Relax and unwind in this classic oceanfront home with stunning views of the beach. Enjoy the spacious and recently updated living areas, or luxuriate in the property's private swimming pool. This comfortable home is the perfect setting for Making Memories. Amenities Include: Jacuzzi Tub, Cen A/H, DW, W/D, 6 CATVs, VCR, DVD, High Speed Wireless Internet Access, Wet Bar, HC, BBQ, Furnished Decks, 26x13 pool, O/S. Ground Level: Lower level lounge area with TV. Picnic bench and grill, O/S. Level 1: 3BR w/Q, BR w/T and Pym Bunk, 3 Baths, Laundry. Level 2: Living w/SS, Dining, Kitchen, Full Bath w/Jacuzzi, BR w/K.
Additional amenities include...: partials allowed, less than 500 yards, hometown hero discount, military discount.Read more
Left on 10/10/2013 for a stay in September 2013 | Jim and Bonnie
For two weeks this past September, my husband and I stayed in our favorite beachfront rental, along with family and friends. We appreciated the updates that were done since last year, namely the newly-painted interior, the repaired upstairs deck, and the comfy deck chairs that allowed us to enjoy the vista of the beach with all its activity, especially the bird life and daily sunrises. Where will we be next September for two weeks--making more memories that will last our lifetimes!
Left on 09/12/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | K. Franklin
we loved this house, the location on the beach was great. I was worried about what the beach would look like after nourishment, but it was beautiful. The house needs some additional cleaning in the bathroom upstairs, the shells decorating the mirror are coated in an old layer of dust. The downstairs shared toilet backup up while we were there, but it was the last day thankfully. The porch looking over the beach was enjoyed by all of us! We have already put in our request to have this house next year! Can't wait.
Blue Ridge, VA
Had a great time despite the condition of the house.
Left on 09/12/2013 for a stay in September 2013 | Hodges
This house has a great beachfront location in Nags Head; close to shopping and restaurants. However, the house is in poor condition and was not clean...in fact, the carpets were filthy. The staff at Resort Realty was helpful in solving some of our issues, but I would not recommend this house unless the owners do a complete makeover. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 10/10/2013
We are so happy to hear that you and your family had a great vacation. However, I would like to express my apologies for the fact that you were not satisfied with the level of cleanliness at the home. The housekeeping department has been notified of your concerns for their information. Your comments were also forwarded to the property manager, and she will certainly take them into consideration when recommending improvements to the homeowners. Thank you for your time and for choosing Resort Realty.
Not the Best cabin
Left on 08/01/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | atlbuckeyegirl
We've been coming to the OBX for over 30 years, and each year we rent a different cabin. So to say we have some experience with cabins is an understatement.:) When we arrived, this cabin was really, really dirty. So dirty that I had to go the realty mgt company and insist they come and reclean it. Which they did. This is a pet friendly rental, but oddly enough the dirtiness in my opinion wasn't pet related, it was lazy housekeeping. There was 1/4 inch of dirt along the carpet/walls where clearly no vacuum had seen in months. The kitchen floor made your feet black. The refrigerator smelled of fish. Toilet seats were broken, drains were clogged. We even found a 1/2 eaten donut on the floor. Sad and dissappointing when you shell out almost $6k for a week. The house is functional, though if you have older folks the stairs are really steep and my parents found them difficult. Great location on the beach with an excellent view. If you don't mind roughing it, you'll be OK here --- but don't expect much. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 08/23/2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are so disappointed that the home was clean prior to your arrival. We are glad that you let us know because we always welcome the opportunity to provide a timely resolution to requests. I have forwarded your review to our housekeeping department, and they have addressed this issue. Each home is of course deep cleaned in the Spring, and we do have a list of items that are covered each and every week. I do see a note in your reservation that a refund was given on July 24th. We hope you will return to the Outer Banks and give us an opportunity to assist you in your vacation needs.
