Kaanapali Shores & Kaanapali Royal
|Rental type||Apartment / Condominium|
|Minimum Stay||3 nights|
|Living space||960 square feet|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyYes
Description from the owner
Call or email for actual dates! Not much available until April 2013...
Kaanapali Shores Resort is located North of Lahaina on a famous North Kaanapali Beach. This resort is perfect for families and discerning travelers. We offer one bedroom condo starting at $189 per night and two bedroom condos starting at $269 per night. Kaanapali Shores two bedroom units start at $269 per night. We have the best location at the best prices. All of our units at Kaanapali Shores Resort are located at the front of the building in the first stack next to the penthouses fronting the beach, and are all Ocean Front Condos. We do not put our calendars...Read more
Kaanapali Shores & Kaanapali Royal
Additional Location Information
Kaanapali Beach and North Kaanapali Beach are the main beaches found just north of Lahaina. Many of Maui's major resorts are located on it.
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$189 - $269||$189 - $269||$1,600 - $2,260||$0||3 nights|
|Mar. 2 2013 - Dec. 15 2013
G101 Kaanapali Royal
|Mar. 2 2013 - Dec. 15 2013
Kaanapali Shores 2 bedrm
|Mar. 2 2013 - Dec. 15 2013
Kaanapali Shores 605 one bedrm
|All Other Dates||$269||$269||$2,260||-||3 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the owner|
- Tax rate - 13.42% of rental - Tax
- Cleaning fee - $125 / stay - Other
Additional notes from owner
Monthly rates are to be negotiated , depending on the season and availability . There is an additional fee for parking of $9.00 per day paid to the resort upon checking in. For longer periods of stay in our units we will consider paying your parking fee.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: April 02, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Most bang for the buck!
Ok. Its not the Ritz. For $250 a night what do you want? The unit was in decent repair, has all the ammenities one needs, and it is Right On The Beach! The unit we stayed at you could walk right out to the pool/restaurant area which is yards from the beach. I was fully pleased with the stay. I dont think you can find a similar unit for double the price. Come on people, book this place!
Great Location, Beautiful Condo
I stayed here in March for 5 days, and it is a great location! The unit has a beachfront view and easy access to a grocery store (right across the street) and a short drive to Front Street (restaurants & shopping).
Also, Luba could not have been nicer! She came to meet us and was very accommodating. We will definitely call her again when we return to Maui!
Very relaxing stay
We stayed in Condo #301. According to the bellman, this is the best condo in the resort. If our stay is any indication, it is. The oceanfront condo is spacious and airy. The lanai provides a great spot for viewing the waves, boats, and people. Don't let the nearby pool deter you. It is quiet in the evenings. One night, there were some people who were partying a little too heartily on the beach. Apparently, someone reported the noise because the raucous did not last long. The resort is clean and there is a shop where you can purchase forgotten necessities. There is a restaurant onsite, so you don't have to leave the resort if you don't want to. The security guard was very friendly and helpful with information about the island. The only issues we had were with the rude older man at the gate when we arrived. When we pulled up to the guard shack, he banged loudly on the counter and pointed to the ticket dispenser. We did not know whether or not we were supposed to get one before we were officially registered. Not the greatest first impression. Also, the concierge did not seem very knowledgeable about the island. He was not able to answer our questions. A waiter at a restaurant was able to provide better information. Don't let these things deter you from staying there. The rest of our time there was fantastic.
St. Louis, Missouri
Aston Kaanapali Shores is a beautiful resort in a great area in
This is my 2nd time staying at this resort, and I would recommend it highly! Great resort and an affordable option on Maui. Has a couple pools, hot tub, restaurant, a lot of ambiance, totally smoke free, and GREAT SUNSETS!!
We had one of the end condos (602) and had a TOTAL unobstructed view of the ocean for whale watching!! We only visit Hawaii (maui) during whale season.
The resort is set up like a "U" and we previously had stayed on the left side (as you're looking out onto the beach) and about 4th floor up, but the palm trees were somewhat in our way for whale watching, so if that isn't high on your priority, than no problem, because our condo that year was pretty awesome also
I specifically requested the end condos, 5th floor or higher, for whale watching.
I reserved our condo through Royal Hawaiian Condos http://royalhawaii.com and I was pretty much assured, since I was a returning guest, the my requests would be granted
It's a great place to relax, be romantic, home base for site seeing the rest of the island, and view the sunsets.
I can't wait to go back!!
Front Street in Lahaina is just a few minutes away. An awesome beach, also just minutes away, Kapalua Bay. You gotta check it out! Calm water, a sandy beach, and great snorkeling all wrapped up in a little bay!
One last thing (not really associated with the Aston - I recommend a whale watch tour while your there with Ultimate Whale Watch out of Lahaina Harbor!
