|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Mermaid's Den is a nicely decorated, comfortable vacation home. The open, spacious great room with panoramic ocean views will take all your cares away. Enjoy the beach and the furnished sundecks overlooking the pool and ocean. Featuring a private pool, hot tub, game room with pool table, this home is sure to be a great choice for your next Outer Banks getaway.Amenities Include: Cen A/H, DW, MW, 6 CATV's, W/D, Stereo, CFs, Enc O/S, Charcoal Grill, telephone, Furnished Sun Deck, Pool, Hot Tub, Ocean ViewsGround Level: BR w/PymBnk & TR, BR w/PymBnk & TR, BR w/2T, Full Bath, Half, Bath, Rec Room w/ Pool Table, CATV, Stereo, Wet Bar w/ Full S...Read more
Nags Head, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$695 - $1,915||$695 - $1,915||$1,895 - $7,995||$0||7 nights|
|May. 12 2013 - May. 18 2013||$715||$715||$1,995||-||7 nights|
|May. 19 2013 - May. 25 2013||$815||$815||$2,495||-||7 nights|
|May. 26 2013 - Jun. 1 2013||$915||$915||$2,995||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 2 2013 - Jun. 8 2013||$1,155||$1,155||$4,195||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 9 2013 - Jun. 15 2013||$1,315||$1,315||$4,995||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Jun. 16 2013 - Jun. 22 2013||$1,615||$1,615||$6,495||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 23 2013 - Jun. 29 2013||$1,715||$1,715||$6,995||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 30 2013 - Jul. 6 2013||$1,835||$1,835||$7,595||-||7 nights|
|Jul. 7 2013 - Aug. 10 2013||$1,915||$1,915||$7,995||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 11 2013 - Aug. 17 2013||$1,715||$1,715||$6,995||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 18 2013 - Aug. 24 2013||$1,415||$1,415||$5,495||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 25 2013 - Aug. 31 2013||$1,135||$1,135||$4,095||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 1 2013 - Sep. 7 2013||$915||$915||$2,995||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 8 2013 - Sep. 21 2013||$735||$735||$2,095||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 22 2013 - Jan. 4 2014||$695||$695||$1,895||-||7 nights|
|View all 15 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 16, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Pictures don't do it justice!
Looks nice from the picutres, but they do not begin to capture the beauty of this home!
Bedrooms were spacious and well laid out.
There was plenty of room for the entire family.
2 kitchens was a very nice bonus!
Clean, but could have used a good, deep cleaning.
We had no problems from any amenities. Used the washer and dryer multiple times a day.
The only thing I would change about this house is the walkway to the beach. Luckily we had 2 strong men who took a shovel to remove the 2-3 foot deep sand from the walkway, but it only stayed uncovered for about a day. Walkway should be up higher like the one next door.
Overall, I was pleasently surprised by this house!
It was the perfect time of year to be there too!
this house needs a good cleaning deep down, after waiting to check in for inspection They did not see very well , dead roaches, ceiling fans gross, lamp shades gross . Vac did not pick up very well needs a swifter mop at this house.Kitchen was well stocked . I spent 2 days tring to clean I cleaned the air vent up stairs it was so dirty that I dont know how air conditioner worked . This could be a very nice house just to dirty.
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 11/20/2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for "Mermaid's Den". Resort Realty strives to give all of our guest a great stay, and we are sorry to hear that the home was not cleaned to our standards. We would have loved to have had the opportunity to correct the concerns your mentioned. We hope that will give us another chance to give you the best stay possible.
Beautiful home with amazing views!
This was our first year using Resort Realty for an Outer Banks home and overall we had a good experience and would probably use this agency again.
The house was very nice and we immediately felt at home. We always stay ocean front in Nags Head and this home was absolutely perfect for our family. The home was well equipped and had everything we needed.
The only issue we had was that our beach access steps/walkway were completely covered in sand (at leat 5 feet high) and we had several toddlers and disabled people with us. Resort Realty did bring us shovels to the home and we put some of the men in our group to work!
Seaside Park, NJ
Not what we expected!
