- 2 bedrooms
- 1 bathrooms
- Sleeps 6
Description from the owner
Bear Bluff River Front Cabin is the Perfect Get Away. This newly renovated cabin is just like brand new. It is located on 3 acres on the scenic Shenandoah riverfront minutes from Luray. You can relax on the screened in porch and enjoy the beautiful mountain views or you can enjoy fishing, canoeing, kayaking, tube down the river or BBQ and picnic on the riverfront. The cabin has a new kitchen, new bathroom, ceramic tile and hard wood floors. We have adorned it with beautiful leather furniture in the living area and cherry bedroom furniture.
Whether you just need to get away and relax or to celebrate a romantic weekend, Bear Bluff is for... you!
Waterfront, waterfront, waterfront! Our cabin is the perfect choice to experience an unforgettable vacation. Come to rest, relax and take pleasure in natureâ€™s finest wonder.Read more
About the owner
Paul 5033839336 Full profile
Response rate: 0%
Response time: N/A
Calendar updated: today
Overall rating: 4.6 / 5.0 based on 265 reviews and 7 properties
Bear Bluff cabin on the Shenandoah River
Additional Location Information
More About This Location
Mountain nearby, Waterfront
Last updated on September 21, 2014
Not available for your dates? Check availability for 61 other Luray rentalsCheck Availability for Luray
Rates shown in $ USD
|Don't see rates for your trip?|
- Tax rate | 10.3% of rent
- Damage deposit | $300
- Fees for additional guests may apply.
- Pet | $50
Additional notes from the owner
Payment Options: American Express, Discover, Mastercard, Visa
Check In: 3 p.m.
Check Out: 11 a.m.
Required Stay: 2 night minimum (3 night holidays, $30 holiday surcharge)
Deposits: 50% Payment Due when Booking Reservations; Balance Due 14 Days Prior to Arrival. Signed Rental/Waiver Agreement Required. Families & Responsible Adults.
Note: Weekly rate includes 6 nights.
$50 per pet fee
- Local Guides/Maps
- Towels Provided
- Ceiling Fans
- Alarm Clock
- Clothes Dryer
- Housekeeping Optional
- Linens Provided
- A/C or climate control
- Washing Machine
- Central heating
Phone / Internet
- Internet Access
Pool / Spa
- Hot Tub/Jacuzzi
- Mountain Views
- Ocean or water views
- Stove or Oven
- DVD Player
- Stereo or CD player
- Satellite or cable TV
- Outdoor Dining Area
- Pet friendly - yes
- Smoking allowed - no
- Suitable for children - yes
- Suitable for the elderly - ask
- Wheelchair accessible - no
- 2000 square feet
What Past Guests Are Saying
Have you stayed here? Write a review
68 guest reviews
89% of guests would stay again
Cabin was clean and comfortable. Nice relaxing location. Everything was great!!
Capitol Heights, MD
Love the smell of a cozy fireplace
We loved the Living Room and fireplace. The heat was necessary in addition to the fireplace on a couple of really cold 20 degree days. Didn't like the 'stinkbugs' at all! They seemed to pop up out of nowhere. Did detect some tears in the kitchen light fixture where they seemed to be attracted to. Also, window sills need to vacuumed out. Unfortunately the way to the river was filled with standing water in spots so didn't get a chance to visit there. Outdoors was nice though. We could hear the river! '300' the movie- the cd was damaged-shut down about half way through. Amenities were fine-dishwasher, pool table, ping pong table. The space heater in the basement was ineffective. The fireplace was its best feature-we made Smores!. Stink bugs were the biggest annoyance.
Great location and all questions covered!
We had a great stay at Bear Bluff. The location was an easy drive to the sights we were interested such as the Luray Caverns and Shenandoah National Park. The property was a perfect adventure for our 2 year-old, although a bit buggy at the time of our visit. The screened-in porch was handy to address the bug issue. Having a pack-n-play (crib) was perfect so we didn't have to travel with ours. However, if the cottage is purposed for families with young children, it could use a lot of electrical outlet covers! The bear motif was insanely cute, but drew a lot of attention to the outlets from our curious guy. The movie selection was amazing for the evenings!! What could be better: beds are creaky not very comfortable!
Tom & Shirley Ostrander
Disappointing as not on river as advertised!!!
