Vacation in this oceanfront home, with amenities such as a 6-person Hot Tub, spectacular ocean views, Fireplaces (free firewood provided) in LR & in secluded MBR suite, Jacuzzi in MBR, 2 levels of furn decks, walkway to beach, the second MBR suite has private bath. Elevated Lifeguard chair nearby on beach, lots of parking. A Dream Vacation is in the perfect location because it is in a quiet, relaxing area, but only a short distance from all the action such as golf, shopping, dining, sightseeing, etc. Only about a 200 yard walk down the beach to the newest, nicest major pier on the entire East Coast. Perfect location and reasonable price make... this one of the very best deals on the entire OBX! New Upgrades for 2014: New Paint, Granite Countertops, New Mattresses in all Master Suites, and Flat Screen TV's in all the bedrooms!Amenities Include: Cen A/H, DW, MW, W/D, Several flat screen TV's in bedrooms, large flat screen TV, Phone, Stereo, Indoor Jenn-Air Grill, 2Enc O/S, BB Goal, home is right on the miles-long biking, skating, jogging & walking concrete path through South Nags Head. Grill, Toys, PCR. Ground Level: 2 Enc O/S, Ground Entry. Level 1: MBR w/Q & Priv Bath, BR w/Q, Hall Bath, BR w/2T, BR w/PymBnk, BR w/2Bnk, Laundry. Level 2: Living w/SS, Dining, Kitchen, Half Bath, MBR w/Q & Priv bath w/Jacuzzi.
Additional amenities include: partials allowed, floor plans available, hometown hero discount, non-smoking, no pets, less than 500 yards.Read more
Left on 10/24/2013 for a stay in October 2013 | Terry
Location can't be beat! Great decks on the ocean! But too much of a big party house -- carpeting is filthy and needs to be replaced. Whole house needs painting -- evidence of roof leaks and patches. Also can't believe there is no wireless Internet in a house that sleeps 17 people. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 12/11/2013
Thank you Terry for stopping by and leaving a review for A Dream Vacation. The owners are aware of replacing the carpets and are hoping to do so in the off season. We will also kindly make the suggestion of adding WiFi for their guest's use. Thank you again!
South Riding, VA
What a disappointment
Left on 09/04/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | TKrobath
Where do I start? We paid extra for early check in, got in on time but found the house had not been cleaned. hair all over the floors (gross!), food on the living room carpet, disgusting coffee maker, 100s of dead bugs in the door from the master to deck, lights burned out all over including in the stairway (safety issue), leaking hot tub and broken screen door. Hot tub co patched tub, maintenance never showed up for other issues. Finally got cleaners out at 4:00 (we paid for 1:00 chk in). Went to the office on Mon to discuss the problems, no action from Resort Realty. Stopped by the office on our way out of town and was promised a phone call - still waiting and we got home last Friday.
This home is in serious need of some TLC. Carpets are gross - we didn't take off our shoes all week. Fridges don't get really cold, black goo ozzing from fridge in kitchen, daughter ended up with dozens of bites on her back after the 1st night in the bed. Kitchen sink leaks, slider doors are so rusted we could barely lock them.
Good points - keyless entry, proximity to beach. That's it.
I asked @ the office if they ever inspect their properties - the said yes. I said if this property meets their quality standards then I know for sure I'm not renting from Resort Realty again. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 09/26/2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and provide feedback on A Dream Vacation. Resort Realty strives for excellence in the quality of homes we represent as well as service, and we are disappointed to hear of the circumstances during your stay and are disheartened that our attempts to remedy the matter were not to your satisfaction. I do see in the notes in your reservation that the early check-in fee and an additional $150 were both refunded due to the fact that the house was not ready at 1:00 and the hot tub was not working. We are always happy to pass on guest comment/suggestions and will be sure to do so. We hope you will return to the Outer Banks and give us an opportunity to assist you in your vacation needs.
