|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
|Living space||1800 square feet|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyYes
Description from the manager
Bear Den Log Cabin is a comfortable and modern rough-hewn, log cabin tucked away in the woods alongside Billy Creek. A short trail through an old-growth forest of cedar, Douglas fir and ferns leads to the Salmon River. The spacious back deck at Bear Den
Log Cabin overlooks Billy Creek.
The History of the Bear Den Log Cabin
Take the Tour
* On Billy Creek in Welches
* Open Great Room
* Quiet Dead-end Road
* Wood-burning Woodstove in River Rock
* High-Elevation Tamarack & Fir Firewood
* Fully-Equipped Kitchen...Read more
Bear Den Log Cabin - Creekside, Fireplace, Dogs OK
Mt. Hood Territory, Oregon
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
Stay 3 nights, get night free See Details »
|Rate Summary||$145 - $216||$145 - $216||$798 - $1,512||$0||2 nights|
|Apr. 7 2013 - Jun. 13 2013
|Jun. 14 2013 - Sep. 1 2013
|Sep. 2 2013 - Sep. 19 2013
Late Summer 2013
|Sep. 20 2013 - Nov. 26 2013
|Nov. 27 2013 - Nov. 30 2013
Thanksgiving Weekend 2013
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Dec. 1 2013 - Dec. 19 2013
Early Winter 2013
|Dec. 20 2013 - Jan. 4 2014
Christmas Vacation 2013
|Jan. 5 2014 - Jan. 16 2014
Early Winter 2014
|Jan. 17 2014 - Jan. 19 2014
MLK Weekend 2014
|Jan. 20 2014 - Feb. 13 2014
|Feb. 14 2014 - Feb. 16 2014
President's Weekend 2014
|Feb. 17 2014 - Mar. 20 2014
Late Winter 2014
|Mar. 21 2014 - Apr. 5 2014
Spring Break 2014
|All Other Dates||$145||$145||$798||-||2 nights|
|View all 14 Rate Periods|
- Lodging Tax - 7% of rental - Tax - Clackamas County Room Tax = 6%; Oregon State Lodging Tax = 1%
- Additional guests - $25 - Per-Person Adjustment - Fee applies to parties of more than 2 guest(s)
- Security Deposit Protection Plan - $30 / stay - Security Deposit - Security Deposit Protection Plan covers unintentional damages to the interior of the vacation rental home up to $1500.
- Travel Insurance - 6.5% of rental - Fee - Travel Insurance provides a refund of rent & tax if you cancel due to specific reasons outlined in the insurance policy.
- Pet Rent - $25 / day - Other - Dogs are welcome to join you in our pet-friendly homes for an additional $25 rent per night. Restrictions apply.
- Reservation Fee - $35 / stay - Fee - A one-time reservation fee applies to all reservations.
Additional notes from owner
•Rates may not reflect discounts, specials or promotions. If applicable, rates will be adjusted at time of booking.
•Rates are based upon minimum occupancy. Rent of $25 per person per night is added on up to maximum occupancy for the home.
•Rates are subject to change without notice. Rates may increase if minimum night stay requirements are not met.
•Additional charges include pet rent of $25 per night, $35 reservation fee per reservation, $30 Security Deposit Protection Fee, 7% lodging tax or Trip Cancellation Insurance.
Minimum Night Stay Requirements:
•Minimum 2-night stay required most of the year, with the following exceptions:
•3-night minimum stay during Holiday Weekends & Spring Break
•4-night minimum stay during Thanksgiving Weekend and Summer Vacation
•5-Night minimum stay during Christmas Vacation
Over 80% of our homes allow pets. If you wish to travel with your pet, Mt Hood Vacation Rentals must be informed in advance. Your pet(s) must be registered with us and may only come along if you are staying in a pet-friendly home. Otherwise please leave your pets at home. We welcome dogs only, all other pets may be considered on a case-by-case basis. We charge $25 pet rent per night for the privilege of bringing your pet along.
NO Security Deposits:
We do not charge our guests a security deposit unless you choose to decline the Security Deposit Protection Plan which covers unintentional damages to the interior of the vacation rental home. However, we do expect that you to treat the home you stay in with respect and leave it in a condition similar to how you found it. If there are any problems caused by your negligence upon check-out which are not covered by the Security Deposit Protection Plan, your current VISA, MasterCard, Discover or American Express will be retained until after departure and may be used to cover the costs of: additional rent for occupants not listed on the reservation, damages, replacement of missing items, cleaning beyond normal expectations or any other expenses incurred by the renter.
