|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
The entire top floor is open and huge because it's all about the view! Unbelievable! Completely mesmerizing ocean views from every ocean facing room! Updated living room furniture.. So, relax on the decks or sit inside and enjoy the sights and sounds of the ocean. All new TV/DVD flat screens in all bedrooms. South Nags Head is all residential and boasts a 5 mile bike trail. The area is part of a bird sanctuary with the wild life preserve running the 5 mile length to the west. Shopping, restaurants, fishing pier and amusements are only a few miles north! Shared driveway located off of Bodie Island Court for the home. Amenities Include: Cen. A...Read more
Nags Head, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$0||$1,075 - $3,035||$0||7 nights|
|May. 11 2013 - May. 17 2013||-||$1,295||-||7 nights|
|May. 18 2013 - May. 24 2013||-||$1,495||-||7 nights|
|May. 25 2013 - May. 31 2013||-||$1,735||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 1 2013 - Jun. 7 2013||-||$2,235||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Jun. 14 2013||-||$2,325||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Jun. 15 2013 - Jun. 21 2013||-||$2,625||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 22 2013 - Aug. 9 2013||-||$3,035||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 10 2013 - Aug. 16 2013||-||$2,735||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 17 2013 - Aug. 23 2013||-||$2,135||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 24 2013 - Sep. 6 2013||-||$1,595||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 7 2013 - Jan. 3 2014||-||$1,075||-||7 nights|
|View all 11 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 16, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
It had an exceptionally beautiful view of the beach in front and to the south. The view was somewhat obstructed by the condemed houses on the north. Very wide beach. The kitchen was well equiped. It does need a good deep cleaning with the exception of the bathrooms, they were actually really clean. Plenty of confortable seating and eating areas. The mattress were horrible, hard, noisy and old. They really need to be replaced. We did have a problem with outside lighting and once we contacted the agent, it was immediately rectified.
House needed lots of housekeeping...bathrooms only thing clean w
Although we had a wonderful time in the OBX I would not stay at this house again. It needs lots of TLC. There were not outside lights on stairs which resulted in a serious injury to one of our travelers and he had to remain in the house on rest the entire time. The realty company did contact the owners and lights were installed within 1 day but it's too bad it ruined a vacation for him. The bedrooms were very dirty and required us to clean. The bedspreads were filthy and we did not use any of there pillows etc. The living area is very nice and has gorgeous views however the carpeting is filthy. I do believe the livingroom furniture is on the new side and was comfortable. The dining chairs however are very uncomfortable. The kitchen is stocked nicely and was very organized. There are 7 houses to the left of the house which have all been condemned ..and although the owners of this house are certainly not to be blamed for that it does hinder the beautiful sealine.
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 11/19/2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We were so very sorry to hear about the gentleman’s fall and hope that he is fully recovered. We were very concerned about him. Additionally, we apologize if the house was not as clean as would be expected. We encourage our guests to call us while you are here so we can rectify those issues. Our housekeeping department is very responsive when there are issues with the clean performed. This time of year carpets do tend to be in need of end of seasonal cleaning, and I do know that this owner has scheduled that. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.
Connie & Family
I Want to Take this House Home With Me!!!
Resort Realty is a fantastic realtor! They are friendly and will do anything for you to make your stay enjoyable. This was our 10th yr. at the Outer Banks. We stayed at amber Dawn for the 2nd yr. in a row and we just love it. The upstairs is the best room in the house! So open, huge and with fantastic views of the beach and ocean. The large table in the dining room is perfect! Everyone can eat together. The oceanfront decks are great and the hammock swing on the lower deck is so relaxing. Everything you could want is at this property. The only thing needed is a rail on the top bunk beds. The house is close to some of the best restaurants on the Outer Banks and it's far enough away from the busy hotels. It's like having your own little piece of Paradise. The keyless entry is one feature that we appreciated. No misplacing or losing a key. Great job Resort Realty. Whether we stay at amber Dawn again next year or downsize, we will be using Resort Realty.
Not as expected
The lay out of this house was nice. The size was just right. The check in service was good. Two things disaappointed us- immediately to the front and left of us were several run down houses that were uninhabitable which ruined our ocean view to the left. In addition, the house carpets smelled.
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 06/18/2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad to hear that you liked the layout and size of the home and the check in. We are very sorry you had some concerns and thank you for bringing them to our attention. Since your stay, we have communicated your disappointment to the individual homeowner(s). Thank you for booking your vacation with Resort Realty and we hope to see you again next year.
Boca Raton Florida
What a way to spend a week!
Directly on the ocean! Had a great time and have been going back to the amber Dawn for four years now. Great new living room furniture but it really needs new mattresses and someone to actually clean the house! Don't look under the beds. Will definitely return to the amber Dawn with it's great views from the great room, the porch and the swing on the lower porch. Check out the dolphins every afternoon!
