- 1 bedrooms
- 1 bathrooms
- Sleeps 4
Description from the manager
EGRET COTTAGE -- An Idyllic 1 bedroom cottage that is tucked away in a tropical oasis, peaceful and serene yet located in one of the most ideal neighborhoods in Key West. The Colony Suites is a charming compound nestled in the heart of Historic Old Town Key West, just three blocks from famous Duval Street with its incredible art galleries, boutiques, museums, attractions, restaurants, and nightclubs.Egret Cottage offers all the amenities you could want in a home away from home, a well equipped kitchen along with everything needed for meal preparation, dinette with seating for 2 and a perfect livingroom for relaxing. The cottage has a king si...ze bed in the master bedroom along with a sleeper sofa in the living room and a full bathroom. The compound itself is gated for privacy and offers a sparkling shared pool with crystal clear waters that gets lots of sun and a large deck for lounging poolside. Off-street parking available on a first come first served basis for the compound along with a shared laundry facility and WIFI No dishwasher.One bedroom one bath. Bedding: K/QSleeper sofa. Sleeps 4$120.00 Cleaning Fee
Additional amenities include: iron/board, washer/dryer, gated community, pool/beach towels, towels & linens, free concierge service.Read more
About the manager
At Home In Key West, Inc. (305) 600-5194 Full profile
Calendar updated: today
Overall rating: 4.4 / 5.0 based on 1,417 reviews and 89 properties
Key West, Florida
Additional Location Information
Last updated on September 17, 2014
Not available for your dates? Check availability for 424 other Key West rentalsCheck Availability for Key West
Rates shown in $ USD
|See all dates
|Don't see rates for your trip?|
- A/C or climate control
- Hair dryer
Phone / Internet
- Internet Access
Pool / Spa
- Shared outdoor pool (unheated)
- DVD Player
- Pet friendly - ask
- Smoking allowed - ask
- Suitable for children - ask
- Suitable for the elderly - ask
- Wheelchair accessible - ask
What Past Guests Are Saying
Have you stayed here? Write a review
45 guest reviews
77% of guests would stay again
Catherine O' Reilly
Co Meath Ireland
Best holiday of our lives!
What can I say about Egret Cottage? Very clean, ideally located and perfect for that idyllic vacation. The surrounding grounds could do with a little upkeep but other than that a perfect rental.
Great Location but needs some TLC
Firstly let me say, the bones are all there to make The Colony and specifically Egret Cottage something magical.
Right now though it needs some love, money and sweat equity. The grounds including the patios and decks need a good pressure washing. The pool had leaves at the bottom of it (never saw anyone cleaning it) the little ponds water was murky and the little pail fountain is pretty tacky looking. Sorry, it is and it sticks out like a sore thumb. The front and back decks, although a great idea and have the basics are pretty run down. Paint the deck or put down that composite decking, it looks great and lasts forever. The front door (first impressions), lock and number "4" are old and needs updating, deck lighting too? (A cute little bistro set would really dress it up that area.). The interior is pretty true to the pictures which was a relief. The furniture and decor look well kept and clean including the bedroom. However the kitchen-y area and bathroom need a bit of work. I would suggest painting out the kitchen cupboards a crisp white and lining the drawers, it would make a world of difference. (the toaster only toasts on one side btw.) The bathroom really needs a gut. The tub doesn't drain, the cupboards are beat up and dingy as is the grout in the old tiles. Lastly, the a/c in the bedroom is really loud, really loud. These are suggestions to make it better and more pleasing to the eye. If you don't address them now, you will down the road because you will get more and more reviews like is. We loved the area close to everything as we rented some bikes and left the car parked. This is really a diamond that has gone a little rough but with a little work it can look amazing! Read more
Response from At Home In Key West, Inc. - 03/25/2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our home. We will address your comments/concerns with the owner and appreciate your input.
Vancouver island BC
Cute, intimate cottage in great location
The home is very tiny, but just big enough for the two of us. The decor was bright, harmonious and cheerful. The living room opens onto an outdoor sitting area which could use some gardening and maintenance to make it more appealing, but it is private.
