|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
|Living space||1000 square feet|
Suitable for childrenNo
Suitable for the elderlyYes
Description from the manager
River View Cabin is one of our most popular romantic cabins, with knotty pine interior accents and sweeping Sandy River and mountain views from the great room, deck and hot tub. Lots of windows bring in the sunshine and the awesome views of the river.
Take the Tour
* Secluded Sandy Riverfront Setting
* Vaulted Great Room
* View Windows
* Wood-burning Fireplace
* High-elevation Fir & Tamarack Firewood
* Fully-Equipped Kitchen
* King Log Bed in Master
* Queen Log Bed in 2nd Bedroom
* Sofa Bed in the Living Room...Read more
River View Cabin - Secluded, Riverfront, Hot Tub
Mt. Hood Territory, Oregon
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
Stay 3 nights, get night free See Details »
|Rate Summary||$165 - $246||$165 - $246||$908 - $1,720||$0||2 nights|
|Apr. 21 2013 - Jun. 13 2013
|Jun. 14 2013 - Sep. 1 2013
|Sep. 2 2013 - Sep. 19 2013
Late Summer 2013
|Sep. 20 2013 - Nov. 26 2013
|Nov. 27 2013 - Nov. 30 2013
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Dec. 1 2013 - Dec. 19 2013
Early Winter 2013
|Dec. 20 2013 - Jan. 4 2014
Christmas Vacation 2013
|Jan. 5 2014 - Jan. 16 2014
Early Winter 2014
|Jan. 17 2014 - Jan. 19 2014
MLK Weekend 2014
|Jan. 20 2014 - Feb. 13 2014
|Feb. 14 2014 - Feb. 16 2014
President's Weekend 2014
|Feb. 17 2014 - Mar. 20 2014
Late Winter 2014
|Mar. 21 2014 - Apr. 5 2014
Spring Break 2014
|All Other Dates||$165||$165||$908||-||2 nights|
|View all 14 Rate Periods|
- Additional guests - $25 / person - Per-Person Adjustment - Fee applies to parties of more than 2 guest(s)
- Lodging Tax - 7% of rental - Tax - Clackamas County Room Tax = 6%; Oregon State Lodging Tax = 1%
- Reservation Fee - $35 / stay - Fee - A one-time reservation fee applies to all reservations.
- Security Deposit Protection Plan - $30 / stay - Security Deposit - Security Deposit Protection Plan covers unintentional damages to the interior of the vacation rental home up to $1500.
- Travel Insurance - 6.5% of rental - Other - Travel Insurance provides a refund of rent & tax if you cancel due to specific reasons outlined in the insurance policy.
Additional notes from owner
•Rates may not reflect discounts, specials or promotions. If applicable, rates will be adjusted at time of booking.
•Rates are based upon minimum occupancy. Rent of $25 per person per night is added on up to maximum occupancy for the home.
•Rates are subject to change without notice. Rates may increase if minimum night stay requirements are not met.
•Additional charges include pet rent of $25 per night, $35 reservation fee per reservation, $30 Security Deposit Protection Fee, 7% lodging tax or Trip Cancellation Insurance.
Minimum Night Stay Requirements:
•Minimum 2-night stay required most of the year, with the following exceptions:
•3-night minimum stay during Holiday Weekends & Spring Break
•4-night minimum stay during Thanksgiving Weekend and Summer Vacation
•5-Night minimum stay during Christmas Vacation
Over 80% of our homes allow pets. If you wish to travel with your pet, Mt Hood Vacation Rentals must be informed in advance. Your pet(s) must be registered with us and may only come along if you are staying in a pet-friendly home. Otherwise please leave your pets at home. We welcome dogs only, all other pets may be considered on a case-by-case basis. We charge $25 pet rent per night for the privilege of bringing your pet along.
