|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Now this is a playhouse! Light, airy and playfully decorated, it has all the amenities. Great ocean views and easy beach access approx. 154 yards away complete with a bathhouse including bathrooms and showers. 4 King suites, TV's in every bedroom, a kitchen just off the pool, large island bar area in the great room, elevator and covered porches just to sit and relax - a great cottage layout! Enjoy nearby shopping at the Outlet Mall, restaurants or take the free shuttle to play a round of golf. This cottage has something for everyone!Amenities Include: (9)CATV, (7)DVD, HVAC, (2)MW, high speed internet, (2)refrigerators, DW, W/D, gas grill...Read more
Nags Head, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$322 - $1,011||$322 - $1,011||$1,150 - $4,595||$0||7 nights|
|Jan. 5 2013 - May. 17 2013||$322||$322||$1,150||-||7 nights|
|May. 18 2013 - May. 24 2013||$356||$356||$1,320||-||7 nights|
|May. 25 2013 - May. 31 2013||$491||$491||$1,995||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 1 2013 - Jun. 7 2013||$614||$614||$2,610||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Jun. 14 2013||$767||$767||$3,375||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Jun. 15 2013 - Jun. 21 2013||$887||$887||$3,975||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 22 2013 - Aug. 9 2013||$1,011||$1,011||$4,595||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 10 2013 - Aug. 16 2013||$891||$891||$3,995||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 17 2013 - Aug. 23 2013||$711||$711||$3,095||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 24 2013 - Aug. 30 2013||$571||$571||$2,395||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 31 2013 - Sep. 6 2013||$451||$451||$1,795||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 7 2013 - Jan. 3 2014||$342||$342||$1,250||-||7 nights|
|View all 12 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 16, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Excellent Location, could use improvements
I thought the service at Resort Realty was great! Unfortunately, didn't like all of the added fees ($200 extra for linens?!? $30 to use your credit card?!?). But the friendly personnel were excellent, always willing to help. The house was nice, very nicely decorated, definitely a "clean" feeling. We were happily surprised at a pool maintenance guy mid-week, who did an excellent job cleaning the pool and was in & out. The stovetop pans were horrible. Pretty much every meal cooked on the stovetop burned because of them. All pans were warped and scraped up. The back sliding glass door to the pool was a struggle- getting it opened and closed. I thought having keys to the house would be a pain in the neck (versus "keyless" entry), but it worked out fine. The dryer took forever to dry clothes. Oh- and there is no WiFi and the internet connection was very spotty. We had to keep rebooting it for it to work. Being right across the street from the grocery store was very nice. And being so close to seafood restaurants (Capt George's Buffet is excellent!!) was a big plus. The beach access was close, although there were big "private access" signs all around, it was the only place we could find and wasn't bothered. I'd say what I liked best was location and the elevator (it was really nice not having to cart groceries or luggage up the stairs). What I liked the least was how sound carried throughout the entire house. The house we rented last year was really solid and you couldn't hear anything from the floors above or below. At The Playhouse, everything could be heard from the top floor to the bottom floor. It's a nice enough house, but wouldn't stay there again.
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 11/26/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review "The Playhouse". We are so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay and you loved the location! We apologize for the condition of the pots and pans and the internet during your stay. We have contacted the owner regarding these issues. We hope you will contact us for your next Outer Banks Vacation, and look forward to providing you with the perfect vacation home for your needs.
Wonderful house for multi-family stays !!
We rented this home for a three day trip to Nags Head. We came down for a 12U youth fastpitch softball tournament. We had 13 families we needed to provide housing/sleeping quarters. The Playhouse was one of the two homes we rented. It was awesome. We filled every bedroom with a parent and a player. The girls were so excited to be able to stay in a house together. They used the hot tub, swam in the pool, played many games of pool and foosball, and immensely enjoyed being able to eat meals together in the huge kitchen and dining area. The parents also enjoyed themselves in the "game room". Working with Resort Realty was an extremely positive experience. I had talked with many of the other realty companies trying to line up a partial stay - most of them made me feel like I was causing them a big inconvenience by requesting a partial stay - Resort Realty was the complete opposite. They were genuine and pleasant every time I communicated with them trying to arrange the rental. I will recommend them to anyone I hear is planning a trip to OBX. We will definitely be using you guys next year when we come play in this tournament again. Thanks so much !!! By the way, the bathroom guestbook in the home was hilarious and such a great idea !!!