Wonderful family vacation
Left on 07/04/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Mitchell's
This home was great! The location was perfect. Everything you need is in the kitchen. Only two problems... It took 2 days to get the wi-fi working and the trash was not picked up. Yuck! This did not keep us from having a wonderful time in the OBX.
Great location, amazing views!
Left on 10/04/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | Jessica
Our trip was one we have been planning for an entire year with another family traveling to the OBX from California with their 2 1/2 year old daughter and 9 month old son. We traveled from pa with our 16 month old twin boys, baby gates and all! We could not have been more pleased with the proximity of the home to the beach, absolutely perfect for not having to lug all beach items down to the sand. Lunch time and potty breaks were very convienient! The home was not very clean at all, witih little ones on the floor, we were concerned and wanted to run the vacuum, which was no where to be found. We started our list of things that needed immediate attention. There were many rungs on the top deck railing that were not attached at the bottom or broken in 1/2 completely. Also the boards were wobbly and lots of nails were sticking up. The deck needs to be replaced, it did not feel safe while out there. This was a miss for us as my best friend and I were looking forward to sitting outside drinking our morning coffee. The high chair was stored in the downstairs screened in area and looked like it had not been used for ages, it was covered with mildew and unusable. There was rotted floor near the 2nd and 3rd floor sliding doors which was covered by the carpet, but if stepped on, your foot dropped through it. Not a very safe environment for the children to get caught in. After our list was compiled we called maintenance, they were wonderful! Joe came out and immediately fixed the rungs on the deck railing and said he would get us a vacuum and high chair 1st thing in the morning, which he delivered. Overall we had a nice stay at Making Memories. It was our children's first trip to the OBX and a memorable one! Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 11/19/2012
We appreciate your taking time to review our property "Making Memories". It is always our first priority to have a safe and clean home for our guests, and we apologize if you did not initially find it that way. We are glad that you called our maintenance staff, and provided us the opportunity to correct the issues. Thank you for choosing Resort Realty, and we hope to see you again.
Beautiful view and ease to the beach.
Left on 06/27/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Roger
Wish house was a little cleaner... A beautiful house with a great view.. A bathroom on first floor would be nice. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 07/20/2012
Thank you for your review on FlipKey. Our Housekeeping Department has been advised and I will also advise the owner of a suggested bathroom on the ground level. Again, thank you for your time and we hope that you will vacation with Resort Realty in the near future.
Belington WV 26250
Very good vacation overall.
Left on 06/20/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Julia Feather
Over all this house in a great location and we were very pleased with the stay. This is the second time in 3 years we have stayed in this home. I found it to not be nearly as clean as it was the first time but it was ok.We had to call for light bulbs in one bathroom which you would think someone would have already replaced without a call. The service was very quick to take care of the issue. Having linens included is a great plus. The closeness of the house to the water is one major thing that draws us to the home. We would stay there again.
Very nice house
Left on 06/12/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | Happy customers
Great place..good proximity to beach, off the busy street. Only thing that was a challage was the location of the bedrooms below the living quarters..ie kitchen and den. Nice kitchen and the pool was nice.
Better than I expected
Left on 08/31/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Christine
We normally go later in the year and rent bigger houses, but with less of us going and coming down early we picked this house. The living room / kitchen area was connected which worked out great! Kitchen is rather same, but I didn't need to be in it! This is the first house we had without a dune to the beach area, the view was awesome! Odd with the pool in the front of the house, but safer for the storms i'm sure. Resort Reality was one of the easiest realtors I have ever dealt with too!
Left on 08/25/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Kathy
Had a relaxing time with friends. This house was good for us since it was only 4 of us. Great location.
OBX Lover and Friends!
Great house, great trip...despite the closed beach
Left on 07/27/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | OBX Lover and Friends!
