|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
|Living space||2800 square feet|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyYes
Description from the manager
Island Park Retreat is a gorgeous custom-built home at the end of a road on an island of the Salmon River. Over an acre of beautifully manicured natural landscaping is surrounded on two sides by the Salmon River. You will find peace and serenity in every
room of Island Park Retreat which views the river. The only sounds are of the river flowing by and the songbirds warbling in the trees. The vaulted living room has floor to ceiling river-viewing windows and a massive wood-burning fireplace.
Take the Tour
* On the Salmon River in Welches
* 1 Acre Surrounded by the Salmon River on
* 2 Sides
* Wood-burning Gra...Read more
Island Park Retreat Riverfront, Fireplace, Hot Tub
Mt. Hood Territory, Oregon
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
Stay 3 nights, get night free See Details »
|Rate Summary||$240 - $408||$240 - $408||$1,320 - $2,856||$0||2 nights|
|Apr. 21 2013 - Jun. 13 2013
|Jun. 14 2013 - Sep. 1 2013
|Sep. 2 2013 - Sep. 19 2013
Late Summer 2013
|Sep. 20 2013 - Nov. 26 2013
|Nov. 27 2013 - Nov. 30 2013
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Dec. 1 2013 - Dec. 19 2013
Early Winter 2013
|Dec. 20 2013 - Jan. 4 2014
Christmas Vacation 2013
|Jan. 5 2014 - Jan. 16 2014
Early Winter 2014
|Jan. 17 2014 - Jan. 19 2014
MLK Weekend 2014
|Jan. 20 2014 - Feb. 13 2014
|Feb. 14 2014 - Feb. 16 2014
Presidents' Weekend 2014
|Feb. 17 2014 - Mar. 20 2014
Late Winter 2014
|Mar. 21 2014 - Apr. 5 2014
Spring Break 2014
|All Other Dates||$240||$240||$1,320||-||2 nights|
|View all 14 Rate Periods|
- Travel Insurance - 6.5% of rental - Fee - Travel Insurance provides a refund of rent & tax if you cancel due to specific reasons outlined in the insurance policy.
- Reservation Fee - $35 / stay - Fee - A one-time reservation fee applies to all reservations.
- Security Deposit Protection Plan - $30 / stay - Security Deposit - Security Deposit Protection Plan covers unintentional damages to the interior of the vacation rental home up to $1500.
- Additional guests - $0 / person - Per-Person Adjustment - Fee applies to parties of more than 4 guests.
- Lodging Tax - 7% of rental - Tax - Clackamas County Room Tax = 6%; Oregon State Lodging Tax = 1%
Additional notes from owner
•Rates may not reflect discounts, specials or promotions. If applicable, rates will be adjusted at time of booking.
•Rates are based upon minimum occupancy. Rent of $25 per person per night is added on up to maximum occupancy for the home.
•Rates are subject to change without notice. Rates may increase if minimum night stay requirements are not met.
•Additional charges include pet rent of $25 per night, $35 reservation fee per reservation, $30 Security Deposit Protection Fee, 7% lodging tax or Trip Cancellation Insurance.
Minimum Night Stay Requirements:
•Minimum 2-night stay required most of the year, with the following exceptions:
•3-night minimum stay during Holiday Weekends & Spring Break
•4-night minimum stay during Thanksgiving Weekend and Summer Vacation
•5-Night minimum stay during Christmas Vacation
Over 80% of our homes allow pets. If you wish to travel with your pet, Mt Hood Vacation Rentals must be informed in advance. Your pet(s) must be registered with us and may only come along if you are staying in a pet-friendly home. Otherwise please leave your pets at home. We welcome dogs only, all other pets may be considered on a case-by-case basis. We charge $25 pet rent per night for the privilege of bringing your pet along.
NO Security Deposits:
We do not charge our guests a security deposit unless you choose to decline the Security Deposit Protection Plan which covers unintentional damages to the interior of the vacation rental home. However, we do expect that you to treat the home you stay in with respect and leave it in a condition similar to how you found it. If there are any problems caused by your negligence upon check-out which are not covered by the Security Deposit Protection Plan, your current VISA, MasterCard, Discover or American Express will be retained until after departure and may be used to cover the costs of: additional rent for occupants not listed on the reservation, damages, replacement of missing items, cleaning beyond normal expectations or any other expenses incurred by the renter.
NO Cleaning Fees:
We do not charge a cleaning fee to our guests. However, we will charge you for additional cleaning after departure if cleaning beyond normal expectations is required.
There will be a 6% County Room Tax and 1% State Lodging Tax calculated & charged on the total rental rate.
