A Memorable Vacation
|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
If you are searching for an ideal vacation home which will melt away your stress, and which your family will love, look no further. This oceanfront home provides spectacular ocean views to the East, and magnificent views and scenery of the Government protected Wildlife Sanctuary to the West. Amongst all this natural beauty, enjoy the amenities of the big screen tv and huge hot tub on the deck, the 32' x 15' private swimming pool, or tan on one of the many expansive decks this home has to offer. Enjoy fabulous sunsets from the elevated West decks as the sun sets on the horizon behind the wildlife sanctuary. This home was specifically designed...Read more
A Memorable Vacation
Nags Head, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$695 - $1,755||$695 - $1,755||$1,895 - $7,195||$0||7 nights|
|Jun. 1 2013 - Jun. 7 2013||$936||$936||$3,100||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Jun. 14 2013||$1,455||$1,455||$5,695||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 15 2013 - Jun. 21 2013||$1,536||$1,536||$6,100||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 22 2013 - Jun. 28 2013||$1,595||$1,595||$6,395||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 29 2013 - Jul. 12 2013||$1,675||$1,675||$6,795||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Jul. 13 2013 - Aug. 9 2013||$1,755||$1,755||$7,195||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 10 2013 - Aug. 16 2013||$1,555||$1,555||$6,195||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 17 2013 - Aug. 23 2013||$1,275||$1,275||$4,795||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 24 2013 - Aug. 30 2013||$1,035||$1,035||$3,595||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 31 2013 - Sep. 6 2013||$915||$915||$2,995||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 7 2013 - Jan. 3 2014||$695||$695||$1,895||-||7 nights|
|View all 11 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: June 17, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
I was stressed out out find the rental not ready on our arrival. However, they fixed it several hours later.
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 06/11/2013
Thank you for your feedback. You didn't state what time it was that you checked in. This is however a Resort Club property, which allows check-in as early as 1:00. Our Resort Club properties also have a caretaker at the home, and the housekeepers begin cleaning on the top floor so that you may occupy each level of the home as soon as they are finished. We do make every effort to have our homes ready at check in and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We do trust that you had a nice stay, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Great location and floor plan but needs maintenance.
This house has a great location on the beach in South Nags Head, NC. The floor plan is great with some nice amenities, elevator, pool, hot tub. Appliances need repair/replacement...microwave, dishwasher, dryer, large television. Value is good for an offseason rental but I would be disappointed if I was paying peak rates.
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 01/14/2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are working with this owner to make some necessary updates to his property. We will certainly pass on your comments as well. We hope these updates will be made over the winter months. Thank you again, and we hope to see you this year.
Awesome family time in Nags Head!
We all enjoyed staying at "A Memorable Vacation"
It was the first time for my brother and his wife and
they are hooked. The home was very comfortable,
and well prepared for guests. Enjoyed the hot tub.
Only negative is that the couches need to be cleaned.
In all we had a great week and thank you.
Great house for your entire familly!!!
If you are planning a group/family trip, this is the house. Everyone can have their own space. Plenty of room for adults and kids too. I would have given this a 5-star rating, except for the mattresses on the beds. They were hard and uncomfortable. Other than that, everything was great. We had one issue with the aC upon our arrival. I called the maintenance number given on our packet and they came right away. Everyone was most helpful. Truly a great place & realty company to vacation with.
Shinnston, West Virginia
Great Friends and Fantastic Weather
We arrived and deposited our luggage and then managed to go grocery shopping. The home was being cleaned when we arrived. We had a couple of issues that were quickly resolved. The home has adult bedding. The walkway to the beach could use some trimming at the side. The beds would be more comfortable on the mid level if inter-spring mattress were used. We enjoyed the two living areas on the upper level - one for tv viewing and the other for reading.
This is the second time we rented this house. We came back because we enjoyed the layout and ammenities (this was everal years ago). Different story this time. The house was empty the week before our stay. When we arrived, we found that the glass cooktop on the stove was shattered and unusable. I called RR immediately. Their response seemed to be that they did not have info about the stove and would look into it. I pressed them because I knew the house had been empty the previous week and any problems should have been resolved before we arrived. They sent someone out to take pictures. That really made me mad. The maintenance person said he had ordered a new top. How was that possible if they didn't know there was a problem??? I called RR again and said that was not acceptable, that I wanted a new stove delivered immediately - go to Home Depot and buy one. It worked out that a new stove was to be delivered Sunday p.m. That didn't happen but it did arrive Monday noonish. I had to get firm in order to have a working stove in the house - - but I am the customer, paying for a weeks vacation - not a confrontation with the realtor.
