The Crows Nest
|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyYes
|Theme||Adventure, Romantic, Wilderness, Away from it all, Lake, Waterfront|
Description from the owner
This cottage rental offers high quality, comfortable accommodations in a private setting nestled in pine and birch trees just a few feet from the waters edge. Located in Muskoka, this family, pet friendly cottage rental looks out onto beautiful Go Home Lake surrounded by islands, quiet water and an abundance of wildlife.
Experience a fun and interesting holiday on Go Home Lake and enjoy the private setting with water access only. The unique location of the cottage, only a few minutes by boat from the marina and mainland provides a fun relaxing holiday destination. There is plenty of docking and an enclosed boathouse to slip your person...Read more
The Crows Nest
Muskoka, Ontario, Canada
(Property location is approximate)
Additional Location Information
Island destination. Five minutes boat ride from marina. Shuttle included in price for first six people. Very private surrounded by wilderness. Sandy lake bottom and shallow for children in shore. Great fishing!
Location Type Away from it all, Lake, Waterfront
Rates shown in $ USD (Rental listed originally in CAD) (change)
|Rate Summary||$409||$409||$2,842||$0||7 nights|
|All Dates||$409||$409||$2,842||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the owner|
- Damage deposit - $482 - Security Deposit
- Damage deposit - $482 / stay - Security Deposit
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 13, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
South Bruce, Ontario
We had a wonderful time at The Crows Nest Cottage. It was exactly what we had hoped for and the only disappointment was having to leave! The cottage was warm and inviting, as were the hosts, Cynthia and Mike. It was clean, spacious, child friendly, and it is perfectly appointed on Go Home Lake. Very private, quiet, and most importantly it is a cottage we plan to go back to for years to come! We cannot say enough, it was perfect for our family!!
Thanks Cynthia and Mike for going out of your way in making sure we had a fabulous week! See you again soon!
Didn't Want to Go Home after Visiting Go Home Lake
We just had an amazing week at the Crows Nest. The property is beautiful and very private as it's the last cottage in the bay. The cottage is a perfect size for up to 2 families. The deck and Muskoka room offer a great view of the lake for sunset dinners. Good sun on the dock in the afternoon and upper deck offers a nice west sunset view. Feeding Chippy was cool too - very friendly chipmunk eats right out of your hand. It needs a few minor amenities such as basic spices, plastic cups for outside and a second fridge in the boat house would be great. A rental boat would also save a lot of hassle renting from the marina which I highly recommend you avoid dealing with Go Home Lake Marina for a rental.The owners are fantastic people to deal with - friendly, accomodating, very organized and on time with pick-up and drop offs.
The Bachert Family
Amazing weekend at Crow's Nest!
This cottage was just what we had hoped for. Beautiful, spacious, relaxing, things to do. We had such a great time hanging out on the dock, fishing, canoeing, boating, sitting altogether in the common room and around the campfire. Cynthia was so friendly and welcoming and we hope to visit here again.
Caroline & Francis
The Best Muskoka Holiday ever!
My family and I had the greatest opportunity a few weeks ago to spend a couple of days at The Crows Nest Cottage. The most wonderful cottage was clean, spacious, comfortable, and truly a home away from home. The hosts, Cynthia and Mike are a wonderful couple who are so ready to please, and genuinely concerned that we were comfortable and had everything we needed. It is truly worth the trip to The Crows Nest Cottage and we highly recommend a stay at this cottage!!!
A Great Getaway!
Our stay at the Crows Nest was wonderful. It was very clean, spacious and picturesque. We enjoyed the tranquility of our surroundings and would definitely return and would recommend this getaway to all. The owners were very friendly and accommodating to our needs.
Breathtaking scenery, and memorable moments!
Good service, and well looked after by Cynthia and Mike.
The cottage is roomy and well kept.
Very private location, last cottage on the bay, awesome spot!
Water sports and fishing were so much enjoyed by our family of 13.
A little too pricey for 3 nights.
Wonderful, Memorable experience at The Crow's Nest!
Myself and a group of fellow filmmakers had a hard time finding a cottage that would trust our large group of 20-somethings not to destroy the place, but Cynthia was more than happy to accommodate and trust us! Not only was she extremely welcoming, but she offered multiple boat rides for some of our late comers and even had activities to suggest like a treasure hunt! She even personally delivered the coordinates of a geo cache site.
As an avid cottage-renter I was pleased and surprised by the beauty, luxury and attention to detail in the space. There were endless activities for us to do and the environment was absolutely gorgeous. I would recommend this cottage to anyone!
Never have I had such a friendly, enthusiastic hostess and such a great space for it's very, very affordable price point. The Crow's Nest was a perfect example of what cottage country is all about.
Shawn and Donna
Serenity on the Shores of Echo Lake
My son and I spent 3 days at Crow's Nest Cottage recently. The cottage came fully equipped with everything one would need to enjoy their time there. Cynthia and Mike were hospitable hosts that went out of their way to ensure our stay was memorable. The location was easily accessible by boat and breathtakingly beautiful. Sunrises and sunsets were enjoyed on the large deck and the lake was explored via the canoe and kayak supplied. The cottage is large and cozy; well furnished and spacious for large groups. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are already planning a return trip.
Perfect Private Paradise!
I am so happy we chose to celebrate our wedding reception and honeymoon at this private cottage location. It couldn't have been any better! We had around 50 guests for an afternoon gathering, and then stayed for the week, just the two of us.
When researching this location we found the cost to be a little on the high end, but not too far off from others, and let me tell you, the "You get what you pay for" saying applies to this location.
