A beautiful design and attractive furnishings combine to make this home an ideal vacation choice! Enjoy the comfort of a Private Pool and Hot Tub, the tranquility of wonderful ocean views and the quality craftsmanship this home features. Conveniently located to restaurants, shopping and fishing piers. Event Fee $2,000. Amenities Include: Cen A/H, DW, MW, IM, W/D, 7CATVs, 7VCRs, DVD, Stereo w/CD, Telephone w/Ans.Mach., Video & Book Library, Jacuzzi, CFs, HC, PCR, Decks w/Furn., Picnic Table, Encl.OS, Park Grill, Wireless InternetGround Level: Offers 1Bdrm w/Bunkset (bathroom with shower only), 1Bdrm w/PymBnk (jack n jill bathroom with show...er only) adjoining Gameroom w/Foosball. Level 1: Offer4 Master Bedrooms with Queen beds, each with private full bathroomLevel 2: Offers 1 MBR w/King & priv bath w/jacuzzi, Living, dining area and kitchen combined, 1 Half bath.
Additional amenities include: partials allowed, less than 500 yards, event home: 2000.Read more
Left on 08/11/2014 for a stay in July 2014 | Sharon S
This home has a convenient location and the beach is beautiful. Unfortunately the home is in dire need of maintenance and had a terrible smell during our stay. Smelled like a cat had been there without a litter box.
Left on 09/05/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | RobinE
The property was probably a little better than average but not very good, and since there was no good rating, average it is. The location of this house is awesome, on the beach, within walking distance of a lot of shops, activities and more. Loved the view of the ocean and the sound. Pool was a nice size and private beach walkway was very nice!
Football table was also fun to have.
Hot tub could be better placed than outside of a bedroom window, especially being that the bedroom is most likely used for kids (pyramid bunk).
Kitchen was nice size and pretty nicely stocked, though we found some of the drawers not to be so clean. Lacked a few things in the way of cooking/preparing meals, but not much.
House smelled a bit musty and so did the bed linens, those were easily addressed with candles and laundering of bed clothes.
Ceiling fan Light fixture in one of the bedrooms fell while we were there. Called for service to fix it and they promptly came to fix it.
Over Priced for what you get !!!
Left on 08/19/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Skipper
The house needs an overall good cleaning. Bedspreads were dirty. The bedroom that we stayed in on the second floor had a bad odor coming from it every time you entered the room from the sliding door. The kitchen is a nice size but is poorly stocked. There are more empty drawers and cupboards then filled ones. No cookie sheets, big pans, pitchers, etc. We had to go out and buy a new blender. The one left at the house was very dirty and did not work well. The oven door handle was broke and sometimes the oven did not close properly. Kitchen counter tops were badly warped. The outside shower was missing a shower head. Our concerns were addressed to resort realty the first day by phone and secondly with a visit to the realty office. Nothing was done about the complaints. Bring extra pillows and blankets because there is none in the house. We will never rent this house again. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 09/25/2012
We are sorry your vacation was not as pleasant as it should have been because of the various issues you had during your stay. We have forwarded your comments to the homeowner. We do require basic kitchen equipment in all our properties, and we are very sorry that you did not have what you needed at the time. Thank you for booking with Resort Realty and hope your next visit to the Outer Banks will be more pleasant.
Our stay was pretty average.
Left on 08/14/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Melanie
We liked the pool, the view and the access to the beach. We also liked the location in Nags Head - there was a restaurant across the street and a few souvenior shops within walking distance. We were also very close to the main shopping areas. Upon arrival, one of the toilets was clogged and the air filters looked like they had not been changed in years. Both problems were corrected within a day of calling. The kitchen was a nice size but you only have one big refridgerator, which never seemed to get cold enough. There is also a small fridge in the game room. We did not like that there is no access from the top deck to the other decks. Also the hot tub is in a strange location on the ground floor, in the corner, underneath all the decking. We hardly used it at all. Definitely could have used more lounge chairs by the pool. Also we would have liked a table and chairs by the pool so we could eat there. We really liked that every bedroom had their own bathroom.
Haddon Township New Jersey
Left on 07/05/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | colleen
Besides the one stove burner not working (someone came to fix it our 2nd day) and the second bedroom toilet running, I thought Shontee's was a good pick for our group. We had 3 families and one couple 16 people in total and it worked great! Hotel next door wasn't overly crowded so we still had our "own beach" for most of the time. Great spot ..near everything. House was just as expected.
a great family trip
Left on 10/02/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | Debba 53
I spent the week with a great group of people and the weather was great. I have 2 Yorkies that weigh less than 4 lbs each. I chose not to take them on vacation with me because I did not want them to annoy the other guests. I chose a home that was not pet friendly purposely to avoid this problem.
Although the home was beautiful to look at, I was shocked to smell an undeniable odor of cat spray in two of the bedrooms. My brother and his wife's room was the worst. After two bottles of fabreze were emptied into the room we could still smell the cat odor. The carpet in front of the entry door had the same odor.
I was told to not got to the home untill I was contacted to give the house cleaning staff and inspector time to finish their job. I am amazed that an inspector did not notice the odors in the house. I feel sure that all paties present had to have noticed how strong the unpleasant odor was.
