|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
CLICK THE ABOVE BUTTON TO VIEW OUR VIRTUAL TOUR
"Great place to stay. Loved the dock area and swim area. Would rent again and again. Loved it" - Sabrina, Van, WV
This modest beach house immerses its guests in breathtaking panoramic views over the picturesque Murrells Inlet from its full-length creek side porch and classic dock situated at the far end of a long boardwalk. Active families will enjoy the sandy shoreline for creek swimming, deep-water boating and fishing, and close proximity to the soft, white sands of the Garden City Beach. Additional features include comfortable furnishings, sundeck, carport, and ample parking.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$484||$484||$305 - $2,455||$0||2 nights|
|May. 18 2013 - Jun. 7 2013||$342||$342||$1,605||-||2 nights|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Aug. 2 2013||$484||$484||$2,455||-||2 nights|
|Aug. 3 2013 - Aug. 16 2013||$342||$342||$1,605||-||2 nights|
|Aug. 17 2013 - Aug. 30 2013||$321||$321||$1,480||-||2 nights|
|Aug. 31 2013 - Dec. 31 2013||$288||$288||$1,280||-||2 nights|
|Jan. 1 2014 - Jan. 5 2014||-||-||$305||-||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: June 18, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Winter stay in SC
For the rental fee the home that allowed dogs was acceptable. However, the house is 'sadly' in need of many repairs
When we arrived at the house, my daughter was very disappointed. After driving through a neighborhood of beautiful houses, it was a little disappointing to arrive at your house number and find it a little shabby. The yard was pitiful and the outside of the house could definately use a spruce up. However, once we got upstairs and into the main part of the house I thought it was very nice. Everything was clean and well equipped. Since I was cooking my Thanksgiving meal here I was especially pleased with the kitchen. For a rental unit, the kitchen had almost anything you could possibly need. I loved the porch facing the water and the dock was great for fishing - which was the main reason we chose the house. My only real complaint was that the light fixture outside the door was broken. With no light outside the door it was very tricky maneuvering the stairs at night when coming in or going out - especially for the older people in my group. Overall, I liked the location and the house.
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 01/18/2013
We're glad you enjoyed your Thanksgiving stay in Walker's View. It is an older beach home that was rented quite a bit last year. The owner is using this off-season to complete some work to "freshen it up"! The light fixture outside the door was fixed which should help! We hope to see you and your family again very soon!
Just fishing, but no catching
We loved visiting in December...no lines at restaurants, little traffic, etc. The guys came to fish, but not a good fishing time in the inlet. Very relaxing, though and restful. Excellent kitchen, nice beds and linens, comfortable couches and the guys loved the big screen TV. Floating dock needs some work and a nice addition would be running water on the dock for cleaning fish (when caught!). Great service.
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 12/13/2012
Ah... you discovered our secret! The off-season is wonderful, isn't it! We're glad you enjoyed Walker's View. We will pass along your suggestions to the owners. Hope to see you again very soon!
family with small kids
Great view, location
This house has an awesome location and view. We really enjoyed our stay. However, it is a shame that the house has not been kept up. The dock broke while we were there, sending our boat adrift since the board with the cleats to tie the boat to broke off completely. The house has plenty of beds and great potential, but the two downstairs bedrooms are completely separate from the main house so that you have to go outside to get into these bedrooms, not so good for kids. The exterior needs painting, the carpet is stained and needs to be replaced, the entire pier and dock are shabby.
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 08/31/2012
Thank you for your review of Walker's View. We want you to know your suggestions aren't going unanswered. This is a very popular house - it has been booked since late April. There hasn't been the opportunity for the owners to make any changes but they are very consciences and are aware of needed improvements. We try on our website to be very clear this house has outside entrance bedrooms - the description reads "Ground floor bedroom(s) have outside entrance only". We hope to see you again in the future to give Walker's View another chance!
Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
I want live here
This was the 2nd time we've stayed at Walker's View and it's simply perfect. While it's true that this is an older home, I think that's part of its charm. From the squeeking sliding doors to the aging wooden steps and carpet that has seen better days, we honestly loved it all. We swam, fished, sunbathed, cooked shrimp and veggies, lounged on the ample couches, propped our feet up on the decks in the evenings and lived in every inch of that fabulous house as if it were our own. I have stayed in modern condos and personally, I much prefer this home, because that's what it feels like...a home. The Litchfield staff is always responsive and helpful...thank you! We'll be back :-)
Our family really enjoyed our week long stay at Walkers View. I would like to thank Litchfield Realty for all their help during our stay. I read all the reviews on the house before renting and contacted Litchfield concerning the "no outlets in the bathrooms". They actually replaced the master bath light over the mirror with one that now has an outlet. The other two baths do not have outlets. Litchfield staff also quickly responded to our request for a vacume, mop, and a blind on the front door. The blind was missing when we arrived, the vacume was broken and there was no mop. We did have a few other issues that we reported. The fridge door shelf where you put drinks was broken and had been duct taped. We found this after we had to clean up a gal of tea off the floor. The dish washer made sounds and didn't clean well. We washed dishes by hand the rest of the week. The house was dirty and we filled the vacume dirt container up twice down staires and twice up staires when we first vacumed. The sliding glass doors going to the deck were, in a word, nasty when we arrived and the glass tables needed cleaning. The rear deck hadn't been swept and the door stuck and the door knob was broken off. The a/c had been mentioned before and we too had problems with the house being cool early in the week. The fans helped but until new windows are installed, this is going to continue to be a problem. Lastly there was a bug issue down stairs probably coming from the half inch gap under the exterior doors.
Now we loved the pier and caught a wide varity of fish throughout the week. The bed rooms were nice and we loved the family room area. There are only two Tv's in the rental but there are other cable outlets in several bed rooms. More Tv's would be nice especially on rainy days.
Overall we enloyed our stay and would stay at Walkers View again. Thanks again to the Litchfield staff for all their help. John's Family
Fun Time in Garden City.
We took our 16 foot Jon Boat and caught 11 different types of fish to include some nice flounder, spanish mackerel and black sea bass. The crabbing was difficult from the dock but in the creeks it was a plenty. The private beach is awesome, you do need to put your boat on the opposite side of the dock as long as the tide is in because it does get beat up. 2 eyes on the stove do not work but who cooks on vaca. Had a blast.
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 07/20/2012
Sounds like you guys had a wonderful vacation trip in Walker's View! Great suggestion about the dock and we'll check into the stove eyes. We hope to see you and your family again very soon!
Great place for kids
The house was very comfortable, clean and well furnished. The high light was our own beach in the back. We would stay here again. Checkin and checkout could not have been better.
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 07/05/2012
It's wonderful you and your family enjoyed Walker's View so much! We work very hard to make check-in and check-out a great beginning and end to vacation! We hope to see you again very soon!
Great place for fishing buddies.
Walker's View is an excellent location. Great place to ride your bikes and to fish. Took four of our grandchildren with us. I made them all wear their flip flops whenever we were inside the house. This is a pet friendly rental, yet it has carpet! Stains on the carpet made it apparent that yes, it had been urinated on! I was very disappointed upon our arrival, whenever I went to make the beds, most of the pillow covers were badly stained, as well as all the mattress covers. Kitchen and baths were very clean. If I could have slept in the kitchen or the bathrooms I would have enjoyed my stay much more.The deck on the street side needs major work. Looked as if it had been recently painted, yet part of it was about to fall off. There is no inside stairway to get to the bedrooms downstairs. The laundry room is also downstairs beneath the house. This house is more suitable for a gang of fishing buddies vs. a place to take your family. We've been going to Murrell's Inlet for the last 5 years. I never been disappointed in where we've stayed until this trip!
The people at Litchfield were great to help with our reservations, and I would recommend them to anyone.
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 04/19/2012
We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay in Walker's View, although we are glad you enjoyed the fishing! I know it doesn't help you any, but the spring clean for that property was scheduled in advance to take place the days you requested. Because you booked the property the day before your arrival the spring clean was pushed back. Again, we realize that doesn't help you any, but maybe it will provide some understanding of the circumstances. This house is like many of our houses in the area with an outside entrance to the downstairs bedrooms and laundry area. It is a great house for fishing, but many families have enjoyed it also! I'm glad we were a help - we just wish your experience had been more enjoyable! We hope to see you again very soon!
Janine and Dean WIlson
Johnson City, TN
Great vacation, wonderful cottage and location
Having rented many cottages over 30+ years, we have seen and experienced everything. This cottage was an outstanding choice for our family! It was located exactly where we hoped, had a nice dock for our boat, and was furnished exactly as we needed. The leasing company was wonderfully responsive and made our arrival and departure a dream. We certainly recommend all parties and the home to other visitors!
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 11/08/2011
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay in Walker's view! Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again very soon!
This house was great. Very comfortable furniture and everything was clean upon arrival. Great location in the inlet. We brought our john boat and spent everyday cruising. We also enjoyed going to the point with our dog to run and swim. What a great place. I would definately stay here again. My only recommendation would be to add WiFi.
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 09/22/2011
What a great suggestion - and the owner has set that up! Wi-fi should be installed about any time! So...please come back very soon! Thanks!