A Nightmare Vacation
Left on 07/08/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Disgusted
This house was filthy, had to call cleaning service before we could even unpack! The tables & floors had food all over them, the bathtub had black hair all over!! The stove and microwave and fridge were Discgusting! This house had a broken 1) dishwasher 2) front door 3) hot-tub 4) Ceiling fan & Light 5) bunk Bed Railing 5) Oven 6) and worst of all the dryer burned holes in our clothes and maintenance told us not to use because it was a fire Hazrd!!! This house is dangerous!!! Beware!!! Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 07/24/2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on this home. Resort Realty does appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our service and our homes. We are deeply sorry that you had these issues upon arrival at the house. Whenever a guest informs the Housekeeping or Maintenance Departments of issues needing attention during their stay, every effort is made to meet the needs of our guests. Our maintenance records indicate a number of issues have been addressed. A copy of your review was forwarded to the homeowner. Thank you for booking your vacation with Resort Realty, and we hope your next visit to the Outer Banks will be more pleasant.
Our Week at the Beach
Left on 06/12/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Harriet
Nice oceanfront house - love the location, in walking distance to stores, restaurant, new park and fishing pier. The first day the lock broke off of one of the sliding glass doors and we found several loose boards on both decks. We notified the office the next morning and the maintenance man was there that afternoon to fix the problems, and stated that he would report that the decks needed all new nails. Some of our party did not like the hot tub due to sealant globs at the bottom and what appeared to be too much chlorine. The kitchen is in need of a new stove and dishwasher - both have seen better days. We loved waking up to the sunrises and being able to view them from the master bedroom and deck. Easy stroll to the beach along the house boardwalk, with lifeguard nearby. Between the 15 -17 mile post markers is my favorite area to stay, close to gift shops, Sam & Omie's, Jennette Fishing Pier, Cahoon's market, gas station, a short drive to the causeway, and the beach in this area is wide, clean and the sand is soft. As long as we have the means, we will stay in this house, or one in this area, again and again.
Great House needs to be more clean
Left on 05/30/2013 for a stay in May 2013 | Viv14
This is a good size house, but it was not that clean. The mattress in the main bedroom it's really uncomfortable. The walkway going to the beach needs to be taking care of. It looks like none has cut the grass in years. Overall it was a good house just needs more housekeeping and maintenance work. Great location. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 06/05/2013
Thank you for your review of "A Dream Vacation". I have let our housekeeping and maintenance departments know about your concerns, and we apologize as this is not Resort standards. I have also let the homeowner know about the mattress. Thank you for vacationing with Resort Realty, and we hope to see you again soon.
Left on 05/23/2013 for a stay in May 2013 | HAROLD FINNEY
Very nice location, but the house need some
major repair work. Decks, painting, and a new stove, doors and some blinds needed. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 06/11/2013
Thank you for your comments about A Dream Vacation. Since your visit we have notified the owner and our maintenance department of your concerns. I do see work orders in, and some of them have been completed. So we are working hard to get them resolved. We do hope that you enjoyed your stay and that these issues didn't hinder your enjoyment of the property. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.
A Dream Vacation - Lovely, peaceful, close to beach; Needs a lit
Left on 05/02/2013 for a stay in April 2013 | Beach Go-ers!
We loved our stay at "A Dream Vacation".
We were glad we didn't read the reviews, because even though many of the concerns were still relevant and we would certainly love to see them addressed before we rent the house again, we still were glad we went there--it was a great stay for our family! Here are some of the details that made it so enjoyable!
- rooms so kids could spread out
- jacuzzi and hot tub,
- roomy master bedroom with its comfy mattress,
- nicely-decorated lived-in comfy feel of the living room,
- DVD player & great large screen TV,
- two thermostats--upstairs and second floor so we could keep both floors just the right temperature...
- fireplaces--we had fires in the living room several nights.
- easy walk to the beach -- Thanks for having some beach toys and buckets and boogie boards in the ground floor storage room--though we didn't use the boards since it ended up being too chilly to get into the water much beyond our toes, it was nice to know they were there!
- card table and chairs so we could do puzzles without having to put them away for mealtimes. :-)
- keyless entry--peace of mind to know the door on the ground floor was always locked. Kids could get back in on their own. Super nice!
3) Resort Realty was great -- serviced issues quickly
Some recommendations to make it a dreamier Dream Vacation:
1) Needs new dishwasher -- rusted, damaged top shelf
2) Needs new range/oven
3) Needs new or repaired dryer-- It's leaving black marks on clothing
4) Needs a new blind in the double bunk bedroom on the left
5) Needs the electrical outlets inspected, especially in the master bedroom upstairs--they sparked.