NO Cleaning Fees:
We do not charge a cleaning fee to our guests. However, we will charge you for additional cleaning after departure if cleaning beyond normal expectations is required.
There will be a 6% County Room Tax and 1% State Lodging Tax calculated & charged on the total rental rate.
Trip Cancellation Insurance:
Mt Hood Vacation Rentals offers CSA travel cancellation/interruption insurance to every guest. CSA is authorized by the Oregon Department of Insurance. Once your payment becomes non-refundable, you may be able to receive a refund of rent and tax if you have purchased the insurance. For questions concerning the travel insurance, please call CSA directly at 1-866-298-6846. The insurance premium is non-refundable and non-transferable.
Upon receipt of payment, it becomes non-refundable. If you need to cancel and have not purchased the Trip Cancellation Insurance, there will be no refunds. Policies and rates are subject to change without notice. There will be no refunds due to acts of God, nature, weather or weather-related situations, mechanical or electrical failure, ski or golf conditions, power failures or family feuds unless specifically covered by CSA Trip Cancellation Insurance.
Prior to your payment due date, there is no charge to change your reservation. Once your payment has become non-refundable, there are no changes allowed.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 16, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Peaceful cabin in the woods, with a rushing stream to lull us to
The cabin was wonderful; rustic but still very comfortable. The property was even more wonderful, due to the stream just off the back deck, and the river down below. The rental company was very helpful and friendly as well. And Max, the huge dog across the stream was a delight! My kids adored him. :)
The only derogatory was the other residents (Mice) and the garbage that someone before us had dumped out on the property, just off the deck. Breaks my heart to see anyone ruin such a lovely view!
We would definitely return!! :)
Because it was for several celebrations ... memorable, relaxing
Once we figured out the keys were put in a different cabin box by accident and we had to put cables on, 2 houses away from our cabin...the Bear Den was more then we expected!!! It would be only fair to share some recommendations for improvement- The baking dishes were not cleaned throughly when we found them and not enough med/large baking dishes especially for the holiday stay. I wish I had used the jacuzzi bath at the beginning of our stay, by the time we decided to use it, it wasn't work and we were leaving the next day!!
All in all we will cherish this time we were able to share with our loved ones!!!
The cabin was perfect and the location quiet and peaceful. We rented and the cabin for a week and for our live style it was a mistake. We are getting up in age and don't ski or golf. There was absolutely nothing for us to do but take a walk. Shopping is extremely limited. Our highlight was going to the local Kwanis pancake breakfast. If you an outdoors person this is a perfect location and beautiful but don't expect any other form of entertainment.
Very nice get-a-way!
We had a very nice stay at Bear Den Log Cabin. We've stayed in several of the Mt Hood Rental homes and they are all very-well maintained and stocked with kitchen items, which is much appreciated. One thing that was missing as hand soap in the bathrooms (usually that's been there for us.) The Bear Den Log Cabin is nicely located amongst trees and although there are a couple of cabins around, it really is quite secluded. Located close to Welches, you're able to get to the store easily and up the mountain in no time at all. Thank you!
This was our 3rd stay at the Bear Den, and we love it there! The staff at Mt Hood Rentals is amazing, always so sweet and helpful. Spent time relaxing, sitting on the deck watching the creek, reading, soaking in the jacuzzi tub. Everything is in good order with a kitchen fully stocked with pots, pans and utensils. It feels so fresh there and smells so good amongst the tall trees and the woods. We like feeling secluded in the woods with the modern conveniences of a grocery store and places to eat close by. The cabin is charming and comfortable, and the only time we were ever unhappy was when it was time to leave--the time goes by way too fast!
Susan, Richard and "Tucker"
We had a wonderful stay and our Choc. Lab, Tucker, enjoyed his stay as well.
Experienced Vacation Rental Customer
Could Be a Gem
Great, quaint "curb appeal". Nice floorplan. Decent kitchen. Nice deck. Not quite as secluded as the photos would lead you to believe.
From the 1st step in the door, things went slowly downhill. The 1st thing I noticed was stained carpet. After unpacking, my wife sat at the dining table & put her arm in something very sticky. It was also on 2 of the chairs.