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 05/25/2012
Hello - Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed Amber Dawn for many years! We apologize that you did not find the cleaning to be 100% satisfactory. We have notified our Housekeeping Department and will have the issue resolved. Hope to see you again soon!
Good under the circumstances of Hurricane Irene . .
We had the first few days canceled b/c of the hurricane. We got totally different answers concerning when we could check in - that was hard b/c we traveled from upstate NY. told by one person to come monday but then got to Va and learned from a different person that we could not get in until Tuesday. The furniture/appliances were appalling - stove burner would not shut off - hazardous - cable was out (due to hurricane I guess so not upset on that) - under the circumstances - it went well and we were glad to be able to salvage some of our vacation - we likely will not stay there again - the leather/vinyl coming off the couches was a danger to a 15 month old child who wanted to eat the pieces she found on the carpet so had to vaccuum multiple times - we tried several of our baby gates on the stairs - none worked - so can't risk staying there again. the downstairs hall bathroom was dark and dirty and we did not use it . . .
Already booked next year's 2 week stay!!!
This was our second year at the amber Dawn. It is comfortable and has plenty of room for everyone. We just pre-reserved our stay for next year at the amber Dawn and we are staying 2 weeks! We can't wait to get back to Nags Head and amber Dawn!
very relaxing ; the weather was great,except for the smell of the marsh fire when the wind blew in from the east.the rental house was very nice and the ocean views from our deck was outstanding.the only problem we had was with the realtor and the check in time. we were very early due to making good time and our check in time was 4:oo. we were hoping something could have been done to get us in the house a little quicker after driving all night.But we did understand the policy of check in time.
Great views but house needs more attention.
The views are awesome but house is in need of repair. This home has the potential to be great, its a shame that its not maximized. Kitchen floor was bubbled up with water damage, bathroom showers were tiny and hard to move in, and bedrooms lacked personality. Also, there had been a pet in the home prior to our visit. There was short black hairs all over the floors and one of our family members has allergies and was definately bothered by it. We did our best to sweep it all up but it was everywhere. The homes positive features; living room furniture was comfy and the three tables with seating were nice to have so you could eat at one table and play games and do puzzles on another.
Restricted Ocean View
Average property. Very nice top living floor. Nice kitchen but lacks numerous needs such as sufficient pots, pans, utensils so cooking most dishes was difficult and frustrating. Ocean view significantly obstructed to the north by about 7 abandoned houses. This house was originally one block from beach and is now ocean due to earlier storm(s) which apparently washed away the homes directly in front of it. Bathrooms small but adequate. No MBR.
Amber Dawn Vacation
Amber Dawn Vacation
We thoroughly enjoyed our house this year. The home was probably the cleanest of the homes we have syayed in. We really enjoyed it and will probably stay with Resort Realty in the future.
Saint Louis, MO
Spectacular oceanfront property. Home was comfortable; lived up to its online pix. Water pressure could have been better in the bathrooms and beach erosion made the few steps to the beach slightly difficult. Earl eroded the beach even more so.
No working phone in home during our stay; it was unable to be repaired.
The amber Dawn
We loved staying at the amber Dawn- the view is wonderful from the living room, and it is a pleasure to be on the beach quickly, and the phone didn't ring! That's because it didn't work, but that wasn't the only disappointment we had about the home. There was debris on the ground level (broken tables-the ring where it sat up on the deck for who knows how long is still evident, chairs, etc. that were never removed), bathtub showerhead leaked, mold on all the shower curtains, toilets that had months of "stuff" under the rim, the kitchen was poorly stocked with pans, bowls, serving utensils, etc. After the power outage, the service rep came to evaluate the damage to the three tvs; he was very friendly and efficient. However, the house is not being maintained at the level it used to be, we assume because of different owners not willing to invest in their 'investment property'. It was not, in our opinion, worth the rent we were charged.
This place is all about the location. On a relatively quiet section of beach without crowds - even at the peak. The quality of the accomodations are basic. Nothing fancy but adequate for a week at the beach. Bedrooms are small and beds are creaky. Drapes do not block out light in the bedrooms. Given the fact that there is no dune in front of the house it is completely understandable why the owner does not want to invest in furnishings etc. It was very convenient for kids to be able to run back and forth from house to beach.
Wonderful home in a great location. Nicely stocked kitchen. Clean. Great ocean views and easy access to beach. Driveway is a little tricky; make sure you get agents to explain when you check in. Do not follow GPS directions to the house lest you end up stuck in the sand. Overall great experience during our week in amber Dawn!
Can't wait for next year!!
Although the house wasn't ready for us and even after we were told it was ready, it wasn't, and half of the house wasn't even cleaned, we had a great time! The location of
the home counldn't have been more perfect and the layout of the house was also great! Plus my 11 month old son and I loved the hammock swing on the lower deck. Nap times were so peaceful, just me and my son looking out over the ocean until we both fell asleep!