Second - during our stay we needed to move some of the living room furniture. Well - - the trash we found underneath was amazing - food and toys and dirt. We laughed and said the cleaning crew must never move anything, just sweep around. I can't imagine what we would have found under the beds. We were not laughing after thinking about it.
third- that house needs new matresses desperately. Two couples moved into different rooms because they couldn't sleep on the mattresses in the rooms they selected.
fourth - We were disappointed that there were so few cooking utensils in the kitchen. It was fully stocked in our previous visit and now there is nothing except the necessary number of dinnerware and a few cooking utensils. Very poor.
Location was great. The pool and hot tub were clean and maintained.
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 10/25/2012
Thank you for taking your time to fill out the FlipKey review for "A Memorable Vacation". It is always our first priority to provide our guests with the best possible experience, and in this situation we certainly understand your frustration regarding the use of the stove. We did in fact strive to get the problem taken care of prior to your arrival. Unfortunately, there are times when we are restricted by a third party vendor who has to order a part etc. In this case, it appears there was confusion on our part as to whether the part had in fact been ordered, and I certainly apologize for that. As it turned out, the part was in fact on order, and delivery was scheduled for the Sunday of your stay, but because of inclement weather it was delayed to Monday at noon. Thank you for pointing out the need for better mattresses and the need for additional kitchen utensils. We will certainly be addressing these issues as well. The housekeepers are instructed to move furniture, and had we been aware this was not done I promise you we would have sent them back out immediately to rectify any and all issues. We take your input seriously, and your business is important to us. We hope you will join us again here on the Outer Banks.
A family vacation.
The service from Resort Realty was great. The home was badly in need of many repairs. The location was great. We love being close to the beach. The basic home was okay ,but after being cleaned & repaired it should be a great home.The weather was fantastic.
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 09/19/2012
Thank you for your review of "A Memorable Vacation". We will certainly will be taking a look at the property and see what type of repairs are needed and pass on suggestions to the owner. We are glad to hear you were pleased with your experience with Resort Realty.
obx-fan from pa
Glen Mills, PA
Though the house was very nice looking, the cleanliness and lack of properly working items in the house, made what could have been a memorable, beautiful vacation, memorable for the wrong reasons. Home was not clean enough, mold on shower curtains, dryer never worked well, had to dry loads on 4 or 5 cycles, had 2 blenders(both leaked) toaster didn't work, outside shower rusted and unusable, outside hose leaked. Though the home offered early checkin at noon, the home was not ready until after 2.
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 08/14/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review “A Memorable Vacation” and we apologize for your stay not being as pleasant as you would have hoped. When given the opportunity, Resort Realty can replace small appliances from our inventory within a day to limit any further inconveniences to our guests. Please know that both our Housekeeping Department and the individual homeowners have addressed reported concerns with the property and we hope to see you again next year.
Shinnston, West Virginia 26431
One Great Week
This home is perfect for adult vacationeers, lots of adult beds. We especially enjoy the elevator for taking luggage and groceries. It is also a necessity as we have persons with health issues and an elevator is a necessity. The home is very accomodating love the two sitting areas on the upper level, the table for puzzle working and of course, the lovely views of the ocean.
We indeed had a memorable vacation here!
We loved the check-in/out process! Our family's week included hurricane Katia off the coast, red flagged beaches & mosquitos swarming from the previous hurricane Irene; however, the home's arrangement & amenities kept us comfortable when we had to be either inside or off the blowing sand beach. We had sunshiney days in spite of the hurricane and a wonderful week with each other in a great houe!
Trenton, New Jersey
Even though we got in two days late, the trip was still good, the realtor was great working on getting the pool cleaned for all the kids to have at least 3 days to swim. We already booked for next year.
Beth from PA
Mountain Top, PA
We loved the ocean view!
Wonderful place. The kids had a blast. The pool was great, we had younger children and they can only last so long on the beach so it was nice to bring them back to swim.