After washing whatever it was off her arm, we stepped onto the deck. The view is nice except for seeing 2 other homes within a stone's throw. The plastic chairs were too filthy to sit on. It wouldn't take more than 30 minutes to clean them. So, why weren't they clean??
Electronics in the cabin: A 19" TV in a closet? Lol We've never seen "cable TV" with a snowy picture like an old OTa antenna. (Yes, all connections were tight.) The amp was good. There are 2 older Bose speakers - 1 of which was disconnected. There are also 2 large speakers in the master BR, presumably to listen to music from the amp - great if there were any wires leading to them.
The floors desperately needed to be vacuumed. Our dog was constantly finding misc garbage under the furniture & close to the walls.
The management has commented that the mattress in the master has been replaced in the last year or so. If so, it was replaced with the cheapest, thinnest old-fashioned mattress they could find. It was extremely uncomfortable.
When we tried to use the jetted tub, we found that water leaked profusely into the downstairs bathroom. When I called the office, they asked, "Do you want someone to come out tonight? It might take a while. Or, have somebody there in the morning?" It was only 5:50. Apparently a serious plumbing issue wasn't too important to them.
We stay in vacation rentals at least 12-15 times a year. We've seen excellent ones & bad ones. This one could be a gem but it really needs more attention from the management company. (They shouldn't keep emailing me asking for a review if they don't want the truth.)
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 10/27/2011
Thank you for your honest appraisal of the home. And yes we do want to hear the truth. You are correct that the home should have been cleaner. What you encountered is not our standard and we will be looking into it. It sounds like the housekeeper prior to your stay did not do their job as well as they could have, nor did the housekeeping inspector.
Unfortunately, we do not use the electronics in the homes, but we probably should occassionally. We are appreciative that you let us know they are sub-par; we will get them replaced.
The Bear Den Log Cabin is considered semi-secluded because you do see 2 cabins across the creek from the deck. However, from other areas of the home, you see just woods. Please make sure you let us know that you want to be in a cabin where you do not see any other homes when you rent next time.
We apologize that the mattress was not comfortable for you. We checked several past reviews and no-one else has commented on that, so we will want to be sure you stay in a home with a firmer mattress next time.
The leak under the jetted tub unfortunately started during your visit. I apologize that you felt we could not get anyone out quickly. At 5:50 in the evening, we would need to call a plumber and it could take 30-60 minutes before he could get to the home. We miscommunicated that we did not want to inconvenience you during the evening with a service call unless it was important enough for you.
Thank you again for your comments and we would very much appreciate another opportunity to host you in a vacation home. We are confident that you will have a better experience next time.
Oliver & Anna G.
The property was beautiful, almost enchanting with the misty rai
Our only regrete was that we weren't able to spend more time there. We definitely plan to return.
WE LOVED IT!!
We stayed four nights for our anniversary and had the most wonderful time. The setting is just beautiful and we are already planning the next time we can go back and bring our friends. The staff was helpful and the house was amazing... we really enjoyed taking a step back from our hectic schedules to slow down to "mountain time". The cabin was cozy and spacious, perfect for a weekend getaway or special occasion.
A Peaceful Escape!
The cabin is exactly what you'd want in a log cabin - gorgeous log beams, a stone fire place, vaulted ceilings. It's beautiful! The only downside is the closeness of the neighbors, but it's still very peaceful and a wonderful place to escape!!!
Bear's Den critique
Bear's Den - needs a little attention (towel bars loose, TV's old and hard to navigate, carpet molding at master bath loose, & screen door at front needs repair). Still a very comfortable lodging for us.
Vacation at Cabin in the woods
It was a weeklong, adult-time vacation and our choice could not have been better. Our dogs loved the backyard of woods and the river, and the creek by the back deck was scenic and tranquil. The cabin was stocked perfectly, with everything you could ever need--except food of course, and the fireplace insert received some good use. Whether relaxing with a DVD, by the creek, the river, the trails, the fireplace, or sleeping after your full day, the cabin and its surroundings feel like home. We were hoping for a more secluded setting--it seemed too residential for a cabin getaway, but it was quiet nevertheless. Overall, I rate it four stars...
So close yet so far away!!!!