The reason this cabin was selected was because it was advertised on the Shenandoah River. This was our honeymoon and my lifetime dream was to see & spend time on the Shenandoah. I am 65 & unable to walk long distances. Had we known the position of river prior to cabin selection, we would have chosen differently. You should not advertise this cabin on river, and maybe it would benefit you in the future to think of providing a golf cart for SR. Citizen's (only) who would like to rent this cabin. The cabin itself is a beautiful cabin, and if we could access the river, we would love to come back each year. Veronica, your sales rep, was exceptionally kind to us when we called her to tell her I could not access river. She did offer us another cabin with better river view, but it was on stilts & I did not think I could climb them at time either and we were already settled in at Bear Bluff. Thanks Veronica for all your kindness. You are a real asset to real estate. Paul, the Bear Bluff Cabin is a beautiful cabin & we did enjoy it. Read more
Response from Paul - 10/19/2013
The property is indeed on the river as advertised. The cabin itself is located at the opposite end of the property from the river as can be seen in the posted photographs, but the property extends to the river and includes private riverfront.
It is true that you do have to walk down the private lawn from the cabin to reach the river, and we understand this may present an issue to elderly or the handicapped; if we'd know that was the case prior to making the reservation we would have been able to advise you better.
We had a great time. The cabin proved to provide exactly what we needed. Some suggestions to make future visit more successful: Comforters and sheets should be washed before the visit. The linen had visible crusted food or something on them. The blankets on the sofas had dog hair on them. The bath mat had to be washed as well because of a brown stain, which came out in the wash. The HCV system should be checked because it would heat, but not cool. We told the man who brought wood and he said that he would pass that along. The description of waterfront is a little misleading since you cannot see the river from the house and it requires a short walk to see it. The house was very comfortable. We have suggested it to other friends since we have returned. After a few loads of laundry, we relaxed and had a wonderful time. Read more
Response from Paul - 10/21/2013
All sheets, towels, linens, and furniture are washed before each stay. Not sure what happened here, if we had been informed at the time of the stay that there was a problem we would have dealt with it immediately - we have duplicate sets of everything so we can do an immediate switch if something is wrong.
We have had problems with the AC this summer but the local tech found the leak and replaced the part that had failed. Hopefully it will be OK now, but it did take a few tries to figure out.
Great cabin but-Too far from the river!!
The cabin is in a great location and the inside was extremely nice and clean. The information book was helpful and the plethora of movies was a great touch. The only 2 complaints that we had were that the bath towels had a "stench" and the river was about 4 football fields away from the cabin so it is only fair to inform people of that. Read more
Response from Paul - 10/21/2013
The cabin is at the opposite end of the property from the river because the zoning codes won't allow it to be any closer. But the property is indeed riverfront as promised, you walk down a private lawn to get to your private stretch of riverfront without leaving the property you rented.
Not sure about the towels, they are washed every time of course but the cleaning manager will be checking all towels. We may have recently cycled in new towels that had been in the closet a while.
The house is very nice and short walk to the river.
We have a beautiful long weekend. Lots of thing to do.
The only 2 cons it had were that the house is actually for 4 people. The sofa bed is extremely uncomfortable.
The kitchen utensils were not clean and we had to wash them before use.
Other than that we had a very nice stay. Read more
Response from Paul - 10/17/2013
Thanks for your feedback, Tina. The sofa bed is definitely not as comfortable as a regular bed, but none of them generally are. We may look into adding cushion for that. As far as the utensils go, we pride ourselves on strict cleaning standards - we've changed cleaning crews over the years whenever we felt they didn't meet our standards. I will make sure the cleaning crew hears about this ASAP and we'll see what happened. It's possible that the previous guests left dirty utensils in drawers and they weren't caught by the cleaning crew during the changeover. We'll make sure to address this. Thanks again for your comments.
Williamstown, New Jersey
My mom and I stayed at Bear Bluff august 2013 and it was an amazing time. Firstly, the grounds were beautiful with the golf-course like grass and cool trees. The outdoor areas were quiet and private. The hot tub was relaxing, clean and we used it every night despite it being august. The river is right down the lawn literally in your back yard and that was gorgeous and we enjoyed fishing every day. The inside of the home was just as nice. Comfortable everything. We slept awesome is the comfortable beds. The game room downstairs was cool. We used it all times of day. The kitchen is well-stocked and has everything you could need to cook with. One of the best showers ever. Town is like 10 minutes away and has whatever you might need to eat, drink or entertainment. Bear Bluff comes with absolutely anything you need from utensils to Dvds to bug spray. One of the best parts of the cabin is we were able to bring our dog, Ollie who loved every second of it. Totally amazing vacation rental. We are already planning our trip to Bear Bluff next summer. And this time we will be bringing my brothers who were jealous when they saw the pictures. All in all hands-down a great home and vacation.
The Beautiful Shenandoah River! (Daughter of the Stars)
We rented the Bear Bluff Cabin due to it's location along the Shenandoah River...The cabin is well appointed and has additional amenities that most cabins do not have in the recreational sense to include a game room, bikes, and canoes...We would recommend the cabin to our friends...