Left on 09/22/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | Melissa
The house over-all was very nice. My only complaint (and its a rather large one) was that it was extremely musty/damp. The smell was very strong, and we had to leave the doors/windows open all day and night just to be able to stay in one particular bedroom (which happened to be a ocean-front room). There was a wet/sandy spot in front of the sliding glass door, and we attributed the smell to that.
Smelly Oceanfront w/outdated everything
Left on 08/28/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Chris Spranger
The ground level stunk like cat pee when we arrived, and our request to have the carpet cleaned was ignored. Great location, outdated and lots of broken stuff. Kitchen utensils are cheap, many blinds broken, water damage to the countertops, ice maker insufficient for that size home. The owner was on sight to accept a new dryer mid-week (the old one broke), and when we tried to speak to her about some of our concerns, she lied to us about who she was to avoid conflict. I spent the first hour hammering deck and boardwalk nails so the kids would not get hurt, and there were a few loose boards on the dune crossing. I will not rent this house again. For the money paid we did not receive a fair deal. The owner shows up Saturday to start cleaning the pool, so don't plan on any privacy for your last three hours. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 09/07/2010
Thank you for your response on Flip Key. We are very sorry you had some concerns and thank you for bringing them to our attention!
We pride ourselves in assuring homes are in proper working order and fit our guests needs. We are sorry about the owner being present and not speaking with you about your concerns. We will do an inventory of the home and express your comments to the owners. We have many wonderful homes and would be glad to assist you in finding another home to rent for the 2011 season!
Thank you for booking your vacation with Resort Realty and we hope to see you again next year!
perfect house, perfect location
Left on 08/13/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Hannonclan
The living room furniture was not very comfy, but over all the house had everthing we needed and the fact that every bedroom had a bathroom was great. The house is within walking distance of the pier, souvenir shops and a couple restaurants. Great view of the ocean and beach from the deck. Pool was a great size!
Happy beach girl
Chicago suburbs, IL
perfect location on a beautiful oceanfront
Left on 09/10/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | Happy beach girl
Very efficient check in procedures and information. This location was centrally located to restaurants, stores and grocery. Fabulous home for multiple families with many seperate baths. The pool is clean and well kept. We used the pool every day and is useful on days when there are red flags for the ocean and no swimming allowed. Would highly recommend this location and may even come here again! What an awesome week on the beach, the kids can't wait to come back!
Left on 09/02/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | Mother-of-the-Bride
We rented both Shontee's Summer Place and the Fritz Carlton as twenty family members came to celebrate the marriage of my daughter and new son-in-law. The houses made the vacation with the breathtaking views of the ocean and sunrises from the third floor windows and deck. It was easy for us to go back and forth between houses and the kitchens were accomadating. there were a couple days when the red flags were posted on the beach, so it was wonderful to have the pools for swimming. The location is ideal as it is close to stores and restaurants - especially since we're from Pittsburgh and were able to cross the street to the South Beach Grille and watch the Steelers game. The location on the beach made a beautiful setting for the wedding ceremony. I've had 19 vacations in the OBX but this was the best - largely in part because of the beautiful houses.
Five couples getaway.
Left on 08/15/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | M7Stevens
Relaxing stay, just wish for $8,700.00 we would have had Internet!
Morgantown, West Virginia
Left on 08/05/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | Happy Vacationers
The house was great. The location was great. It was great waking up in the morning and being able to walk outside to the beach. We were also able to walk to a few shops or get ice cream.
The home was very nice. There are lots of steps to get to the main living area and kitchen so we got lots of exercise.
A few suggestions....more pots and pans are needed. There should be multiple sizes of pots, pans and skillets. An extra refrigerator would be another suggestion. We had eight teenagers so we ate in except for maybe three nights. They eat a lot of food for all three meals and there was just never enough space for food. The grill could also be larger. We ended up renting grills for the week because it was not an adequate size.
Another thing that needs addressed is rail on the top deck seemed loose. We had to warn our kids to not lean on it. I would really be concerned if there were younger kids around always climbing.
Overall our vacation was great. The weather was awesome. The house is very comfortable, plenty of seating for meals and relaxation.
We will be back again next year.
Nice house, but don't go early in the season.
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | Chris
The house overall was enjoyable; however, we rented early in the season and it was evident that the house was not ready to go for the season. We discovered the first day that the outdoor shower had clogged completely from rust. The hot tub's thermostat was also stuck to the highest setting and could not be lowered. Both issues were resolved quickly, but should have been discovered prior to us arriving. Some of the outdoor plastic furniture was cracked and unusable as well. Our biggest issue was that the owner of the property arrived at 7:00AM the day we were leaving and started to clean the property and the pool. We were to have the house until 10:00AM. Our kids would have loved playing in the pool those last few hours while my wife and I packed the car. I brought these issues to management?s attention and asked for a 10% discount due to the inconvenience. They told me they would ask the owner for the discount, but was told not to expect anything. I believe I should have received the discount from Resort Realty and not the owner. After all, I paid Resort Realty. I also asked for management to email me in regards to the owners supposed decision about the discount. I still haven?t received any emails as of yet Resort Realty. I have been renting with them for several years now; I think a 10% discount isn?t too much to ask for.
Overall Nice Home
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | Jsolari
Generally a nice home in a great location. However, the bathrooms were small and the bed frames were bent and had missing parts. One of the baths also leaked (during baths, not showers).
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | Bill
The house was clean, and had all the necessities. There were some maintenance problems.(ripped screen door,broken chair at PC desk,ants,). Overall experience was good.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.