NO Security Deposits:
We do not charge our guests a security deposit unless you choose to decline the Security Deposit Protection Plan which covers unintentional damages to the interior of the vacation rental home. However, we do expect that you to treat the home you stay in with respect and leave it in a condition similar to how you found it. If there are any problems caused by your negligence upon check-out which are not covered by the Security Deposit Protection Plan, your current VISA, MasterCard, Discover or American Express will be retained until after departure and may be used to cover the costs of: additional rent for occupants not listed on the reservation, damages, replacement of missing items, cleaning beyond normal expectations or any other expenses incurred by the renter.
NO Cleaning Fees:
We do not charge a cleaning fee to our guests. However, we will charge you for additional cleaning after departure if cleaning beyond normal expectations is required.
There will be a 6% County Room Tax and 1% State Lodging Tax calculated & charged on the total rental rate.
Trip Cancellation Insurance:
Mt Hood Vacation Rentals offers CSA travel cancellation/interruption insurance to every guest. CSA is authorized by the Oregon Department of Insurance. Once your payment becomes non-refundable, you may be able to receive a refund of rent and tax if you have purchased the insurance. For questions concerning the travel insurance, please call CSA directly at 1-866-298-6846. The insurance premium is non-refundable and non-transferable.
Upon receipt of payment, it becomes non-refundable. If you need to cancel and have not purchased the Trip Cancellation Insurance, there will be no refunds. Policies and rates are subject to change without notice. There will be no refunds due to acts of God, nature, weather or weather-related situations, mechanical or electrical failure, ski or golf conditions, power failures or family feuds unless specifically covered by CSA Trip Cancellation Insurance.
Prior to your payment due date, there is no charge to change your reservation. Once your payment has become non-refundable, there are no changes allowed.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 21, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
We wish we had booked for a longer trip, next time we will plan for a longer stay. We had a hard time leaving. The location was perfect, I couldn't have dreamed of a better setting. The house was perfect and loved the hot tub. Loved the staff at Mt. Hood Rentals, the were great. Very helpful, easy to deal with and ask questions, and professional. We will be back, this time for a much longer stay!
A peaceful escape to a magical cabin.
The experience was great from the start. Carrie helped so much from the first phone call all the way to checking out. She is so friendly and so helpful. Honestly your pictures dont do the cabin justice so I hesitated to rent it. If it wasnt for carrie encouaging me that it was worth it I would have missed out on this amazing experience.
The home was perfect in every way. Small and quaint. exactly what I wanted. The view was insane. I could have sat on that deck the entire stay and been perfectly content. Then I realized I didnt have to because the view was just as nice from the living/dining/kitchen area because of floor to ceiling windows.Loved that!
Beds were compfortable.Decor was fitting. House was all around everything I had hoped for and more.
I spent 8 hours hiking one day and was so excited to have that amazing hot tub to relax in when I returned. That hot tub is so flawlessly placed on that property.
It was also very conveniently located by the things anyone may need while staying. Groceries, movie rentals, coffee shop and OMG El Burro Loco Mmmm! I cant wait to eat there again. And once again that is due to Carrie's recommendation. We also took and desert to go from Rendevous and ate it back at the cabin.
I have to say nothing tops the view from this house. Only thing I may change is to update the livingroom furniture a bit. I wouldnt want anything to take from the cozy country feel but the couches are bordering on looking old. But even that I could completely overlook.
Ive given many friends the info so they can check it out too. We will be back!
Lovely house with fabulous views. Very private with a nice balance of simplicity and amenities. Definitely recommended!
My wife and I spent our honeymoon at this cabin. It was truly a beautiful retreat. I would recommend this place to anyone looking to get away. The view was amazing, can't be beat. I'll never forget sitting on the balcony looking at the moonlit river with the rustling sounds of trees.
Amazing Northwest Cabin!!!
My girlfriend and I could not get enough of the cabin. The view of the river is amazing. The Hot tub was perfect for those few rainy days in early spring. The fire place made for a great atmosphere to sip on a beverage in the evening.
It was only the two of us this time. But the cabin would be big enough for a family of 4-5. I would go back in a heartbeat if our schedules allow it.