6) The toilet paper holder in the upstairs master bathroom
7) The deck needs to be power washed -- green on it.
8) Wish it had WiFi.
9) General issue of renting a house with cable, wish we could turn it off when we choose, or at least remove it from the bedrooms.
10) Bikes were rusty. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 06/03/2013
It pleases us to know that you and your family loved your stay. We have forwarded your suggestions to the homeowner, and some updates have recently been made. Old items were removed and replaced and furniture was re-arranged so that it is now more practical and fresh. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for booking your vacation with Resort Realty. We hope to see you again soon.
Loves Outer Banks
Downers Grove, Illinois
Great location but needs work
Left on 11/01/2012 for a stay in October 2012 | Loves Outer Banks
The best location -- oceanfront and near Jeannette's Pier.
But house needs painting throughout and new carpeting -- looks like a party house. Everything was sticky. Needs cleaning and new appliances.
We've rented 4 beach homes over the years -- this was in the worst condition. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 11/19/2012
Thank you for your input, as it is important to us. We have forwarded the information on to the owner regarding the need for painting. We are sorry you did not find the place to be as clean as is our usual standard. We have also contacted our housekeeping department to address these issues. We hope to see you again here on the Outer Banks.
Left on 08/28/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | DISAPPOINTED
This was the worst house ever. It was so dirty, we cleaned from 7:15pm to 10:30pm. I do not go on vacation to clean another person's house. And we were not staying there for free. When you pay that kind of money, you expect it to be clean. You know it has not been cleaned right when the Resort Realty woman had to pick up a bra, with cob webs and dirt on it, from the side of a bed. I could go on and on but, why bother. The sad part of it is, this could be a beautiful house. And the location is perfect for families with young children.
As far as I am concerned, I feel we should be reinbursted for our cleaning supplies and paper products. I had to send my son-in-law to the store to buy plates, bowels, cups, glasses and silverware. We could not use the dishwasher, it was broke. I do not go on vacation to wash dishes. Like I said before, I could go on and on.
I feel Resort Realty has a big problem with their cleaning company and should do something about it. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 09/25/2012
We are very sorry to hear you found the property in that condition. I assure you that is not Resort Realty standard. We would be happy to reimburse you for the cleaning supplies. Our homes should also have ample amounts of plates, bowls, cups, glasses and silverware. If that was not the case, we would have been happy to take care of that as well. By the end of the season we do tend to have to replace these items as they do go missing or broken. Once again we do apologies for your experience, and are hopeful you will give Resort Realty another opportunity to provide an exceptional vacation experience.
Amazing view, great location, could have been cleaner
Left on 07/06/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Suzysunshine21
Rental was in an amazing location with great unobstructed views of beach and new pier. Cottage furnishings were dated and frankly smelled! The cottage did not seem to be cleaned thoroughly before check-in :o(. Linens from previous guests stayed on the front porch for the duration of our stay!
We had a wonderful time! Great location!
Left on 07/05/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Christine
We enjoyed our stay at your home, it has a great location to the new pier. The view is wonderful of the beach! Thanks for a great vacation!
A family Christmas in Nags Head is memories for future generatio
We enjoyed our stay!
Left on 01/15/2012 for a stay in December 2011 | A family Christmas in Nags Head is memories for future generatio
The house was lovely: you can see the sun rise in beautiful reds, pinks, & blues on the ocean in the morning and then view a beautiful sunset in the evening from the sound side. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 03/15/2012
Glad you had a wonderful stay on the beautiful Outer Banks! We really enjoyed your pictures -thanks for the review.
Hope to see you soon,
Resort Realty Team
Bill from Raleigh
Wonderful until I fell down slick front steps and broke ribs.
Left on 11/30/2011 for a stay in November 2011 | Bill from Raleigh
service was excellent.loved the location.glad house was near obx hospital.
Left on 11/20/2011 for a stay in November 2011 | Alliet98
I was really disappointed in the shape of the inside of the house. It was clean, but if you walked ont he carpet without shoes we were all getting metal shards / splinters in our feet. The lamp shade in the family room was broken, and the couches had some fabric rips in them / had been recovered so nothing matched. The stove was also dirty...we did love the view and location though. The price was cheap as well.
