KAMAOLE NALU, #103*
|Rental type||Apartment / Condominium|
|Minimum Stay||5 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Kamaole Nalu Resort is a six story oceanfront property located in South Kihei. It offers time stopping views of the dazzling Pacific Ocean and a friendly casual atmosphere. Adjacent the property is Kamaole Beach, well known for itâ€™s romantic sunsets, great swimming, and seasonal whale watching. Kamaole Nalu Resort offers free parking, oceanfront pool, and a gas barbeque area. The interiors include fully equipped kitchens, cable television, free local phone service, free high speed internet, private lanais and luxury linens supplied directly by Aliâ€™i Resorts.
* Minimum stay requirement of 14 nights may apply for holiday (Christmas/Ne...Read more
KAMAOLE NALU, #103*
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$240 - $300||$0||$1,680 - $2,100||$0||5 nights|
|May. 1 2013 - Oct. 31 2013||$240||-||$1,680||-||-|
|Nov. 1 2013 - Dec. 14 2013||$270||-||$1,890||-||-|
|Dec. 15 2013 - Apr. 14 2014||$300||-||$2,100||-||-|
|Apr. 15 2014 - Apr. 30 2014||$270||-||$1,890||-||5 nights|
|May. 1 2014 - Oct. 31 2014||$240||-||$1,680||-||5 nights|
|Nov. 1 2014 - Dec. 14 2014||$270||-||$1,890||-||5 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: June 11, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
perfect place and time
We love our condo it is in the perfect location on our favorite beach, close to anything we could want. This is our second year at this condo and we have come to know some of the regulars at the condo so it feels like home. My only negative which is up for debate, is that this particular unit is at the bottom of the ammenities scale, on the other hand you do not have to worry about anything.
We are planning on going back and trying another unit. Parking is an issue but once you park you don't need to leave because everything is within walking distance.
Warning! Never rent Kamaole Nalu, #103!!!
This unit is on the ground level, adjacent to a lovely lawn that leads to a pool and the beach. There is a nice little living room/kitchen area. That's the good news.
The bad news:
Parking is very limited, parking spaces are very cramped, and sometimes not available.
This unit is next to trash bins, recycling bins, loading zones, and the elevator. There is never a quiet moment, except in the middle of the night. Each morning we were awakened by people dumping their trash and recycling, very noisy trash trucks, loud people, elevator noise, and most rudely of all, a very very loud power washing operation of the hallway and loading zones that made it impossible to carry on a normal conversation, make phone calls, or relax and enjoy the morning. Totally awful, totally unacceptable
There was no hot water in the shower adjacent to the master bedroom.
The phone did not work.
The wifi was spotty, and would not work with my e-mail provider. I could not check e-mail for travel notices or updates for 6 days.
The toilet and shower for the room with the double beds are in the same tiny space, extremely cramped, with about an inch between the toilet and shower. No separate switch for light and fan, so it was also noisy.
Response from Ali'i Resorts, LLC - 01/22/2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting a review of your stay with us at the Kamaole Nalu. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy some of the amenities that this condominium provides and saddened to here that you had difficulties as well.
Our staff is available to you 7 days a week and we wish we could have had the opportunity to assist you in the matters that occurred inside the rental.
The property internet provider did have difficulties island-wide for over a week and unfortunately it affected many travelers. Please note that there is a complimentary business center at the front of the complex that offers an alternative internet provider.
Thank you for bringing these items to our attention. Feedback such as yours allows us to address and improve our operations.
You are a valued guest and we invite you to return again soon.
This condo has a great location. Right next to the pool and just steps to the beach and shops. There are a few things that would lead us to stay elsewhere on our next trip to Maui. It is very outdated, which is fine, but this unit has not been maintained. The ceiling fans are old and are not working well. This unit does not have a/c and is very warm. We were travelling with our 1 year old and we had to turn the fan off in her room because it was so unstable, we were worried it might fall! The dishwasher does not open far enough to load and unload the dishes. All the bar stools in the kitchen are different heights and don't match up with the bar, so not comfortable to sit at. The fridge was freezing some of our food. We had to keep some of the windows closed because they did not have screens on them. The patio door was very difficult to open and close. Lots of bugs! Cockroaches!
We returned to the Kamaole Nalu 103 this is a great location for us. the unit is in need of updating but very functional. The only issue we had and I think that it reflects more on management than the unit itself was the cleanliness of the unit. The windows and screens were not cleaned for a while. Other units had windows cleaned in preparation on new guests. There were other issues with cleanliness in the unit it could have had a more throughal cleaning. It appeared to have not had one in a while. I spent my first couple of hours in Maui, vacuuming, mopping and wiping/dusting. Bottom line it is worth it and we will stay again.