Bear Bluff is a nice property located in a good area and an easy drive from the DC burbs. We were glad to have a hot tub and access to the water. We did not realize that the house was a bit of a distance from the river but not a problem. However, the canoes were stored at the house making them difficult to use. The billiard and ping pong tables were nice to have but was not used because they were located in a separate section of the house and we did not have electricity our 2nd day. More on that below.
Although a nice property, I think a cheaper cabin closer to the water without extra amenities is probably better suited for my family. As for the lack of power we experienced, that was due to a storm and not the house or mgmt. However that did mean that we could not enjoy any of the amenities our 2nd day.
This includes watching movies, sitting in the hot tub, cooking dinner, or even taking a shower or flushing the toilet. I was hoping we would get a discount or a late checkout but no luck. Chances of that happening is very low.
Anyhow, I would recommend the property to others
Note to mgmt:
Bikes and wagon need repair
Canoes should be by river
Please put some flashlights in the house
Port Orange Florida
Thanks Paul for yet another wonderful vacation at Bear Bluff! With the addition of our new 8 month old Golden Retriever (Holly) and our 3 year old Golden (Abby) we have now come to the conclusion of moving out of a HOa community and purchasing land to let them run... The house as always is complete with everything, the accommodations are as always great. There is never anything we need because you folks have thought of it all.. See you in 2015!
Dave, Laura and Ian
Holly & Abby
Angelique, Jesse, Jax & Roxanne
Awesome Cabin, even better location!
We had a wonderful time at the Bear Bluff Cabin in Luray! The cabin facilities were wonderful, well maintained, with a huge selection of movies for the rainy days! Everything was so clean and we just felt like home. The rec room in the basement was great, the available bikes, tubes and chairs were perfect so we didn't have to pack half our house to go away for a few days. Also loves the wagon provided so we didn't have the carry everything down to the river.
Love that it is dog friendly as well, pups were so tired they could barely get in the car by the end of our stay!
Seriously, not one, single complaint, everything was just great. We will be recommending friends and certainly returning asap!
We loved Bear Bluff and plan on returning!
This is the first time we've rented a vacation rental and Paul made booking it online super easy! The house was everything we hoped for, exactly like the pictures. My teens loved the game room and we all soaked in the hot tub at night. We went down to the waterfront and fished, canoed, watched the tubers float by and just chilled out. There's a fire pit with wood, gas grill, extra folding chairs and a washer and dryer. Comfy couches in the living room with warm throws, flat screen TVs in living room and both bedrooms. We only had time to watch one DVD out of the huge section offered. I liked how there is a book there that spells out how everything works in the house from the TVs to the hot tub. If you need extra ideas on things to do there is a journal from past renters. Plenty of towels, linens and blankets. Nice central air. Even the number of a handyman if you need it. Its 5 minutes from Luray Caverns. This house had everything for a relaxing and memorable vacation. Thanks Paul!
Lorie and Tammy
Lake Wales .Fl.
great place to relax with the family.
Had a great time in the sweet town of Luray.va. The cabin was in a quite area,beautiful flowers.Clean inside and out.
Perfect weekend getaway!
Bear Bluff cabin was absolutely perfect! We needed to get out of the city and couldn't have found a better spot. Enjoyed canoeing on the river, roasting marshmallows over the fire pit, watching Dvds (lots provided), riding bikes, and the kids especially liked the downstairs game room. Appreciated being able to bring our dog with us, making it the best weekend possible. We really lucked out finding this place and on short notice! :o)
Best weekend ever!
3 couples stayed for the weekend at this wonderful cabin. All 6 of us are still raving about what a phenomenal time we had! The weather was perfect, the property was more than we expected and the privacy was ample! We loved walking to the river and relaxing, followed by a hearty fire outside. The hot tub, oh my the hot tub- was the icing on the cake! We were a close distance to hiking trails as well as local stores for food etc. We had big plans for a winery tour and dinner at a nearby restaurant but we honestly enjoyed the cabin so much that we cancelled all of that and continued our low maintenance fun in the house! Return customers for sure'! Can't say thank you enough!
Excellent amenities, beautiful cabin
Bear Bluff is a lovely cabin with great amenities -- they thought of everything! We especially appreciated the hot tub, the game room, and canoes. Close to Shenandoah Valley Nat'l Park and very close to Luray Caverns. We will be returning in coming years -- definitely recommend.
This exceptional return visit will not be our last.
Traveled to Bear Bluff for a return visit. Again we found it spotless and well supplied for our stay with all towels and linens provided. We love the location and all the recreatinal opportunities. We Biked, hiked and canoed our days away. The local outfitters can handle a canoe trip entirely or (I was told) will arrange transportation back upstream. The game room and the Hot tub were welcoming and well used. We couldnt get to all of the DVD movies we picked from more than 200 selections provided. We grilled often and enjoyed siting around outdoor fires at night. Owners were responsive to our questions and great to deal with. Checkin and check out were seamless. Our security hold was released immediately.
lovely Shenandoah river retreat
The Bear Bluff cottage provided us with a home away from home time,after spending 2 weeks in hotels.