If you are looking for a great adventure with Mt. hood nearby this is a perfect base camp. If you are just looking for a relaxing weekend this cabin would work great as well.
Nicole B.'s review of River View Cabin-Romantic cabin with aweso
The staff and property were great. Could have provided more firewood on hand.Hottub was clean and ready to go.
It was a very beautiful view and a beautiful home! Did not want
Spent the weekend here with my girlfriend... Rehid the elusive dollar! Good luck finding it! Keep the tradition alive! :)
Brooke M.'s review of River View Cabin-Romantic cabin with aweso
Only complaint that I have is that the website still notes that there is an outdoor fire pit. After a couple days of wondering where the fire pit is... the neighbor told me about the bank/cliff washing away during a flood. Just suggest that the website be updated for the next guest. Other than that - we had a great time!
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 05/04/2011
Thank you for reminding us that the firepit is now gone. It was removed just a few weeks ago and we simply forgot to take that photo off of the website. We are glad you enjoyed the cabin during your visit.
Everything was great except...
Everything was great except that the bed was too soft for me and the sheets were like sandpaper.
Very beautiful location and well kept cabin. we would recommend it to anyone.
review vacation week
location and cabin lovely. Firewood a nice add as easy to access. Knifes need sharpening and all light bulbs should be checked as some are hard to acess to change. The refriderator door is not sealing properly without help and could cause a problem if you are not paying attention. All and all a wonderful place.
Had a great stay at the River View Cabin. Beautiful view, nice cabin, fireplace, hot tub - A+. Fantastic visit.
The only thing that I would mention is that there is a dropoff in the backyard that plummets to the river. If you have little kids, make sure and caution them ahead of time.
Great way to spend Thanksgiving!
The cabin and surroundings surpased our expectations. The view is just beautiful and the sound of the river is very relaxing while soaking in the hot tub. Other posts mention the neighbor being able to see the hottub, but we didn't find it to be an issue. Lots of trees and brush between houses. There is a sharp dropoff to the river so you do have to watch kids closely. Would have been nice to have had a baking/cookie sheet in the kitchen, but a quick 5 minute trip to Thriftway took care of that. All in all a perfect first experience! Can't wait to come back!
This is a very...
This is a very relaxing location and a very comfortable facility.
Janet C.'s review of Secluded, romantic cabin with 180 views of
My husband and I found this cabin delightful and private with a lovely overlook on a small cliff over the Sandy River. The neighborhood was quiet although one can hear low key night traffic from Hwy 26 (which died about 10PM). The furnishings and beds were comfortable; we enjoyed the ability to have a wood fire in the black cast iron stove. We found the setting intimate and romantic. There is a lovely hot tub which we never had a chance to use due to our short stay. Also we would recommend a wonderful restaurant (The Rhondevous) in Welches.
Lake Oswego, OR
THE TOILET WAS NOT...
THE TOILET WAS NOT WORKING WELL WHEN WE ARRIVED BUT WAS FIXED QUICKLY.
West Linn, OR
A Perfect Birthday
I want to thank you for helping me put together a perfect birthday for my husband. Originally I wanted to rent a different property. But one of your consultants (Cari) listened to my description of what I wanted and she suggested I check out River View Cabin. I ended up following her advice -- and it was wonderful! The cabin was perfect for a romantic weekend. Just the right size for one or two couples, and splendidly private despite being very close to Welches and the highway. We had breakfasts on the patio, with a 180-degree view of the Sandy River. In the evenings we had everything we needed to cook (and the grocery store was near, in case we found we'd forgotten anything). I had every utensil I could wish for -- even plastic cups, so that on my husband's birthday we could safely drink our champagne in the hot tub! And, speaking of the hot tub, I can't tell you how amazing it was to have one so perfectly private. The view of the mountain from the hot tub was gorgeous, too. Everything was neat, clean, and comfortable. At the end of the trip, my husband kissed me and said that this was the best birthday present I'd ever gotten him!
The only 'complaint' I...