The kitchen is fairly well equipped for cooking with most everything you need, albeit of very poor quality. This seems to be common for Florida rentals. One day I'm going to rent a home with a knife sharp enough to cut a tomatoe and I'll be overjoyed.
The location is great - far enough away from the noise of downtown, but close enough if you want to stroll there.
The internet doesn't work very well. My Laptop could pick up a weak signal, but not my ipad. Nothing could be streamed. This should be fixed or potential guests should be notified that signal is very weak. We had to use our iPhone as a hotspot to get adequate internet, which is very expensive. Read more
Response from At Home In Key West, Inc. - 02/13/2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our home. We appreciate your comments and will ask Housekeeping to review the kitchen equipment to see what might needs replacement. The Internet service is shared among the 10 cottages there. We don't often hear that there is a weak signal; it may be part of island living, but we will look into it.
Egret Cottage - January 2014
The inside was very clean and sufficient for our needs. The outside was in disrepair - broken front door that allowed a view into the living room, door frames disintegrating, one day of rain and we had to move all things on the living room floor as rain water was flooding across the tile floor.
Long Island, NY
Great Time, Cute Cottage, Perfect for 2!
Cottage was as described. Private, quiet, very clean, comfortable and perfect location. Plenty of towels, including pool towels. We had a great time walking around town. It is easy walking distance to Duval. Terrific restaurants, fun nightlife, interesting historical sites, great mojitos & key lime pie! We shopped local artists, went fishing and celebrated New Year's! We didn't drive the car the entire week of our visit.
We only had one concern. There is a heavy quilt on the bed, but no blanket. I was cold with no blanket, but hot with the quilt. We did not contact at Home about this issue. There was a throw in the cottage my husband used on the bed, I used my travel blanket and we were comfortable. So I think a light cotton blanket would be perfect on the bed.
But all and all, we had a wonderful time staying at the Egret Cottage.
The place was very clean, fully equipped and the a/C works awesome.
Had a super great time.. place was perfect. 3 blocks from duvall.. nice pool.
Loved the cottage, it was nicely furnished and well located. Access to Duval, groceries, and good food are all close by. And off season, the price of the rental was good.
Over our time in Key West, the cottage was surrounded by construction on both sides (who wants to wake at 8:30am every morning on their vacation to loud banging sounds?). Also, the bedroom is illuminated by many small courtyard lights, as well as the very bright outdoor lights of neighboring cottages. Light blocking curtains would be a big plus here. Don't count on using the coin laundry - the space the machines are in is dirty and almost in constant use.
Key west comfort
The egret cottage is perfect, the bed was Kingsize and comfortable, the kitchen was well stocked for cooking possibility, the rear deck is private, pool was clean and inviting. We had a great stay and plan to book again in January.
This cottage is just right.
Positives: location, meeting other travelers, decor and comfort, kitchenette, sparkling pool, pretty landscaping. A few negatives: lack of housekeeping and/or cleaning items such as a broom or mop (we stayed 2 weeks), noise from adjoining rental homes and inns from the back deck area, lack of parking spaces, competition for the washers and dryers (the cottage is in a complex of at least 8 other units of travelers), paying to wash our sheets and towels, finicky Wifi. Would have loved a grill, too. We would definitely stay there again, but would address the cleaning issue before we go. To be fair, most guests were there for a week or weekend, and I'm sure they did not have this issue. Also, we made several sets of new friends and view our time there with fond thoughts.
Jeff and Stefani
Great location close to Duval yet away from the noise and traffic. We rented bikes and enjoyed everything about our stay.
Love the Keys
Two things: New Bedding and have the cleaning people wait till visitors our out of the property. The cleaning person was there 15 minutes before check out, waiting outside our door as we packed up to leave. The Bedding is stained and needs to be replaced, the blankets and the comforter.