All services available, a lovely river nearby, the canoes at our disposal, and a chance to do laundry.
The location is lovely, the area beautiful, and surely a place to advice to friends when they want to visit Shenandoah.
Maryland Mtn Bikers
I have rented several cabins in the Luray area and I must say that Bear Bluff was the best! This roomy cabin was the perfect getaway for two couples. The location could not be more convenient to the parks and Luray. The owners have provided their renters with everything you could possibly need. Cleanliness is beyond comparison to any other cabin I have rented. We had an issue with the aC on a hot weekend and the response was immediate. My suggestions to the owners were well-received and appreciated. We will certainly be renting this fun-filled property again! Thank you for such hospitality.
top quality cabin
Had a great time using the cabin. Would like to come back and use it
asap. Very nice place, used the canoes,bikes,games in the basement. Other cabin rental companies should use this one as the model,if they did, they would have no problem renting them more of the year. Thanks again, Ray C.
Wonderful get away!
The house was great! It has all the amenities you would want in a vacation rental. The walk to the river is not that long and the screen porch is fantastic. The only complaint is the smaller bed is very uncomfortable to sleep on. The owners were wonderful to work with and very quick to respond via email to all questions. We very much look forward to returning for another visit!
Bear Bluff Cabin, almost heaven.
Bear Bluff Cabin is a sweet little vacation spot and we liked staying there except for the following:
1) old RV rotting in the meadow spoils the view from the back porch
2) really strong cleaning chemicals (especially in the laundry soap) leave a horrible stench about the place
3) the cabin is much closer to the road than it appears in the photos online, i.e. you can look the passing drivers in the eye.
4) we were awoken the first morning by a gardener with a very loud trimmer working right next to the place (please schedule gardening when the cabin is unoccupied!).
On a positive note, the place was clean if stinky when we arrived, which is a great plus and having the entertainment devices in the basement (pool table, etc.) is a nice touch as well as the hot tub, which although not private in any way, was clean and lovely. The path down to the river is very nice as well. Not sure we'd stay again but it's not a bad place by any means.
Nice weekend but really uncomfortable bed
Furnishings are very nice and the bathroom, living room furniture, air-conditioning, TVs, DVD players, DVR option, kitchen appointments, and movies are terrific; however, the bed we slept on was so uncomfortable and noisy; every time we rolled over or moved in our sleep it was loud enough to wake you up. For the per-night rental price, the mattresses/box springs really should be improved. Other updates to the bedrooms might include room darkening blinds or curtains and some feather (even faux feather) pillow options. We wished we had brought our own pillows. The screen porch overlooks the neighbor's camper that is parked on the lot and had so many bugs inside the screen porch as to render it unusable for our visit. It didn't seem worth the energy to try killing or chasing the bugs out when the floor boards of the porch had large enough gaps as to allow new ones easily to enter. The front porch light was also 3/4s full with dead bugs (not the most welcoming thing to greet you). A fixture that doesn't trap the bugs should be considered. There wasn't much to do at the riverfront with an infant and it was fairly muddy down there (and buggy as a result) that we hoped to setup a blanket and hang out at the riverfront and never were able to. We had a nice weekend despite the bugs and uncomfortable beds and enjoyed the air-conditioning indoors on this unseasonably warm Memorial Day weekend. We also discovered some of the best hamburgers we've ever had at Spelunkers in Front Royal and enjoyed visiting Glen Manor winery as well - both worth the trip! And it was an easy drive to Shenandoah National Park. If new mattresses/box springs were added, we thought this place could be fantastic in the winter time and would be worth a second chance and recommendation to friends. Read more
Response from Paul - 05/29/2012
The reviewer's comments are a bit over-stated.
The aversion to bugs seems to be the main issue. The Page Valley area is mountainous and wildlife abounds. Unfortunately, that means that, yes, there are a fair number of bugs. Nothing we can do about that. We employ a full time pest service that sprays once per month, sets traps and cleans out the windows/doors. Our cabins are significantly much more bug-free than many in the area.
Screened-in porches are not going to be 100% sealed solid. It's a porch. Yes, bugs sometimes manage to squeeze inside.
Out of hundreds of guests, over the past 4 years, I have only heard that the mattresses are uncomfortable one or two other times. We've looked into upgrading them but then mattresses tend to be subjective. There's no guarantee that everyone will like the new one (too soft? too firm? bad pillow top?). We will continue to look at new options for that, though. Thanks for bringing it to our attention.
everything we could have wanted
beautiful property, close to mountains, spacious and clean.