The house had everything we needed. Plenty of space and the big back porch was great. The dock and fishing were great. We must have caught over 60 fish total, but only kept about 10. One 4-5lb Flounder, sting ray, and most exciting was the barracuda I caught. Great week, but cut short by Irene.
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 08/31/2011
We're glad you enjoyed your stay in Walker's View. We often have guests ask what kinds of fish they can catch there and you answered that question! We hope to see you again very soon - without Irene around to spoil the fun!
Very comfortable and relaxing vacation.
This was a realy nice vacation house. We all really enjoyed fishing from the dock,the views of the inlet and watching the boats go in & out. The kids really enjoyed the sandy frontage...it was like having the beach in your back yard! The only set backs were we wished there were more tv's(with 9 people-including 3 kids- its hard to find something everyone will watch & also there was no internet...we plan alot of our activities & look for specials online...we would love to stay here again if internet was available. Would definatley recommend to those where internet isnt an issue.
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 09/15/2011
Thank you for letting us know about your stay in Walker's View! We will certainly pass along your suggestions to the owners! We want you to stay here again! Hope to see you soon!
9/25 update - the owners have taken your suggestion to heart and are installing wireless internet - Thanks!
Hampton, South Carolina
Very good location
The house is in a good location, but it has a musky smell. The air upstairs is comfortable but the downstairs is very cold or very hot. Suggestion: the downstairs needs a refrigerator.
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 08/18/2011
Thank you for letting us know about your stay in Walker's View. It's nice to hear the upstairs a/c was good to go as hot as it has been this summer! We will pass along to the owner your suggestion about the refrigerator. Hope to see you again very soon!
Piedmont, South Carolina
Relaxing but hot
As an overall rating I would rate the house as very relaxing and cozy, however, the heat index during our stay was very high and the house had an extremely hard time keeping cool. We kept the curtains pulled and all the blinds closed and the house stayed on 80 degrees. Had to call and have the agency bring some box fans out (which they did and were very prompt about it). The two bedrooms downstairs stayed very cool, but upstairs was very uncomfortable. There were no outlets in any of the bathrooms. The pots and pans were very cheap and poor quality which made cooking very frustrating. Plenty of silverwear and dishes though. Furniture was nice and there was plenty of places for everyone to sit. Washer and dryer worked great and was nice having them there. Thoroughly enjoyed the location on the canal and spent a lot of time fishing off the dock. There is not a "no wake" rule so if you bring your boat be prepared for it to take a beating! Very grateful to be able to take our dog with us to enjoy our vactation with us. The back porch isn't screened in and would have been nice if it was. Nice flat screen TV and big table with plenty of room for everyone to eat together. Rather long walk to beach, so had to rent a golf cart during our stay. Was nice being able to take a car and leave parked at the beach entrance for times others had to drive there. Beach area was never too crowded, which was great! The house is rather dated, but we enjoyed our stay overall... if the aC worked better it would have been better.
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 08/12/2011
Thank you for your review of Walker's View. The record heat this summer has played havoc will a/c units in many of our vacation rentals! Thank you for being so understanding! We have passed along to the owner your suggestion about the pots and pans. We hope to see you and your family again soon - hopefully the next time the temps will be more "normal!"
Tori and Rob
A Breezy Gazebo with gorgeous views
All of the family loved being on the waterway. The breeze over the water made the hot weather totally bearable. Plus the view of the salt marshes at Murrells Inlet was totally worth it.
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 07/12/2011
What a great descriptive phrase for Walker's View! Glad you enjoyed your stay there - come back soon!
Beautiful sunsets but not boat friendly
Nice home on the inlet. Lots of boat traffic with no way to protect yours. Need to get onsite boat ramp fixed. Small problem with stove but nothing that cannot be fixed. Nice sunsets with view of the whole inlet.
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 06/14/2011
Thank you for your review of Walker's View. We will pass along your suggestion about the boat ramp to the owner and will check out the stove. The sunset views are one BIG asset with this popular beach house! Hope to see you again very soon!
Don and Kim
Awesome back deck and view
My wife and I and our little Chihuahau stayed here for ten days. We liked the fact that the house is pet friendly. We loved the view and ate a lot of meals on the back porch. We liked that the back porch is shaded. I brought my 17' aluminum boat and docked it behind the house so that was a big plus. Be prepared for your boat to take a beating from wakes- it is not a no-wake inlet. Inside the house, pluses are the king bed in the master bedroom, large living room and central air. Minuses are no Wifi, old kitchen pots and pans, no electric outlet in bathrooms, and old appliances. All in all, though we had a great time and would stay here again in the future.
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 05/27/2011
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Walker's View and thank you for the tip about boats at the dock! We will pass your suggestions along to the owner. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Thank you!