We've been renting in OBX for years, this was our first time renting with Resort Realty... also our first time being disappointed w/ the property we stayed in. - Multiple screens on windows/doors missing. Not convenient for dog owners or people w/ small children - Rental stated "internet access", house didn't have wireless. - The furniture, carpets, & linens were filthy. Bath towels had stains, as did the furniture & carpets. Dead bugs & dust everywhere - Washer/Dryer outdated & smelled moldy.The washer spin cycle didn't wring out the water & therefor clothes had to be in dryer for twice as long. - Pool table pockets were falling out. Rec room was also deceivingly larger in photos. Barely spent any time down there due to lack of seating. Lack of seating overall for 8 br house - Dishwashers barely worked. Most of the glassware/dishes dirty upon arrival. Had to wash them before using! House is lacking kitchenware. Had the bare minimum (4 plastic wine glasses, no beer mugs, barely any bowls for chips, etc). Had to go to the Dollar Store to purchase things we needed. The Keurig coffee machine was broken upon arrival. The electronics/TVs in house severely outdated. The only DVD player in any of the bedrooms didn't work. The rest of the br TVs were awful. Too small, VHS, didn't work, etc! Wires for large TV upstairs were wacky. Tv went blank several times & had to wiggle wires to make it work. Tv remote upstairs was held together with a Snickers wrapper. Really? - One of our couples had their shower door fall off. God forbid a child was in the shower & the door fell on them! Fix it! Lack of outdoor garbage cans! For an 8 br house, there should be at least 3 cans & perhaps a recycling can. Had a major problem figuring out what to do with all of the garbage. Overall, for the money paid to stay here it was a complete disappointment. The check-in/check-out process was a breeze, we loved the general location & we loved being ocean front, but the house itself was a disgrace.
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 04/09/2012
Thank you for your response on FlipKey. We are very sorry you had some concerns and thank you for bringing them to our attention!
We pride ourselves in assuring our homes are in proper working order and fit our guests needs. Since your visit we have notified housekeeping in regards to the home not being clean. Our maintenance department is going to ensure all windows have screens on them. We have fixed the pool table pockets and shower door. We have gotten more kitchen items and will take the Keuring machine out, if it is not working. We have asked the owner about internet, and they choose to not have wireless. Again, thank you for taking the time to bring all of these items to our attention.
Thank you for booking your vacation with Resort Realty and we hope to see you again next year!
Bright Family Vacation
Great location, house could use upkeep
At first glance, Mermaid's Den appeared to be great for our vacation with parents, in-laws, sister and her boyfriend and my family, however, the house obviously was in need of a deep clean.
All the air vents were dusty - really dusty - not just from this season. In fact, everything was dusty/dirty - the windowsills, tv stands, anything that wouldn't be cleaned by a renter when leaving at the end of their stay.
One of the sliders on the 2nd level leaked, but we didn't find this out until drenching rain came near the end of our stay.
Tv remotes for several of the tvs were missing and there were extra remotes in those rooms that didn't control the tvs.
The mattresses were cheap and your back really feels that after one night.
There was a gutter that was down on the back deck (probably as a result of the hurricane that had passed a week and a half earlier) and despite a call into the Maintenance department, no one came out to take a look at it.
The pool was sandy when we arrived despite the fact that the check in envelope stating that pools are serviced on check-out/check-in day. The pool was cleaned later in the week. The pool deck had some nails that needed to be pounded back in so little feet would't stub a toe.
Overall, while the location was great!! Oceanfront with a pool, close to everything. The maintenance and upkeep of the house was poor.
We hated to leave!
This was a really great house for a big group. Kitchen & dining area were the best because often times large groups need to split up to eat in different locations around the main level. All 14 of us could eat simultaneously. Loved this house!
Park Ridge, NJ
We were so excited to be staying in an oceanfront home with 16 extended family members. We walked into a home that had sandy floors as well as sandy beds and couch. Telephone was not working in upstairs kitchen, there was a crack in the electric stovetop that turned into many cracks over one of the burners. Very little deck furniture to sit out on the deck to enjoy the oceanfront view. Only 4 Lounges by pool and two were broken. Bedrooms were nice size. Dryer broke in the beginning of the week and it took two days to get it repaired. Had multiple light bulbs out as well as TV remotes needing batteries. Lackied sufficient silverware for the amount of people house holds. Do not think the inspection person did a good job. Realtor slow to respond to our concerns. Had to call multiple times. For the amount of money we paid for this house, we were extremely disappointed.