Gulf Winds East #07
|Rental type||Apartment / Condominium|
|Minimum Stay||3 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Gulf Winds East #07 is located on Scenic Highway 98 directly across the street from the beach in Destin, Florida. Enjoy beautiful views of the emerald green water of the Gulf of Mexico from your living room! Because of it's fantastic location on Scenic Highway 98 you will be conveniently close to local favorite restaurants and some of the best shopping in the Destin area. Not only that, but you are just a short drive away from the movie theater inside the Destin Commons.
Gulf Winds East #07 is a 2 bedroom, 3 bath townhome that sleeps up to 6 people making it the perfect location for your family vacation. The master bedroom has a king-s...Read more
Gulf Winds East #07
Miramar Beach, Florida
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$140 - $210||$140 - $210||$875 - $1,250||$0||3 nights|
|Apr. 13 2013 - May. 24 2013||$150||$150||$955||-||3 nights|
|May. 25 2013 - Aug. 9 2013||$210||$210||$1,250||-||3 nights|
|Aug. 10 2013 - Nov. 1 2013||$150||$150||$955||-||3 nights|
|Nov. 2 2013 - Mar. 8 2014||$140||$140||$875||-||3 nights|
|Mar. 9 2014 - Mar. 9 2014||$190||$190||$1,195||-||3 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Mar. 10 2014 - Apr. 12 2014||$190||$190||$1,195||-||3 nights|
|Apr. 13 2014 - May. 17 2014||$150||$150||$955||-||3 nights|
|May. 18 2014 - Aug. 9 2014||$210||$210||$1,250||-||3 nights|
|Aug. 10 2014 - Nov. 1 2014||$150||$150||$955||-||3 nights|
|Nov. 2 2014 - Jan. 1 2016||$140||$140||$875||-||3 nights|
|View all 10 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 16, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Love the Beach View but...
Loved the view of the beach from our balcony! The condos furnishings were nice...but
Several dislikes were: 1. Two of the sliding doors had broken handles. The one leading to the beach side balcony and the one in the guest bedroom downstairs. Maintenance man came twice during our stay to work on one of them. This was a bit of an inconvenience and should have been done before we arrived.
2.Need to clean under the couches on the second floor. There was lots of dust, an old bandaid and bits of paper there. Need to check dishwasher in kitchen. We washed dishes by hand during our stay because interior of dishwasher appeared to not be in such great shape. Detergent was stuck to front of door and it didnt appear that it was really washing well. Shower in master bedroom bath had mold in grout around tub. Bathmats in all bathrooms were very dirty when we arrived.
3. Bedrooms for this condo were on the first floor and activity outside the condo at night made it difficult to sleep.
Response from Destin Getaways - 08/21/2012
Thank you so much for leaving a review and I appreciate your feedback. The items listed have been fixed and I am very sorry for the inconvenience that you experienced. Please let me know if you decide to come back to Destin and we will offer you 10% off of your stay.
Dated condo...do not stay in this condo
After driving almost 15 hours to enjoy a nice condo on the beach...lets just say that this condo wasn't worth it. We walk in and from the back of the condo and it's straight into the master bedroom. Several of the vinyl blinds fall off when we walk in the door...that was the first sign of let's just say tacky. Then, we proceed to the hallway where paint has been rubbed off of the doors. It was extremely hot inside the condo. The laundry door nobs were hanging off and not connected. My daughters room was probably the nicest thing in the condo which in the pictures is the blue room. The kitchen is upstairs which seemed odd but okay...The furniture is very dated. The kitchen was okay...didn't cook much since the dishes didn't look very nice or clean...We turn the air down and it gets very cold downstairs but still very hot upstairs where my other daughter was staying. So, let's go back to the first day...the fill in handy guy shows up and my husband tells him about the blinds...he tries to fix them but no luck. He states "Some kids just stayed here and trashed the entire place" wow! Here I am with my family trying to enjoy a vacation that is costing us over $1000 dollars and we're staying in a condo that just got trashed by the previous tenants. Let's just say those blinds in my room didn't allow me to get dressed in my bedroom bcz you could see in and at night the big huge bulb light shined right in. 10 hangers thru out the entire condo and it's set up for 6 people to sleep...I've stayed in Destin before and it was at Pelican Beach Resorts and let's just say that we had a wonderful condo and the ammenties were great!Beach front and didn't have to cross the street to walk to the beach...it's more of a public beach at Gulf Winds and at Pelican Beach Resort it's private and ropped off. I had family staying in #8 and #4 at Gulf Wind and their condos were nice and modern they had flat screen tv's and updated furniture...if your going with Gulf Winds stay in #4 or #8.
Needs to have acess to wireless internet in the units. Furniture was kinda old and could have used a fresh coat of paint. The bed in the master bedroom was very hard. The complex was nice and the pool area was kept very clean.
For the price, this one's hard to beat. Very quiet, and other travelers are considerate. On site office staff not in on some scheduled days of business.
