Cottage Profile Very private, three bedroom 1250 square foot waterfront cottage located on a rise of land overlooking Pike Bay. This beautifully decorated cottage comes with all the bells and whistles to make your holiday enjoyable and comfortable. The cottage is located on 3 acres of land, allowing for privacy, and has approximately 300 feet of shoreline. This large property is great for kids and pets to run around, play and enjoy the fresh air! There is a large 650 square foot deck overlooking the bay. Muskoka chairs are provided for you to relax in, as well as a table, umbrella and chairs. The property has a large grassy area - great for t...he kids to play soccer or baseball. At the water's edge is a 193 foot long dock with a viewing platform at the end. The interior of the cottage has laminate hardwood flooring in the main living room and carpeting in the bedrooms. The living room has large windows and sliding glass doors leading out to the deck and over-looking the lake. The furnishings in the house are of good quality and well-kept. There is a 25" TV with satellite providing over 40 stations. If you like to cook, this is the cottage for you. The kitchen has a double oven, and a four burner counter top range. There is ample cupboard and counter space, as well as a dishwasher, microwave and separate freezer. The master bedroom on the lakeside has a large king-size bed (the owners will provide you with the linens for this bed). A large, bright window will provide you with a relaxing view. The second bedroom has two sets of bunk beds, one of which has plastic walls on the sides making it suitable for younger children. The third bedroom has a double bed and single bed. There is one four-piece bathroom with tub/shower combination. The cottage also has a laundry room with full laundry facilities, for your convenience. The shoreline of the cottage is sandy/muddy, with shallow entry into generally warm water. A trail leads down to the beach from the cottage. Due to low water levels the shoreline has grass/reeds growing on it, and also as a result of these lower water levels it is a 300 metre walk to the water's edge. The cottage is located a 5 minute walk to a general store where you can purchase basic needs, rent movies and enjoy a cool ice-cream cone. If you are interested in kite-boarding you can give it a try in this area, as this activity is popular in this region of Lake Huron. From the cottage it is a 30 minute drive to the community of Sauble Beach where there are three golf courses within a half hour drive, various shops and of course the sandy shores of Sauble Beach. The Bruce Trail and Bruce Peninsula National Park are also close by, so don't miss out on a great hike and opportunities for exploration with your family - this is a great family cottage!
Additional amenities include: water: well (potable), large grassy open areas (great for kids), cd player, deck area: 650 square feet (from the front of the cottage to the side), property size: 3 acres of land, number of bedrooms: 3, washer and dryer, number of baths: 1 four-piece, dwelling type: one-storey bungalow cottage, satellite (40 stations), 193 ft long dock (not suitable for docking boats due to water levels) but does have a sitting area, double oven & counter-top four burner stove, heat source: electric heat, fire pit, water frontage: 300 feet, living area: 1250 square feet, 1 single, beds: 1 king, and a fold-out sofa bed., for kids), and picnic table with umbrella, 2 sets of bunkbeds (one set has plastic walls, 1 double, 5mb wifi wireless internet, VCR and DVD player, television 25".
Pictures were accurate, ample space in rooms, very good condition. You should verify directions to dump site(was difficult to find). Owner was very accommodating on 5 small issues and gave good directions for use of TV, Fireplace and his contact info. Very spacious grounds however as mentioned no swimming as weeds in at waters edge but a close drive to Sauble Beach and other areas. One of us had difficulty with the lock box. IT
WOULD HAVE BEEN GOOD TO KNOW THAT PAPER PRODUCTS WERE ON HAND AS WELL AS BEDDING, TOWELS, WASH CLOTHES, BATH TOWELS, TEA TOWELS AND DISH CLOTHS (Would have saved a lot a packing)
Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend?
Left on 08/15/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Mrs. Ozcan
Unfortunately we are not satisfied with the service. First of all, the kitchen doesn't match the cottage description. Contrary to what is written in the description, I say "if you like to cook, this is not the cottage for you". The kitchen is not well-equipped and the quality of the kitchenware is very bad. The knives are dull, the cutlery is awful, there's no even a strainer if you cook pasta, the dish washer doesn't work properly etc. That's the same for the rest of the cottage. Again, I don't agree with your description about the furnishings at all. They are old-fashioned and not well-kept. The living space is very cramped and the decor is genarally hideous. The beds are very uncomfortable that both my husband and I had a back pain from the first morning on. I'm sorry to say that but this cottage was a big disappointment for us and our friends.
Left on 03/14/2013 for a stay in August 2012 | Disappointed
The cottage description is at least inaccurate and at most deceiving. "this cottage has it all" is a huge exaggeration. It is a very basic cottage with bare minimum of everything: only two lounge chairs outside, the patio set has only four chairs, knives beyond dull, etc. It is also dark and doesn't have a lake view from the deck (as opposed to a misleading photo). The bay is very shallow and a half kilometer into the water it is still thigh deep for a short person. Kids hated it because they couldn't swim. Shore line is 300m away and can be reached by a long dock. You will need to use a vertical ladder to get to the ground which is very unsafe for small kids and older adults (actually, you will have to wade through overgrown weeds once you managed the ladder). Read more
Thank you for taking the time to review the property and I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay.
We do advertise on the site that the water levels are low and you have to walk 300 meters to access the water which is gradual entry once you reach it and also due to the low water levels the shoreline has become a sand/mud mixture with rocks and grass/reeds growing along it.
With regards to the dock we advertise it as being available as a viewing platform and not for use to access the water.
We had two pictures of the view of the lake from the deck, so I can see how this could have been confusing and I appologize. One was current and one was quite old and showed the cottage when there wasn't as much screeming around it. I have removed the older picture to avoid any further confusion.
I would like to thank you again for taking the time to comment.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.