This custom built oceanfront home, with Juniper and Pine throughout, is perfect for your next family gathering! Perfect for two families. The Perfect Vacation will provide just the right atmosphere for your family vacation. The home and lot are 50 percent wider than most oceanfront properties so you don't have that claustrophobic feeling that you get in the tall narrow-width, oceanfront homes that are the common rental houses. This home was designed and built to be a private residence rather than an assembly line style rental house, so you get more of the feel of the ocean front living lifestyle. Enjoy the spectacular ocean views or the bre...athtaking sunset views from the wide and spacious decks. Relax in the large hot tub or enjoy the big screen TV. This home is in the perfect location because it is in a quiet relaxing area but it is only a short distance from all of the action such as golf, shopping, dining, sightseeing, etc. It is within walking distance of the pier, and it is right on the community's biking, jogging and rollerblading extensive pathway & only 350 yds to the pier. There is no need to waste time continuing to search, because this unique home at a very reasonable rate is the best value on the entire Outer Banks. Amenities Include: Cen A/H, MW, 2 Ovens, Trash compactor, DW, HC, PCR, Telephone, CF's, W/D, Stereo, TV, VCR, DVD, Grill, Picnic table, Encl. O/S, Walkway to beach.
All One Level: MBR w/K and Jacuzzi, BR w/Q, BR w/2 Twins, MBR w/2 Twins and 1 Bunk bed, Hall Bath, MBR w/K, living dining and kitchen combined, with breakfast nook overlooking the ocean.
Additional amenities include: partials allowed, hometown hero discount, floor plans available, less than 500 yards.Read more
Left on 07/28/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | beachbums
This house was really perfect for our needs. It is nicely updated and the location is near everything we need at the outerbanks.
Very dirty, worn, outdated...
Left on 07/10/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Joe m
Although the location (on the beach!) is beautiful, the property itself is the worst I've ever stayed in. For $4200/week I'd expect it to be clean, a little updated and functioning. Used diaper,mused dental floss and (ugh) fingernail clippings were left in the house after it was "cleaned". Many items broken ( too many to list), holes in the deck, nails sticking up all over, no furniture on the small deck to sit on except for a beat up old picnic table. Do not stay here Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 07/24/2013
Thank you for your comments. Communication we receive from our guests is a great way to gauge what we are doing right, be made aware of what we can improve, and in both cases are very much appreciated. We were so disappointed to learn that the home was not very clean upon your arrival. We have addressed this issue with our housekeeping department.
We are always here to assist our guests. I have notified our property manager of the concerns for updating and cleaning and she will certainly take the time to review these as well as share this feedback with the homeowner. Thank you for booking your vacation with Resort Realty and we hope to see you again next year!
Stow Creek Township
Sadly disappointed :(
Left on 07/05/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Beachcomber
Upon arrival at "A Perfect Vacation", we found a filthy kitchen (spills on countertops, dishwasher unloaded, sticky cabinets and dirty stovetop, corroded faucet, brown freezer with a non-working icemaker on the refrigerator, the refrigerator bottom grid laying on the floor), sand-covered floors and obvious debris surrounding the property (bucket of cigarettes, sock and other trash items on upper oceanfront deck and scattered over the dunetop). The outdoor trash can had not been taken to the street and was filled, a wheel missing. Upper deck boards were found wet/soft/bowing slightly underfoot and a board was loose/flapping on the front end of the house. The only bathtub in the house, beautiful as it was, had a sand-covered bottom and the tub seal was found sitting aside of the tub; the shower rug/mat was still wet. Some VCR/DVD players were found unplugged or not working. There were so many empty hooks on the walls, it appeared ready for painting (which I'm hoping is the case). I truly loved the character, design and beautiful views from this home. We have a child that has a disability and that requires us to stay very close to the house most of the time, and the layout of this home allowed us to safely enjoy the beach directly outside of the house. The magic of this home is enough to make anyone want to return, but in its current state of neglect we will be shopping for something else for next year. It was sad to see this home not being properly cared for -- wish I could adopt it and give it the TLC it deserves! So many charming touches have been added to this home (crystal door knobs, knotty pine ceiling, the adorable oceanfront bay area, even the sconce lighting)-- more so than any other home we have stayed in over the last 5 summers! We had the feeling that someone really did love this place, at one time! Wish we could visit the house again but find it being cared for as it should be. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 07/19/2013
Thank you for your review of A Perfect Vacation. We're sorry you were disappointed in the cleanliness of the kitchen, grounds, and bathroom. Please let us know of such disappointments while you're here so we can work to remedy them for you. We're happy to send someone to inspect the cleanliness and we can have housekeepers return, during your stay.