The only 'complaint' I would have is that it is said to be secluded but is in fact next to a few other houses, one in view of the hot tub. All in all though, it was a great place and we had a fantastic weekend there! The people were friendly and helpful, we would stay again there or perhaps another of the rentals.
Good retreat from the city
The king bed was a little soft and the underframe made the bed too high and a little woobley. Also could have used some alum foil and saran wrap. Small leak in ceiling during rain storm over the overstuffed chair (noticed it cuz I was sitting there when the leak started).
Otherwise, great weekend and very helpful staff.
Donna P.'s review of Secluded, romantic cabin with 180 views of
What a beautiful cabin! Just what we expected. Gorgeous views and loved the hot tub! Accomodations were the best. Very rustic. We felt at home.
Business trip to Welches
Nice location and very convenient to the resort where my conference was held. Was able to work at the kitchen table and look at the river. While the unit was very clean, it lacked the charm of other similar units I've rented in the past. The real drawback was the terrible smokey smell in the unit from a previous guest who must have had trouble with the fireplace. Every piece of clothing I brought reeked of smoke, and had to be laundered when I got home. One of the heaters also makes a really loud pinging noise which could bother a light sleeper.
Lake Oswego, OR
Awesome outside, kitchen/bath need help
We loved the deck, hottub and view of the cabin. The kitchen needs updating - from the cracked tiles and mildewed grout to a stove with 2 broken burners, and only one pan with a matching lid. The bath needs an extra towel bar and a good scrubbing to get mildew off the ceiling/walls. Bedrooms and living room were very comfortable, with a great woodstove. I think we may have been spoiled by our last visit to a newer house.
Would like to have stayed longer, the DVD in the living room we were not able to work, the bedroom was easy and great
A wonderful experience!
My only observation is that the River View Cabin is NOT secluded. There is a house right next to it, very close to the hot tub. My plan was to be in the hot tub naked and I did, but I wished not to have been concerned about neighbors.
Some of the exterior lights were out, other than that I have no complaints.
Beautiful fireplace, gorgeous view, confortable beds and furniture, well equipped kitchen and plenty of travel guide books.
Thank you for having us!
Just some little tips
In general we were very happy with the place, but I do have a couple tips for the River View Cabin.
The kitchen was very well stocked, so well stocked that there was not one open cupboard to put our food in. It would be nice to have one available. Also, a strainer would be good to have there. Otherwise there was more than enough there and we were very happy to see a coffee grinder, since we forgot ours.
Also, some hand soap for the kitchen would be nice and some tissues in the living room and bedroom would be a nice touch.
As you can tell these are very slight complaints. We loved our time there and would most definitely come back. We are sold on Mt Hood Rentals and will use you and recommend you often.
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 12/04/2009
We have re-arranged the cupboards, so now there is space for storing your food when you visit the next time. And a strainer was recently stocked in the home. We do leave hand soap and tissues in the bathroom.
The cabin was perfect for a couple. We enjoyed the fireplace th
The view from the windows is spectacular when there is a full moon. Which there was for our stay. The fireplace was great and really warmed the place up. It met our needs perfectly.
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 11/14/2009
I wish I could have seen the evening full moon. Sounds awesome!! The River View Cabin is one of our most popular vacation rentals for romantic getaways.
Kevin D.'s review of Secluded, romantic cabin with 180 views of
I'm sorry that the prices are climbing.
And maybe include a few more sticks of firewood.
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 11/07/2009
We provide a starter supply of firewood for your visit, about 10 pieces of wood for each night. You can purchase more firewood at check-in or anytime during your visit.
Located at the end of cul-de-sac right above the Sandy River in Welches, you feel like you're miles away from it all. The property is wooded and the vistas are stunning. It's a good sized cabin for 2-4 people (just one bathroom!). The hot tub is located outside in a hut at the end of a walkway. We always enjoy our stay at your properties and look forward to our next stay!
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 11/07/2009
We love hearing that your visits are always pleasureable and that you have enjoyed all of the homes you have stayed in.