The Playhouse was great. It has everything you could want in a vacation house. Although it was across the street from the beach, it was a short walk and there were restrooms and showers that were very convenient. The pool, hot tub, porches, pool table and foos ball table were enjoyed by all. The elevator was a great help also. It is a three story house.
The only negative was the gas grill. It was on its last leg. It should be replaced soon. We grill out a lot and it was difficult to cook on it. That was the only negative thing.
The house had everything you would need. It was also decorated very nicely. It's on a corner lot, which was very nice. It is convenient to restaurants and shops.
We had a great time and would recommend it to anyone.
The Playhouse was perfect. It had all the amenities we needed in a home. The house was clean, close to the beach, shopping center, outlet malls etc.
There were a few things that are in need of repair, the grill is old and rusted, there were no blinds in one of the king suite bathrooms-
Beachgoer in Arlington
Nice place, difficult to cook
I wish I had seen the reviews before I put down the deposit. The place was nice, in a good location, but only had two burners on the ancient stove and the grill was pretty disgusting. We made it work, but the cooking was definitely tricky. If I had the choice of a place with a better stove and grill, I would take it!
Virginia Beach, VA
Was advertised to have a jacuzzi. It didn't work and when the maintenance man came by he discovered that the circuit breaker for the jacuzzi was turned off (not tripped). It was turned off because the switch at the jacuzzi was not working. The owner should have had it fixed or not advertise that the unit had one. Very disappointing since three family members have arthiritis.
Tina and Family
Phila and New Jersey
Not too crazy about this one.
Property can use some updating. The house slept 16 - old electric range had only 2 burners and the oven did not work. The outdoor grill did not work properly-so cooking for 16 was a difficult. Overall the house was clean but definately can use updating.
Nags Head nice place for family vacation
Nice place overall. We had an ant problem while we were there. Spoke with maintenance person who then contacted exterminator who came on Wednesday, didn't see many ants until Friday when they were all over the silverware drawer. Location was good, close to shopping, grocery and beach.
We love coming down to Nags Head every year. The Playhouse is a beautiful house.
Cons: There were roaches and ants in the house and the downstairs wasn't as cool as the upstairs. It was humid downstairs. Other than that, a beautiful house that accommodated us.
The Playhouse is in a great location. Close to shopping and very close to the beach access. Parking is ample with a little maneuvering. I know rental properties take a beating and regular upkeep is difficult unless you're on location. However, the house itself is in need of some attention and perhaps a new cleaning service (they don't use Resort Realty's). The bunk bedrooms were full of ants (food and trash behind the dressers). The dryer may need a professional cleaning as it took hours to dry a load of towels. A couple of the chairs at the kitchen table had wobbly legs that were too unstable for anyone to sit on. The benches at the bar also were unstable. The pool was supposed to be cleaned mid-week; however the only cleaning they did was empty the trap. With storms and high winds every night the pool was full of dirt by mid week and should have been vacuumed. The grill was in desperate need of cleaning (we used a lot of foil to cover the grates!). All of the towel racks and toilet paper holders were falling off the walls. The air conditioner on the ground level broke the second day we were there. The kitchen was poorly "stocked". For a house that holds 16 people there was not one pot or pan big enough to boil a pound of pasta. And the couple of things they do have to cook in and with were very old and rusted. There is no blender (really? at the beach?) and the coffee pots were filthy. The floors were so filthy we all had to wear shoes in the house all week or our feet were black. We made it all work and had a good week but for the money we spent and the way the house is advertised, we were very disappointed.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Nice Location, Good House, but in need of help
The house has a good layout for our family three adult couples and five children under 8, so there was plenty of space for all to have some private time if needed. The pool area was very nice and the location is great, about 100 feet to beach access and shopping was a short block away.
While the house has many nice features, they were overshadowed by the problems at the house. The kitchen stove only has two burner and with one that didn't work. While the rental company was quick to come out and address some other minor issues, like burned out lights and a leaky faucet, they informed us that the owner wanted their own appliance repairman to fix the stove and the appliance repair man would be contacting us directly to fix the problem. Needless to say, no call, no working stove and a very difficult week of cooking for thirteen people.