Trip Cancellation Insurance:
Mt Hood Vacation Rentals offers CSA travel cancellation/interruption insurance to every guest. CSA is authorized by the Oregon Department of Insurance. Once your payment becomes non-refundable, you may be able to receive a refund of rent and tax if you have purchased the insurance. For questions concerning the travel insurance, please call CSA directly at 1-866-298-6846. The insurance premium is non-refundable and non-transferable.
Upon receipt of payment, it becomes non-refundable. If you need to cancel and have not purchased the Trip Cancellation Insurance, there will be no refunds. Policies and rates are subject to change without notice. There will be no refunds due to acts of God, nature, weather or weather-related situations, mechanical or electrical failure, ski or golf conditions, power failures or family feuds unless specifically covered by CSA Trip Cancellation Insurance.
Prior to your payment due date, there is no charge to change your reservation. Once your payment has become non-refundable, there are no changes allowed.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: April 21, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Ok overall, not good for children or anyone who wants to be outs
Overall, the place is nice. Big house, open layout, nice kitchen, fully stocked with pots, pans, etc. Garage was great for parking inside. Beautiful, beautiful location, very secluded and very restful.
Some of the beds upstairs had absolutely horrible mattresses, but thankfully we didn't *need* them all so we could move them around and get the worst of them out of the rooms we needed.
However, we will never stay here again. While we were there, some of the neighbors were letting their dogs (including pit bulls) run around unattended in the yard of this house. We tried to take a quiet walk just outside the house with my two year old, and two huge dogs came out of nowhere and almost pounced right on her. Absolutely horrible. The owners of this house should think about installing high frequency speakers to repel dogs from the property. After that incident and after seeing multiple other dogs outside the house unsupervised, we didn't leave the house for the rest of the stay. So it was nice in the home, but we would have liked to be able to actually spend some time outside without fearing for the lives of our children.
Overall? If you're going with a bunch of adults to booze and relax, it's a good deal. If you want to be outside or have small kids, look elsewhere.
Best place to stay
Location, location, location. Located on the end of an island. Setting could have not been better. Only complaint I have is we were driving by the office and wanted to stop by and pick up the key earlier then the 4PM time so as to save time and an extra trip. We were greeted with rudeness and inflexibility. Did not match the rental's beauty at all.
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 05/25/2011
We agree the location of the Island Park Retreat is phenomenal. We try to allow early check-ins whenever possible, however, you arrived in our office at noon and check-in time is 4 PM. The home was not ready for your arrival at that time. Unfortunately, guests before you have asked for the key early, promising to not go to the home prior to check-in time, then sneak in anyway, forcing us to be strict about key distribution.
Island Retreat Luv
We'll be back next year! And possibly in the late spring too.
Great vacation spot at the foot of Mt Hood
I hosted our 13th annual "Boys Poker & Ski Weekend" at the Island Part Retreat and we had a great time. My five guest who flew in from all over the country loved the place. It is a beautiful riverside home that's close to Mt Hood's attractions and an easy 1 hr drive from PDX. Nice home, great secluded location, and an amazing hot tub spot right on the river. Oh, be very careful if you think that some hot tubbing followed by a quick dip into the river is a good idea... the water is shockingly COLD and quick in January!
Wonderful Home with amentities for groups or families!
Walking into this home was like a bit of heaven. Views of the trees and/or rivers from most windows was so beautiful and peaceful. The hot tub made some of the ladies completely relaxed. Kitchen space and multiple ovens was fantastic as we did a lot of cooking. The locations was fabulous, even without the Mt. Hood view that I had hoped for. I really couldn't have asked for a better spot.
Absolutely beautiful setting with lots of space. We especially appreciated the beautifully remodeled kitchen with its two ovens. The huge dining room and table were perfect for out Thanksgiving get together. Everyone at MHVRentals is very profession and helpful.
Girlfriends Weekend A Rousing Success
The house is gorgeous, everything was perfect. Island Park is our new favorite place. We've already booked for 2011.
Best of the far!
Our book club spent a long weekend at Island Park retreat and it lived up to its name - had a lovely time, very secluded, just the sounds of the river. The kitchen and dining room were perfect for the gourmands amoung us. The sleeping accomodations worked for all 9 of us comfortably! Everything we needed was here. We have rented from Mt. Hood Vacation rentals before and this location was better than the last one. Thank you for a wonderful time.
FAMILY GET TOGETHER
Had a last minute gathering. Relatives from Arizona, Seattle and Portland. Had a wonderful time and everyone was blown away with the house and location. Second stay with MT HOOD RENTALS first one Huckleberry Inn which was equally as impressive in its own unique way. Booking tonight for NEW YEARS at the Huckleberry. Praying for SNOW can not wait.
Thanks again to the verrry helpful staff.