Other than those two things the place was great! Read more
Response from At Home In Key West, Inc. - 07/12/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our home. We have just completed an inventory of linens in this cottage and replaced ones we found stained.
We apologize if you were unhappy with Housekeeping arriving a little early. This happens during busy holidays as they have so many guests departing and arriving the same day. Departing guests tend to stay a little later and arriving guests want to get in early. They try their best to satisfy both.
Jeff & Missi
First off, I don't believe I have ever had this type of service on any type of rental, hotel, or purchase I have ever made. The ladies that helped me find the right place for our stay were absolutely great! The house was a small quiet get-a-way just as we were looking for. Plenty of room for a couple. The house had everything you need to feel like home, without all the issues of being at home. Just agout 3 blocks off Duval it didn't take much time for us to get where we wanted to walk to, and when we didn't feel like walking it was an easy 7 minute ride in a PediCab to either end of Duval. (They charge $2 a minute, a meer $14 to get anywhere)
Excellent location put poorly maintained
We had a delightful week in Key West in March of 2012. Egret Cottage is in a perfect location - easy to get to everything. The cottage itself - although small in square feet was extremely roomy for 2 retired folks.We loved having aC during the days and being able to open windows at night.
The maintenance issues are adding up - pretty soon you will have a renter who is mad about spending $2,000 for a week with stuff that needs to be done - and I am not talking about housecleaning. It was clean. The back patio needs work, the doors opening to it need work. The trim on the peninsula of the kitchen needs glueing, the louvers on the front door are broken- there is no dishwasher or disposal - nor signs that there ever was. The grout in the bathroom floor flakes out of an actual hole by the tub. We are aware that the cottage is for sale - is it possible that these issues would addressed by a new owner? If so - think about taking care of this. There is a guest book underneath the coffee table - guests have written these comments for years - the last page has been ripped out - was that you?
It's time for an inspection. When these things are done I have to say the rest is wonderful. I adored my stay. If location, location, location is the mantra of Realtors I can say Egret Cottage has it. (Check in was weird - and that is the only word for it. We arrived on a Saturday at 2pm - when you drive 100+ miles you really don't know your exact arrival time. The papers in my hand said check in by 4 - the door said office closes at 2 - the sign in the door said something else - we opened the lock box- nothing in there - we sat in the shade on the porch and greeted 10 other arrivals - they joking about how we should be paid ...we called the regular tel. number, left a message and after an hour and no call back I called the emergency number. What is all this about???) Read more
Response from At Home In Key West, Inc. - 04/11/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our home. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The owner of this home continuously works to improve the cottage amenities; dishwasher or disposal have never been a part of this intimate basic kitchen. As far as check-in procedures, please note: There were a total of 19 arrivals the day you arrived. Each one was contacted a day or two before arrival to verify time of arrival, that they had check-in information and to remind them that 4pm is check-in time. Our office does close at 2pm on Saturday; keys are placed in the lockbox just before 4pm. When it is possible to get an early check-in, we are happy to accommodate our guests. March is one of the busiest months of the year and rarely is there the opportunity to offer early check-in as each home has to be cleaned and inspected before your arrival.
Key Colony fun
Stayed for a week. Older cottage, lot of tiny ants around kitchen and bath. Pool area was comfortable as was the king bed. Convenient to Duval but far enough away for quiet. Read more
Response from At Home In Key West, Inc. - 02/16/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our home. We're glad you enjoyed your visit. For future reference (we know you'll be back!), a quick call to our office would have rid you of the ant problem.
Key West Junkie
Comfortable, private and a great location.
The cottage is very comfortable, with good ventilation and heating/cooling system. The amenities are about average but some of the furniture is showing age and wear. The drawers in the bedroom dressers are off track and hard to pull, and the crank handle to open the venetian vents in the door is essentially inoperable. There was a big stain on the couch seat. This would be a great place with a little TLC. The location is fantastic: near the action on Duval but far enough away to avoid the noise. A very private place off in the corner of the complex, with a really nice veranda. I would rent again.
