LOCHINVER - Sutherland - SU304
|Minimum Stay||3 nights|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyYes
Description from the manager
This traditional, detached cottage is conveniently situated on the quiet side of the bay, in an attractive fishing port, within walking distance of the village centre, beautiful waterfront and the working harbour where boats unload their catch at the fish market. Freshly decorated and comfortably furnished, the cottage is traditional in style, well-presented and welcoming. The large enclosed garden has a seating area looking out over the village and a pond (care with young children).
Lochinver sits in a lovely location between the bay and the magnificent mountains of Suilven and Canisp at the heart of Assynt, a stunning area of unspoile...Read more
LOCHINVER - Sutherland - SU304
Lochinver, Scottish Highlands & Islands, Scotland
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (Rental listed originally in GBP) (change)
|Rate Summary||$0||$503 - $623||$0||3 nights|
|May. 11 2013 - May. 25 2013||-||$527||-||7 nights|
|May. 25 2013 - Jun. 29 2013||-||$565||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 29 2013 - Aug. 31 2013||-||$604||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 31 2013 - Sep. 28 2013||-||$565||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 28 2013 - Apr. 5 2014||-||$527||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Apr. 5 2014 - Apr. 19 2014||-||$544||-||7 nights|
|Apr. 19 2014 - May. 3 2014||-||$503||-||7 nights|
|May. 3 2014 - May. 24 2014||-||$544||-||7 nights|
|May. 24 2014 - Jun. 28 2014||-||$583||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 28 2014 - Aug. 30 2014||-||$623||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 30 2014 - Oct. 4 2014||-||$583||-||7 nights|
|Oct. 4 2014 - Nov. 1 2014||-||$544||-||7 nights|
|View all 12 Rate Periods|
Additional notes from owner
Additional Rate and Availability Information -
3 night minimum booking period. The 3 night price is 75% of the weekly rental not 3 times the above nightly rate. Start dates accepted: Saturday (weekly rentals), Friday (3 nights) or Monday (4 nights). Please contact us for an accurate price quote for your dates.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 14, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
a bit disappointed
Considering the price, we were a bit disappointed about the quality of the furniture : beds and armchairs were really old and for some persons could hurt the back (it was my case). The mossy garden offered to us another surprise: it was fully infested with tiny ticks, far more than in the moor after hours of walking ! We couldn't use it.
H and T
A lovely relaxing holiday
A beautiful old cottage set in a perfect location with a lovely garden, stunning views and just a few minutes walk from the village shops restaurants and pub. Inside the comfortable mix of old and new furnishings made us feel very much at home. Kitchen very well equipped and we especially appreciated the large fridge/freezer. Owners friendly welcoming and a pleasure to talk to with lots of helpful and interesting information which made our holiday seem extra special. Not at all intrusive but made it clear we could contact them at any time. We had a great time here and would love to go back.
John Stewart Moir
Cosy idyllic little cottage in a beautiful highland village.
This is an ideal cottage for a couple. Comfortable sized kitchen and cosy if slightly old fashioned sitting room. We would have preferred double bed but understand twin beds may suit other renters. Good sized garden and good outlook over part of village. Central for walks round both sides of village which surrounds river running into sea loch. Good restaurants and pub in village. Ideal location for exploring assynt which is spectacular
Traditional cottage in great location
Nice, traditional cottage - very comfortable. The location is fantastic - 5 minutes walk from the village centre, including a good pub (the Caberfeidh) and the Lochinver pie shop (highly recommended!) Ideal for anyone wanting a peaceful base to explore the mountains of the North-West. We had a wonderful time there.
J & A
Forest of Dean
Do not book this cottage
Stated off street parking ( a layby at the side of the main road also
used by other people.
30ft incline to the front door of cottage (not stated in details and would not be desirable for anyone infirm or difficulty in walking)
Old furniture/old carpets and curtains,kitchen and bathroom need refurbishing or a really good clean.
Self erected old shower curtain that only covers half a small bath,
difficult to have a proper shower especially when water runs along bath edge on to the floor because of poor shower curtain.
Neglected garden,grass very long only cut on the thursday of our stay
despite having good weather previous weeks.Garden furniture needed
really good clean before able to use.
Stated in details no pets.Very hot day on arrival open top of windows
to be greeted by two cats trying to gain entry(found cat bowls under
Obviously this cottage has never been inspected by Mackays and if as
they state they are not liable for anything they should not put
their name to cottage.
Response from Mackay's Agency - 07/02/2012
We apologise if you found this cottage to be unsatisfactory. We inspect every cottage before they are accepted into our portfolio and whilst this cottage may not be luxurious it does meet our required minimum standards. However, the points raised in your review that the owners can address, will be passed on for immediate action and improvement.
The location of this cottage is fantastic and in our opinion represents great value for money. Other customers have given it a 5 star.
We had a great stay thank you. No problems at all with the cottage, set in a fantastic location. Owner is friendly and was very helpful. Two local shops nearby for all needs.
I will definiatly like to stay again :)