404- If all you care about is a view, come here...otherwise keep
We stayed in suite #404 at the Kaanapali Shores for a week. Outside of a spectaclar view from the lanai, the rest of the suite is brutal. Upon arrival, we were welcomed by soiled/used sheets, soiled tissues under the bed,dirty toilets and dust a quarter inch thick on the headboard. A terrible first impression! While the owner was very responsive when we complained and a cleaning crew arrived while we were out the next day, it wasn't enough to change the suite itself. The Kaanapali Shores proper has been renovated and boasts new flat screens, cabinetry, counters, flooring and appliances throughout. Simply walk outside during the evening and you can compare yourself by looking in windows. Suite 404 is privately owned and has a kitchen reminiscint of 1975. The suite shows its age everywhere, including paint, old dishes and the original dirty light switches. So, if you want to enjoy the accumulated dust on the chain of the circa 1975 swag lamp over the eating area or listem to the uneven master ensuite toliet rock on the tiles every time you finish using it,enjoy your stay. While I cannot speak to the quality of the other units owned by this company at the Shores, I would not recommend #404.
Response from Fred and Luba Reeves - 02/12/2011
In response to this obviously negative review of our condo we would to respond as honestly as we can.
This guest called us when he got to unit 404 with few things that he wanted us to take care of that were not to his liking or the expectations. We sent our crew to take care of whatever that was not up to his standard right away. We had our crew do whatever the guest complained about and fix it and we thought the guest was happy. We did not hear anything else the rest of the time.
As all of our guests can see from the pictures that we post on our website we do not have cherry wood kitchen cabinets in our units, and not all of our units have flat screen TV's. However our cabinets work fine. They are clean and the TV's also work albeit not all are flat. We do replace the TV's every year as needed and as of now we have about 50% of them replaced. Again, I will say if cherry cabinets are mportant to our guests then our unit is not for them. However our kitchens have granite counter tops and new modern appliances, that are clean and efficient.
If the chain on our swag lamp is bothersome to some, then I will say that our unit is not for that guest. However the lamp is new and it does work and sorry about the chain. Maybe enjoying the ocean view might make up for the swag lamp and cherry cabinets. Our condo designer did not think the swag lamp was impacting the decor. ( Please see the pictures)
This is the first time that we had such a disparaging review of our unit 404. The guest found a 1/2 inch thick dust on top of the headboard. Obviously a half inch of dust is a hyperbole since having that much dust would hardly go unnoticed. In our defense we have to say some people are difficult to please, maybe they are used to staying at the Ritz Carlton on their vacation and anything less than that is not acceptable to them. In those cases I always recommend units that have a cherry cabinets and cost at least $500 per night. But for the rest of us we believe our unit is clean and nicely decorated and the pictures on the internet are there to show exactly what it looks like.
The guest was not buying the unit he was in . He was staying there for one week. Aston rents their units with the cherry cabinets for over $450 per night for the same location. If we charged that much we could afford those cabinets too. Somehow I feel that the negative tone of the review reflected on the guest more than on our unit.
But like they say in the business, "you cannot please everybody".
Thank you for reading this and please read other guest’s reviews before you make up your mind about staying in our units. This is the first review ever that was this negative . . . perhaps the guest had a long plane trip . We will never know.
hanging loose on maui
great place to stay
great location,ground floor,one minute to pool and ocean,nice layout of condo,
Great location, needs some attention.
Kaanapali Shores Resort is not too big, but has all the amenities you want on vacation. It is a 5 minute walk to a large supermarket that carries everything and about a 10 minute walk to the farmers market, natural food store and ABC store. In about 5 minutes (to your left) you could be at a fabulous walk along the Kaanapali shore, next to many first class resorts, with access to restaurants, spas, yoga classes, etc. The resort was a little older than expected.
Our unit, 103, 2 bedroom, 2 bath had a garden area, which was very handy. It was opposite the pool and restaurant, but never too noisy. If you have the windows open at night you might hear the pool pump. It was a very short walk to the beach. Each of the 2 couples sharing the unit had their own space, plus there was a common area for dining and watching TV.
The unit itself needed some updating. It could use a paint job in a lighter color to make the unit brighter and the carpeting & area rugs could be replaced (preferably with tile). There was a small leak in the bathroom floor which was not fixed during our stay. The coffee pot & toaster were pretty old, but functional. Don't miss the Kona coffee (Lion's brand - 100% Kona).
could be a great vacation rental with a little work
The service was great and we really lilke the location and the resort itself. The rental itself needed some updating and renovations. We would love to come back if it had some work done. The bathrooms really needed to be updated. They were dark and dingy. We really enjoyed the lanai but would have liked to have had some more comfortable chairs to sit on.
Response from Fred and Luba Reeves - 03/11/2010
Thank you for your suggestions. We have added extra wicker chairs on the lanai and are in the process of replacing light fixtures in the bathrooms. Both bathrooms have been renovated in the past 2 years with new tile surround and new granite counter tops. Hope you will come back in the future to this unit.