Very nice cottage, clean and spacious. Nice pool and patio area. Floor tile had recently been replaced near back door and the door needs trimmed as it was very difficult to open and close. Shower/tub needs some Drano because it was very slow to drain. But great place to stay! Quiet yet close enough to all the action. Read more
Response from At Home In Key West, Inc. - 11/03/2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our home. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and will immediately take care of the two items you mention. A quick call to our office would have gotten them fixed right then. We look forward to your return!
Convenience in Old Town Key West
Egret Cottage is conveniently located just 3 blocks off Duval St. The cottage is small and is perfect for 2 people. The cottage is in good condition. I suggested that the range hood be replaced, the bathroom vanity be painted and the shower curtain liner be replaced. Small improvements that would make this cottage even better! The pool is very nice and the surrounding cottages are well kept. I would rent this cottage again. Read more
Response from At Home In Key West, Inc. - 09/29/2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our home. We appreciate constructive feedback and are addressing your concerns. We look forward to your return!
Very comfortable accomodations, quite, nicely decorated and a great retreat after island activities. Centrally located on the island and three blocks off Duval allows for quick access all around, but quiet and peaceful when you want it. Only complaint is slow wi-fi and falling coconuts on the semi-private back porch. Other units allowed dogs, so we had to put up with pooh around the the place. We also were there when lots of repairs and painting was going on, but even then, the workers were respectful of our privacy.
A True Vacation
We enjoyed our stay very much, the neighborhood is very quiet and the cottage was serene. The swimming pool and garden area in the front of the cottage are pristine; however the back deck of the cottage was ill-kept. It needs some attention. The bathtub did not drain well, and we had a problem keeping the bedroom cold enough (although I understand the window unit was new). The management company was extremely responsive - I had trouble logging on to the internet and someone actually stopped by to make certain I was successful. I have stayed in several places in Key West and I would rank the Egret Cottage as very, very good.
Charming with one flaw...
My only complaint is the inattentiveness to the outdoor area in the back of the unit. We saw daily cleanup being done in the common areas, by the pool etc. One would think an effort would be made either by owner or management Co to get rid of the large and very rusty parrot's cage sitting directly outside the living room door and a multitude of dead palm branches that had been there a long while. We had little interest in sitting out on our private porch because of this. The physical shape of the building needs some serious attention, but the size is spacious and cheerful. This is a well equipped unit with everything but a dishtowel and a broom to sweep the dirty back deck! At Home Key West deserves 5 stars for their attentiveness. The bedroom aC died and within an hour they had a fan there and the next day a new aC was installed. The service people were great. The location can't be beat,quiet but walkable to everything. Read more
Response from At Home In Key West, Inc. - 04/07/2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our home. At Home Key West strives to offer exceptional service and it sounds like we reached that goal with you. The "rusty parrot's cage" is an objet d'art that many guests have alot of fun with, decorating it and taking photos with it, but we understand it may not be fun for everyone. As far as palm branches, we will certainly step up the frequency of keeping the private back deck clear for our guests' enjoyment.
Thanks again, and come back soon!
Great location and nice digs, but both beds need replacement.
The location couldn't be better--three quiet blocks from Duval, in a real neighborhood. Nice little pool. Lovely little side yeard where you can havea private breakfast under the palm trees.The cottage is generally fine, but the beds--both king size in master BR and sofa bed in Lr---need to be replaced. My wife and I have somewhat balky backs, and the bed was not up to par--sagging in the middle. Also, the ceiling fans and aC units need to be cleaned. Otherwise, no complaints. Read more
Response from At Home In Key West, Inc. - 08/18/2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our home. Please note the master bed, refrigerator and a/c were replaced in this home just after your departure. We continue to make improvements to our home(s) and appreciate your feedback. Please come back to visit!
Wife's Birthday Surprise!
My wife & I spent 5 days in the Egret Cottage after I sailed down in a race from Ft. Lauderdale. We had 2 friends join us for a couple of the days, just made it that much better. Upon arrival, a bottle of champagne awaited us, in celebration of Joyce's (significant) birthday. Very nice surprise and totally unexpected.