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, it was peaceful, relaxing and enjoyable, we will be back!
very comfortable and pleasant as always
Best of Both Worlds
Upscale vacation home amenities paired with log cabin charm -- that's Bear Den Log Cabin near Mt. Hood! Add the wireless internet access and it makes a great place to relax and -- in our case -- work on a writing project. Highly recommended!
The street # sign is not really visible at night by headlights, it's turned parrellel to the street, only the next sign is so it was a little confusing. Great cabin though!
bBeautiful place & so well-kept; the sound of the creek outside was so relaxing; the walk up the driveway in the snow gave me a little exercise-
Wonderful place to stay...
Wonderful place to stay and relax. Great hiking in a beautiful part of the country!
This gave an opportunity for my wife and I to kick back, watch the fire, sip some wine, play cards and just not worry, for a few hours, about the world.
Please say thank you to the owners for allowing our intrusion.
West Linn, OR
Bear Den was a great retreat
We had a wonderful time with our 2 dogs....house was marvelous....very quiet and comfortable...location is great.
Peaceful Getaway in the Woods
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Bear Den log cabin. It is tucked away in the deep woods near a pleasant babbling brook. We enjoyed reading and watching the stars on the huge deck and barbecuing on the wonderful new gas barbecue. The fireplace was well equipped with wood and starting neccessities which we enjoyed several times during our stay. The well equipped kitchen was the highlight of our stay where we found a food processor, waffle iron, crock pot and coffee grinder to name a few. Dishes and glassware are in good supply. One suggestion might be to add a couple rubber scrapers and a large mixing bowl or two. We loved the garden jet tub in the master bath, too. The reason for the 4 stars under the property's condition is that we had to change a light bulb in the master bath on arrival and the outlet did not work at the sink. The toilet in the downstairs bath is a bit wobbly as well. Thanks for the enjoyable stay and we hope to be back in the future.
Great weekend at the Bear Den
Bear Den was great for two couples. Wonderful to rent a property with a king bed. The hike down to the river was a bit challenging in sandles but worth the effort. The hill driving up to the property and driveway down to the house could be difficult in snow. Property manager was very helpful, friendly, and anticipated our needs including a great collection of materials for the area.
Rest for the Wicked
I've never slept better. Two days back home and I'm having restless nights already. Sitting on the deck playing cards and listening to the birdsong and Johnny Creek is worth a month in Hawaii - without all the hassle of getting there. Bear's Den is a wonderful find for us. I hope we return again and again. Weve already stayed for four years now. Celia and the entire staff are delightful and immediately address whatever is required. Bravo!
Best getaway in years!
This has to be the easiest review ever. My wife and I had the most enjoyable time at the cabin. She loved it so much and asked if she could stay a couple more days although I had to return to my Construction Business. I called and asked Carrie at the Office of we could have it for 2 more days and there wasn't a problem with that ( actuallly, we had a discount on the next day and a free one after that so everything worked out perfect ! ).
The cabin is located just as I would have built it, along a stream with waterfalls and in the woods of course. This had to be the best getaway we have had since traveling back to Guam a couple years ago. We would love to schedule a stay there again if there are any specials.
Tom M.'s review of Rough-hewn log cabin, romantic, fireplace, wa
The property ws clean and squared away as always. The Mt. Hood Rentals team makes it easy and pleasant.
The cabin is unique and fun to stay in. The location is perfect. My only suggestion is that an overhaul of the stove and dishwasher be done. Only half of the stovetop worked and the dishes had to be washed by hand as the dishwasher (no matter how much rinsing was done) did not seem to clean the dishes. We also had to wash all the dishes in the cupboards before using as there was food residue on many of them. Overall a perfect getaway though and I hope to rent this cabin again in the future.
We really enjoyed our three day weekend here. The rooms are comfortable and the place was clean. The location--just a few steps to the river and a creek, was beautiful and our kids loved exploring. My one concern was that the lighting was very poor. There were few decent reading lights (the bedside lamp in the master was so dark I had to use a flashlight with it). Also, there was no lighting in the upstairs game area. Other than that, we really enjoyed it.
We continue to enjoy the Bear's meets our needs and more!
We continue to enjoy the Bear's meets our needs and more!
Great Place to Stay!
This is a very charming and comfortable cabin. We had everything we needed for a great weekend. Even though this is a pet friendly home, it was very clean with no sign (like dog fur on the furniture) of past pet visits other than a chewed area rug. We loved the fireplace, forest and creekside setting, and convenience of washer and dryer and equipped kitchen. We will definitely try to stay here again.