My husband and I have been vacationing at the Outer Banks with my best friend and her husband for several years. This year we decided to splurge on an oceanfront house and extend the invitation to both of our extended families. Several months before our arrival we received information from the realty office indicating that the beaches at the Outer Banks would be undergoing some very needed "nourishment" (dredging of the ocean floor sand which is pumped onto the shores to extend the beach). We were told this process could interfere with our beach access for 24 to 48 hours. "No problem!! 48 hours isn't that long...plus we have a pool!" we thought. Well, as luck would have it, our oceanfront home was oceanfront-less for 5 of our 7 days at the Outer Banks - huge bummer...but there was absolutely noone to blame! Although completely out of his control and by no means his fault, the owner of the house (when seeing that our beach had been closed on Monday and not reopened as of Wed) very generously offered to treat our entire house to dinner out one night due to our lack of direct beach access!!! This generous gesture helped to lessen the blow of not having access to the beach for the majority of our vacation during our very first "oceanfront" stay at the Outer Banks. Aside from not having direct access to the beach, having our ocean views marred by heavy equipment and the constant sound of "backing up" beeping (and for our friends - 7 sleepless nights due to their 11 month old twins), our stay was absolutely fantastic. The weather was perfect, the house was immaculately maintained and extremely well appointed, and the great pool behind the house proved a life-saver during the sweltering summer afternoons! Aside from an open beach (and a little more sleep for our friends) we could not have asked for more from our stay at Making Memories! This house is a fantastic oceanfront find at a terrific price!
Left on 06/29/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | Weaver's
This is our second year staying at Making Memories. We rented the house for two weeks this year. We were disappointed that the house was not clean. Mid stay cleaners came to do a "spiff" cleaning and were only there for 10 minutes, we did inform resort realty concerning this.
We love the location of the house and the layout is perfect for our family.
We have not decided if we will rent Making Memories next year due to the lack of cleanliness.
Beautiful and Relaxing
Left on 06/23/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | susano
We've stayed at the same house for several years. We love the location and the way the owners take good care of their property and update it yearly. This year they painted the kitchen a lovely color and always have fun things on the walls. Housekeeping could have done a better job. It looked good on the surface but not so good if you looked too closely.
We'' never forget the maddening slow draining bathroom sink
Left on 05/25/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | The Mulcahy's
Although the response was good by your maintainance people, the things that were broken should have been repaired prior to our arrival Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 06/06/2011
Thank you for your response on FlipKey. We are very sorry you had some concerns and thank you for bringing them to our attention!
We pride ourselves in assuring homes are in proper working order and fit our guests needs. Since your visit we have been back out to this rental property to make sure the items you brought to our attention were in working order. We have taken care of the issues and again thank you for bringing them to our attention.
Thank you for booking your vacation with Resort Realty and we hope to see you again next year!
Left on 09/08/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Melusen Family
We loved the location of this house! The pool came in handy due to rip tides that closed the water a few times. We also loved the picnic tables for serving lunch to the kids without making them clean off first. There were a few broken fixtures and rusted appliances, but overall the house was just right for us.
Left on 08/13/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Misti
Didn't realize the pool was in the location it was. I assumed it was closer to the house. Also had problems with the airconditioning and refrigerator not being cold enough
Left on 07/15/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Julie Feather
Location of house was great. We have stayed in several houses along Oregon Inlet and this is by far the best.
The Weaver Family
Left on 07/15/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | The Weaver Family
The home was exactly what our family needed. The accommodations were perfect. Each of us had our own bedroom and bathroom. The location was fabulous, it doesn't get any better than "oceanfront!" A gas grill would have been useful, the charcoal grill was small to cook dinner for all of us on it.
The only negative was we left the home cleaner than when we arrived.
We are definately planning on renting Making Memories again in 2011!
Great Location, house needs a little work.