Aside from the fact that we had no access to the beach due to beach construction, the house itself was in poor shape. The furniture is old and stained and the sectionals are coming apart. The carpets and bedspreads were stained. The dryer didn't fully dry clothes. Both blenders were broken and all the pots and pans were burned. The heating coils on the range were wobbly and didn't distribute heat evenly. The ice maker in the basement was broken and extremely dirty. Some of the mattress springs were broken and very uncomfortable to sleep in. The pool area was dirty, sandy and had weeds overgrowing through the fence making it difficult to walk (my husband spent 4 hours cleaning area). Wood planks on upper deck and lower deck were loose and several of us tripped on them. We stay in Resort Realty properties all the time and never experienced such issues. It seemed as if the owners of the property never stay there themselves and hadn't been there in a long time. One property owner told us a week early she counted 25 people in the house. My understanding was there was to be a limit. Also, the key pad stopped working on day 2 of our stay. I called and reported it, but no one ever came to fix it so we were without a keypad entry for 5 days. Again, very frustrating. I left a detailed check out of all things that were broken on the counter. Please review that list as well as I believe I missed some items.
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 09/06/2011
Thank you for your response on Flip Key. We are very sorry you had some concerns and we appreciate you bringing them to our attention!
We pride ourselves in assuring homes are in proper working order and fit our guests needs. Since your visit we have notified our housekeeping department and maintenance department of your issues.
Thank you for booking your vacation with Resort Realty and we hope to see you again next year!
The ice maker on the first floor was not in service and has only worked one time in five years.
The walkway to the beach was covered with sand. My wife and I are Handicaped and could get to the beach.
We had a very relaxed and enjoyable stay.
Easy house to have a large family group in. Could use some more comfortable chairs and mattresses (too hard). Needs a dining table that with seat the same number as the house will sleep. There were 14 of us and we could not all eat at the same table at the same time.
Great Vacation Rental
Had a great time. House was just like the photo's and the early check at the house was nice.
PA 16 in OBX
West Chester, PA
Older home in a great location needs a little TLC
Great location. I provided an extensive list of issues with my keys at checkout. I would rent this house again if I knew you replaced the stove (whose burners worked intermittently), got a working remote control in each bedroom, and fixed the warped floor in the living area. Several towel bars were loose on the walls. It was clean and convenient but just felt like it had been neglected to a degree. Your online description needs to be updated. There is no foosball table and there are 2 DVD players in the living room. Providing more than 1 pool cue with a tip would be nice. A pool bridge would be a bonus. Love the early checkin! Would consider renting this home again if you give it a little TLC.
Enough room for all to have space and togetherness!
We traveled with two grown children, their spouses, and their 4 children, in addition to a 94 year old uncle. The elevator,extra bedrooms, and swimming pool were really a draw for us. Unfortunately, when we arrived the elevator was not working, but it was fixed a little while after our arrival. Oh, loved not having to pack sheets and towels!
The Columbus Crew
We had a great time!!
We really enjoyed the house and its location. There was plenty of room for the 15 of us to spread out or be together. The pool was a real plus. We all decided we would never do without it again! The beach was spectacular and we were even able to have a fire one night on the beach. We only wished there had been more towels per peson and wished the cookware was in better shape.
Mostly Pleasant Memorable Vacationer
Great Location but Furnishings Need Updated
The location of the house is great, private beach, less traffic. Check-in process was great. When we arrived earlier than check in (Noon) we were able to wait outside the house and enjoy the beach. At noon, we were able to access the top floor of the house with kitchen and powder room readily available for unpacking and changing for the beach. Once another floor was available we were informed and proceeded to move in by floor. Elevator was a great help.
Kitchen is large but not amply supplied with cooking utensils. One two slice toaster for a house that sleeps 16 makes for a slow breakfast prep.Complimentary gift of coffee beans from Realty Company would have been good idea, if a coffee grinder was available. Enough silverware but cutlery was needed, along with prep tools (spatulas, corkscrew and paring knives and cutting boards were all purchased by us for use).
Bedding could be updated also, some newer pillows would help along with blankets in all rooms for all beds.
Wet bar area in game room was nice for refrigerator use but no bar ware or glasses made it unusable. Also some seating in this area could make it an extra tv room, as it is now, it is used as a passway to the pool with stop to grab something out of fridge.
The pool area is great along with the beach access. Large pool was appreciated by the large group for lounging.
All in all, the house is good, just needs some updating. I would use again but will take some additional kitchen items to make meal prep a little easier.
Family Vacation w/Mom, Children/Grandchildren
The elevator was very nice for my elderly mom. Pool was wonderful for grandchildren after spending time at the beach. Several of the beds were a wee bit too hard, like sleeping on a board. Kitchen well equipped. Overall, house is very spacious and nice. Beautiful view from top floor to the ocean. Very nice place.