Bear's Den is the perfect getaway!
This was our first visit to Mt. Hood (and Oregon generally). This property exceeded every expectation, despite a near-perfect description on the website. Also a terrific value. The only possible suggestion I would make is to provide (or a means to rent) tire chains for driving in the snow...our rental car company didn't provide them, so we had to buy a set.
We will be back, and would not hesitate to recommend this property to our pickiest friends.
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 12/04/2009
The Bear Den Log Cabin is one of our favorites, too. It is a classic log cabin. Regarding chains for rental cars, some of the car rental companies do provide chains, so you need to ask when renting. When visiting in the winter, we suggest renting a 4 wheel drive vehichle. They will still won't have snow tires, but the 4WD will help you get better traction. If you need chains, the Les Schwab Tire company will sell you chains and if you end up not using them, they will buy them back. You can buy them in Sandy about 20 miles down the road. Also Page's Mt Hood Tire, just around the corner from our office sells and install tire chains. You can return those as well if you do not use them.
It was a beautiful...
It was a beautiful stay and I had a great time. I would love to go back.
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 11/14/2009
We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Mt Hood.
sleepless at Bear Den
the matresses could be upgraded. otherwise everything was fine and acceptable. The general lighting in the cabin is not very good and the lack of a bedside table (there is no room) on one side of the bed in the downstairs bedroon is a bit awkward, if there was a walllight on that side it would be better. The strainers in the kitchen need to be replaces. The white mesh is rusty at the bottom. We were impressed with the firewood, plenty of it and very dry and nicely stacked. We had a great time.
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 11/14/2009
The king mattress upstairs was just replaces, so you must be referring to the queen downstairs. We will work on getting a new mattress for downstairs. We are looking for a nice wall mounted light fixture for the over the bed downstairs, too.
Sufolk Park, AS, Australia
Kate R.'s review of Bear Den Log Cabin
We enjoyed our time in the forest the cabin was lovely. We have a young baby having the large bath upstairs was lots of fun...she is a little water baby!!!
The downstairs bathroom exhaust fan is very loud... expecially when using it in
Tracey V.'s review of Bear Den Log Cabin
I gave my specific concerns in writing at the time of checkout. Major things - old, flat pillows, dirty dishes.
Overall we loved the place. Lots of firewood, other than noted, very clean.
Some of the dishes from the cupboard needed to be cleaned better. Other than that, everything was spotless. It's a great house to stay in and relax.
Bear's Den is the perfect mountain retreat!
We had three days to retreat to the mountain. From the get-go the property management was both professional and very accomodating to our needs. When we arrived we were delighted by Bear's Den perfect setting- in the beautiful forest, next to a stream. Opening the door to our retreat the Bear's Den delighttful theme was carried throughout
the rooms. All amenities were within the immaculate home, ready to enjoy. We felt at home and enjoyed every day. THe staff was extremely helpful in directing us to sites and hikes to enjoy. Each day was an event. We would rate this mountain retreat a perfect 5.
Bear Den - wonderful cabin, needs attention to details
This was our fifth stay at Bear Den and we love the location and the cabin's design. But this year we noticed quite a few details that need attention: 1) Driveway is so rough as to be unsafe.
2) Holes and sagging frames in all screen doors meant that we had to leave doors closed during the heat wave.
3) Living room sofa & love seat are the same as in 2001 and are showing their age -- faded and too soft.
4) Internet connection was so poorly attached that it fell out, taking phone connection with it. We were able to re-connect. 5) TV, though new in 2008, is smaller and harder to see than the one that was there in 2007.
However, we still really love the cabin, especially the large bedroom with trees visible from three sides. Also we like the well-equipped kitchen. And, of course, Billy Creek by the deck is a continued delight.
We hope that some of these areas for improvement will be addressed before our next visit.