Left on 08/25/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | OBX
Our family loves the Outer Banks and this was our tenth consecutive year vacationing there. Resort Realty provided good service. We had some trouble with the air conditioning and they promptly returned our phone calls. We had to downsize this year, but our two main requirements for renting a house were oceanfront and a private pool. This house has amazing views of the ocean and we loved being so close to the beach! We knew this house wasn't as new as some others, but we had a few complaints we felt legitimate. The pool could not be used due to very large spiders all over the patio and in the pool. You pay more for a home with a private pool, needless to say this was disappointing. We paid the fee for early check in. Housekeeping must have rushed through the home because it was not thoroughly cleaned (left over souvenirs and items for other guests found, greasy dirty light switches, dusty furniture). There also was a problem with bugs above the dining room table. Lots of tiny winged bugs that flocked the lighting fixture. The bedrooms were fine, beds were squeaky. Plenty of extra bedding. There was nicer furniture in the living room and it was comfortable for all of our families. If it wasn't for the bugs and housekeeping issues, our trip would have been a little bit more enjoyable.
best veiw on beach
Left on 07/25/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | Brian Green
The service from resort realty is second to none. the process from start to end is very easy and pleasant. This was our 3rd stay in making memories, and we have already booked for 2010.The home has the best view on the beach, is very comfortable, and roomy. the location is perfsct for getting away from the traffic, and crowds, of the northern areas. The home has almost everything you need for a nice stay. The best thing about the home is the incredible view from the two decks. The only thing negative I would say is that the beds could use new mattresses. They were very worn out and we had alot of achey backs in the mornings. Also the kitchen could use some small things like a mixer, pizza cutter, etc. But overall the best OBX house we have stayed in after many years of visits.
J C Harris
Left on 07/22/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | J C Harris
No internet service!! To many twin beds, most families don't have that many kids. Only two queen beds. The ceiling in the livingroom leaked in numerous places during rain storms. The back sliding door didn't lock. Numerous lamps throughout the house didn't work. The location is great we've stayed at other houses on the same street. However, it is right next to a public beach access for Tides dr. so it gets crowded on the beach. Loved how the kitchen was stocked, many more things than other houses. Ice maker downstairs was great. Would love to be able to park under the house.
Great home and location
Left on 07/20/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | JennMullen
We loved how close this home was to the beach.
Literally steps from the beach people!!! The house
was clean and fairly updated. The walk to the pool
was a little rough in the heat of the day, and it
requires shoes because of the hot sand and rocks.
But that is the only downfall I can think of. The
kitchen was huge and lots of cupboard space. Great
living space also! Our favorite house in OBX thus
This was definitely a memory making vacation.
Left on 07/19/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | beachgirl09
We stayed at Making Memories with some of our family members. We had a wonderful time. We not only enjoyed the house, but we so thankful for the close location to the ocean. We felt sorry for others in their rentals with long walkways. There we were right on the beach. It was perfect as my father cannot see well, and felt uncomfortable walking in the sand. He was able to enjoy the ocean and us being on the beach right from the deck. Every room had a great view. Thank you so much Resort Realty for a vacation dream come true!
Fairless Hills, PA
Left on 07/17/2009 for a stay in August 2008 | pattyk7189
This property was great for my family. My parents came down with us, and it was perfect for my dad to sit out and see the kids playing on the beach. This past March, my father passed away, and the memories of this house were a great comfort. I would recommend this house to everyone. It's a great location, great price, and a perfect place to make memories!
loved it ...with one big issue!
Left on 07/17/2009 for a stay in August 2006 | fallonfunk
First time we went in 2006, it was kinda run down, but we loved the location and the layout. Pool could be closer to house, but we enjoyed it enough to come back following two years and were suppose to come back in 09 but family matters changed that , however we hope to come back next year.
And we know new owners took over house so following year after first visit there were some improvements,new carpet,paint.
Last July we stayed and were very put off by workers coming to install new stairs to beach,while it was a nice improvement to house it was annouying, no one wants construction during their vacation. Plus we were never informed of construction to be done during our stay. That was a BIG intrusion. The construction lasted 2 days. We inquired at office and were told by the office manager that it was pretty much too bad and that the owner is a "dentist" as if that should matter, and wouldnt be too concerned over our inconvience! I was too shocked to continue the conversation and said hell with it and left. The young women at front desk was more sympathetic then office manager.But we will come back again.
There is no other place I love more then Nags Head, and I love the older charm of this house.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.