We've stayed at another unit through at Home In Key West, and will again, because they are attentive to detail and able to take care of all our needs!
Brian & Shelley Yeager
awesome, will be back!
The staff was great, The Egret had all the ammenities of being at home. We stayed here 10 years ago on our Honeymoon, and 10 years later, still a truly, tropical, private get away. We will be back for sure and would recommend it to our friends and family.
B & B GETAWAY
Our stay at Egret Cottage was great. The cottage had everything we needed. It's located about 3 blocks from Duval St. where everything is everything. The pool is beautiful and the water temperture of the pool was great. We had the privacy of own front porch and little back patio. I must say the back patio area could be kept up a little better. One thing when you go out the front door and you close it please have your cottage key because the front door will be locked.
Key West is beautiful there is a lot to do and see.
Scott & Theresa
Loved the Neighborhood
This was my fifth trip to Key West and so happy that we rented this cottage. Not only an easy walk to Duval Street, but to other local restrauants and bars in the area. The cottege was perfect for our week stay, very confortable, clean and cozy. Suggest to anyone to leave you car and rent bicycles just down the block. We will be back next year.
Niagara on the Lake ,Ontario, Canada
Very well located and quiet eclave.Spacious cottages. Decorating is a bit dated but clean and functional.Everything required was on premise.Ponds were not filled and the large one in back beside Egret was empty and an eyesore attracting bugs etc.Either start it up or close it down.The locations could benefit from Wi Fi. Yard and parking area ( garbage ) could be better maintained.The security of the complex was always compromised with various housekeeping folks coming and going and leaving door propped open. Recommend thsi t nayone looking for great location. Parking can be a problem .
Hire new house keepers!
My husband and I rented Egret in February 2010.
We arrived to our cottage around 5 pm. When we entered the driveway it was full of cars, preventing us a place to park. We had to park in front of all the other cars to unload our luggage.
This went on for 3 days. We had to leave a note on our car and move it every time someone had to get out. This was a real pain. They have a lovely pool, and nice land scape. We entered our cottage, there are 5 or 6 other cottages located in the same area. We had a semi private deck in front and in back.Everything seemed to look good. We enjoyed all that there is to do on the islands. We loved the music, bars cultural activities, and the locals. Shopping was good. Make sure that you rent a scooter or bike and bring some compfy shoes. You will do a great deal of walking!
As for the cottage, I went to take a shower and noticed there was mold on the tiles. There was dust from many weeks of not cleaning inside the shower. I began to look further at the cottage, and only the surfaces of things seemed to be cleaned. There was visible dirt and dust on the cupboards the top of the fridge was extrememly dirty and oily. Pictures had not been dusted and so forth. Blinds were dirty and some were broken.
My final horror was on check out day. We striped the bed linens and to our dismay there were stained pillows. the pillow shams were soiled, and to top it all off when we removed the sheets the mattress pad and mattress, were covered with urine stains! This was disgusting!!! We payed 130 dollars for cleaning and this is what we get??
For 2100 dollars I expect spotless!! I feel that for the price you are paying, you should at least have a clean place to stay. Egret is a cute place to stay, but definately not worth the money.
Very comfortable and quiet rental
My wife and I had a very nice time while staying in this unit.
The rental was clean and comfortable and quiet.
The shared pool, was nice and warm for February, and except for one day during our week's stay, we had the pool to ourselves.
The pool is a bit shaded and only received sun from about 10:00am-4:00pm.
The rental agency was very helpful and returned all emails and calls in a timely fashion. They represented the unit accurately.
We enjoyed the back deck/porch for eating some of our meals.
Our only disappointment was that the stove was old and did not have a broiler. Also, since there was no gas or charcoal grill that we could use, we could not make the dinner. The agency said that grills were not allowed according to fire code, but we saw two other units receiving brand new grills during our stay – so perhaps they too can now have a grill on their deck.
The VCR in the bedroom also did not work.