Love to have fun in the sun on the beach!
Warm, relaxing and enjoyable week with family
We always stay in an oceanfront house and this one was very nice and clean. It was just as it was pictured online. I didn't rate service because we didn't use it. This is a little further south than we usually stay, but it was nice because the beach was never crowded. We wish it had covered parking and a better driveway to get to the house (you drive between two other houses on a tight make-shift driveway). This however didn't hamper our vacation. We had a great week at amber Dawn!
We were not impressed at all with the house we stayed in and probably will be the first and last time at the Outer Banks.I will not recommend Resort Realty at all. The house needed several repairs. There were 9 people sharing 1 bathroom that was in full function. The skylight leaked rain all over the kitchen table causing my 2 year old to slip and fall. The location was horrible and we could not even use the ocean front due to the debri that collected right in front of the house. Our kids constantly wanted to go outside and we had to keep them inside for their safety defeating the whole purpose of renting ocean front property. There were several vertical blinds missing in both front bedrooms causing no privacy while sleeping or getting dressed. The toilet seats were deteriorated, outlets in the bathroom did not work except in one, lights did not work in the bathroom. We found small bugs crawling on clean towels and in 2 of the 3 beds. When I called to express my concerns to the Manager at Resort Realty I was only offered a $75 rebate check for our troubles. We did not enjoy the vacation at all causing us to depart a day early. I don't believe the total cost of our stay was worth what your company delivered.
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 04/15/2010
The principal goal of our resort is to provide outstanding service. Consequently, it’s disappointing to learn that your stay was not satisfying. We appreciate your understanding during a very frustrating situation.
There was no mention on the condition of the toilet seats by the guests and this could have been an easy fix. Maintenance has checked the toilets and everything has been corrected. Also all the lights and outlets have been checked and reported all in good condition on the top floor. Lighthouse Electric went out and replaced a burnt out receptacle while the guests were there. We have contacted the owner about the leaking skylight and are in the process of getting estimates.
In response to the report of bugs, OBX Pest control went to property and found no evidence of bugs, ants, or bed bugs at the property. The Maintenance Department has the invoice and documentation for that.
No work orders for this stay listed anything about missing vertical blinds. Had this been reported we would have gotten the problem fixed. Concerning the debris in front of the house, unfortunately this is something that we cannot control. This is something that changes from day to day because of tides and wind.
On behalf of Resort Realty please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. We are truly sorry that your stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to bring this matter to our attention and will do all we can to correct the issues that you incurred. We accommodate many guests, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one.
Amazing, breath taken view of the ocean. The house was fabulous
My family had the best time staying in the Amber Dawn, We enjoyed seeing the Dolphins and feeding the Sea Gulls. The house was great, but just needed a few upgrades, some celling were water damaged and peeling. I think it just need a minor touch up. I would reccommend this house to others and will stay again there in the future.
Thanks for your kindness during our stay.
The Means and Bonner family
Just ok, has potential
Loved the layout of the house and the views of the ocean. Like South Nags Head areas. Several houses surrounding this home are falling apart and condemmed. view of lots of sandbags. While we were there sand was brought in late at night and early in the am and was spread out in attempt to prevent futher damage - very distracting. Due to all of this the beach was not very large or clean. Access to the house and parking were challenges as the original road had been washed away and had to access by another house. Driveway also shared by house next door. Outside grill not in good shape. Found lots of mouse dropping and dust under furniture in bedrooms. Kitchen utensils, containers could have been better. Living room furniture in good shape and comfortable. Decks and deck furniture great. Like working with Resort Realty, have for several years and plan to continue. This house has great potential with some attention to it.
Great Summer Vacation 2009
We love Nags Head and have been vacationing there every summer since our children (now 18, 18, and 14) were infants. This was our first time staying in Amber Dawn. The house was clean and inviting. The driveway into the house was a little tricky and did not leave a lot of room to back up and turn around if you had more than one car. But we weren't there for the driveway anyway! We loved being right on the ocean and listening to it as we fell asleep each night. It was nice having linens and towels provided as well. We would definitely stay there again.
We loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We have used Resort Realty several times in the past and this home was the best one yet..... of course it was early Spring and the beach had trash on it but that was to be expected.... over all our vacation was great and we will rent Amber Dawn again if it is available our next trip....
A comfortable house with a fantastic view!
We liked the layout. It worked well for our two familes. The furniture was comfortable. All amenities were satisfactory. The decks were wonderful, with great views. A couple of the mattresses need replaced (for comfort), but otherwise the bedding was good. We liked the short distance to the beach with no sand dunes/cacti to deal with! We would definitely rent this home again!