Evoking a Rocky Mountain atmosphere right here at Deep Creek Lake, Big Sky is a dream vacation home. Perched atop Marsh Mountain, you’ll find it’s easy to play hard or rest easy at this well appointed chalet. The amenities of Wisp are at your fingertips, whether you enjoy skiing, golf, mountain biking or simply relaxing at the spa. Within a short walk you’ll find the Adventure Sports Center International and their famous whitewater course. Return to Big Sky to gather by the crackling fire or slip into the warmth of your bubbling outdoor hot tub. With 3 master suites, a pool table, and area attractions nearby, Big Sky offers everything y...ou need to make lasting vacation memories. *Approximately 275 yards to access Main Street (Expert slope), Chairlift 5 and Chairlift 4 with access to Beginner & Intermediate slopes **Ski-in/Ski-out properties dependent on slope availability, see www.skiwisp.com for slope conditions**
Additional amenities include: pool table, ski in/ski out, free unlimited long distance, mini-summer escape, pets not permitted.Read more
Left on 06/07/2013 for a stay in May 2013 | d.wade
I have been comeing to Deep Creek for the last four years,and I will keep coming,I have time to relax, have fun, eat good, and enjoy my family and friends. thanks Deep Creek see you next year
Left on 10/23/2012 for a stay in October 2012 | Confidante09
Choosing and reserving a house through Railey is a breeze. Their website has every piece of information you could need when looking for a vacation rental in Deep Creek, and the agents are friendly and helpful.
Big Sky is conveniently located on Wisp Mountain, and for winter skiiers, just a short walk from the slopes. In the fall, while the view is limited, you can still get a good view of the foliage, but no lake view. This house is on the corner of the main road leading up the mountain and one of the entrances to the neighborhood, which makes for less privacy than we prefer with busy weekend traffic constantly coming and going by. The main level LR & DR sliders have no drapes, so at night, car headlights shine in, and in the morning, so does the bright rising sun. We enjoyed the 4 master suites, perfect for 4 couples, and the beds were very comfortable with quality comforters. The showers were good, and newer kitchen appliances, but was lacked adequate flatware and food prep utensils. The LR furniture provided lots of comfy seating, however, the LR TV was an obsolete tube tv on its last breath which was disappointing when you want to relax with a movie. (Hopefully, by the time you read this it will have been replaced with a new flat screen!)In all, with a few tweaks, this very nice house could be great, particularly for ski season.
John , lori & family
Left on 09/11/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | John , lori & family
Breathtaking!!!i'm not kidding, the view from up on the mountain,the walk & the bike ride up as well.We enjoyed the entire stay at Big sky.The check in & a few minor maintainance issues went smooth.The house has an open floor plan which we really liked,bedrooms were spacious for everyone.We all agreed the house, the corner lot with no other houses next to it gave us privacy we like. It was easy to find, top of the hill & it's on the right.There is a lot to do if you want,or you can chill at the house and play pool,cards,relax in the hot tub or whatever.We enjoyed everything about Big sky & Deep Creek,it's only 2.5 hour drive for us and it has everything we like to do on a vacation.This was our first time to Deep Creek and we plan to make another trip down soon, maybe in October... we bet the fall is really nice.
met our expectations
Left on 11/22/2011 for a stay in November 2011 | Retreat
Great location...nice and cozy home. The only complaint is concerning the heat on 3rd floor. Guests that resided on the 3rd floor were uncomfortable at night due to lack of heat that made its way to this level. Even after putting out the fireplace thinking this may have been the culprit, no such luck. Because of this I can't give an excellent rating.
West Chester, PA
Nice House, but some things were very disappointing
Left on 12/01/2010 for a stay in November 2010 | Thanksgiving Reunion
Big Sky is a nice home that needs some work on its kitchen. The range and oven worked only sporadically, the flatware and pots and pans were barely enough and/or unusable. The toaster did not work. The kitchen was not very clean. There was a lot of dust in various areas of the home. The fireplaces both had something wrong with the flue hinges so the home filled up with smoke even though the flues were open. Fortunately, your service person came quickly, twice for both fireplaces, and fixed the problem immediately. The cable for the televisions was disappointing, as were the televisions themselves. We picked the home primarily because of its size and because it said "big screen tvs with extended cable." Well, there were no big screen tvs and no extended cable, which was disappointing on Thanksgiving with the crowd we had (loves football). That being said, many aspects of the home were perfect and enjoyable. I think the view is a little easy to misinterpret from your photos. The view was obsured by the homes across the street. Also, the hot tub is in the front of the house with no privacy screen or any type of separation from the street, which was very odd and caused people not to want to use it. Thank you for this opportunity to share our experience. We would not return to Big Sky again. Read more
Response from Railey Mountain Lake Vacations - 12/22/2010
Thank you for staying with us and letting us know about your experience at Big Sky. We apologize that you experienced issues with the home. After checking our description of the home on our website and past rental brochures, we were unable to find that Big Sky listed big screen TVs as an amenity. The home did switch from extended cable to basic cable before your arrival, and our website was updated immediately to reflect the change. We are sorry Big Sky was not the experience you were looking for in a vacation home and hope that you will return and stay with us again. Our reservation specialists would be more than happy to match you to a home that meets your needs.
Capitol Heights, MD
I've had much better
Left on 08/26/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Noonie
Big Sky was a nice house overall; however, it could use some updating. I personally would not re-rent this property. Cudos to the staff that cleans the property :)...this just was not the house for me.
We will definately rent Big Sky again!
Left on 08/25/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | H Moraca
Great layout, view and accessibilty to fun stuff on the moutain. Quiet and fun with kids. Would rent again.
Left on 02/24/2010 for a stay in February 2010 | Tomg
We have been staying at Big Sky for the past 3 tears. Overall the house is very nice, however this year there were a few issues
1) The pots and pans really need to be updated. We found them to be warped and had old food still on most of the pots and pans.
2) There was no firewood in the house and it took a while for Railey to respond. We were told they were short staffed and would get to it as soon as they could.
Overall neither one of these things adversely affected our stay. The property is still very nice and it is close to the slopes.
MumMum x's 4
Mineral Point, PA
Ants in the kitchen!
Left on 10/15/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | MumMum x's 4
Big Sky is a very nice home, good lay-out, two car garage. We traveled with a 7 month old baby who was just learning to crawl. Needless to say, the ant problem in the kitchen/dining area caused us some anxious moments. The problem was addressed by Railey Mountain Lake Vacations in a timely manner, but the ants remained with us until Thursday of our one week stay.
Beautiful, spacious home
Left on 10/14/2009 for a stay in September 2008 | Betty
I have rented many homes from Railey over the years and I have enjoyed every home we have stayed in thus far. Big Sky was tastefully decorated and centrally located to all the lake activities. The only thing we disliked was the house wasn't very clean. The floors, bathrooms and kitchen countertops were very dirty.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.