|Rental type||Apartment / Condominium|
|Minimum Stay||5 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
FOR LATEST AVAILABILITY, MORE REVIEWS, AND AN INSTANT QUOTE, please visit IVY LETTINGS WEBSITE and enter "Ranelagh Gardens" into the search box.
Â£15 ONLINE BOOKING DISCOUNT: enter promotion code â€˜flipkeyâ€™ when booking on Ivy Lettings website
ALL MAJOR CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED
Warm and contemporary apartment within a traditional mansion block located on the River Thames, with fantastic communal gardens overlooking the river and immediate access to the District line via Putney Bridge tube station.
Tasteful and neutral master bedroom with king-size (5ft) bed and plenty of storage space. Light and bright...Read more
Ranelagh Gardens, Fulham, Sleeps 4.
Additional Location Information
Fulham nestles in a Western loop of the River Thames. In much a similar vein to its eastern neighbour, Chelsea, Fulham negotiates the fine line between being a quiet residential district and a hub for upmarket entertainment. The Fulham Road, with its endless shops, pubs, restaurants, cafes, cinemas and theatres attests to its status as the new go-to place for upscale attractions. On the boundary between Chelsea and Fulham, any veteran sports fan seeking to catch a glimpse of 2012 F.A. Cup winners and European Champions, Chelsea F.C., can book a seat for a home game at the Stamford Bridge stadium located just next to Fulham Broadway station.
Rates shown in $ USD (Rental listed originally in GBP) (change)
|Rate Summary||$231||$231||$1,620||$0||5 nights|
|Dec. 21 2012 - Jan. 4 2013
|Jan. 5 2013 - May. 31 2013
Jan - May
|Jun. 1 2013 - Sep. 15 2013
|Sep. 16 2013 - Dec. 31 2013
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
Additional notes from owner
This property rents from Â£153 per night, plus a one-off fee of Â£199 for cleaning and taxes.
Subject to a 5 night minimum, rentals can be for any number of nights.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 21, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
The process of finding "the right" place to stay was extremely stressful and time consuming. Nevertheless after weeks of searching we chose this property. Rest assured it is in a safe and very quiet area that is wonderfully close to public transportation. For those reasons alone I would say this is a safe bet.
For booking forward I had nothing but one problem after another.
Obviously when booking from the U.S. talking on the phone to an Ivy Lettings agent is out of the question. I would recommend that you either pay for the international call or get a plan that allows you to make said calls as they will respond to you with contracts and waivers faster than you can shake a stick but not answers to basic questions that often went unanswered. After just resolving to book this property, filling out the contract and giving them my payment information I was charged not once but twice. When planning an almost three week trip to London, Paris and Edinburgh all via credit card a double charge for over $1700 was not well received. They only response I got was "sorry we just switched to a new system and we are working out the kinks." This does not explain how or why there were a total of four charges that were put through. The refund did not match the total of the charges put through. I informed our agent of this and of course it was not addressed.
As part of the contract you have to let them know when you will arrive at the property. This of course is nothing more than a guess as you never know how long the lines will be for luggage, customs, transportation, etc. We were running slightly early and called the office to let them know. This was met with our being told that the agent would meet us at the stated time. Fine.
The entrance for this unit is on the side of the building - not the front. It was raining when we arrived, so we stood under the small awning at the front entrance waiting for the agent to arrive. Apparently the agent drove right past us and to the rear of the building and was waiting inside the apartment. Would three people standing with luggage at the front entrance not be a clue of who we were? It took the property manager, who saw us standing outside, to let us in and bring us to the unit, where of course we then found the Ivy Lettings agent.
The young man, not the agent I was dealing with via internet, showed us the basics and informed us that there was a manuel that would answer all our questions. He was gone in approximately two minutes. Shortly thereafter it was discovered that we did not have heat and the heater was broken. There is not a telephone at the apartment and we do not have international cellular service. Once again it was the property manager to the rescue. He verified that indeed the furnace was not working and a service person needed. He (not Ivy Lettings) had his "guy" come out. They were able to jump start the heater but warned us that as soon as it got to the desired temperature and turned off that it would not turn back on. We got ahold of Ivy Lettings via the property managers phone and were told that a service person would be out the next day. I personally do not mind the cold, but by the next morning I would guess that the temperature in the apartment was approximately sixty degrees at best. We waited until noon and left. No service person. When we returned later that night it was steaming hot in the apartment. Ok great. Follow up with our agent? Think not. We never did figure out how to regulate the temperature, but at least there was heat and lots of it.
If you are a light sleeper beware of the white or master bedroom. By 7am the elevator was non-stop and the front door was consistantly being opened and closed. The elevator is located on the other side of the bedroom wall.
The internet worked very well. The tv is smaller than most computer monitors but had several channels to choose from. The bathroom is small but did the trick. I was very thankful for the washer and dryer as they both worked wonderfully. The company left ample toilet paper, dish soap and bar soaps. There also was one hairdryer available but no mirrors in either bedroom. One of my biggest complaints is there are no clocks in the bedrooms. Why not a $10 alarm clock?? They give you one pillow per person. There were additional pillows in a cabinet, but the manuel warns that if you use any of the linens not put out for you you will be charged. I was not about to use a pillow and not put a pillow case on it. Seemed pretty petty and stupid considering the price. You are also given one full size and one hand towel per person.
