The ocean views are unbelievable from the cottage! Just gorgeous! And this area of Nags Head is strictly residential. So enjoy the views and the quiet while sitting on one of the large decks. South Nags Head boasts a 5 mile bike trail and is part of a bird sanctuary with the wild life preserve running the 5 mile length to the west. Shopping, restaurants and amusements are only a few miles north! New paint, new carpet,new appliances, windows and vinyl siding for 2014. Amenities Include: HVAC, 2 CATV's, VCR, DVD , Internet Access, Books, Games, MW, DW, IM, CFs, deck furniture, stereo w/CD, W/D, char grill, OS.Ground Level: OS.Level 1: BR w/pym...bunk and connect bath with BR w/Q and deck access, laundry closet, BR w/pymbunk and TV and Stereo and connect bath with BR w/Q.Level 2: Living room, 2 Dining areas, Kitchen with island and bar seating, half bath, ocean facing deck.
Additional amenities include: less than 500 yards, floor plans available, military discount.Read more
Left on 10/01/2013 for a stay in September 2013 | Pete & Tina A.
Check in was easy, we wished the road(private) was marked better, you have to watch the road signs as there are no real landmarks.
The house was nice, the major detractor was the windows. The view would have been great, but they were cloudy.
The deck views were fantastic!
It would have been nice if there was a faucet at the lower deck steps, we had to use the front door where the faucet is to wash off the sand.
The location was very nice between the 2 piers.
The american flag to fly was a very nice touch.
There was a broken end table sitting at the top of the steps when we got there, we called the office.
All in all a very nice rental.
We would rent this house again.
Check out was a pain, we had to go to the office due to there being no land line.
Left on 09/17/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | J
The first thing we saw when we entered the property was a broken end table that someone tried to put together, but it was clearly broken and when we moved it, it fell apart. The furniture in the living room and 2 front bedrooms need replacing. The deck looked like it had been recently replaced, but the front railing was unstable with a rope wrapped around it! Many of the blinds are broken in the living room. The kitchen is well-equipped. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 12/04/2013
Thank you Terri for taking the time to review Hale of a View. We apologize for how the home was presented when you first entered the property. We are working closely with the owners so that we may get the furniture updated, new blinds installed and the deck railing corrected. Thank you again for leaving your feedback; it helps us to serve you better.
Great place to stay!
Left on 09/05/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Angie V
Nice place to stay, well stocked kitchen, very little storage in the bedrooms. Mattresses were extremely firm. Wish there had been more deck furniture to enjoy! Great views!!!
Left on 07/10/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Beach Lover
The house needs a good cleaning. Drawers in kitchen cabinets need repair. Cooking utensils, pots and pans need updating. Deck railing is not safe, pickets are loose, beware! The location and view make this all worthwhile!
Really Enjoyed Nags Head
Left on 07/10/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | susan
Our overall experience was positive, The location was wonderful and the living spaces of the home were well equipped, very comfortable and amenable to great family time. There were some issues which hindered our experience. The deck furniture was plastic and not in good condition, which limited our use of the deck. The nozzle to the hose was broken which made cleaning sand off feet very cumbersome since the shower was only accessible by the front door which was locked while we were down on the sand. Although the office was notified, the nozzle was never replaced.Several of the windows had water damage which limited an otherwise awesome ocean view. The back door, which opened to the lower deck and beach, was also water damaged and difficult to open and close. At one point, it became jammed and had to be forced open from outside. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 07/24/2013
Thank you for reviewing "Hale of a View". We value your time in providing us with this feedback. It pleases us to know that you enjoyed the home and location. However, we apologize that you had some maintenance issues. Your review was forwarded to our property manager and she will certainly take the time to review these as well as share this feedback with the homeowner. Please call us when you begin planning your next Outer Banks stay, and we'll work to find a house to fit all your needs and desires 1-800-458-3830.
Location was fantastic!!
Left on 06/27/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Karen
We enjoyed our stay at Hale of a View! We thought the house could use a makeover. The downstairs is very dark(remove the wood paneling to help brighten up the hallway and bedrooms)! The upstairs is very spacious(looks like they are remodeling the kitchen, it should be nice when finished)! Our granddaughter is 14 months old, the upper deck was in need of repair, did not feel it was safe for our granddaughter! The lower deck had left over railing and wood laying around, also not safe for small children!
Westchester, New York
Left on 06/01/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | mandmsmom
This was our first time in the Outer Banks and what a fantastic decision it was! I am starting to wonder why anyone even bothers going abroad for a vacation when there are places like the Outer Banks right here on our own soil! In fact, we had originally planned a trip to Bermuda and cancelled to go to the Outer Banks. We were not disappointed in our decision at all! Everything from Resort Realty, the house, and location to the locals were great. Southern hospitality is very much alive and a very welcome breath of fresh air, especially coming from New York!
Dealing with Resort Realty, especially Gigi, has been a pleasure from the initial booking right up until it was time to leave.
Hale of a View was right on the beach and we could not have asked for a better view of the shore. It was absolutely amazing! The house itself was a little outdated but served my family of four just fine and the price was right. It was well stocked and extremely clean. It was the perfect size for my family with room to spare. Thank you for an unbelievable time! Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 06/14/2012
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the Outer Banks, the house and the views. We will mention to the owner that you thought the house was outdated. We hope to see you again soon.