Wonderful hot tub, enclosed porch- would come back in a heartbeat
only downsides: 1- BBQ was not working so well, 2- beds weren't amazingly comfortable
Family of Four
Tranquil & Relaxing
Our family enjoyed our stay at Bear Bluff near the beautiful Shenandoah River in late January. Cabin was clean and stocked with the anemities of home. We enjoyed peaceful fires, watching movies, playing ping-pong and sleeping in late. Paul was very helpful in answering any questions, and did so quickly via email.
We had a great time at Bear Bluff! The house was clean and comfortable with more than sufficient amenities. We did expect to be closer to the river and have a better view, but still enjoyed being outside and using the hot tub.
We weren't sure what to do with the trash since the dump was closed and we didn't want to drive around the rest of the day with it.
Over all it was thumbs up!! Thanks again!
Ps Great Job on the renovation!
Home away from home
My girlfriend and I have stayed here twice now and can't wait until our next. The cabin has something for everyone in the family. We enjoy everything about Bear Bluff.
a perfect egtaway to the country
Relaxing, clean, cozy environment. We loved the hot tub and curling up in front of the fire. It was close enough to town to visit wal-mart and grab everything we needed. Plenty of pots, pans and dishes. Linens were comfortable and clean, but didn't smell of bleach. Only wished there was a fire lighter or matches and a reminder to open the chimney, but overall, we really enjoyed it.
Very Quiet and Relaxing
We loved the cabin. Everything was very clean and the ammenities were nice. The cabin was close to things to do in the area. We only stayed the weekend and didn't want to leave. I would stay here again in the future.
Plenty to do
Paul thought of everything a guest would need to pass the time- hundreds of Dvds, pool table, ping pong, canoes, bicycles, hot tub. And the decor is superb.
After staying at two very nice cabins (Alcoa Cabin & the Trackside Cabin - our favorite!) during our Shenandoah vacation, I had very high hopes for Bear Bluff Cabin, since it was our last cabin during our hiking vacation, and it was ~$40 more per night than those others.
Needless to say, we were pretty disappointed by the state the cabin was in when we arrived. We bascially spent our first 4 hours cleaning out the fireplace, vaccuming, cleaning the kitchen, the porch... the whole place was dirty, and it kind of felt like a frat house. Having said that, the owners were very responsive, and after sending them some pics, they refunded our first night.
Getting past the dirty factor, the whole place looked like it needed a bit of an up-keeping, a fresh coat of paint, and something really should be done about that water smell... I've smelled hard water before, but this was a borderline sewage smell that I couldn't get past, and my wife couldn't even shower there.
Again, the owners were very nice, and they seemed ticked off at their cleaning company. If they can get that fixed, spruce up the place, and put a good water filtration system in place, then the place could be a pretty nice... it just wasn't for us! Read more
Response from Paul - 12/27/2011
As the reviewer notes, we've had some hard words with the cleaning company and there have been some staffing changes there. We are closely monitoring performance but haven't had any other complaints from guests as of yet.
Also, we have in fact recently installed a high-quality whole-house water filtration system to address the problem of sulfur-smelling water. It should be all set now.
The area was beautiful. The house was great. We did miss our own sleep number bed. It was a great place to go for
our honeymoon. Very relaxing too.
We had a great time!
My boyfriend and I came to bear bluff cabin to celebrate our 1 year anniversary, and we could not have picked a better place! Thanks so much! Our only complaint was that the water smelt terrible. But other than that everything was great! Read more
Response from Paul - 11/28/2011
We have recently installed a high-quality whole-house water filtration system to address the problem of sulfur-smelling water. This should not be a problem in the future.
Tom & Nan
Quiet secluded weekend retreat
We spent a very nice weekend at this cabin. The cabin was clean and had plenty to do. We played pool, had a cook out and totally enjoyed the hot tub under the stars! There was a big screen tv with a library of dvds to enjoy. I was a bit disappointed by the location. "On the Shenandoah" is misleading, since you have to walk a considerable distance just to enjoy the view of and from the river. Also, the house across the street looks abandoned, as does the trailer next door. For the price, I would've thought it had a better view. Your other cabin was much nicer.
annual shenandoah area visitor
While the amenties were nice (tv's in bedroom, flatscreen, 200+ dvds, bikes, board games and games in basement), there were a few drawbacks: sulfur smell from water (this is the first cabin we've encountered that had this), bed's were very soft and the hot tub was only 20 or so feet from the road. overall, these are easy fixes which would then garner 5 stars... Read more
Response from Paul - 11/17/2011
We have recently installed a high-quality whole-house water filtration system to address the problem of sulfur-smelling water. This should not be a problem in the future, and we look forward to your enjoyment of the excellent water when you come back.
