LOCHGAIR - Argyll - AG674
|Minimum Stay||3 nights|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyYes
Description from the manager
Peacefully situated on the shore of Loch Gair, a sheltered bay off Loch Fyne, and enjoying magnificent views across the water, this traditional cottage is ideal for larger groups or extended families. The spacious interior has comfortable furnishings and a cosy, homely ambience. Children will appreciate their own ’snug’ with games, television etc. There is a patio area with garden furniture and a barbecue. The deep water mooring can be used by prior arrangement with the owner. Parking for 4 cars.
Sea and fresh water fishing can be enjoyed locally as well as walking (for all abilities), hill walking, riding, cycling, golf and...Read more
LOCHGAIR - Argyll - AG674
Lochgair, Argyll & Stirling, Scotland
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (Rental listed originally in GBP) (change)
|Rate Summary||$0||$1,046 - $1,856||$0||3 nights|
|May. 11 2013 - May. 25 2013||-||$1,470||-||3 nights|
|May. 25 2013 - Sep. 28 2013||-||$1,708||-||3 nights|
|Sep. 28 2013 - Nov. 2 2013||-||$1,470||-||3 nights|
|Nov. 2 2013 - Dec. 21 2013||-||$1,046||-||3 nights|
|Dec. 21 2013 - Dec. 28 2013||-||$1,708||-||3 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Dec. 28 2013 - Jan. 4 2014||-||$1,801||-||3 nights|
|Jan. 4 2014 - Apr. 5 2014||-||$1,078||-||3 nights|
|Apr. 5 2014 - Apr. 19 2014||-||$1,516||-||3 nights|
|Apr. 19 2014 - May. 3 2014||-||$1,078||-||3 nights|
|May. 3 2014 - May. 24 2014||-||$1,516||-||3 nights|
|May. 24 2014 - Oct. 4 2014||-||$1,760||-||3 nights|
|Oct. 4 2014 - Nov. 1 2014||-||$1,516||-||3 nights|
|Nov. 1 2014 - Dec. 20 2014||-||$1,078||-||3 nights|
|Dec. 20 2014 - Dec. 27 2014||-||$1,760||-||3 nights|
|Dec. 27 2014 - Jan. 3 2015||-||$1,856||-||3 nights|
|View all 15 Rate Periods|
Additional notes from owner
Additional Rate and Availability Information -
3 night minimum booking period. The 3 night price is 75% of the weekly rental not 3 times the above nightly rate. Start dates accepted: Saturday (weekly rentals), Friday (3 nights) or Monday (4 nights). Please contact us for an accurate price quote for your dates.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 21, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Great family holiday
The keys to the cottage we're easily located which made our arrival after a long journey very smooth. The house was a great size for our extended family and the location was perfect for walks with the dog and access to local amenities, including the hospital in Lochgilphead!
We were disappointed that the BBQ was locked away as we had great weather during our stay. A gift of freshly caught mackerel from the Loch were delicious. We particularly liked that the main lounge didn't have a TV.
Great for a long weekend
We had a very nice break at Gallinach. the house is in a picturesque location although the village is not particularly well serviced. The house is in need of some refurbishment though and certainly should have been cleaner in places. the sheets, towels and bathrooms were perfectly clean and those are the improtant things. The neighbour's visit was friendly and welcoming.
Fantastic family holiday
We had a wonderful holiday, the location right on the beach was perfect for us, fishing & sailing on the doorstep! Loads of room in the cottage & plenty to see & do nearby.
Great family holiday
We loved the location. The cottage provided enough room for all of us (10 plus one on an airbed!). The kitchen had more than enough equipment so we were not having to constantly wash dishes and it was great to have a dishwasher. The living room was very cosy when the fire was going (we did have to go to Lochgilphead first to get logs etc. Also to get charcoal for BBQ). Wish we had remembered to bring milk as there is no shop in Lochgair. There was a small carton provided but not enough or all of us for breakfast.
We had very wet and cold weather part of the time so better instructions to get heating working would have been helpful as we did not realise the timeswitch was half way up the stairs until a neighbour showed us. However the weather did not dampen our holiday spirit as there are plenty of games to play. Also the conservatory was warm enough to sit in during the daytime.
Checkin... Hotel receptionist knew nothing about the key arrangement but found one for us. Checkout.. the hotel was closed so we had to ask a neighbour to take the key for us. This was just a minor hitch tho.
Scenery is stunning so a walk on the shore is a must!
2 Families from Perth
Good Family Cosy Holiday with plenty to do and see
There is plenty of room in this accomodation, for the 2 families, comprising 4 adults, 5 children (ages ranging between 8 and 14) and 2 dogs, which was comfortable and felt like a home from home. It is well equipped with kitchen equipment and anything needed, and the children liked their own 'snug' and games etc there. We had lovely walks, particularly along the nearby canal, and scared ourselves at Inverary Jail,We had great old fashioned sweets and good food, in Inverary. The Loch Gair Hotel, which we walked to and from the accomodation, has a nice atmosphere and the food was good for all of us. We had a great day trip to Mull, and even swam in the Loch. Good fun was had by all fishing in the Loch situated right beside the accomodation. The Garden was fine and big, and the children and dogs had fun there. It was goodto have the Conservatory, where we kept boots and shoes, and played cards in. The big table in the large lounge is great to accomodate everyone for meals, and the fire in the evenings was lovely and relaxing.
We stayed with another family, and friends, 9 of us in all. The location is fantastic, loads to do, even in poor weather, and truly stunning in good weather. The house is cosy and well equipped. We have booked again for next year, need I say more.
Overall excellent, a comfortable well appointed house with a fully equipped kitchen and lots of provision for entertainment on wet or lazy days. The location is sublime and I suspect even if you stayed in a shed in the same spot you'd be grinning every morning. We found the owner helpful, responsive and flexible to the needs of our large group.
On the down side, is the unfortunate association with the Lochgair Hotel which was represented by the singularly most unfriendly and cold landlord I've ever encountered. He seems to hate his job or perhaps just people. Don't use the hotel unless you have to. The house could have been cleaned better, didn't really want to clean toilets on arrival.
Overall however pleased with the house and very pleased with the break.
Response from Mackay's Agency - 02/02/2011
Thank you for posting this review. There was a problem with the cleaning at the property but this has now been rectified so no further issues should be experienced.
Dirty smelly bedding
I am sorry to say that of all the cottages and villas I have stayed in this was by far the dirtiest. The agents were less than professional throughout and I will definitely avoid using this company again.
The cottage was in a lovely location and the cottage was fairly well equipped albeit old and worn.
Our main complaint was the dirty bedding. The pillows smelt strongly of someone else's hair. It really turned our stomach.
We did complain to the agents who basically absolved themselves of any blame.
It was not just our opinion that the cottage was dirty, there were plenty of poor comments in the visitor book.
Response from Mackay's Agency - 01/05/2011
We were not contacted until after the customers returned so did not have the opportunity to rectify this issue. As soon as we received notification of the problem we contacted the owner to request swift action. Other customers comments received have generally been very favourable.
I have personally spoken to the owner of the property and he has assured me that the above was an isolated issue with the cleaner and that there is no longer a problem with cleanliness.