We liked the location in Old Town – close enough to walk to all of the action, but far enough away for quite as well.
There are some great restaurants within a 10 minute walk.
Time away from snow, cold and ice
The Egret Cottage was very comfortable for myself and my two friends during our get-away. The location was excellent - near 7 Fish, the cemetery, and within easy walking of the waterfront, and good biking distance to the southernmost points. It was quiet, and in warmer weather, the pool would have been fantastic, as it was very beautiful. The kitchen was well equipped. The only improvement would be a new couch, as the upholstery was grungy. Everything else was very clean and well-cared for.
A warm oasis during a cold visit to Key West
We spent four nights at the Egret during what was reported to be the coldest January in Key West history. We had a great time but were not able to use the beautiful, well maintained tile pool or sit out on our little porch. Thus, we spent more time than usual in our little "home". The Egret is in a great location, has available parking (we always found a space), and is part of a charming, well maintained Key West complex. The unit is attrative, clean, and very well equipped, although on the last day we realized that it didn't have a dishwasher. The living area is attractive and comfortable, the bathroom is tiny but has everything one needs, and the kitchen is very well equipped for a short rental. The bed is OK but needs to be upgraded and the pillows are terrible. In this age of "suspect" bedspreads it would be nice to have a washable duvet cover. I would definitely rent the Egret again but would hope that they would tend to this before I returned.
Key West Home away from Home
I stayed at the Egret Cottage on Olivia St. for 2 weeks and had a wonderful time. My cottage was very cute and cozy and had a very key west feel to it. It was nice to be able to walk to Duval St. to eat dinner or shop and the pool there is just beautiful! I swam almost every day! I plan to go back to Key West soon and I hope to stay there again!!!
Key West grotto
We arrived later than we expected... traffic on 1 was nasty, so it was dark and we were tired... and when we picked up the keys and found the complex for our condo, we couldn't find it! No lights or anything, so we wandered around in the dark, trying keys, testing doors, until we finally found it... crazy!
Once we settled into our little island escape we LOVED it... not too big or small, with p;enty of privacy on a secluded back deck, it was awesome.
The place was overgrown and chaotic, but it fit the character of the island and was beautiful... the pool, which we'd enjoy 2-3 times every day, was perfect. Once we got used to where our little nook was, it seemed like we couldn't imagine better.
The locationa was walking distance to everything we wanted to explore... we only got in the car once during our entire stay, and that was to move it because they were repainting the street markers.
A wonderful time, a great place and we had great support setting up the trip... I only wish I was there right now and not sitting here in the cornfields of the midwest writing this review.
Paul & Susan
great honeymoon destination
We had a great stay at the Egret, the location was walking distance to Duval St. where all the eating and shopping is. You could walk but we chose to rent skooters from Moped Hospital who gave many discounts to us. We loved the pool area and grounds that were surrounded by several ponds and private w/ lots of palm trees. We had a great honeymoon here and plan to return in the future.
Chapel HIll area, NC
Egret cottage was very comfortable, clean, well equipped. However, the outside maintenance left much to be desired. Dead palm fronds hung down over the back deck, assorted discarded items were left about and it all gave an uncomfortable feeling.
The common area likewise showed a distinct lack of care and attention. There is great potential but simple yard work needs to be done a regular basis. Those empty big flower pots would be so attractive full of flowers or greens! The entry was discouraging with its dirty ceiling fan and general air of neglect. But the pool was great. It all just needs some good TLC.
Jerry and Kathi
Fun place in Key West
Cozy, clean, quiet, more than adequate for a week stay. Only minus we saw in the unit was the kitchen cabinets. Outside, the deferred maintenance was apparent. Had to trim back the foilage on the back deck to use it. Pool heater was off, water was too cold for swimming. Back deck needs cleaning.
The location was excellent. We could walk to Duval, stores, etc. Hardly used the car.
Decor inside was great. Very comfortable, with plenty of towels & supplies. The only noise we heard was the resident roosters at 4am.
