09/15/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Jason Benn
Beck Edge is in the quiet village of Braithwaite a conveniently short drive from both Keswick and the great outdoors of the Lakes.The cottage offers spacious and up to date accommodation. The village of Braithwaite has a local shop, a couple of pubs,(Royal Oak is friendly with good food) and good access to all routes. The only minor thing I can think of is the parking that is to the side of the cottage, ideal for a small car. However I have a people carrier so it was a bit of a squeeze but do-able, you also need to have someone watch the road whilst you manoevre in or out as the house blocks your view. Would definately stop there again and highly recommend this property. Read more
Thank you for your review on this popular property.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Lakes Cottage Holdiays
Left on 08/30/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Howsons
This cottage was lovely and in a lovely quite little village. Very close to Kendal. Parking is an issue and is the only thing which let this property down.
Very spacious clean accomondation for a family of five
Left on 06/13/2013 for a stay in May 2013 | Stephens
Great holiday home for a family of five, would not matter if your kids were aged 3 or 33 the house had every thing you would need and more. The 3 kids in our family ranged from 4, 8 and 11 and loved playing hide and seek in the very large house.So good to have more than enough kitchen items, as some holiday homes will only have 5 of everything, but this home had plenty chairs etc. The sound quailty of the music system in the kitchen was fab. The location was fab for fell walking, which we did lots of walks such as Grisdale pike etc. The Ivy house restaurant is only a 3 min walk away for yummy food.
The down side is the car parking, the space by the kithen door is fine for a small car, but if like us you have a larger car you will struggle to park and parking in front of the house is not really a option due to the road being very narrow and used for parking by the locals, the road infront of the house can also get very busy at the weekends.
The fridge could have also been a bit cleaner as well as the kitchen sink, although I bought my own cleaning products, there was plenty cleaning products and items in the home which I think was great. One of the double beds had a rather soft mattress and the other was very firm, though the single bed had a great mattress, but i guess it depends on your prefences.
Our family would be very happy to stay again due to the space, the many great items inside the house and location.
Sale and Blaydon
Disappointed with setting
Left on 02/22/2013 for a stay in March 2013 | 4 Walkers
Would only recommend this cottage in winter when both fires could be lit and if you wanted to walk from the cottage.
Disappointed with location - nowhere to sit outside and views spoilt by items in next door's garden - parking not easy especially with 2 cars - Braithwaite village did not live up to expectations with food choices for eating out.
Shower not attached to wall in main bathroom and this room would also benefit from a towel rail.
Kitchen very pleasant but more plates would be useful.
Refund of deposit took 2 weeks and needed a reminder after 11 days. Read more
Thank you for your review on the delightful property.
We have now investigated the issues you raised in your review.
We can confirm that on the day you departed we were advised by yourselves that there was a broken wine glass in the property and that the towel rail in the bathroom had become loose. This was noted and the cleaner and caretaker were contacted. We did not receive any information concering the shower until reading your review.
We advise all guests to contact our office immediately on arrival or any time during their stay if they have any problems or issues with their property. Had we been made aware of these issues during your stay we would have organised for a handyman to come out to the property to rectify any problems or issues you may have had.
The refundable deposit was processed within 7 days after your departure however, depending on your bank, may not show on your statment for up to 3 or 4 working days.
We hope to welcome you back to one of our properties in the future.
Cosy winter cottage
Left on 01/15/2013 for a stay in December 2012 | Alisma
The cottage was warm and cosy to come back to after a day out in the winter weather. We walked out of the door most days( approx 1hr walk to Keswick) and so didn't need to move the car much.
The parking was tight, as others have described, and there is no possibility of parking a second car outside the front door, as it is right on a road junction.
There were a number of things which weren't quite right and should have been fixed before our arrival eg the freezer drawers were virtually impossible to move as it was so iced up the over the bath shower didn't function as a shower as the wall bracket was missing. Nor did the oven heat up properly.
We also had to phone the agents to get our deposit back, as it wasn't returned within the specified 7 days. Read more
We have investigated the issues raised in your review and can respond as follows.
There is private parking for 1 vehicle at this address. There is also on street parking available in Braithwaite. Due to the location of the property it would be unadvisable to park a second vehicle outside the property.
Unfortunately we did not receive any communication from you during your stay regarding the issues you have raised in your review.
We advise all guests to contact the office immediately on arrival or anytime during your stay if you have any problems or issues with your property. Had we been made aware of these issues earlier we would have been able to rectify these immediately.
I can confirm our payment details show that your refundable deposit was processed within 7 days after your departure date. Depending on your bank, this may not show on your statement for up to 3-4 days.
We hope you enjoyed New Year in the lakes and look forward to welcoming you back to one of our properties in the future.
A great break in a great location
Left on 12/07/2011 for a stay in November 2011 | fell walker
We have visited the Lake District several times over the last few years but this was our favourite by far. Braithwaite is perfectly located for a wide range of walks and was close to Whinlatter where we enjoyed the cycle tracks through the forest. The cottage, really a converted barn, was perfect, really comfortable, well equipped and warm. was aware from Tripadvisor that the car parking space was a bit tight but we have a large 4x4 and fitted it in so it shouldn't be a problem.
Lovely family accommodation
Left on 10/28/2011 for a stay in October 2011 | Iain
Great house, well-appointed, with everything we needed for a lovely stay. The house is in great condition, with lots of space for a family of four to enjoy themselves, and not get on each others' space! Thoroughly recommended - and of course the access to the lakes and walks is fantastic from Braithwaite and Keswick. Wonderful.
Only small issue was that the parking at the side of the house is a lot narrower than you'd expect, given the opening of the gate into the parallel driveway, which proved for some challenge pulling in and reversing back into the blindspots of the Whinlatter Pass road. Worked out the best approach in the end, but takes a while!
Peterborough Lake District Lovers
Excellent well eqipped and clean
Left on 08/23/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Peterborough Lake District Lovers
Enjoyed stay so much have booked again for next year.Ideal for walks straight from the front door.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.