Craig - family of 4
Great location, unit needs some updating, good service from ali'
Unit location is great - can't be beat really.
The condo could use some updates -- carpet in bedroom is old, sofa is worn and dirty, dishes and cutlery are a terrible assortment of mismatched items.
Good set up with ground floor patio. Bedroom 2 works well for two kids.
Ali'i was good to deal with. The host met us on check in, and when we found the bed a bit too firm, they arranged for a foam topper to be delivered.
Walla Walla, WA
This is a fabulous location directly on the beach in Kihei avoiding having to cross a busy road to get to the ocean. Shopping close. Nice condo with 2 bedrooms and ensuite baths. Kitchen is quite small but well stocked. Check-in was delayed about an hour but cleaning service was pleasant and allowed us to drop our luggage in condo. Location is everything for this property!
This place is awesome! Have stayed here before and I can't even tell you how wonderful it is. The people are friendly and they don't mind if you have kids, that's a plus. The beach access is wonderful and if your not a beach person, you have a choice of the wonderful chairs right by the water. Great snokeling right out front. Would highly recommend this place to all!
Gotta love Maui
As we knew from previous visits this is an awesome location. Can't beat the sunsets in the lawn chairs and the morning walk on the beach.
The unit is fine, this time we were told when we checked in that new curtains had been ordered and they would be put up in two days or three, that did not happen so in the bedroom we had torn, shredded curtains, from sun damage and age. The curtains in the dining area were stained. Reminded us of a cheap hotel but paying big money for staying there. I believe we should have been compensated for the below par furnishings.
The computer/printer in the "office" was down when we needed to print our boarding passes to come home, we ended up going to the library and printing them.
The grounds have always been lovely but this time fallen leaves were never raked (previously it had been a daily occurance).
The lawn needed edging, the plants were infested with bugs and dying. The lounge chairs were not wiped down (previously it had been a daily occurance). There was a puddle of water underneath our living room window (outside) with trash in it.. . .I ended up cleaning that up, on day two of noticing it.
So all in all yes we will stay at Kamaole Nalu again as you cannot beat the location but we will not be expecting as much as we had in the past.
Okay with ear plugs
Nanaimo, BC Canada
basic but fine
We stayed there in early Jan 2011 and there are two bedrooms one is at the back which has nice windows and you hear the ocean cause you are a very short distance from the beach. The other bedroom is boardering the parking lot and the loading zone. I did not stay in this room but my son and his two small children did and they did not enjoy their sleep being interupted. I mean it is fine if you can close the windows - you cannot because there is no air conditioning. The unit was clean and functional.
British Columbia, Canada
it's just got that something special...
although the building is showing it's age, like most in the area, there is no denying the location!! It's prime and while central never feels 'busy' as one might think. Plenty of places to walk along the beach and a beautifully maintained garden and lawn area right on the oceanfront! No need to try and reserve a lawnbed - there are plenty!! Need a cool-off dip in the pool? it's ready, clean and waiting! Can't say enough good things. Live-in manager, Tom, is a darned handy guy- and a good guy too!
Great place for a family vacation!
Four years ago we stayed at the Hale Pau Hana (next door), and a friend stayed at the Nalu. We were paying double what our friends were for one less bedroom. We decided on that trip that if we returned it would be to the Nalu. I called alii Resorts and told them when we wanted to stay and how much I wanted to pay. After a bit of haggling we ended up with a very favorable price. We choose a ground floor unit near the back as we have small children. It was like having our own yard for the kids to play in, and at the same time enjoying a beach front property. The beach is fantastic, small waves for the kids, and snorkeling for me. The pool is small, but well maintained. We didn't use it much as the beach is so nice, there really isn't any reason to go into the pool. The condo is not a five star resort, but it was great for the family. I didn't have to worry about my 2 year old breaking anything. It could have been cleaner, and that would be my only gripe. We had a problem with one of the fans, and management brought us a new one within an hour. For a place right on the beach, you can't beat the quality and price. I can't wait to go back.
Location location location. Right on the beach
Unit Ok but noisy by the driveway and elevator.
Great place to relax
We loved our stay! We have stayed here 3 times before (in the complex not this unit). The location is perfect, grounds are nice, oceanfront who could ask for more? The unit itself is comfortable, kitchen definately small/tiny but was able to deal with it for a week.
The unit had very little in the way of pans, pitchers, or serving items.We had family staying in #105, private rental, so we borrowed from them. Our unit was very noisy, as it was by the elevator. Beds also were not of very good quality. I would not recommend this unit. The location is fabulous, and we are familiar with the island. We spent little time in the unit itself, but evenings, with elevator noise were not pleasant. We will be staying in this Kamaole Nalu again in the spring, just not this particular unit.