I do not beleive I would use Ivy Lettings ever again. Rental apartment vs. hotel is the way to go if you have the funds to do so. This unit is neither in the basement nor above ground (you are under the main entrance). There is no view whatsoever. However, we never felt unsafe. As stated the Putney Bridge train stop is a block away as are many buses. There is a very small cafe and a restaurant at the corner. They both close very early and the restaurant is not open on Sunday. The river walk is behind the building, and it brings you to a bridge that links you to restaurants and shops that are approximately a half mile away. If you want nightlife at your finger tips and the subway snack bar is not it this is not for you.
I would recommend this property in a there were no bugs or rodents kind of way. Otherwise for the money there may be better places out there so keep looking.
Response from Ivy Lettings - 01/08/2013
I'm so sorry to hear of your issues during your stay with us, and thank you for bringing these to my attention. To take each point in turn:
- Booking: I don't think you are referring to booking with Ivy Lettings when you said it was a stressful and time-consuming finding a property but I'm sorry all the same. We are frequently praised for the ease with which clients can book, and since we've introduced online booking in late 2012, this is now even easier.
- Double charging. I personally sincerely apologise for this. It was indeed a teething problem with our new booking system. We have rectified this now. For your booking, we refunded you in full immediately and looking through, we actually received no further correspondence from you on the matter.
- Arrival. We were very busy on the day you arrived, but nonetheless we were able to arrive earlier than the appointed time. When you phoned, we advised that our representative would be in the property on your arrival, which he was. As to the location of the entrance, this was clearly identified on the check in document we emailed to you before your arrival.
- Boiler. I'm sorry you had problems with this, but had you contacted us then we would have looked at this right away. You are right that the apartment does not have a phone (and to be clear, it is not advertised as having one) and we note that you didn't avail of our phone hire service, but had you emailed us then we'd have picked that up immediately.
- Elevator/door noise. We've never had this complaint in the 3 years we have rented this property out, but I'm sorry you found it to be an issue.
- Linen. Yes this property has one pillow per person. Again we'd have been happy to have provided another had you asked! As to the owner's linen cupboard, we always politely request guests not to use this to avoid a mountain of laundry and mixing up their linen with ours at the end of the guests' stay. I hope this is understandable but I'm sorry if it came across as petty to you, though I don't feel the way we convey the message is small-minded or mean, I must say!
- Price and Overall Quality. I'm afraid I feel you are being harsh here. This is a unit which is popular for its modern features, practicality and location (within one minute of a tube station which takes you right to Westminster and West End non stop in 30 mins). It can sleep upto 5 people for around Â£170/night (all fees and taxes included). As such I feel it represents excellent value, but ultimately my opinion does not matter, but that of our booking clients. On that score though, I will mention that this is the first criticism we've had for this property since we took it on (and we've accommodated many many happy guests here).
Once again, I'm sorry your experience fell short in these regards. I only wish we'd had the chance to address those that we could during your stay. For the others, thanks for your thoughts. Most importantly, thank you for using Ivy Lettings for your trip to London.
Guy van der Westhuizen, MD Ivy Lettings
Great place to stay
great place to stay, very nicely furnished and very relaxing inside. Perfectly located for quick trips out and a great area to stay.
from the start of contacting the agency to finding the property was easy. We wanted soemwhere that good transport links, and Hurlingham Court is a stones throw from Putney Bridge tube station. The flat is spacious (for London standards) and has all you would need if staying for a short time. There is free wifi which we found was good as we often checked online to see what shows were on and how to get to various museums.
If I had to fault something then it would be the small bathroom other than that top marks, we will be back next year...
Lexington, KY, USA
This property should not be overlooked!
My husband, 10 year old son and I stayed here for 10 days on a recent trip to London. Amelia greeted us warmly when we arrived. There were wonderful pros and a just few cons to this place (just being honest!) But the pros far outweigh the cons and the cons certainly give no reason to not consider this property. Pros: two minute walk to the subway stop. Set out in the other direction, across the river, there is abundance of grocery stores, etc. Very comfortable amount of space for three people. Very clean & quiet. Nice kitchen setup. Washer and separate dryer was nice so we did not have to pack too many things from home. Cons: One of the bedrooms is situated under a stairwell for the rest of the building and could be a bit noisy in the mornings. Did not have all the amenities as listed...had to run out and buy a hairdryer, which we left there...no use for that here...
Other than that, it was nice. We had some issues with the TV, but Guy was on it and worked it all out for us.
We have utilized self catering apartments in various places throughout Europe. Mainly organizing through the internet...sometimes it is difficult to know if an operation is legit. Rest assured Ivy Lettings is, and they really will bend over backwards to make your stay a great experience. I wish them the best in continuing their business efforts.
Ivy Lettings ensured a perfect family vacation experience!
We visited London with our three children, and Guy and amelia at Ivy Lettings went out of their way to welcome us. Amelia greeted us at the tube station, and walked us to our flat. During our stay, Amelia was always willing to assist us with any questions we had, even ones not related to the rental. She went out of her way to help us enjoy all aspects of our sightseeing. In terms of rental contracts, and all business interactions, Guy was prompt, professional and very determined to help us find a rental within our budget. As for the flat~wonderful! Very clean, comfortable beds, nice layout, great location, two minutes from a neat bookstore, pub, church, cafe and tube stop. Five minutes away is a downtown area where shopping is fun and easy, including a full grocery store and good restaurants. We would highly recommend Ivy Lettings to anybody looking for a memorable vacation in London.