|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
This charming log cabin offers a true sense of the mountains Nicely furnished and with modern conveniences, this cabin has a partially covered deck for outside grilling in the beautiful mountain setting. Steep driveway and limited parking. PLEASE NOTE: This house is not air-conditioned and linens (sheets and towels) are NOT provided but available for rent. HOUSE LAYOUT: Main floor: Kitchen, dining and living areas, BR with twin bunk beds, full hall bath. Upstairs: BR with queen, BR with full and twin, full hall bath.
Montreat, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$128 - $150||$179||$745 - $895||$1,790 - $2,685||2 nights|
|Jan. 2 2013 - May. 31 2013||$128||$179||$745||$1,790||2 nights|
|Jun. 1 2013 - Aug. 9 2013||$150||$179||$895||$2,685||2 nights|
|Aug. 10 2013 - Sep. 30 2013||$128||$179||$745||$1,790||2 nights|
|Oct. 1 2013 - Oct. 31 2013||$150||$179||$895||$2,685||2 nights|
|Nov. 1 2013 - Nov. 22 2013||$128||$179||$745||$1,790||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Nov. 23 2013 - Nov. 30 2013||$150||$179||$895||$2,685||2 nights|
|Dec. 1 2013 - Dec. 20 2013||$128||$179||$745||$1,790||2 nights|
|Dec. 21 2013 - Jan. 3 2014||$150||$179||$895||$2,685||2 nights|
|Jan. 4 2014 - Jan. 1 2016||$128||$179||$745||$1,790||2 nights|
|View all 9 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: April 19, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Warm in the woods
Cozy time in the woods
Overall very good stay at Whitworth. Lovely time "in the woods". We enjoyed the wood stove thoroughly in the early spring weather. We suggest a new ash bucket with handle and a hearth guard, as well.
Location was very convenient to hikes in nearby Montreat and grabbing treats from Hey, Hey Cupcake and Black Mountain Bakery in downtown Black Mountain. Driveway isn't bad if you pull beyond and back straight up the hill.
Great service from Greybeard Realty, as experienced previously. Thanks!
Nice accommodations but awful driveway for vans!
Quaint, woodsy cabin with good, comfortable furnishings. Wonderful wrap around porch. Generally good condition, although internal storage room reeks of mildew and smell spreads through first floor. Kitchen is nicely and adequately equipped. Highspeed Wireless a real plus! Steep!!! drive with limited turnaround space for anything larger than a small sedan - had to back our vans down - and the drive is narrow.
non profit educator
..a peaceful get away!!
we had a terrific visit. House is in a beautiful and peaceful location..yet convenient to other things in the town. It is also close enough to asheville, so travel there was very easy.
thank you for all your help and support!!
St augustine FL
rustic and comfortable
Very comfortable, warm and rustic. Well supplied with everything needed. A good bargain. The driveway is a little hard to manipulate but coming at it from the other direction works well. The only thing I would add is directions to DVD player. We brought several with us and couldn't get it to work.
Response from Greybeard Rentals - 12/26/2011
Glad you enjoyed your time there and thank you for taking the time to review. We will definitely get some directions for the DVD player...great feedback. Thanks, and we hope you come stay with us again at Greybeard Rentals.
Good and bad
This cottage has a great porch and deck and it was quiet. Washer and dryer were nice. However, the indoor lighting is inadequate and every window sill was filthy. Since we had to open the windows for the breeze, this was frustrating. One of the windows in the LR didn't open and the downstairs bedroom could not be opened as there were holes in the screen and bugs came in. The lamps are cheap and the lighting is poor. Kitchen cabinets where pots and bowls are were grungy. The ice trays and ice container under the sink were dirty and had been dripped on. There was also a large damp cloth in a lower cabinet. When we baked in oven some dark liquid dripped down. When we arrived the last renters garbage was still in kitchen and stayed there all week-end. For the money, I would expect at least more attention to details.
Response from Greybeard Rentals - 08/12/2011
Thank you for your feedback and we sincerely apologize for the house not rising to our standard of cleanliness. We will definitely have a thorough cleaning done at that house and hope your experience is much better next time. With the lighting...we will pass that feedback on to the owner as we are always looking for ways to improve the experience of our guests. We hope you stay with us again.
Very relaxing and enjoyable stay
What a friendly cottage, with a good layout! The porch/deck is great, and the kitchen/dining area just right for our kind of stay (mostly cooking for ourselves). Pots, pans, measuring cups, and serving dishes were in a bit of a jumble, but the place settings were attractive and well organized. The house was easy to heat as needed. Watch the beams overhead in the upstairs bathroom!
Wireless internet was a plus as was a landline phone, since cell phone reception in Montreat is very iffy.
Only complaint was the unregulated access to cable (PPV and channels we didn't want available to our son) -- suggest putting an access code on this to avoid unauthorized use! Also the setup with the DVD player was hard to figure out -- controls were not working properly even after we replaced batteries in the DVD remote.
Great place to lay our heads after a day of exploring!
very quaint cabin. we thorougly enjoyed our time. my only discomfort was the living space. the furniture was pretty worn out and not that comfortable. But that wouldn't keep us from staying there again. we were grateful to find a place in our price range that suited our family.
to expound on the answer to the below question - it depends on the friend. . . some, absolutely! others, probably not.
I could not enjoy staying in the cabin because of the mildew.
My extreme sensitivity to molds and mildews made it impossible to enjoy this home. It was also very warm and no a/C added to the discomfort.
Response from Greybeard Rentals - 08/10/2010
Thank you for the feedback. We have managed this house since 1999 and I don’t remember any complaints regarding mold and mildew. If guest are very sensitive to mold and mildew they should always stay in an air conditioned home in the summer. This particular cabin has hardwood floors which help to minimize mildew. I also don’t remember a hotter July. Sorry the cabin didn’t meet your expectations.
We really enjoyed the cabin and its location. The driveway was a little tricky for as many cars as we had but we worked with it. Very clean and accomadating cabin. Everyone I dealt with at Greybeard were very delightful. I would reccomend this cabin to anyone looking for some peace and quiet.
South Carolina Renter
Whitworth Cabin in October
Cabin was neat, clean, and heated well despite temps in low 30s outside. Felt bigger than it actually was, with the ability to sleep 7 comfortably.
Best vacation ever
The entire experience was fantastic. Greybeard realty made the experience
turn key. The paperwork was in order and everything was ready.
The cabin was clean, spacious and in good order. When I did need something,
i.e. light bulb changed or when the fan broke-Greybeard had a maintenance
man, Bill who replaced it immediately.
The cabin was pet friendly but there were no signs a pet had ever been
present. The area was beautiful with great trails and a nice peaceful
The downside was there was no air conditioning and while the temperature
was cool it was a little damp. The cabin had a dehumidifier but stlll there was
I highly recommend the Whitworth and grey beard realty
Quiet mountain house, great kitchen and porch.
Real log cabin in convenient location high above the noise, nice porches with a gas grill
Well kept, large bedrooms with comfortable beds
I'd stay there again
Tom and Joan
Whitworth Cottage Again
This is our 10th year or more at the Whitworth (formerly the Cromartie Cottage). As usual we enjoyed it greatly, appreciated the new finish to the exterior logs and the work on the deck and the new outdoor grill. The grill did not have any gas. The bathroom mats needed to be replaced. There were new dishes and utensils that we also appreciated. We love the space, the privacy and sitting on the front porch.