Ideal location, spectacular views, plenty of amenities and reasonable pricing make this home the best deal on the Outer Banks for a vacation that does not break the bank. Enjoy the sunrises and spectacular ocean views from a lounge chair or in the hot tub on one of the ocean-facing decks. Relax on the front decks and admire sunsets over the Federal wildlife preserve across the street. Fix a refreshing beverage at the wet bar and enjoy it beside the pool or the big screen tv. Large great room opens to the dining areas and kitchen to enjoy ocean views even while dining or relaxing inside. A quiet & relaxing area, yet close to golf, shopping..., dining, sightseeing, etc. Enjoy the nearby community walking/jogging/biking/rollerblading path, or stroll down the beach to the pier. Amenities Include: 3 TVs, VCR, DW, MW, W/D, A/H, Hot Tub, OS, Stereo/CD, sky lights, CF, park grill, game table, BG, PC, HC, answering machine, Optional Linen Package available for an additional chargeLevel 1: Sitting room w/ TV, wet bar w/MW and frig, laundry room, 1/2 bath, BR w/2 Bs and connect hall bath, BR w/Q and crib, MBR w/Q, BR w/Q and connecting hall bath. Level 2: Large great room, 2 dining areas, kitchen, MBR w/Q, hot tub on top ocean facing deck.
Additional amenities include: partials allowed, hometown hero discount, floor plans available, less than 500 yards.Read more
Left on 07/05/2014 for a stay in June 2014 | Ella B
Oceanfront, but no walk way except over the dunes. Needs a boardwalk to the beach. Not for the elderly or those with disabilities. House was very clean. 3 of 5 lights burned out in dining area, no lounge chairs by the pool and only 3 or 4 small spoons to eat with. Called and reported that we were short 3 sets of towels that we paid for and that lights were burned out, nothing was done. Suggest you not rent towels take your own. We had a good time, but wouldn't rent this house again.
Left on 09/26/2013 for a stay in September 2013 | The shepherd's
A bunch of family members and I went n stayed here at a beautiful vacation for a week! It was a beautiful home with a great view of the beach! I have two little ones (three & almost 2) so we were a little concerned about not having a gate at the top of the steps on the front deck, also the built in bench was a great concern as the children went straight for it when out on the deck! The pool was a little to chilly to swim in , although we stayed the 2nd week in September.. But over all it's a great house to rent! Was very clean when we arrived. Hope to come back and stay again!
Left on 07/14/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | pmk
Not what we paid for! Kitchen was pretty bare as far as utensils go. Small appliances did not work very well, very outdated. The washing machine sounds like a train and leaks down to the garage area. The beds are not comfortable at all! Ceiling fans are too noisey also. We had a great view and beach access but that was the best thing. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 08/01/2013
Thanks so much for your feedback. Communication we receive from our guests is a great way to gauge what we are doing right, be made aware of what we can improve, and in both cases are very much appreciated. We are very sorry you had some concerns.
We have forwarded the information you supplied to the owners for their consideration and information. We hope you will return to the Outer Banks and give us an opportunity to assist you in your vacation needs.
Laura from Chesapeake
No frills beach house
Left on 04/20/2013 for a stay in April 2013 | Laura from Chesapeake
This was a last minute oceanfront rental and we were not looking for a five star. Some storm damage to the beach access boardwalk has yet to be addressed and hopefully will be before summertime. This house has great potential once updated in furniture, bathroom fixtures, etc. It has a fireplace but it was locked up for our stay in cold weather-would have been nice to have had a working fireplace. In the end I thought we paid a little more than it was worth. The linen service was nice to have, but the quality of the linens and towels was equivalent to a very cheap hotel. That was disappointing too for the linen fee we paid. The location was good, and the oceanfront aspect was important. No internet access, crappy cable service and only one nice TV. I thank the people next door for their wifi signal. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 05/23/2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on this home. We have forwarded your comments to the homeowner. We are very sorry that you weren't happy with the home but are pleased to report that this cottage has been recently updated with new living room furniture, a re-stocked kitchen, new bed pillows, and new stereo. Old items were removed and replaced and furniture was re-arranged so that it is now more practical and fresh. Unfortunately, the fireplace is not working so we have not been advertising it. Thank you for booking your vacation with Resort Realty and we hope to see you again next year.