Saratoga, New York
Great proximity to Luray
We truly enjoyed our time here and would consider returning. The pool table and ping pong table in the basement were very nice. The hot tub on the porch was an excellent way to end the day. We spent a lot of time canoeing the river and exploring the area. We also walked up the dirt road to a point where it connects to the river and tubed in the water back to the cabin. In the early morning, we saw river otters on the water. If you canoe the river very close to the cabin, there is excellent smallmouth bass fishing. The water is too shallow for channel catfish in this stretch of the river so if this is your desire, you need to drive to another location where there is deeper water. The cabin is less than 15 minutes to Luray, so a great spot if you wish to go to the Caverns. We enjoyed Luray and some wineries located within 45 minutes. The negatives include: sulfur smelling water - although the water from the fridge filter is fine, very squeaky and loud beds, and no view of the river from the house. The bed problem seems easily fixable if just the box springs are replaced. Some sites list this house as a 3 bedroom - it is not. It is a 2 bedroom cabin with a pull out sofa located in the living room. Read more
Response from Paul - 11/17/2011
We have recently installed a high-quality whole-house water filtration system to address the problem of sulfur-smelling water. This should not be a problem in the future.
The lush foliage of the trees can block the river view during part of the year, but the excellent mountain views are visible year-round.
we will be back planning on booking a stay at bear bluff next year
Virginia Beach, VA
Fun and comfortable!
We had a great time at Luray and enjoyed our stay at Bear Bluff. We took advantage of the hot tub, the movies, the ping pong and the grill and outdoor fire pit. Easy to get to, not too far from groceries, restaurants, and sight seeing. Loved having river access. Too shallow for canoes but perfect for our little kids to wade into and explore. Bring water shoes, bug spray, extra towels, fishing gear and stuff for s'mores!
Wonderful Location and well appointed
We had a lovely 5 days in Bear Bluff. The lcoation is great, very peaceful and the cabin is well equipped. We loved kayaking on the river at the bottom of the yard and the children appreciated all the Dvds. The only problem we had was that I booked it thinking it was 3 bedrooms as it states on Trip advisor, but its not it is 2 bedrooms and a sofa bed. I should have checked the home web site more carefully as this states it is 2 bedrooms.
not a freind of the bears
First time there
Cabin was very nice and clean. Had everything one would want in a home. Biggest complaint is that the water smelled/tasted funky. Read more
Response from Paul - 11/17/2011
We have recently installed a high-quality whole-house water filtration system to address the problem of sulfur-smelling water. This should not be a problem in the future.
Mike and Wendy
Beautiful Cabin but...
The cabin was very nice and equipped with everything to make your vacation enjoyable. However, we did not realize you could not see the river from the cabin, and it was somewhat of a long walk to the river which was inconvenient. Perhaps that fact should be stated on the listing. Probably would not have rented if we had known. Setting at the river was beautiful though, lots of privacy.
Spacious cabin, provides more than one could need
Very nice and comfortable cabin with lots of space on the in- and outside! And even having bikes, canoes, a pooltable, pingpongtable and a hot tub - we could not have asked for more. We liked it a lot and our boys left their iPads untouched for days. Need I say more?
A fine, relaxing time on the river.
An excellent place to kick back and escape the heat of late summer. The house is very comfortable and well-situated on the Shenandoah River. The view from the riverbank is fantastic. The house has fine amenities:canoes, bicycles, games and more. All within striking distance of Skyline Drive and Luray.
Church Hill, Tn
The cabin was wonderful.
We all had a wonderful time. We had two 17 year olds and they didn't have time to get bored. The cabin was very clean and comfortable.
Walter and Jewel
The best getaway we ever had.
The cabin was very clean and cozy, we had every thing we needed right there. the jacuzzi/spa was so relaxing after we went canoeing on the river front. The view of the mountains was wonderful. At night we would sit on the screened porch and listen to the river run over the rocks. We saw wild rabbits and deer. We loved this place and hope to return soon.
The Havens Family
Fantastic place, great owner, but beds a little hard.
the facility is fantastic, all the conveniences of home, as i said above the beds are firm and we sleep on a pillowtop at home. Love the gaming tables, the area, jacuzzi, this is a great place for your family to vacation at...
The Laughery Family
Beautiful & Beautiful Views
My husband and I brought 4 boys ages 2-10 for 4 days over the Memorial Day weekend and we all had a blast! The house has everything you could possibly need for a vacation, from the very nice furnishings with all the bear touches throughout, huge basement with Foosball,Ping Pong, and Pool Table, hot tub, canoes with oars, lifejackets, bikes (that arent broken, old, or flat) with helmets included, a wagon for the trip to the river, fire pit, gas grill, picnic table, screened in porch, I could go on for hours:) We hiked, made smores, went sightseeing,visited the zoo and Skyline Caverns, and since the cabin is within 7-15 miles of all there is to do, theres no time wasted driving to get to the activities.I highly recommend this cabin, the owners are very easy to work with, the prices are fair, the area is gorgeous, and the cabin has it all!!!