We are indeed sorry you were unhappy with your accommodations.
We have forwarded the information you supplied to the homeowners for their consideration and information. We hope you will return to the Outer Banks and give us an opportunity to assist you in your vacation needs.
A perfect vacation
Left on 06/05/2013 for a stay in May 2013 | Donna
House is ok but needs a lot of improvement. Living room furniture needs replaced. When you sit in it you feel like you are laying down. No deck furniture except for a picnic table. If you don't plan on cooking at the house then you are ok. Need to add some more dishes, so silver ware would be nice also. Beds are fairly decent dryer could use updating takes forever to dry cloths. Also unable to use hot tub much due to all of the sand piled around it. Could not use outdoor shower to wash sand off due to having 2 feet of sand in it. Plus side view is awesome! Did have to call maintenance to come fix one of the commodes. They responded very quickly. Resort is always great about that. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 06/17/2013
Thank you for your comments about A Perfect Vacation. We are glad that you took the time to let us know of your experience, and while we are disappointed you had some issues come up during your stay we are glad that you know that we worked hard to resolve the issues as you made us aware of them. We will certainly pass on your suggestions to the homeowner. We look forward to serving you again soon.
The Finch Family
A not so "Perfect Vacation"
Left on 04/29/2013 for a stay in April 2013 | The Finch Family
Let me preface this review by stating that I used to live on Pensacola beach and am quite familiar with "beach living". With that said, I can overlook the ripped screens, the broken mailbox, the dirty windows, the deck boards that are falling off, window screens laying on the ground, a water heater that is broken (no hot water the first day), etc...what I can not overlook is a grill that is rusted shut, beach chairs that are broken and rusty left on the deck, an ice maker in the refrigerator that has rust all over it, furniture that belongs in a frat house and to top it all off, used condoms under the master bed that have an inch of dust on them!
I will say that I called the realty company and they sent over a new grill, had a plumber out to fix the hot water heater the next day, they had the deck boards hammered back into place and sent a maid over to clean up the condoms. Still...it left a ton to be desired.
I only rented the place for $1,500 and they gave me a couple hundred back for our trouble, but if I were you, I wouldn't spend my money on this house unless you have the realtor inspect it thoroughly before you pay a dime!
When you are on vacation you don't want to worry about your children needing a tetanus shot or handling used condoms...so gross!
(I tried posting pictures of all the things wrong with this house, but it said that there was an "internal server error"...figures!) I did make up a nice photo album for Resort Realty and dropped it off to them before I left.
My advice to the owner of this rental: Change the name of the property..."A Perfect Vacation" it is not and that name is very misleading. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 05/23/2013
Thank you for expressing your concerns and on behalf of Resort Realty we offer our sincere apologies to you and your family for any inconvenience you may have endured during your vacation. Since your visit we have notified the owner of your concerns, and we are pleased to report that the home has recently been updated. Many items have been thrown away and replaced making the home more practical and fresh. Miscellaneous general maintenance has also been completed. Thank you for booking your vacation with Resort Realty, and thank you again for your comments.
Left on 12/06/2012 for a stay in November 2012 | Martha Anders
We spent 2 nights and 1 day without heat. The furniture was very, very uncomfortable. The cushions on the couch slid you out in the floor. The dining room table was wobbly. There were fleas. Drawers and cabinets in kitchen were full of objects that didn't work, such as mixers, can openers. Bushes grown up in driveway that scraped vehicles. Location was great and cottage would have been great if furniture was replaced in dining and living areas and kitchen replenished with new equipment. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 01/08/2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are working with this owner to make some necessary updates to his property. We will certainly pass on your comments as well. We hope these updates will be made over the winter months. Thank you again, and we hope to see you in the future.
Good location and layout, but badly needs updating
Left on 11/01/2012 for a stay in October 2012 | Lois Wenger
The location and layout of this oceanfront house is good. However, the lack of updates and maintenance issues were disappointing. Updates needed include: living room seating, breakfast nook seating, refrigerator, two t.v.'s, area rugs, wireless capability, kitchen stove fan,and comfortable beds in children's room. Some screens are torn or missing. The inside of the house no longer has an appealing appearance. The microwave and dishwasher were replaced during our stay; however, the dishwasher never worked appropriately. The house needs a through cleaning. The service guys who were in and out of the house all week were very nice, but owner response seemed slow. We will not use this house again unless we learn it has been updated. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 11/19/2012
Thank you for taking time to fill out a review. Your input is important to us. Yes, this home’s location is quite nice and the house does have a lot of character. We are sorry you were not happy with the property, and we have forwarded your requests for updates to the owner. We hope you otherwise enjoyed your stay and will return to the Outer Banks next year.