Bel Air, MD
beautiful view but house could use TLC
Left on 09/08/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Simms
affordable, view is gorgeous, open floor plan, outside shower, grill, cozy, sandy area under house to store items and hangout in the rain.
kitchen is falling apart--2 drawers and cabinet door broken, no improvements since last year, walkway from car to house is overgrown and sandy, both front decks and stairway from door to driveway have nails popping up and some loose boards/rails
would be nicer if:
it had a screened in porch somewhere (maybe lower level deck) to avoid being eaten alive by mosquitos, decking or raised stepping stones from stairs to driveway to avoid getting sandy when going from car to home and vice versa, driveway had a least one space where 2 cars could park side by side to avoid having to keep rearranging the cars, cable tv in all bedrooms, separate cabinet for games instead of being stored in the pantry (so guests would have more space to store their groceries)
wonderful beach view and access
Left on 07/20/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Sally
really enjoyed the beach house with the 4 bedrooms, family area, and especially the view from the decks. the only issue was a non-functioning vaccuum cleaner that the realty staff replaced with a new one. would definitely return. Warn others of the traffic entering Nags Head on a Saturday afternoon. be sure to gas up and be patient.
Left on 12/06/2010 for a stay in November 2010 | Joyce
We enjoyed the house and it was the perfect place to spend Thanksgiving with the family. The view of the ocean is spectacular and we would definitely stay there again!
Englishtown, New Jersey
very relaxing, excellent location,could't be any better!
Left on 10/20/2010 for a stay in October 2010 | Honey Bunch
If you are looking for peace and quiet, with a great location ,this is the place for you. Check-in was easy and any questions we had were answered quickly. Property was well kept and clean. We enjoyed two peaceful weeks,and would return.
Feels like you are on a boat
Left on 09/06/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Family Group
House is right on the beach (literally)! Strong winds can make the house sway some. This with the views made it feel like we were on a boat. Loved the open floor plan and outside shower. Didn't care for the the fact that there was no way to avoid stepping in sand to get to the house from the car or that some people cut through the property as if it was their own beach access even though there is a beach access two houses over. Overall, we had a great time and plan on renting again next year!
Pretty darn good
Left on 06/03/2010 for a stay in May 2010 | Spencer/Campolio
Loved the location. Had a few problems when Resort Realty did not recieve my check but the staff was very understanding and extended the date so I could overnight them another check. ( never have seen or heard from the first check). Leda in acct. was extremly nice. The deck furniture lacked a little and the picnic table was broken nut over all everything was great.
Left on 10/12/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | ronda robinson
very fun time and a wonderful location!
Ocean So Close, Like Being On A Ship.
Left on 10/07/2009 for a stay in October 2009 | ESO
We loved the proximity to the beach and ocean (right out over the deck). The greatroom was very bright and open. The layout of the house was easy and comfortable as there were just 4 of us (2 couples) so we each had our own bathrooms and we used the back bedrooms as a dressing room. The bedrooms are not large, but then they are just for sleeping. The kitchen was very, very well equipted. The outdoor shower was small, but roomy enough. The washer/dryer was very convenient to both master bedrooms. Our only disappointment was the lack of deck furniture (which is an easy fix). We especially liked the fact that we were allowed into the house as soon as we arrived in Nags Head (Thanks for that). The area is really, really good for eating out as there are a number of great little restaurants.
It was a nice relaxing stay
Left on 08/20/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | pamela
The house was nice, neat , clean and had a well stocked kitchen. I do think wiht the present economy that is was a little expensive and we may try to find a lesser expensive one in the future.
Great house, right on the beach!
Left on 08/06/2009 for a stay in September 2008 | DKV2
Hale of a View was more than what we thought it would be. With an infant and a toddler being right on the beach was key! And the shaded sand under the house was a perfect escape from the mid-day sun. Also it was an easy place to drag the sun tent up at night from the beach.
The kitchen had everything we needed. The outdoor shower made for easy clean-up. And there were some unexpected 'extras' that made things more convenient for us: high chairs and pack-n-play. We had brought our own p-n-p so we were able to leave ours downstairs and the other upstairs.
Left on 07/19/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | melisfd
Liked the "living area" and the view and all the windows that let in the ocean breeze and sounds.
Disliked the fact that the bedrooms had no ceiling fans above the beds...very stuffy ventilation. Also the queen size bed we slept in had a very poor old mattress..did not sleep well at all.
Patio screen door got stucky often. Deck and outdoor furniture in poor condition.
Left on 07/17/2009 for a stay in May 2009 | savedbygrace
We really loved the location of the home and the views of the ocean. The advertisement did say there was an answering machine, but we did not have one. About the last 3 days, we found one in the games and puzzles cabinet. We think the machine should have been hooked up and ready to use since it was advertised. The only reason we would pick another place next time is because it did not have wireless internet service. Other than that, we loved the place, though the bathrooms were a little small with the doors hung up inside it. The furniture was comfortable and the mattresses were great. Thanks for letting us stay there.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.