Great location...downhill from there!
Left on 04/16/2013 for a stay in May 2012 | OBX girl
The location was great but that is where the good ended! The house was dirty looking and lots of rust...the fridge, the vents, the hardware on the sinks. The screens were mostly ripped. Sand blocked the path to the beach so we had to walk down the neighbors driveway and by their house to the beach. When we washed clothes the entire house shook! There was also some mystery liquid dripping from under the house where one of the bathroom would have been located above. We have been visiting the Outer Banks and renting houses for over 10 yrs and this is by far the nastiness one we have stayed in. It is obvious that the owners never visit much less do any mainetance on the house. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 05/08/2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on this home. Resort Realty does appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our service and our homes. We are very sorry that you weren't happy with the home but are pleased to report that this cottage has been recently updated with new living room furniture, a re-stocked kitchen, new bed pillows, and new stereo. Old items were removed and replaced and furniture was re-arranged so that it is now more practical and fresh. We do hope that you notified us of your concerns while you were here as our goal is to have 100% happy guests. Thank you again for your time.
It would be a great house if they would clean a little better.
Left on 06/07/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | Amy
Resort Realty had our home ready for us on a timely manner. We vacationed with 4 adults & 4 kids, and we enjoyed the lay out and space of the home. We enjoyed that the dune was somewhat small in front of the house so that we could have a view of the ocean. We were disappointed that the home showed pictures of a stairway & walkway directly to the the beach, but when we got there, the dune deck & stairs were unusable due to the sand piled on top of it & the door from the pool to the walkway was was covered over with ply wood. There was still access to the beach by walking between the fence & neighbors house. The house was not a clean as we are used to. When we showed up, the kitchen floors & cabinets were sticky. The furniture was visibly dirty. The kitchen lacked organization & there were very few plastic dishes with lids to store left over food. No towels or washcloths in the kitchen, no bathmats in the bathroom. No pool or beach toys at the house. Beach umbrella at the house was broken. Most other houses we have stayed at didn't advertise these thing but they were always included. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 07/10/2012
Thank you for your response on FlipKey and expressing your concerns about the furnishings and landscaping of the property. Resort Realty takes pride in providing a clean, habitable and comfortable home to all our guests. Rest assured we have contacted the individual homeowner with your recommendations and hope that you will vacation with us in the near future.
Left on 05/25/2012 for a stay in April 2012 | Kelly
We loved the location. It was convienient but calm at the same time.
The furniture,carpet and linens were very stained.
The pool area was not well kept up. There was about three to four feet of sand inside the pool fence as well as two inches at the bottom of the pool. We called about it and they said someone would come to take care of it and nobody came.
The trash bins were cracked and animals got in them and made a mess.
There was a broken coffee pot and many broken lights.
The walkway to the beach was almosy buried in sand. I rented place with a wooden walkway because my elderly grand parents needed it but they could not use it.
We thought it was inconvienent to have to vacume at the end of the trip. What are there cleaning people for?
All of the screens on the sliding doors either fell of when used or were hard to open. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 06/18/2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Flip Key. Resort Realty offers our sincerest apology to you and your family for any inconveniences endured during your stay on the Outer Banks. We are sorry we missed some items during our initial inspection of the home and we thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Our number one priority is to make sure our guests not only have the best possible experience, but to make sure that our guests are happy and satisfied. Rest assured your concerns were addressed with our Maintenance and Housekeeping Departments and we have not had similar issues since your stay. The individual homeowner(s) have been advised and all of us here at Resort Realty hope you will give us another opportunity as your vacation rental company of choice.
mom of 3
Bala Cynwyd, PA
Great location, OK house
Left on 09/22/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | mom of 3
This house is in am amazing location...right on the beach. The pool and hot tub were great! The house lay-out is great. The house, however, was not very clean and it needs some updating (which wouldn't bother me so much if it were cleaner).
Worse rental experience ever experienced.