Happy Valley, OR
Garage door knobs were loose and appeared
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 09/10/2010
Thanks for letting us know about the garage door handle. The screws to the door knob were loose and have been tightened.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Our 3rd stay!
again we stay here for the 3rd wonderful and any problems that came up regarding the house..they were soon resolved..we shall return because its absolutely the most gorgeous place and that river is magical..
Island Park Relaxation
The property was great - including the location - which couldn't be beat. It was just two of us so we didn't use 90% of the house. Jacuzzi was awesome at night. Nicely stocked with everything we needed. On
Troy Cadwell V.
Management Charges Fees for Hot tub use - BEWARE!
After paying them over $700 for two nights, the management charged me an additional $125 fee for “Misuse of the Hot tub.” The Management charged this fee because they said they needed to clean the hot tub after we used it. Said we had too much lotion on our skin. The Management lied to me and said they had pictures of the hot tub before we moved in and it was crystal clear. They sent me the pictures and claimed it was taken the day we checked in. Well, the management isn’t very smart here (besides on how to charge additional fees for things that were of no fault of the guest) and I looked at the properties of the pictures and the photos were taken a week after we checked out. Everybody in our party followed their rules and guidelines of how to use the hot tub. Now the management wont even reply to emails. If you stay at these properties, make sure to not sign the hot tub agreement. They will charge you over $100 if you do. Then never respond to any emails. These guys are crooks and you should not stay at any of their properties.
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 03/10/2010
We apologize that you were not completely pleased with your visit. We take pride in maintaining our hot tubs and keeping them in the correct balance with crystal clear water for each guest's visit. However, the hot tub water was green and murky after your visit. This could be due to a number of reasons including having lotions, hair gel, sweat or dirt on your body or even detergents and fabric softeners on swimsuits when you use the hot tub. Additionally, if beverages are consumed in the hot tub and they spill into the water, the chemical make-up will be changed. We do ask guests to sign the hot tub letter as it outlines your responsibilities as well as instructions when using the hot tub. We rarely find it neccessary to charge guests for mis-use of the hot tub; most do follow the instructions. We have replied to several of your emails and spoken with you on the phone several times, so I am not sure where the confusion lies.
Vera S.'s review of Upscale retreat, park-like setting, awesome
We rented the house for New Years and the only thing that was missing was the snow! But other than that everything was wonderful! The view and surroundings are breathtaking!
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 01/06/2010
You should have been here last year! You could barely see the house for all of the snow. El Nino is playing tricks with the weather this winter.
Fantastic experience from A...
Fantastic experience from A to Z. This was an excellent way to spend our 14th anniversary. We loved it so much we opted to stay an extra night!
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 11/14/2009
The Island Park Retreat is located on one of the most spectacular acres in the Villages of Mt Hood. Happy Anniversary!
Ben Lomond, CA
A piece of heaven on earth!
Wow what an amazing home and location! This property is so beautiful. The Salmon river is on 3 sides of the home and is breathtaking. Even in the wind and rain we enjoyed it. We were lucky to have a gloriously sunny day and the 5 of us took a ton of pictures as the colors of the leaves were changing and falling during our stay.
The home is lovely and well layed out. The rooms all had comfortable beds and great river views. It was very clean and well cared for. Wonderful natural light in most of the house. We enjoyed fires in the roomy fireplace everyday.Plenty of wood was provided for us.
If you want to plcae that is large enough for 5 friends or your family and yet feels very cosy this is the right place to stay!
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 10/29/2009
We are so pleased to hear how great your visit to the Island Park Retreat was for you. This home is truly located in one of the most stunning settings in the entire Mt Hood area. And we have had a really beautiful showing of fall colors this year.
Great little hideaway for peace and quiet.
All the luxuries of home, plus a hottub to sit near the Salmon River in...what more could you ask for.
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 10/29/2009
The hot tub and yard here are truly exceptional. We love this location. too.
Island Retreat happiness
It was very spacious and clean. The river as great. We would open the window at night and fall asleep listening the river. The entire weekend was very peaceful. It was very hard too leave.
Location Location Location
The location could not be beat - one of our absolute favorites. Everything was near perfect. The only change we would have asked for was another shower/bathroom upstairs for the price of the rental. We had five people sharing the one shower/bathroom upstairs. Otherwise it was awesome - thanks again for your excellent customer service.
love the place and love coming there and dealing with nice and warm people like celia....we will be back.
Island Park Review
The house was beautiful but a lot of space was wasted in the master bedroom and bath. The smaller bedroom down stairs lacked a closet and the half bath was on the other side of the house but the double sink was convenient. Our party of seven enjoyed eating together in the formal dining room but the placemats could be replaced. Relaxing in the living room was a challenge because of the limited seating. One person watched TV from behind the wet bar and there was no space to lounge.