In addition, the property has a horrible ant infestation on the first floor. The kitchen area was completely overrun with ants on the floor, the counter and the cabinets.
While the property seems nice on the site, the property needs some attention to be a property I would recommend to someone.
Great place but not a great ocean view
We loved this place. It had lots of room and was very clean. Our only negative was that the pictures were a little decieving as far as the ocean view goes. We knew it was not on the ocean but thought we did have somewhat of an ocean view. Other than that, the place was great and the people at Resort Realty were awesome!
A Family Thanksgiving
We met in Nags head NC and stayed at the Playhouse.The house was very nice. The game room was well used.It had been quite a few years since we had Thanksgiving together and it was more then we expected. My grandchildren's comments were awesome, this is the best thanksgiving ever, when our we doing this again? Resort Realty was very courteous and helpful. Needless to say all 15 of us had a Vacation to remember. We are planning our next one to the Playhouse.Hopefully it will be when it's a little warmer,
My granddaughter has a saying for our Family and it goes. We may not have it altogether but, together we have it all. Thank you for all your help1
The Wilt Family
I love OBX
I have been coming to OBX for 20 years and have rented alot of homes. This is the worst home for bugs. I called your office and hopefully by now it is exterminated.
The stove did not work well and this is important when you plan meals.
The home was very well located to everything, the beach, shopping and fishing places.
I would rent this house again and recommend it to others.
Resort Realty was great. It was the first time we used their services. The house was nice, but some of the kitchen items were old, broken and in dir. e need of replacing. The stove wouldn't work so we called maintenace. They told us how to fix it so two of the 4 burners worked. Why not just replace it? It was old, clean, but old. The grill had no utencils to clean it with. We couldn't check out by phone as the system didn't recognize the home phone number. Shower curtains were torn and needed replacing. But it was spacious, loved the pool and the front porch; easy beach access. We loved the Nags Head area - much to see and do.
This home was very nice but had some maintenance issues and response times.
The gas grill was a disaster - a rental was provided later Tues pm and we had planned some cookouts early in the week but had to reschedule. Also the lights were out at the pool. We called early Sun am on grill and light issues and did not get maintenance there until Tues pm after several calls. There were many lights out throughout the house in which we replaced with bulbs stored in closet. Outside light fixtures were bad some with just wires hanging and railing was loose. Needs some repair for bad and loose nails sticking up.Sliding doors need worked on also.We did not expect to have to make constant calls and complaints while on vacation.
TV's were the older type and many rentals have gone to newer sets. Cable modem did not work properly also.
Also the property promotes beach access and bath house 50 yds away but this access has signs "PRIVATE for Nags Head Village ONLY" (another rental company cleaned the bathhouse). We did not park there but used the walkway.This should be verified.
We really enjoyed the house. It was beautiful and we really did enjoy the layout. However, the house was not clean. The floors were extremely dirty. If you walked barefoot, your feet would turn black. We had a roach in our bedroom the first night we were there and also a ton of spiders. We never saw the pool guy clean the pool. They did come to run the hose in the pool on Tuesday but they never cleaned the pool. There was dirt on the bottom of the pool before we even got there and it remained there all week. Overall, not very impressed. Location was ok. Beach access says 50 feet but you actually have to walk a couple of blocks to get to the public beach access which that is really not interpreted when looking at the property.
Vancouver, BC CANADA
We rented The Playhouse as it located across the street from Unchained Melody which we also rented but we need more rooms, so worked well to have two places.
We thoroughly enjoyed staying at The Playhouse and only complaint would be to buy a new BBQ. A BBQ is very important when you are on a beach holiday and disappointing when it does not work.
Would definitely recommend Resort Realty to deal with and The Playhouse.
lots of room
This house is furnished nicely and has a lot of bedrooms & bathrooms to accomodate several families on vacation. The washer & dryer was essential to a week's stay at the beach. The house was located within a short walking distance to the beach also. Parking is kind of tight but we managed with 5-6 cars. Kitchen on upper & lower levels nice. Private pool was small but nice.