Upper Marlboro, MD
Left on 09/14/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Pietrucha Family
House and location were great. Considering we came a week after Irene everything was a great shape. Except for the mosquitos we had a vacation that was one of the best.
we had a very nice stay!
Left on 06/29/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | Christine
We loved the location of the rental property. Nice home! We will return again.
Great location but needs work
Left on 05/26/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | Shelia
Overall the experience was pleasant. House furnishings outdated and not comfortable. New flat screen t.v. nice but furniture, kitchen furnishings really could be improved. Homeowner should review property for maintenance issues before season starts. Had an experience on walkway to beach when several boards on boardwalk totally gave way and were loose. Because of safety, we went to hardware store and purchased nails and took care of problem. Also we heard noises several times and in checking it out saw owner and realtor on property. Would have been nice to have been notified that they would be coming on property or announcing themselves prior to them wondering around. Great location with the new pier opening. Some guests said their beds were not comfortable, however the room I was in was fine.
Very nice great ocean view This house is gerat
Left on 05/19/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | C.W. Johnson
Have stayed in this house 4 times Will stay there again.
Seen better days
It was nice, but!!!
Left on 05/13/2011 for a stay in April 2011 | Seen better days
The cabinet outside surfaces were pretty dirty and the appliances were very worn (stove, dishwasher and frig). We felt we needed to wash our hands after touching the cabinets and door knobs and the food pantry closet had an unpleasant odor about it. Beds were comfortable and bathrooms were clean, carpets in good clean condition. Couches and dining table have seen better days.
Left on 11/12/2010 for a stay in November 2010 | David
Good location, poor upkeep of home. House was dirty and has obvious roof problems based all the water stains.
Preacher Paul the"Rawleigh Man"
in the mountains
we are all excited about doing this again
Left on 10/20/2010 for a stay in October 2010 | Preacher Paul the"Rawleigh Man"
lots of room and a great view in all directions .Location is also very good.
Beautiful location for home in need of repairs
Left on 10/13/2010 for a stay in October 2010 | Family.Shiloh
Although the location of this home was outstanding with amazing views and beautiful beach access, there were a number of areas in which the home was in disrepair. The dryer left burn marks on our clothing, the top dishwasher rack was broken, half of the hot tub's jets were broken, there were mice in the kitchen, etc. The house could be ideal if someone would put a little time and effort into bringing the appliances and furniture, etc., up to date.
a good time was had by all
Left on 10/01/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | Just relaxing
great experience excellent location what can beat a week at the beach.
Nice Beach House for the Price
Left on 09/22/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | Gracie
This beach house is nice for the price, the ocean view is beautiful. The house is nice inside, we loved all the new Hdtv's they added to the bedrooms. It would be nice if the appliances were updated, some of them are not in the best shape. The location is good, close to restaurants and shopping. We enjoyed sitting on the ocean front decks, it was really relaxing, plus the short walk down the walkway to the beach was great. Every night we walked the bike/walking trail, it is so nice to walk on that instead of the street. We had a really good time, and would stay in this house again.
great view, but house needs updating
Left on 09/08/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | anne
This house has a great location with being right on the beach. The price was awesome and I quess you get what you pay for. The owners of this house really need to improve the inside. Overall though, it was a good time.
good location but needs much tlc
Left on 08/02/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | shammie
This cottage had nice beach access and the beach was good however this cottage needs a great deal of tlc. For the amount paid for this cottage the overwhelming impression was wow, this place needs work. All the furniture in the one common area was ripped, stained, broken and woefully lacking. The dining area which had two tables to seat our crowd of 14 did not have enough chairs, we had to use a plastic deck chair. Although it certainly had enough glasses and plates, we had to buy plastic silverware to set the table even with everything clean for each meal. We also had to purchase the foil pans for serving pieces. Its a shame because the cottage was not something that made you say, we will come back here again. We've been renting in this price range for 10 years and this was the most shabby of the lot.
Left on 07/08/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Laura
Should have more seating for the size,appliances are old and not fully usable. Not enough refridgorator space,fridge has a hard time keeping things cool,burner out on stove. Had an ant problem,one room was unusable,delay on pest control,no follow up.Walls were covered in dirt.