Left on 08/25/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Terri
Due to so many repairs being needed, our vacation was interupted and was not a relaxing vacation at all. We had to inspect everything in the home to avoid being charged for things we did not break. The realtor and service people were very helpful and pleasant but we just felt that the items should have been addressed and repaired prior to our rental.
Union Bridge, MD
Left on 07/27/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Brian Green
this property was very nice for the most part. Large enough for our group, with just the right amenities.
Raleigh, NC / Philadephia, PA
Left on 07/07/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | Beth L
How can you go wrong at the beach, right? Well, we've rented on the Outer Banks for 9 years. This was the least favorite rental. My comments of the house: not equipped to handle the number of people, i.e. kitchen not well stocked; ants; a/c broke while we were there; boards to beach were not well maintained (popping up; nails sticking out); minimal or no furniture on any outside decks, except main one by hot tub; wifi was poor. House just needs a little attention.
Spacious home with terrific ocean views, deep cleaning needed
Left on 12/02/2010 for a stay in November 2010 | Lori
Home open and spacious. Hot tub would not heat properly, mouse droppings in kitchen drawers and cabinet, mouse seen in master bath upstairs. Exterior lights went out 2nd night but were fixed promptly.Upstairs carpet very dirty.
Mount Airy, NC
Left on 10/20/2010 for a stay in October 2010 | Jessica
This property was nice for a large family with lots of parking. The bedrooms are nice and we loved the hot tub on the deck. The views of the ocean were wonderful. We saw deer each night in the driveway and loved the sunsets as well. We did have a problem with the pool being closed as of October 7th and no one informing us of that and with the fact that the ad says big screen TV and it is a 27" TV in a large room with poor sound quality. The check in and out is a plus with resort realty and the staff is good to work with.
Needs some care
Left on 08/25/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | OBX Lovers
This home needs some updating, cleaning and tender loving care. The bed I slept in was uncomfortable, most of the baths are outdated and the home has an awkward layout. It was missing rails for the top bunks in the children's room (safety issue). The deck needs some comfortable chairs for relaxing and ocean viewing! I realize that Resort Realty was under no obligation to let us get the keys early, but we did call after getting in to town to see if there was a possibility. They led us to believe that we could get the keys sooner than 4:00PM, but then we ended up sitting in the parking lot waiting for about 45 minutes watching others go in and get theirs and we did not end up getting ours until 4:00. We had a great week and enjoyed the oceanfront location, the pool and the hot tub, but we will look elsewhere for a rental next time. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 09/21/2010
Thank you for your response on Flip Key. We are very sorry you had some concerns and thank you for bringing them to our attention!
We pride ourselves in assuring homes are in proper working order and fit our guests needs. We will be speaking to the owner about the outside furniture, bedding and bunk bed railings! In the future, please do not hesitate to call our office while you are on vacation with concerns….we may have been able to take care of them while you were here.
As for checking in prior to 4pm….yes there is always the chance that homes will be ready early…and we would be glad to release them as soon as they are ready. I am sorry your home was not ready prior to 4pm.
Thank you for booking your vacation with Resort Realty and we hope to see you again next year!
I love the Outer Banks!
Left on 08/04/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | I love the Outer Banks!
This was a great house. The layout is terrific and the rooms are large. The pool and hot tub are great and the beach is right outside the door. The only problem is that it is a little too far down the beach - a little too far from shops, restaurants, etc.
The service from Resort Realty is terrific - they were very responsive.
Tom and PoPo
Good location, could use a few more amenities.
Left on 07/24/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Tom and PoPo
This unit would be good for fishermen. For beachgoers it was difficult to keep the sand from the pool. The outdoor shower needs hooks, bench and a floor to keep you out of the sand. It was impossible to wash sand off and not track into house. The pool was small, but good for young children.
The living area was bright and well appointed, but the kitchen wasn't equipped for much cooking. One of the four burners on stove wasn't working. Very few teaspoons. Electric skillet lacked an electrical connection. Master bath was small and outdated. The lazy susan was great for group dining.
Downstairs living quarters were nice with lots of spacious bathrooms. The extra kitchenette area downstairs was convenient. Deck areas weren't that comfortable. Proximaty to beach was wonderful. Views were great.