A large cottage with several rooms where people are not on top of each other. It also included a bunkie. The kitchen and dining areas were great for cooking and serving. Whether it was curling up with a book on the leather couches on a rainy day, or a glass of wine on the Muskoka chairs on the dock.
This cottage was more like a house. The grounds were well maintained with gorgeous gardens and play areas for kids. Very clean - therefore easy to keep that way.
This was a little more difficult because I had to transport several guests. The boat ride to the location is 8-10 minutes (not 5min). I was nervous my guests were going to feel sick, or be uncomfortable, but they loved it! I needed to get in touch with the owners for a ride frequently, and felt guilty every time, but they always showed up with a smile (yes, it cost us extra). The rental agreement was very clear from the beginning and all my questions were answered.
This was the best part, it couldn't get any more private! Although the owners have a cottage down the lake, and I felt that I had to babysit some of my louder guests, it was great. We used the water sports equipment to explore the area including the island close by with a secluded beach.
Overall, this was very good. The owners are close if you need assistance with anything, but not in your face watching over you - a nice balance. Although it took a few phone calls to get a ride on the boat, never too long.
Overall, I wish I could book a week here every summer. It is the true Muskoka living with privacy!
Little slice of heaven
Our family stayed here for two weeks in 2011 and booked for the same two weeks for 2012 before we even left! It was exactly the perfect spot for our group to enjoy each other and our surroundings, not to mention the fish in the lake waiting to be caught!
I hesitate to brag on the cottage too much for fear that it will be heard to reserve our two weeks once the world knows about this gem! But the truth is, if you are looking for peace and beauty and comfort, give Cynthia a call! Just beware..you will want to make a habit of it!
Saint Thomas, Canada
best cottage i've rented in 20 years
i've rented cottages in muskoka fo 2o years and until i rented from mike and cynthia have never been able to find what i would consider the perfect spot.
By that i mean great lake,clean, well layed out and appointed cottage,friendly and helpful owners,privacy and fishing.I found all of this and more at the crows nest.it's the only place i've rented that when i got home have said i will definetly be going back.
cynthia and mike are the most honest and reliable folks i have ever dealt with .if you follow a very few and common rules such as leaving the cottage the way you will find it (spotless) you won't have a problem here.
i have told cynthia to give my number to anyone considering the crows nest for a vacation and i will gladly give them the real lowdown.
treat your family to a top notch cottage rental,you won't be sorry you'll be the families hero for finding this gem
Don't go here and don't trust the owner
We were a group of 12 people who stayed here for three days. The cottage has spider webs, dust and big ants all over. The wood chairs are old and ready to break. The beds are in terrible shape, you can look at one in the picture where she has put a single mattress on a double frame, very uncomfortable. Only one shower and very small at that. The owner charges a large deposit, does not check the cottage with you when you are leaving and once you have left, sends you an email with a list of bogus allegations simply to keep your deposit. I asked her to look at the cottage with me at the end, she said it is fine and then she told me later that I should have insisted more. Do not trust anything she says. She told me a lot of things about the previous renters which she repeated about us.
Response from Cynthia Douglas - 08/24/2012
Although we have repeatedly asked Flip Key to not allow this review due to the slanderous and inaccurate information, they for some reason seem to think this will benefit you the reader. Somewhat questionable businesses practice however we will respond in the most informative way possible to keep it simple.
Although this group claimed to be a responsible group of professionals and agreed on the contract that they would clean the premises to the same conditions they arrived to rather then pay our cleaners,the cottage was left in a completely filthy state for our next guest. We of course had the property cleaned for the next guest and kept part of their security deposit as clearly stated in the rental agreement. Some people have no respect for other people’s property. You can read our other reviews and decide if this review has any truth.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Watch out about the manager, she is not trustable
Here is what happened to us in this cottage. We rented the cottage as it is a single cottage in an island with lots of facilities including a paddle boat however it was a cottage with lots of cottages around it near a lake.
We were expect the manager to pick up up by the Marina and take us to the cottage at noon by she came late for an hour.
The cottages wasn't clean when we arrived and roof was leaking when it was raining on a day of 3 days we stayed there.
We expect a cottage with 13 beds but the main cottage was only for 8 and there was a dirty cabin for 4 beside it.
The manager is not trustful because she is looking for any kind of excuse to keep our deposit. When we were leaving the cottage, we cleaned everywhere even the windows and when she checked it she said "It's perfect and everything is fine". Later when we were far on the way back to our home, she called us that she doesn't return the deposit because the cottage is not cleaned??? and then She started to threaten us that his father (which is the real owner) is a police officer!!!
My whole experience about this trip is that the area and the lake is super beautiful but if you wanna enjoy your trip with good memories, don't go to this cottage definitely.
Response from Cynthia Douglas - 07/23/2012
Thank you to FLipKey for being fair to both the cottage owners and people renting cottages as I do believe they are trying their best to facilitate you the public in making informed decisions before you rent a cottage for your holiday. Unfortunately it is a difficult task to weed through reviews such as this that are driven by dishonesty. If you are interested in what this property and the people running it are really all about please read the other reviews. I think the content of this review and the nature in which it is written speaks for its self.
The Crows Nest
We just got back from a great week at the Crow's Nest. Of all the cottages we've rented (and there have been loads) this was by far the greatest find! Lovely scenery, gorgeous gardens, beautiful views from the windows, dock and deck along with a cozy cottage with a full service kitchen and plenty of room to enjoy. With loads of rooms this cottage will provide you with enough sleeping space for all your guests and family and the bunkie will absorb the rest!
Thanks to Cynthia and Mike for making our stay so pleasant and for the great boaters lesson you gave me on the first day!