Very quiet and peaceful
Our stay was not really conducive for doing much in the water as it was still cold. Worked for us as we were vacationing for our wedding anniversary and just wanted to be away from our kids :)
It was truly nice to hear absolutely nothing except birds during our stay and the lack of any ambient (city) lights made star gazing a perfect way to spend late nights. The hot tub was nice, the dual head shower was an unexpected bonus. The leather furniture in the family room was very comfortable.
We look forwarding to renting the cabin again in the near future!
A True River Retreat
Bear Bluff Cabin is wonderful from the fireplace, jacuzzi, river front, canoes, mountain views, mountain bikes, privacy, pool and ping pong tables, cleanliness, screened in porch, to the 200+ Dvds and flatscreen tvs. There is even a washer and dryer.
Terrific place - exactly what we needed!
The house was perfect and the kids loved the hot tub after hiking all day! Very cosy!
Fairfax County, VA
We enjoyed our stay at the Bear Bluff Cabin. It was a nice combination of rustic and modern. The cabin itself was very clean and comfortable. There were satellite TV and DVD players in the living room and each of the bedrooms if you wanted tecnhology. There was also a nice fireplace and board games if you wanted to avoid technology. The kitchen was clean as were its appliances. The cabinets were stocked with all the utensils, glasses and plates you could need. The basement of the cabin was a game room with ping pong, foosball, and billiards. The jacuzzi on the porch was also a great touch, especially after a big hike through the nearby national park. There are a few homes in the surrounding area, but we encountered no people, though that may have been because we were there in the middle of march. All in all we had a great time at the cabin and would recommend it to anyone else looking for a place to escape into nature.
We had such a great time! The cabin was beautiful and well-stocked (and clean). We got loads of use out of the ping-pong and pool tables. The furniture was comfy, the views were pretty and the weather was perfect. Everything you needed to know about was provided for you (all the way down to how to operate the washing machine). It was fantastic--we can't wait to go back!
It was great! Awesome that they provided cookware so you don't have to go out to eat. My wife and I made dinner every night together. Very romantic. Will be back for sure!
We had an excellent time at Bear Bluff.
We loved the cabin; it met all our needs and was very comfortable. We especially loved the fireplace and endless supply of wood to burn. One night there was a lot of noise around the cabin and we didn't know what was happening. In the morning we found a screen had come loose on the porch and was banging all night against the house (at least it wasn't people or bears, just dumb luck...). One thing that could be improved would be to add privacy screens by the hottub. It's not on the back of the house; it's on the side porch facing neighbors. Privacy would be nice; it's an excellent hottub! All in all a great time.
Amy & Chris
Ultimate relaxation with all the amenities
Bear Bluff is the perfect retreat - beautifully appointed, and so cozy. We've never stayed anywhere that we didn't need to worry about bringing anything with us, but everything we needed was provided for us.
The property is beautiful, and the hot tub is fantastic - what an amazing way to relax and look at the millions of stars we don't get to see at home! The gaming tables in the basement were a great diversion from the many hours of cards we played at the dining room table.
We'll definitely be back!
My husband and I had a wonderful, relaxing getaway at Bear Bluff. Friends of ours came with us and we were able to catch up and have a good time with them. The cabin was beautiful and well equiped (Pots and pans, towles, sheets, etc) It was secluded and peaceful and was a short drive to the Luray Caverns. It was an amazing weekend and I wish we were able to stay longer.
Bear Bluff was amazing! The location is awesome. It has everything. It made for a perfect vacation. We can't wait to visit again.
Much needed R
We decided to go away because my husband was on r&r; from Iraq, and we desperately needed some peace and quiet. This cabin was beautiful. It was fully stocked with everything we could possibly need. We had a relaxing time and our 11 month old enjoyed being outdoors. The pool table and ping pong table were a plus, and the hot tub was great after a long day outdoors. We would love to come back again.
Wayne & Pat
We loved your home and all the things to do at the house,I think we liked pool and ping ball most.Liked the grill on the porch. The hot tub on the deck was breath taking at night watching the moon come up over the trees. Was sad that the water was down and couldn't use the canoe,that was the sole reason for choosing this place, but that is mother natures doing . Over all we got plentry rest that we needed. Thank you very much for letting us enjoy your place for the time away. Wayne & Pat Richmond,Va.
Colonial Heights, VA
Bear Bluff - A lovely getaway
The cabin was extremely clean and decorated nicely. It had all of the amenities you could want. Just bring your food.