Great house, great location
Left on 06/23/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Erin
This house is very nice with a great location. The pool is definitely a bonus, although not big, it is a great alternate to the beach. The beds are not the most comfortable and the tv has horrible sound but these are minor issues. The house is close to good restaurants and is overall a great property to rent.
Left on 06/16/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Michelle Southerly
Resort reality was great. Location of the house was great. House needs some TLC. Black mold in bathroom upstairs on base of cabinet. soft spots on deck outside kitchen and upstairs bedroom. Front left burner on stove didn't work. Decking to ocean needs replaced as siderails weren't even attached to deck. That is a real safety hazzard.
Don, Tracy & Friends.
A nice week on the beach.
Left on 05/27/2010 for a stay in May 2010 | Don, Tracy & Friends.
The house is layed out well and is located well for the beach and shopping. It however needs a lot of maintenance. All of the bathrooms and the kitchen need remodeled. The floor coverings should be replaced and the needs a good top to bottom cleaning. The kitchen utensils, pots, pans and appliances were terrible. The parking area, rear bbq area and pool are all need cleaned and maintenance. The overall feeling I got from the house is its only purpose is to get rented as much as possible without putting any money back into it. Which is a shame because it is a beautiful house and location.
D F Branstetter
Rental unit #5858- Poor Condition
Left on 09/16/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | D F Branstetter
This home has much deferred maintenance issues as well as safety issues which include but are not limited to electrical, plumbing, structural items, broken furniture.
I would not have rented this unit had I known it's true condition. It is my understanding that this property has received past complaints from other tenants. No corrective actions appear to have been taken.
I did leave a list of items needing attention with the Rental Manager/Asst.Property Manager at Resort Realty.
My family has enjoyed visits to the Outer Banks since the l970's. This is the first time I have ever been disappointed with a rental unit or felt the need to make a complaint.
Needs a clean up
Left on 08/06/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | bmwdane
We are very comfortable in this house. This was the 3rd year we have stayed there. However the house does need a good deep cleaning and painting to spruce it up. The kitchen needs an overhaul of gadgets and pots/pans. The front left burner doesn't even work. The downstairs bathroom floor on the left is a lettle scary, last year a workman said not to use it because it looked like the floor was rotting out. We do love the location of the house and the layout. We always have fun there.
Left on 07/18/2009 for a stay in July 2008 | Beach Lover
I really enjoyed my trip to the Outer Banks, just not crazy about the condition of the house that we rented. Have stayed in better.
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | mistimri01
home was in need of repairs/upkeep by owners. Airconditioning poor fans poor.
Doors hard to open. To much sand around pool
Weirton, West Virginia
We love the Outer Banks.
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in May 2009 | beachnutt14
The home we rented, "A Beautiful Vacation" was comfortable and clean, but in need of some re-decorating and maybe some renovation to the wooden decks. The location was great. Quiet and not crowded, which is the way we like it. The house is very convenient to restaurants, shopping, and sightseeing. We enjoyed the private pool, but the walkway to the beach was buried in sand. The service we received from Resort Realty Outer Banks was very courteous and friendly. We would rent from them again.
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in July 2007 | Sancrab
My husband and I rented A Beautiful Vacation for a family vacation with my children, grandchildren and my uncle. Unfortunately, we were unable to stay, but my children, their children and my uncle, who celebrated his 90th birthday while on vacation, were able to enjoy a wonderful week at the beach. The only negative I heard was from my granddaughter about the sandcrabs in the pool and my uncle froze in the master bedroom on the upper level, until the kids shut off the a/c vent. My uncle besides turning 90 is on a lot of blood thinners. It is my desire to return to this cottage and get to stay. The reason we were unable to stay was my husband's mother was taken to the hosptial the night of our arrival and we never got to return. She was diagnosed with Stage 4 lung cancer and we lost her the following September. Would I recommend A Beautiful Vacation, yes! Do I wish the rent was less YES! So, there you have it.
By the way I have been going to Nags Head since the early 50's and boy have I seen it grow and that is why I prefer South Nags Head!
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.