JERRY S RIGGINS
Our family has stayed at this Haome for the past several years and enjoyed every moment..We look forward to coming back in 2011.
Memories of the Beach
We very much enjoyed a Memorable Vacation, having little children, young adults and older adults. We chose S. Oregan Inlet to be away from the higher traffic areas of nags head. The pool was not as warm as we would have liked, coming early in the summer.
Not resort club caliber
The overall layout of the home,location and types of amenities (pool, hot tub, pool table) were why we choose this home along with the fact that it was a resort club. We loved checking in at noon!!Plus having the linens was great. The maids that greeted us were great. We did enjoy our stay, but were disappointed. We've stayed at Nags Head for 5 years straight (all but one with Resort Realty). You can tell that these owners have this house as an investment and not a home. There were not the main things that you need when staying in a home and things that we didn't pack because they're typically included in homes (like tupperware, clothes hangers, a few pool supplies like noodles, a few beach items like a couple beach chairs/boogie boards, extra puzzles/games/DVDs/books). Those were little things that we worked around or bought what we needed. However, the condition of the home was not good and not what we expected from a Resort Club property. The hot tub cover is falling apart and leaves plastic pieces in the tub. Any-time we opened it, we would have to fish out the loose plastic pieces. The pool sticks for the billiards table did not have tips so we couldn't enjoy that. The pool area was not weed-whacked so we could not layout in the small area around pool without weeds in our face. The carpet was stained throughout the house. The drapes in master bedroom by hot tub was stained with a nasty looking mark. Majority of TV remote batteries were dead so we had to go buy new batteries. All of these things are easily addressed so this could become an incredible property. I did fill out an evalution when we checked out which may have more details for you. These are the main things that I remember. Overall, I want to say that we have never spent this much on a house and really spread ourselves thin to have an awesome house this year and regret having spent the extra money this year.
Location Location Location
Location Location Location...any good real estate agent will tell you it's all about location. This house definately has that. An home that is a dune behind the ocean, just a short walk across the new walkway sets you in the sand. The house itself needs SO much work! The carpet throughout is trashed, stained, bleached, bunched up - it all needs replaced. The king beds are like sleeping on slabs and the living room chairs aren't much better. FYI - if you have back trouble -- STAY AWAY ! The amenities were skimpy, no games or tapes or discs, no glassware, and older pots/pans. But again .. LOCATION .. you cannot beat looking out the window of the living room and watching the ocean. The decks are wonderful, and well equipped with chairs. The pool and Hot Tub would have been great if they had been cleaned. The downstairs had a great addition of an icemaker and fridge. The pool table was nice except all the sticks were broken. The living room and bar areas had nice sony CD/radio players.
If you need a place to stay that will sleep many and don't want or expect the extras you usually get with oceanfront homes, than you'll enjoy this home. This house could be great, but needs serious updating!
H & E Stuntz Family
We had a wonderful vacation at this place that was fabulous and
The maid and her assistant were extremely nice and did great job as also did the pool lady, she was super. The pool lady came back several times and make sure all was well for us, very sweet.
The maid was very pleasant and willing to please us. Few days after arriving, I was sitting on a chair and it literally came apart and I fell to the floor. Fortunately, I was only slightly hurt. Very nice man came next day and brought us new chairs. We loved this house, everything about it and very happy to have the elevator since my husband and I are senior citizens. The pool and the beach were very much enjoyed (our family of 12 were vacationing together) how great --much room, no one got in another's way. We appreciated the house being tidy and pretty, (we are that type). Only thing about this place that made it not 100% nice were 1)--the neighbors right next door who thought that they were just "it" and proceeded to think they could take up much of our beach area so they put up, and kept there, a volley ball court. That did not last too long, few of us talked to them and asked them to move the whole thing over on their own beach. They did! 2) Day later the lady in right-front house --we had been told that she was from the Perdue family-as she walked by us on the beach, stopped and gave us a very sharp tongue talk of what rude people we were, etc.etc.about this volley ball subject--apparently the other neighbor told her about it. She really talked to the wrong person, our son-in-law --who is a Police Officer!! She did much starring at us for days thereafter, we laughed and ignored her. This house is at a convenient location, we appreciated it. Oh, how we would like to be real rich and rent it every summer !!!! Yes, we have rented many homes on the Outer Banks and truly, this one was the best. Thanks to the sweet gal I talked to in the office who nicely helped me and told me many fine things about this house before we said "okay". Wonderful memories now!