Salt Lake City, UT
Solitude on the River in Mt. Hood
This cabin offered a great get a way, and we really enjoyed the outdoor hot tub and fire pit. Plenty of blankets to keep cozy, and the free firewood was surely appreciated.
Mary Esther, FL
River View Location on the Loop
We recently stayed at this river cabin adn were impressed with the location. It was just off a main road but yet when at the cabin, very little road noise could be heard, only the sound of the river below. The view especailly from the rear deck was inspiring. What could be better but mountains surrounding the peaceful flowing water. The cabin was very clean and set up well. The furnishings were first class too. It was especially nice to be able to have internet access to get some work done. There is so much to do and see in the Mt. Hood area and we had a blast doing the loop. I would highly recommend this cabin to my friends.
Perfect Anniversary Spot
Our stay was great. Nice view from the deck with the sound of the rushing river. Couldn't tell we were only 300 yds or so from the highway. A wonderful place for a couple to get away.
Loved it at Riverview! It was perfect for just about everythin
Just a couple of recommendations: Make a note on the website of the cabin that there is no river access. Didn't matter to us, but it might to people who have children and were counting on letting them play "creekside" while watching them from the deck. Directions to the nearest public creek access location would be great. Also, we were there during that record breaking heatwave your area had. The cabin has no AC. We used the fans and ceiling fan that were there, along with the breeze from the river so it was okay, but was extremely hot when coming home from being out during the day. We would definately stay there again - it was lovely!
Brett & Elizabeth G.
A Truly Peaceful and Magnificent Retreat
My family had the pleasure of enjoying this beautiful cabin and the incredible landscape that surrounds it! From the soothing sound of the river to the butterflies dancing in the sunlight, we felt like we had a truly relaxing and revitalizing vacation. Thank you for a truly fantastic Mt. Hood getaway!
It didn't seem to...
It didn't seem to be as clean or well-stocked (kitchen items)as other rental locations. Nothing dramatically bad, just not wonderful. The toaster is broken (the darkness lever is broken off), the back right oven burner didn't seem to work. Just stuff like that. Location was great though.
This cabin had a lot more amentities than other cabins that I've rented in the past (in other areas) including cable TV, WiFi, washer/dryer, and a telephone with long distance. I believe the site says that there wasn't cell service but I probably have the worst service out there and I had cell service the entire time we were there.
The hot tub was exceptionally clean, management gave us plenty of towels, there's extra blankets, etc. in the closet which was nice and there was plenty of firewood available to us.
We locked our key inside one day and panicked a little because we were 3 hours away from the cabin and knew the office closed at 5:00 p.m. but when I called, they left another in a mailbox for us to pick up at our convenience.
The staff gave us ideas on what to do and were always friendly.
Overall, our stay was great, the cabin was exceptional and the price (vs. a hotel room) was definitely well worth it!
I hope we have an opportunity to visit again!
Hans M.'s review of River View Cabin
Andrew & Holly D.
Loved the cabin, wished we had one big soup or chili pot. Some pots had no lids. Softer toilet and facial tissue, bigger bar of soap for bathroom for whole week of stay. Also the sponge for the dishs was falling apart. other then that everything was great!!!
My boyfriend, daughter and I needed to get away for a weekend and this was the most perfect place to do it. It had everything we needed- all we had to bring was clothes. The staff was very friendly when we picked up the keys and there was a lot of useful information throughout the house about events in the area and how to use specific things. We will go back again!
JD Hoog B.
Our only complaints were about the water. The downstairs water had a terrible odor and the upstairs shower was very difficult to get to a comfortable temperature.
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 03/05/2009
oops, wrong rental home. The River View Cabin has 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom all on one level.
We really enjoy that...
We really enjoy that the units that we have rented are warm and friendly when we arrive. The lights and heat are on and the hot tub is warmed. The view from the River View Cabin was spectacular and we were able to enjoy the view in normal Oregon rain and in snow during our stay. Wonderful both ways!