The property's location was gorgeous and had us wishing to revisit in the summer. The management staff was very helpful and suggested places for us sightsee and have dinner. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the house!
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 05/28/2009
Good news!! The living room furniture has been updated, there are now 2 full-size comfy sofas and 2 easy chairs, so the entire group can enjoy the fireplace or watch TV together.
we enjoyed the space...
we enjoyed the space that the house had to offer. We would have loved it more if the beds were more comfortable. Also, the living space where we spent most our time was not conducive to an intimate evening with friends. Maybe another love seat or sofa would be better than the chairs and the carpet that kept bunching up.
It was unusual that we were unable to close the shades/blinds in the bedrooms...the cords were locked up in strategic knots and it was uncomfortable and kind of spooky) for us.
Comments about stay
Love the house have stayed in house before but the house is lacking living room furniture for sitting and relaxing. for a house that is for 10 plus people it does not have alot of furniture. Also needs more towels and blankets. Also I would let famlies know if they are supposed to bring there own toilet paper, soap and various other things. Just not alot of that available. Our family has rented from you company several times. Have always loved the houses we have stayed in and always had a good experience. thank you for making our holidays a special time.
Response from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals - 01/01/2009
Hi Bernadette-We usually do proved enough TP and other supplies for your rental. My guess is that with 10 people for 4 nights, there just wasn't quite enough of those items. Every home has 2 blankets for each bed. We will do a recount at this home to be sure there are enough. Also, there should have been 2 bath towels and 1 hot tub towel for each person for your visit, as well as wash cloths and multiple hand towels. Next time if there are not enought towels, please contact us during your visit and we will bring you more.
Ann R.'s review of Island Park Retreat
needed one more comfortable chair in the livingroom. We had 8 people and only five comfortable seats in the living room. A small love seat where the bench is would be perfect.
River House Offers Spectacular Setting, Dated Decor
The setting of this house is nothing short of a miracle, with stunning river views and access, lush foliage, and trails. Inside the house, there were lots of pluses, and then also a few shortfalls that left us, from a practical point of view, feeling underwhelmed.
A cabinet door falling off hinges in the kitchen was not a welcoming sight; a total absence of trash bags seemed stingy, and a more generous stock of guest soaps and perhaps some shampoos, and more than one threadbare towel per person for a week's stay, would have gone a looong way towards establishing a more hotel-level of comfort.
Also, the living room furniture is stiff and not very inviting.
However, the generosity of space of the property makes up somewhat for the lack of generosity of extra touches. Tons of square feet. The dining table can accomidate up to 10 people. The garage is huge. The lot itself is extensive (an acre!) and there are trails. Plenty of bedrooms of large size. The kids absolutely loved there room with two double beds and extra space for play.
Speaking of bedrooms, however, the master bedroom was very 80s, very dated. On the plus side, it is very big and has a private deck and killer views, and the bathroom is huge and filled with natural light. On the down side, the mattress STINKS. I felt like the princess and the pea, with aches and pains in my legs, back and neck after two nights sleeping in the master bedroom. The hubby and I were literally rolling towards the center of the bed because of the lack of support of the flimsy mattress. C'mon, guys, splurge on a decent mattress for the master bedroom. Why would you want to scrimp there? It sends a message of miserliness.
The TVs have DVD players in them, and that is really fun for family togetherness after a long day.
They do need to fix the A/C however. The temperature was in the 100s for a part of our weeklong stay, and we all had trouble sleeping.
Fun; Relaxing and Great People!
First time to Oregon. First time to Welches area. Cascade Property Management was excellent! Thanks Cecilia! And the other great ladies! Beautiful home; gorgeous weather; great food and plenty of ideas and information from Cascade made this a trip well worth the price and the travel!!
Thanks! We will definitely be returning!
Review of Island Park Retreat
As a group of eight adults we found the Retreat to be a beautiful, spacious home in which to enjoy each other and local spots of interest. Our only comments would be that more furniture (chairs, dressers, places to hang clothes) should be made available in the bedrooms.
Island Park Retreat - Mt. Hood
Overall it's a great house to stay at - it sits right on the confluence of two rivers. Furniture is so-so, TV isn't that great. But the house is very clean and sleeps quite a few. Nicely secluded location too!
Island Park Retreat
Having to check in so late only to check out so early over the weekend time period was a little too hectic for the price. The house was very nice (could have used a stereo since we're not TV people) The property management is the best!
Stay 3 nights, get night free
Winter Mid-Week Ski & Snowboard Special
Stay in a Mt Hood Vacation Rental, Sunday - Thursday nights, the 3rd night is 1/2 price and the 4th night is FREE! Ski or Snowboard at Mt Hood Meadows, Monday - Friday with a mid-week pass for $125 for the entire week! Valid January 6 - March 21, 2013