Nice but Different than Expected
Overall we were comfortable at Bear Den but a few disappointments distracted from our total vacation experience. The property is not as secluded as it appears to be in the description -- other houses were in close vacinity (although the creek was lovely off the back deck). The first dissapointment was the spa/jacuzi upstairs bath -- my wife settled into a relaxing soak our first night when we discovered water seaping heavily thru the downstairs bathroom light fixture -- consequently, none of the family used the upstairs for bathing for fear of electical damage. Also, the upstairs toilet kept getting stuck -- the chain would get caught underneath the flapper and we would have to go back in to fix it. (particularly irritating during sleeping hours) -- Trails on the property were unaccessable because of "Private Property" signs. We had to drive 1 mile west to Wildwood Recreational Area to hike on overpopulated overgroomed paths. Whatever board games on the premises were in a locked cabinet -- we noticed them upon removing an upper drawer when trying to locate. And last but not least, we found trash under the upstairs bedroom end table and what looked like cotton candy stuck to the carpet under the pull-out bed from previous tenants during our final inspection before vacating the premises.
The cabin was well organized and in a lovely area.
Should I have the chance to come and visit the area again, I would love to stay in the cabin. The spots of the carpet did bother me,(that is the way I am), sofa and loveseat cushions were well worn and a bit soft for my comfort.
The propety management could not have been more helpful and personable.
Thank you for a great stay for our family reunion. Loved the area.
Nice Secluded and Cool Cabin
This was our first trip to Oregon. The rental staff was very helpful at finding house that met our requirements. We spent most of our time out touring the area and enjoying the outdoors, but the house was very functional, clean and well located to the major Mt. Hood activities. Cabin is a little dark and cool because of the shade, but this can be a plus on the hotter days when the house stays very cool.
Everything was great except...
Everything was great except for the beds were really uncomfortable and the walk down the driveway was a bit treacherous (I'm 8 months pregnant with a 1.5 yr old)because it hadn't been plowed.
check in at 4pm is a bit late because by the time you get to the rental, it's almost dark. other than that, we had a lovely time. thank you.
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 01/12/2009
With the crazy winter storm, and record-breaking amounts of snow fall in a short 2 weeks, it was really difficult for our contracted snow plowers to get to all of the homes on the mountain, not just ours, as frequently as everyone would have liked. We will be looking into the mattress situation.
Lovely Log Cabin
The cabin was very nice. It was set on a nice piece of property and was comfortable and pleasant inside We enjoyed having our dogs with us and over all had a really nice stay.
Happy Valley, Oregon
Mark L.'s review of Bear Den Log Cabin
Great location, very nice cabin, well equiped. We had a great time and will return again. Only issue was an odor near the couch.
We have used Cascade...
We have used Cascade Property Management several times and have always found Cecilia to be warm, friendly, and VERY helpful. That said, I suggest the employees like Cecilia buy and run the company from the owner who needs to take a lesson from her employees on customer service. We asked for an early check in the night of our arrival. We called the day before our arrival to confirm this. We were told that we needed to call back the day of our arrival to check it;s availability EVEN THOUGH the cabin was empty. The owner who was telling us this, could not be bothered to go check the cabin that day and would send Cecilia to check it the next day. She was borderline rude and if she answers the phone in the future, I would recommend hanging up and calling back until you get Cecilia. Other than that, the cabin is GREAT!
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 11/03/2008
FYI-We always prefer to inspect a rental home the same day of arrival to be sure everything is functioning properly such as electricity, water, heat, etc. And if the weather is cool, we will turn on the heat and we will always leave a few lights on, so you can find your way around an unfamiliar home. However, we will always try to accommodate an early check in and we were able to do so for you.
Sweet Home, Oregon
A wonderful time
My wife and I enjoyed our stay tremendously. There were 2 bats in the cabin on our second night but we got those out and it was a minor issue that lent a unique memory to the weekend. The staff at the office were very personable and helpful. At this time we plan on coming back and I have already recommended the cabin to several friends.
We loved staying in...
We loved staying in this stunningly beautiful log cabin home. It was cozy, inviting, and relaxing.
The only upgrade we'd suggest is a more comfortable bed in the upstairs master, maybe a pillowtop, and nicer linens & quilts. Loved the river rock fireplace, wonderful kitchen, open floor plan, and soaring ceilings. We'd return anytime!
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 10/06/2008
Hi-a brand new mattress set was put in the master bedroom right after your departure. so it should be very comfortable for your next visit.