Forest Grove, OR
We had a great time and found the stay very relaxing. We hope to return again.
Great for a family of four
This place is timeless. it has not changed a bit in the last three years. and I guess much longer then that. Very quiet street and great views. Hot tub is a Tiger spa and very nice but could be hotter, or at least would be nice to have that option. Big bed great but the other room could use a new bed. But after a hard day of snowboarding you could sleep anywhere. Living area open and very pleasant with a kicking wood stove. Overall a sweet little cabin.
Even better than the pictures and description!
River View Cabin was a great place to spend the week of New Year's. The cabin itself was much nicer than the pictures could depict. It was much larger than I expected, extremely clean, and the kitchen was very well stocked with cooking utensils for the gourmet chef! I highly recommend the River View Cabin and will most likely return myself as a regular visitor.
A relaxing vacation
We enjoyed the comfy relaxing cabin with beautiful views. We were disappointed that there was no access to the river. Overall, we had a great time.
Welches in September
After the long hot summer in Arizona, River View cabin was just what we needed. The cabin was very clean and the bed was the most comfortable we've ever slept on. The view was amazing of the trees and river. Only down side was there is no access to the river but there are so many rivers and streams in the area that you can drive or walk to. Enjoyed the hot tub very much. Great location to everything and the people at Cascade Property Management are very nice and helpful. We're already trying to plan our return trip next summer.
The Ultimate Review
This was the perfect honeymoon cabin. The people at Cascade Property Management were very friendly and helpful and they gave me a good deal as well.
Fabulous view. We really...
Fabulous view. We really appreciated the privacy of the cabin, the deck, hot tub and fire pit. We will look forward to another visit. The cliff edge requires tremendous caution. Not a place for children.
central point, or
The River View cabin had a very beautiful view and was really comfortable; we would recommend this property to others.
A perfcect place for...
A perfcect place for a relaxing long weekend.
River View Cabin on Sandy River near Mt. Hood
Wonderful piece of property. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Not for young children however as it has a dangerous shear dropoff to the swift river below, no barrier. Great for adults.
Vacation Stay 2008
We had a fantastic time at the cabin and would have liked to stay longer. We very, very much enjoyed the relaxation the cabin offered. The people of Oregon and Welches are superb. Thank to everyone for the wonderful experience and for making our stay memorable!
I would say that the location is "semi" secluded because you can see the neighboors to the right
Perfect spot. It was...
Perfect spot. It was wonderful to be right on the river -- very pretty setting. The house and all the facilities, including the hot tub, were very welcoming. I'd love to go back!
When they call it "River View Cabin," they really do mean River
The only problem that we had was that the lighting over the driveway area was burned out, making it hard to see whenever we came back in from a night out for dinner. Since one of us was a senior citizen, it was difficult. The view was gorgeous! (And that's even though it rained almost the entire time we were there!) The cabin was in EXCELLENT condition, with a very thematic log cabin feel; log cabin bed frames, wood floors, decorations with country theme, woodstove, quilts... ADORABLE! Our stay was GREAT. Although we didn't use the hot tub, we desparately needed respite and had a great time reading, working puzzles and investigating the towns of Welches and Sandy, OR.
Very cozy romantic getaway for two!
We enjoyed this cabin! The only bad thing was that we only stayed 2 days. Nextime we will stay longer! We will definately recommend friends! It was recommended to us.
Sedro Woolley, Washington
I have to admit, when you look at most pictures of a place they try to spice it some, but this place was amazing. We loved it.. Great loaction, wonderful property, spectacular views, and all around great!!!
Ann Arbor, MI
Patricia D.'s review of River View Cabin
This was a beautiful get-away. Two comments: it is listed as secluded, in fact, it is not. Notify guests when yard work or other maintenance has been scheduled.
Very nice views.......
Very nice views....
Stay 3 nights, get night free
Winter Mid-Week Ski & Snowboard Special
1024 characters max. Use the deal description to add any additional info about your special offer, such as any coupon or reference code, any special eligibility requirements, or further details about the offer.