Left on 06/11/2010 for a stay in May 2010 | ben
everything was excellent. house was clean and had all the comforts of home. close to the beach and had a great view
An awesome vacation
Left on 10/21/2009 for a stay in October 2009 | thebowsers
We loved our stay with you. We were right on the beach and sometimes distance is hard to see in pictures but you are right there. You can hear and see the ocean. You are close to great resturants and shopping. The area is nice and quiet.
Thanks again for a wonderful experience and trip!
great location but overall very disappointing
Left on 09/30/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | JH
This house is in great need of some TLC! The location was wonderful but the interior and furnishings are in very poor condition.
The fan did not work in the master bath. The bath tubs did not drain.
The ceiling in kitchen and living room was water stained from leaks. The powder room had holes in the drywall. The CD player did not work.
The kitchen needs new stove. The refrig. was old and small and was missing a shelf on the door, plus the ice maker did not work. [Thank goodness we had 3 coolers]
Overall the kitchen was poorly furnished---no casserole dishes or baking pans, skillets were terrible, no large serving dishes, etc.
The coffee pot was impossible. The kitchen trash can was small and patched with duct tape.
The furniture is old and dirty looking-especially the living room sofas and end tables.
The photos and discription of this house are very misleading.
Room to Spare
Left on 09/09/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | Watermelonqueen
Spacious on the beach beachhouse. Plenty of parking, and it is across the road from the 7-11; a real plus! There was a hot tub on the lower deck. Note that the tub is drained during the week, so that put it off limits for the day. Bedding and towels were provided- but one towel per person just didn't do it. Even though the house it at Whalebone Junction, it was quiet and there wasn't much traffic. The staff at the realty agency was polite, and when I called about a minor plumbing problem, they responded in a very timely manner. What we didn't like was the livingroom furniture- well worn, and uncomfortable. Flat screen TVs in all but 2 bedrooms was great. The virtual tour of the house makes you think it is newer than it actually is.
A Dream Vacation review
Left on 07/17/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | Beach Mom
We have been coming down to the Outer Banks for three years. We enjoyed our stay, the weather was beautiful. The location was good. The house overall was nice and served the purpose of a vacation home. I was very disappointed in the kitchen. The refrigerator was old and in need of repair (side door shelves were missing). Due to the size of the house and number of guests, the refrigerator definitely did not work. We had to use both our coolers (thank god we brought ones from home) to store drink etc. The stove was also very outdated and did not heat food evenly. The other two houses we rented previously had two refrigerators and two stoves. Lesson learned for our next visit. But that all aside, your staff was very pleasant and helpful. I would use Resort Realty again. Thank you.
This house has a great floor plan with loads of potential.
Left on 07/17/2009 for a stay in May 2009 | Beach Girl
This house has one of the best floor plans I have ever seen, it has 4 ocean front bedrooms with a deck, beautiful ocean veiws,abundant natural light and great location with a convenience store and restaurant in walking distance.
The problems we had were mostly cosmetic. There was a birds nest in the exhaust fan of the stove and ants in the kitchen. The living room furniture was old,uncomfortable and needed cleaning. One of the tables had a broken leg and one of the dining room chairs was broken with no back. The living room/kitchen ceiling became visibly wet when it rained. It was plain it was not the first time as the plaster was visibly repaired on the ceiling and there was mold present. The wood on the fireplace was discolored from water. The carpet,windows and some heavy and general cleaning were needed. The screens needed repair.
The kitchen equipment was sparse and worn out. The frying pans were warped. The stove did not work properly.
The iron was missing and the ants were a problem however the rental company took care of this promptly and the people they sent were great.
This house is wonderful with great potential. It needs cleaning, repairs,new furniture and could not only rent every week but for more money.
Upstate New York
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in October 2007 | OBXER
We have been vacationing in Nags Head since 1989. I have never had a home I was as disappointed in as A Dream Vacation. The lay out of the home was great, but the home was dirty.Ants in the kitchen, holes in the walls, broken sofa and diningroom chairs. The Jennair stove was unuseable as the plugs were broken on both the burner cartridge and the grill cartridge. Location was good. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 01/12/2010
I am sorry for the issues you faced during your 2007 stay. I appreciate you as a guest and would be happy to help make your stay as pleasant as possible. During any future stays with Resort Realty you may contact Housekeeping directly and be sure of a prompt response. Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience-our guest input is valued by the housekeeping department.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.