The vacation was great!!
Left on 08/31/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Ruger
The beach house was very nice. Needs some TLC with windows and doors. The ceiling fans need to be dusted and some light bulbs were out. But overall experience was a plus!!
The employees at Resort Realty were very pleasant and helpful when we got there to check in.
Spacious home with great location needing upkeep
Left on 07/18/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Ward
Likes: Oceanfront location, spacious bedrooms with multiple bed selection, plenty of bathrooms (4), private driveway, master bedroom separated from rest of house, TV in living room, kitchen well stocked with pots, pans & utensils, located along bike trail, plenty of parking, new outside grill, nice hot tub but in bad location.
Dislikes: Refrigerator cools but does not get cold, ice maker broken, floors in living & dining room are worn, furniture in living room worn (had to put sheets over to sit on), coffee table and table behind sofa are in poor condtion, dryer takes two cycles to dry, doorknobs on 2 spare bedrooms fall off and you get stuck inside room, tv's in everyroom but only living room is clear so they are useless, unable to remove odor in queen bedroom, Ac's work well as long as the temp is under 90 degrees (could not get home under 86 degrees when in 90's except master bedroom with separate aC unit), no Internet!! Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 08/14/2012
Thank you for reporting your “Likes & Dislikes” of “A Perfect Vacation”. I see that the icemaker had frozen-up and was fixed. An outside service vendor cleaned the outside condenser for the home’s HVAC system, and we have not had further issues with the air conditioning. Rest assured the other “Dislikes” have been reviewed by the individual homeowners and we hope you will stay with us again.
Unhappy from New York
Left on 07/05/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Unhappy from New York
This home was very dirty,and filled with mold. Mold can be seen around aC vents and walls. Four of the guests (including myself) got very sick from the mold. Simple dusting on the floors could be seen under the beds and and under bookshelves in the living room, etc. This house needs to be updated (so old and dirty). In addition, this is the second time I rented with Resort and the second time I walked into a dirty home. This is just not right. Also, we had to purchase many items from the dollar store just to get through the week, because the kitchen was poorly stocked. Even the carpetsw in the bathrooms were spotted and dirty. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 07/18/2012
Thank you for your review on FlipKey. We are very sorry you had issues upon arrival at the home. Had Resort Realty known, we would have sent a representative out to take care of these concerns and you wouldn’t have had to go to the dollar store. Rest assured the other concerns you have brought to our attention have been addressed through our Maintenance and Housekeeping Departments. Again, thank you for booking with Resort Realty and we hope your next visit to the Outer Banks will be more pleasant.
Barb, Steve and the Whole Family
Beautiful and Fun, But...
Left on 06/11/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | Barb, Steve and the Whole Family
We were very pleased with the service provided by Resort Realty - we especially liked the "keyless" entry to the home - and the easy check-out.
The location of "A Perfect Vacation" was terrific - very special! And the layout of the home was great and amazingly spacious. It's one of the most well-layed out homes we have stayed at. However...
The owners should make some easy repairs like repairing the torn screens (bugs kept getting in and we would have conserved on air conditioning if we could have opened more windows) The broken mini-blind in bathroom gave no privacy. Realize house is older - but needs more TLC. A bit more run-down than we are used to.
Great location, comfortable, spacious house.
Left on 09/18/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Tracey
We had a good time in a Perfect Vacation despite the beach being closed our first day for the renourishment project and having to evacuate 2 days early due to Hurrican Irene. The home has character and is comfortable and spacious. Our only recommendation for the home would be to replace all the bedroom loovered doors to solid doors to cut down on noise levels and improve privacy. Great home!
RENT THIS BEACH HOUSE - GREAT LOCATION ON OCEAN
What a great view!
Left on 06/01/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | RENT THIS BEACH HOUSE - GREAT LOCATION ON OCEAN
The location was outstanding; on the beach, close to the pier. The floor plans of the house was wonderful. I liked the game room overlooking the ocean. Our vacation was wonderful. Would recommend it to friends.
Resort realty rocks!!!
Left on 01/06/2011 for a stay in December 2010 | Mom-Mom
Resort Realty provides the absolute best in customer service. Having rented with several other rental agencies in the past, I will rent with Resort Realty in all future visits to OBX. I especially liked the checkout procedure of calling from the house phone to checkout, leaving the house keys on the counter. We rented a 5 bedroom oceanfront beautiful older home in Nags Head. "A Perfect Vacation" accurately describes the home and location. Hot tub available, but no pool, but who needs a pool in December.
