Caribbean Style Retreat with Boat
|Minimum Stay||1 night|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyYes
Description from the owner
Privacy abounds in our open water mini estate. From the front gates to the waterside, you will know you have reached something special in the fForida Keys. Swim in the ocean or relax in hot tub, you will find tranquility in our home.
The main level of the house encompasses the living area, master suite(queen) and guest bedroom(twins). Downstairs you will find a large family room(pullout) and another guest bedroom(queen) and bath. The panaramic views of the water are enhanced by the all glass walls of the living area. The kitchen and baths are appointed in the finest of marble and stone. The designer furnishings complete the Caribbean f...Read more
Caribbean Style Retreat with Boat
Key Largo, Florida
(Property location is approximate)
Additional Location Information
Location Type Waterfront
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$350||$350||$2,100 - $2,600||$8,000||1 night|
|Jan. 28 2012 - Apr. 14 2012
|Sep. 10 2012 - Dec. 17 2012||-||-||$2,100||-||7 nights|
|Dec. 17 2012 - Jan. 1 2013||-||-||$2,600||-||1 night|
|All Other Dates||$350||$350||$2,200||$8,000||3 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the owner|
- Tax rate - 12.5% of rental - Tax
- Additional guests - $150 - Per-Person Adjustment - Fee applies to parties of more than 8 guest(s)
- Cleaning fee - $150 / stay - Other
- Damage deposit - $500 / stay - Security Deposit
Additional notes from owner
Saturday To Saturday rentals .
Boat can be added to rental for $800.00 per week
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: March 11, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Not really a "vacation rental"
We arrived at this property late in the night of 1/27/12, and found the following:
- Wet, moldy smelly towels and bedding in the washer and dryer
- Moldy coffee grounds and filter in coffee pot
- Dirty dishes in dishwasher
- Oven, toaster, and refrigerator were filthy
- Floors and carpets were filthy
- Hot tub was missing
- AC was not working
- Range top was broken
- Old oven sitting in box in Dining Room
We called Jay Clinton, the Property Manager, and he sent someone over on Saturday morning, 1/28, to perform some cleaning and claimed that "squatters" must have been in the house. We agreed to stay in the house with a portion of the rental fees to be refunded.
We also rented a boat from Jay Clinton that would not start. Jay Clinton had a "mechanic" come by several times during our stay... never did get the boat running. Our payment for the boat was refunded promptly.
The Owner has the house listed for sale, has been unresponsive to our requests for
partial refund of fees, and continues to advertise the property with all amenities. This
house is not, at least in the condition we found it, suitable as a "vacation rental". More accurately, it is a neglected property awaiting a buyer.
Response from VRMI - 02/24/2012
As a property manager, we take every precaution to see that a property is ready for the next renter. The renter in this situation arrived at 1:30 am on the 28th and promptly called me to tell me that the house was not clean. We had inspected it on the 26th and it was in perfect condition. We had cleaners at the house by 10 AM on the 28th to reclean and they left the house in a clean condition. We took the renter on a boat test and it ran perfectly. On the 29th, he called and said the boat would not run. We sent a mechanic immediately to deal with the situation and offered to deliver a new boat to the house. The renter did not want another boat and we refunded his money. We received the rest of the list of complaints on Feb 2nd, the day before he was leaving.
As a property manager, we are often put to the test of what is real and what is unfounded. We normally lean to the side of the renter and take the property owner to task. In this case, we found most of the complaints unfounded. For instance, the carpets in the house are new as we let the delivery men in to deliver. I explaines to the renter if you push the pile one way it is a different color than pushing the other way. He agreed that perhaps I was correct. The air conditioning was working perfectly but perhaps since the Hi was in the 75 range and the low was the mid 60's, it was not kicking on.
I am sorry the renter did not enjoy his stay but i had the opportunity to meet him in a bar at 1 AM the night before he left. He told me that he had gotten food poisoning at seafood festival and had a miserable time while here. He also informed me that if the owner did not give in to his d demands, he knew how to write a bad review that would cost the owner more money than he was seeking. The owner did refund him money for his stay, which in my opinion, was fair. He did not mention this in his review