We really liked the hot tub and pool table. We loved the screen porch. There was traffic on the gravel road in front of the house, but it was not too bad.
It is quite a hike to the river. We tried the Paddleboy canoe cart to get the canoe to the river. It might be a good idea to tie it to the cart. Once you start going downhill and hit a few bumps the canoe will slide right off. Same with coming up.
When we booked this cabin, we thought the cabin was very near the river as some information said Waterfront and River Veiw. That is not the case. You may be able to see the river when all of the leaves are off of the trees.
The wi-fi access allowed us to plan out or day trips. If you want to just hang out, there is a huge selection of Dvd's to watch. Or do like my husband, and just nap on the comfy couch.
The cabin is close to the town of Luray and Front Royal if you want to go exploring historic downtown.
We had a wonderful time and would recommend Bear Bluff as your next getaway.
Great family getaway.
Great family getaway. The cabin was clean and comfortable. We all enjoyed the pool and pingpong tables in the basement. The river was a short walk through the backyard and a canoe was at the house for our use. We spent a day in the Shenandoah National park hiking and came back to enjoy a relaxing soak in the hottub on the deck.
House is very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. There is ample play space i.e. ping pong, pool and fuseball tables in the basement away from the adults. Large yard with lots of grass and trees, and a picnic table with fire ring were a nice addition. On the downside, the house is right next to a gravel road with a surprising amount of traffic (and dust). There is no view of the river from the house and most disappointing was the fact that once we arrived at the river (about 2 blocks from the house down a long grass path) we found a trailer parked there with several noisy people camping in what we assumed would be our private river access. Also, sadly, the river only had about 2 feet of water in it which made it impossible for swimming.
A Good vacation hideout
The cabin was snug. Best part is the location, as it is very near to the Shenandoah river, you can easily drag the canoe out into the water, go fishing etc.
It's about 12 miles from Luray where you can also get groceries and stuff, and enjoy the caverns as well. The cabin has new equipment and that adds to the clean look of the cabin. Basement has lot of stuff to do like the pool table...table tennis etc...no negatives as far as i can remember except for during this season in the evening bugs are a problem...
Am already looking to go next year
Almost everything about this cabin was flat-out wonderful. Start with the outdoor hot tub on a deck with a sunset overlooking a valley toward the Shenandoah River. On a late summer's eve, it was beautiful. On a fall evening, it would be splendid.
This cabin comes with everything. Canoes (though it is a bit of a hike on 3 acres stretched out to the river), mountain bikes, a foosball table, pool table and ping pong table. Inside is well stocked with working appliances, plates, silverware, glasses and the like.
The furniture is clean and comfy. A back screen porch was a nice change of pace after our morning adventures. And the wood-burning fireplace is ready to use with a stocked wood pile out back.
Only two downsides - one understandable and one that should be fixed. Should be fixed: The beds squeaked to high heaven from just sitting in them - loud enough to wake you up if your partner moves in the night. Understandable: The back-country well water feeding the shower emits a bit of an odor.
Overall, however, this was the sort of cabin you'd expect to pay $300 or more a night. It's a great deal on holiday weekends at under $250 and in Virginia's lengthy shoulder season it's a dead steal at less than $200. Would highly recommend.
I thought the actual house was very well equipt and clean. I did call maint for 1 issue with the grill and they came out right away. The treck to the river with the canoes was very inconvienent. I also called about a strong odor to the water that smelled like rotten eggs and I was told that it was typical for the area. When I called the lady was very nice and friendly. There really wasn't alot to do in the immediate area. I think if you were strictly a nature freak it would be a good vacation. Apparently I'm not. Lol. Read more
Response from Paul - 03/01/2011
The cabin sits about 1 acre back from the river. We provide very nice canoe carts - one for one canoe - that are very easy to use when going back and forth to the river.
The cabin is loaded with things to do - bikes, canoes, hot tub, pool table, ping pong, movie library, etc - and there are dozens of parks and historical attractions ranging from the 70-mile Skyline drive to the Luray caverns to horseback riding to dozens of hiking trails.
back to nature
It was a great cabin!!! We loved every minute! Very clean, nice hot tub!!! Canoeing was great...alittle too far to get canoe to river.Maybe you could leave canoes secured to trees by the river...that would be great!!! Hope to visit again soon!!!
Schenectady, New York
We enjoyed our stay at Bear Bluff
We stayed at Bear Bluff in June 2010 and were very comfortable and happy with what the cabin offered. The inside is very clean. The outside is very relaxing and beautiful. Two of the bikes had bad inner tubes but the owner called in someone to fix them as soon as we let them know. The owners obviously care about the cabin and the guests that stay there. You get that impression right away.