Bear Den is dark
loved the cabin but it was very dark--poor lighting for reading. Tub jets didn't work, TV/dvd was glitchy. Great BBQ and deck! Master bed was too soft. Nice stay, however
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 10/01/2008
We apologize for the inadequate lighting; the darkness of the logs does not reflect light as well as white walls. We will look into providing a few more lamps in the living room. The tub jets can be turned on and off with a switch and timer that are on the wall at the opposite end of the spiggot for the tub. If that does not work, then we just need to flip a reset button. And you always need to be sure the water level is above the jets. The TV/DVD was not working properly because someone before you had disconnected the cords in the back. We ask people not to do that, but it seems that at least once a week, we need to reconnect electronics. The master king mattress set is brand new; you were the second guests to use it, so it must be less firm than you prefer.
We love the location, with Billy Creek bubbling by the deck and Salmon River audible from the bedroom. Great kitchen and master bath.
Bear Den Getaway
The bed in the master bedroom was broken which made our sleeping arrangements kind of funkie but other than that we loved the location(very Private), the home, the area of mount hood...We would recommend this lodging to anyone.
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 09/12/2008
Hi-We are in the process of purchasing a new king matress set. We apologize that the master bed was not as comfortable as it could have been. During your next visit, there will be a brand new bed. Betsy
San Francisco, CA
All good. The master bed was a little uncomfortable and a bad smell came from the closet next to the downstairs bathroom.
Other than that a great stay.
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 09/12/2008
We are in the process of purchasing a new king mattress set now. By the time you visit the Bear Den Log Cabin next, there will be a new king bed. Not sure about the smell, but we will check that out. Betsy
Randi A.'s review of Bear Den Log Cabin
I plan on being there again someday soon!
Everything was taken care of -- very professional crew. No question left unanswered. You guys are great.
Oregon City, OR
Bear Den Log Cabin-July 2008
My only negative comments would be that I had no reminder of the payment withdrawal before it came out of my account. I was expecting to receive paperwork to sign to verify banking info and didn't receive anything. The original reservation transaction was a long time before the actual payment and a reminder would have helped. I did cause a problem because I needed to move money to cover the cost and since I was waiting for something to sign (like I did the first time we rented) I had significant overdrafts. What would have happened if I had switched banks and the attempt by you would have bounced? I really think that a reminder and a check on bank info is a necessary courtesy that can save much hearache. The only other thing I would like to mention is that I had to rewash many of the dishes before using them. I know this is probably a really hard thing to manage since there are so many dishes but I needed to mention it. All in all we had a nice stay.
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 09/12/2008
We do send our guests a reminder at the time of booking that indicates the payment policies and dates. It also states that we will use the credit card or debit card number you provided upon making your reservation unless you send us a check or provide a new credit card or debit card. I apologize if that was not clear in the correspondence that was sent to you. Betsy
Battle Ground, WA
We stayed at this location primarily to take our two dogs away from fireworks. They're older and are easily upset by the noise. We were told fireworks are illegal in the area -- unfortunately the neighbors across the street lit them off two of the evenings, which put a damper on the trip. I would recommend this vacation home to others only if they were not concerned about fireworks. We would very much like to rent from Cascade Property Management next year, but only if we could be assured that we would not have this same experience.
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 07/23/2008
Hi Melanie- I fully understand your dissatisfaction with the fireworks that the neighbors were using. I am with you on this one and wish people wouldn't set them off here. Unfortunately, we cannot control the neighbors' behavior. Other pet-friendly homes that are more separated from other homes and hopefully from noises are Woodland Lodge, Deer Island Chalet, Riverwood Hideaway & Wy'East Log Lodge for future visits. Betsy
Would stay again!!
The cabin was just as it was described. Accommodations were great and it was wonderful falling asleep to the sound of the rushing water.
A Peaceful Few Days in Paradise!
Beautifully designed, spacious cabin right on the rushing creek- perfect location, still close to town when we forgot our Stumptown coffee for the espresso machine. Walk thru old forest to the Salmon River was magical! Sitting on the porch over Billy Creek, I could just feel the stress of the past year leaking out. Just a few maintenance issues that Don gave a list of to the management staff were graciously received- the biggest being that the phone line had been cut so there was no phone line, and no free wi-fi, but even that turned out to be a blessing so we wouldn't be on the computer instead of out on the porch de-stressing. Overall, a perfect cabin in a perfect location. (The low cleaning is because all the cute little lamps are covered with layers of dust, the LR throw smelled months beyond a good wash, and the huge carpenter ants (alive and dead) were in the LR throw, on the kitchen counter, in the baths, in the jacuzzi tub.)