Unhappy in T'town
Always enjoy our stay....but very disappointed.
We have been staying with Gulf Winds East for the last 8 years.
Unit 7 or 8 is the one I always request. We stayed in unit 7 in 2005 and the door into the bedroom in the back where you park was broken then and this year it is still broken and we had to walk around the unit and use the front door to enter the condo.
We were told it would be fixed the week we were there and it was still broken when we left. We left our outside light on so we could see to unlock the door. When we came in at night the management had gone into our condo and turned off the lights because of the "Turtles Nesting" but they had their sign on the road light on with double flood lights. Go figure!
The master bedroom needs a new mattress.
We will never ask for this unit again. Our first day we had issues with the hot water. Our last night, we could not even park where we could load our luggage into our vehicle. The people in the unit 8 had 4 spaces to park in, but they chose to park in front of our unit to block our steps. Not sure that we will be staying here again, unless things change. Very disappointed this year.
Response from Destin Getaways - 08/28/2009
Thank you for taking the time to respond. Again I apologize for the door lock on the Master Bedroom sliding door. We have had to order a special part and unfortunately we are still waiting on it. With an owner that is part of the Turtle Watch Committee we went aroung knocking on doors to inform our guests about the turtles hatching we were just trying to help protect this wonderful species. Thank you for bringing the issues to our attention an we sure hope you will give us a second chance and hope to see you again soon.
It was great to go and just relax just as I did
We had little problems with electricity going out again. Last year we had the same problem. I know it is something you guys cant fix. They need to upgrade, the electrical company. We had a few things not working right, like the dishwasher and the outside shower. Over all our stay was good. Problably will be seeing us again next year, hopefully we are able to get 2 front condos, we may be bringing more people. Hope Marisol like the crawfish ettoufet, wish I had more for you. She is an assest to you guys. Very nice lady.
Response from Destin Getaways - 08/28/2009
Thank you for your nice comments and thank you for the delicious Ettoufet I really enjoyed it. Hope to see you soon.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
We had a couple of problems (dishwasher leaked and locks were not working on sliding doors), but the management was very quick to take care of both problems (and they were very nice).
I have stayed at this complex three times and the service has always been great. I love that the condos are so clean. I would highly recommend Gulf Winds East.
I will be back!
Room for Improvement, but did enjoy
My family has vacationed here before, but had never stayed in this particular unit. I found the unit to be clean, although every night we were visited by a huge roach in the kitchen, which I finally killed. Also the sliding glass door to the balcony-with the view of the ocean was extremely hard to open, finally sprayed some wd-40, don't know why maint. didn't. Felt terrible that my niece pulled so hard she broke the handle off, and she probably weighs 95 pounds wet. Also another of the sliding doors to the upstairs patio was completely stuck, and the door going out to the back, where we park would not lock, so had to put a piece of wood in the door, and walk all the way around when leaving. Also, there were alot of workmen trying to fix some of the roofs, I think that should have been done in the winter months. The blinds to the sliding glass door were not installed properly or they would not have fallen, and had to be fixed. The kitchen, after seeing some of the other units, in my opinion needed to be renovated, was not in bad shape but felt everything could have been updated, and better equipped, The sofa bed was badly worn, The list goes on. Also when some family members were staying we brought a grill, and because it wasnt exactly where it should have been, just a foot or two away, instead of the maint. person coming and asking us to move it, he moved it and broke the leg, and we had to throw a perfectly good Weber Grill away. The washer and dryer were from another era, but they worked. Also the people in the unit next to us were basically taking their car apart and working on it in the parking area, and spilled gas and oil all over, then tried to use a water hose, and sprayed our cars with the oil and gas. It is a really nice area, right across the street from the beach, very convenient. The units are roomy and homey and I would consider returning, although would try to get a different unit, or might try a different place altogetheir.
Response from Destin Getaways - 08/28/2009
Thank you for bringing the issues to our attention. Your feedback helps us to reach our standards for improvement. I apologize for the inconveniences. Hope to see you back soon.
Priscilla from TX
Bliss on the beach
Everyone at Crye-Leike was very nice on the phone and in person. The property inside was absolutely SPOTLESS. I have never found that even in hotels. The beach was a very short stroll across the street and the view from the upstairs was wonderful.
I would return to this property in a heart-beat. Easy access to stores and restaurants. It was great to have a washer and dryer for those bathing suits and beach towels.
Only one tiny negative, the shower head and faucet outside the back patio to wash off after being on the beach did not work.
The biggest issue was the pool. The pool was very cloudy for a day and apparently did not have enough clorine. Five people in my party became very ill with stomach issues. I heard several people complain about the pool making people sick. I mentioned this to the pool man and he simply said, "I guess you should take your children to the doctor". The pool was then closed for 2 days out of our 7 day stay. 3 sick children on a vacation is not how I wish to spend my time off.