We cooked a lot of meals, preferring that to the expensive restaurants. Tools and appliances more than adequate. Knives were dull. Include a sharpener?
A better bbq. would be something I would recommend and would have been appreciated.
At Home Realty was great. Reservations were easily made, and the staff were very cordial and accomodating. Thanks.
We had a great time in Key West. Hope to see you again soon.
Jerry & Kathi
A bit of a disappointment...
Upon arrival after dark, it was difficult to locate the suite, past the poorly lit pond and pool area. The parking was an issue since we had paid for parking in advance so that it would not be an issue. Unfortunately, there was a problem between the management and rental company and we suffered the brunt of it. It is very difficult to find parking nearby and with a 1-year old in tote, good parking was a priority. The property could be much more aesthetically appealing if it were better kept up and less over-grown looking. As well, the pool needed to be cleaned and once it was, they shocked it with chlorine and didn't tell the renters. We figured it out once our eyes began to burn. We enjoyed ourselves on vacation, but we certainly did not enjoy all of the inconveniences that we had to deal with. We will not be renting here again.
We spent a week here just after Fantasy fest. It was wonderful! Quiet yet close to Duval St.if we were in the mood for some "action"! The accomadations were clean and attractive. Everything we needed was there. The rental company was also very accomodating and available when needed. I would highly reccommend to anyone interested in some time in Key West and wanting the option to be in on the festivities of Duval St., yet also wanting the option of some quiet time.
Fairfiel, Ohio 45014
Paradise in Heaven !
We had a blast! Will be back... Food was great, bars were awesome (especially Teasers! The neighborhood IS shady though! We were further from the MAIN drag than we thought we would be (from the write up, sorry!!!) Cab ride from airport to Condo was much more than back! (NEED to FIX this!!)The Dwelling was perfect (should have been closer to Duvall though! Thank you!
Don't believe what you see on the internet. This place is old, overgrown, and not well maintained. There claims to be parking, there is a large parking lot, however we were not allowed to park there when there was always empty spaces. There were large cockroaches in the bed and my husband woke up to one on his chest. The tub was plugged and always had standing water. I was very dissapointed with the stay and the price. Nothing was done as far as compensation. I would stay at Trumen Annex instead.
Nice Quite Place
Nice quite place. Close to everything.
We stayed in Egret for a week last year. The cottage was great, clean, attractively furnished and conveniently located. We rented bikes for the week and easily pedaled everywhere with Egret as the center of our expeditions. It's close to most everything so that you can easily return during the day for a break. We had a terrific week and Egret played a large part in that enjoyment. We would definitely stay there again.
Saint Joseph, Wisconsin
Best Place in Key West!
The colony is by far the best place to stay in Key West! We have stayed here many times as well as other rentals in the area. The colony is so close to everything, yet secluded enough to enjoy some time alone. The Egret is a place to call home in Key West - I will guarantee you will not be disappointed.
This was our 3rd trip to Key West, and by far the best rental experience we have had. We stayed in one of the cottages. We stayed in a one bedroom with 4 people. Plenty of sleeping room with the pullout sofa, but it was a bit crowded with all the luggage during the day. We were not there a ton though so it was not a problem.
The grounds were absolutely beautiful! The pool was nice, the patios were very relaxing. We had a very private one in the back with a beautiful garden, and one out front. The pool was nice, we spent every morning in it. We also used the grill quite a bit.
The only downside is the parking. There was not much room. We rented scooters for the week so we wouldn't have to worry about getting the car in and out of the tiny parking lot.
It was within reasonable walking distance of Duval street. We walked there every night and it was not bad at all.
I would highly recommend the cottages. We are actually thinking of going back! Hopefully soon!!!
Great little place in great location
We stayed at Egret in The Colony Suites for our Honeymoon and loved every moment of it. The condo was the perfect size and tucked back in some overgrown tropical plants. The pool area was also very nice and a great place to relax. It was also a short walk from Duval Street and the historic cemetery.
Would stay there again and plan to return in the near future.