Almost Perfect Bear's Den
I was amazed at how well equipe the kitchen was. Everytime I decided to make something, there was the tool I required -kitchen could be organized more sensibly, but it's a mute point. We felt that our experience would have been enhanced if the shower inserts were a higher grade for the current ones are obviously at the lower end of the spectrum. One other thing... we both were very happy to get home to our own, comfy beds.
Bear Den Peaceful Getaway
Absolutely loved our time there. Very relaxing location with beautiful scenery of the cabin nestled in a river, creek, and forest setting. Truly was a much-needed getaway for my wife and I and we would definitely stay there again.
Perfect for a ladies get-away!
We had a wonderful weekend! Peaceful away from the hustle & bustle of everyday life, yet close enough to run to the store for those 'oops, I forgot' items. Very compfy & cozy, yet spacious for us to spread out and scrapbook all weekend. We had a fabulous time and we're hoping to make it an annual event! :)
A Serene Experience in a nature setting
My husband and I wanted a quiet place to get away to for our anniversary. We found the Bear's Den was just what we were looking for. It's secluded spot offered quiet from city and people. The flow of Billy Creek provided the sound of water we so like when relaxing. The house is well furnished with all the modern appliances while setting the ambiance of a rustic cabin. It was the perfect weekend that did not last long enough. We plan to return again in the fall for another weekend and maybe take an extra day or two. We cannot thank the owners enough for making this setting available to us and others who will certainly enjoy the location. The weather was not the best but Sunday did afford us an opportunity to get out a bit and hike around and then just sit and enjoy the expansive back deck in the summer sun.
Bear Den Comments
1. has developed a rodent problem...found one mouse inside and noticed droppings in kitchen...we'll have a problem in the future if this issue isn't rectified 2.missing the towel bar in master bath...came down apparently and never replaced? 3. mattress in master bedroom is nearing the end of its useful life
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 09/14/2008
Thank you for your comments. We had a lot of mice around the mountain this year. We have set mouse traps and glue boards and we are working on finding & sealing the holes they come in on. The towel bar is back up. And there is a new mattress on order.
Wonderful Stay at Bear Den Lodge!
Just a great place to unwind, relax and enjoy the old growth woods with in minutes of golf, great food and more. I even got great cell phone reception. You hear the creek from anywhere in the house.. sooo relaxing! A true log house with plenty of room and great floor plan - so complete with thigns to use in kitchen etc. WOW! It was a bit dusty here and there in out of the way places.. top of the huge mantal, some of the logs of the wall.. but otherwise just perfect!!
Bonney Lake, Wa
we had a wonderful time there and will be going back
The cabin was wonderful...
The cabin was wonderful but was not in very clean condition. We had to do some cleaning ourselves, which isn't what you want to be doing when you're getting away from it all. Even so, we'd go back again just because we loved the cabin itself.
Bear Den; We recommend
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Particularly impressed that when the downstairs toilet was backed up upon arrival, you found us a plumber ASAP.
Akira C.'s review of Bear Den Log Cabin
we have truly enjoyed our 2 stays at hood river...price of gas becomming an issue for travel, but you would be first on our agenda for next vacation...we shall return.
Bear Den Log Cabin - Great Place to bring your dogs on vacation!
Feels like you're staying in a real cabin, but it's updated with all the amenities so that it feels like a home away from home. Our two dogs loved hanging outside on the back porch with us. The walk down to the river (behind the cabin) was just far enough for our 13 year old retriever to enjoy. I'd rent this cabin again with no hesitation!
Bear Den Log Cabin rewiev
Beautiful log cabin. Photos don't give it justice. Would definitely recommend it.
This cabin was great. The only request we would make is better lighting in the main living area. I wish our stay could have been longer so we could have gotten more into "mountain time".
Honeymoon stay at Bear Den Lodge
Excellent lodge. I was skeptical to give such a positive review, knowing it will book up this popular lodge even more and make my future visits more difficult! But kudos to the staff and the property for an excellent getaway!
Stay 3 nights, get night free
Winter Mid-Week Ski & Snowboard Special
Stay in a Mt Hood Vacation Rental, Sunday - Thursday nights, the 3rd night is 1/2 price and the 4th night is FREE! Ski or Snowboard at Mt Hood Meadows, Monday - Friday with a mid-week pass for $125 for the entire week! Valid January 6 - March 21, 2013