Family Fun was had by All
Beautiful beach front, large living area
Left on 08/15/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Family Fun was had by All
We had a delightful stay. There were some maintenance issues that were being taken care of and the workers were both friendly and helpful. The staff at Resort Realty were competent and friendly. We appreciated the umbrella and chairs for the week!! Our concerns were cleanliness. The house was not as clean as it should have been. For example, there was a cigarette pack on the floor by the bed in the front bedroom w/king size bed. There was dust and dead fruit flies on top of most dressers and bathroom shelves and window sills. There were torn window shades and screens There was a broken chair - not a part of the kitchen set. Also, several light bulbs needed replacing.
A wonderful experience
Left on 08/13/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Indytravelers
Our family really enjoyed our time at "A Perfect Vacation." There were people of all ages (children, a teenager, young adults and older adults) and everyone spoke highly of this house. Being right on the beach was amazing and the layout of the house allowed both privacy and family time. The only down side was that we could not bring our dog. It would have been perfect if he could have joined us. Also, make sure you bring plenty of your own towels.
Cool house and cool beach
Left on 08/02/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Fjerdingstad
House was nicely quirky, with an unusual but good layout. Plenty of space. Fine view of the beach. Easy access -- especially for the mostly immobile senior member of our party. More effort should be made to clean the windows. House will need some TLC over the next year; though it's still fundamentally solid. Great as usual being in South Nags Head, far from the crazy crowds in Nags Head and north.
Left on 01/13/2010 for a stay in December 2009 | henridrew
The house was great. The beach is right at the stairway. The kitchen was well equipped and the bedrooms were clean and spacious. I would definitely use this house and Resort Realty again. The only reason that I did not give it 5 stars was that there were sandy rugs in the jacuzzi tub so we could not use it unless we wanted to clean it.
2nd home is Nags Head
Left on 10/18/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | 2nd home is Nags Head
The house was great as it was all on one floor, which we have never experienced down there. The view from the bedroom and living rooms were great. We have stayed in that area before and love the area. The surf fishing was great too when the winds were right.
The deadbolts were hard to lock; only complaint.
We would stay here again.
We always rent from Resort Realty too.
Will search for another house next year
Left on 08/13/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | Kristwister
The house suited us nicely with how the bedrooms were set up- everyone was able to enjoy the privacy they needed. I was disappointed with the deck facing the ocean- While viewing the pictures for the house, I was under the impression that we were able to sit on the deck while having a view of the sea however, this was not the case. You would have to walk to the steps to get a satisfactory view of everyone on the beach and the deck itself needs some work. It looks like it has not been taken care of allowing everyone to get splinters while walking barefoot. I also was disappointed with the cleanliness of the home. The windows were filthy througout the home so there was not much of a view from inside, there were dirty dishes still in the dishwasher as well as the cabinets and we had to clean mostly everything before we even used it- there were empty beer bottles up on the crows nest as well as a sticky substance, possible old sun tan lotion- all over the deck, and last but not least- broken umbrellas and boogie boards next to the steps coming off of the beach which had to be removed. I did not feel housekeeping looked into preparing the home as well as they could have as well as looking to make sure the previous vacationers cleaned up after themselves. I enjoyed our vacation very much but will most likely not use this house again.
Left on 08/07/2009 for a stay in November 2008 | thanksgiving renter
great location. great view. great facilities. no internet though. only downside.
Great home in need of lots of work
Left on 07/18/2009 for a stay in August 2008 | girlyone
We loved the location and the house, but it is in need of some TLC. The living room furniture was old and dirty. The housekeeping was not great. There were leaks in the roof in the living room and one of the bedrooms. In the bedroom during our stay we had quite a bit of rain one night and two of our kids beds got soaked!!! So we were up in the middle of the night making new sleeping arrangements. The living room ceiling was also leaking the whole week. We called maintenance and figured it was probably the airconditioning. So it was a constant drip on the sofa(making it a little musty!!) The house itself is beautiful. It just needs a few makeovers.
we had a perfect vacation.
Left on 07/17/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | Alice Michaels
the service was very good.we really liked the homeand would come there again. the location was our favorite-South Nags Head.the house was very close to the ocean which has always been a must for us.the house is one story which was wonderful,the rooms and furnishings were beautiful,the ocean views were fantastic,a well planned home, we liked the ocean views and the layout of the house best, the location of the hot tub was liked least.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.