MP 12.5 Enjoy the spectacular ocean sunrises and sound sunsets from this spacious and elegant home at Jockey's Ridge. Enjoy the remodeled and fully equipped kitchen with granite counters and stainless appliances; walk across the street to Austin Seafood Market for all the seafood to cook and Brew Thru for your beverages of choice. Experience breezes from the two oceanfront decks accessing two bedrooms and upper living area. Fabulous beaches, dune deck, multiple hammocks, hot tub, and large assortment of puzzles, books and games offer something for everyone. The ultimate dream vacation!Amenities include: Cen A/H, DW, MW, IM, W/D, HC, PCR..., BG, High Speed Internet Access, Unlimited Long Distance Calling, HDTV, O/S w/dressing area, Hot Tub on OF deck, Deck w/Furn, Gas Grill, Charcoal Grill, walkway w/dunetop deck, porch swing, picnic tables and multiple hammocks Ground Level: Sitting room with HDTV, Xbox w/ games, board games, puzzles, books, High Efficiency W/D, Futon and full size refrigerator. Level 1: MBR w/Q w/ private deck, private bath and TV, BR w/Q w/ access to OF deck and TV, MBR w/Q w/ access to OF deck and TV, BR w/ 2T, BR w/ 2T, and large hall bath. Level 2: 1 MBR w/K w/Jacuzzi, TV/VCR, living area w/QSS and TV/VCR/DVD, Bose Stereo, Half Bath, Dining Room, Kitchen with Keurig Coffeemaker, Wet Bar, and Game table area.
Additional amenities include: partials allowed, floor plans available, hometown hero discount, military discount, grill: both, less than 500 yards.Read more
Left on 04/24/2014 for a stay in April 2014 | Julie
Week away was a nice home that provides amazing views of the ocean! The home is clean and the updates that have been completed are beautiful, but there is still more that needs to be done. The main thing we didn't care for was the odor on the living room furniture and the bathroom on the second floor. With that being said, it also needs to be known that the kitchen is absolutely stunning and has plenty of space and amenities for two families. What we enjoyed the most were the ocean front decks. Even on our bad weather days, which was 5 out of the 7 days we stayed, we thoroughly enjoyed looking out at the magnificent ocean! All in all, we would recommend staying at Week away and look forward to seeing new home improvements in the future.
Newport News, VA
Feels like coming home.
Left on 04/17/2014 for a stay in April 2014 | Emkat
I have rented this home every april for the past 9 years. My original stay was not planned - our group had rented a home that was damaged by storms and the owners of Weekaway agreed to accomodate us for the same rate we had paid for the other home. I've never considered another house since that first stay. Weekaway is large enough for a group, but has a warm, comfortable feeling. The owners are continually upgrading so the home is always in beautiful well-maintained condition. Everything you could need from rainy day games to kitchen gadgets is readily available. The large windows fronting the beach fill the house with light and the large decks on the street side are a great place to watch the hang-gliders on the sand dunes from the comfort of a hammock. Directly across the street is the best seafood market on the Outer Banks, and a Brew Thru. Mornings are a favorite time to go to the deck atop the dunes on the ocean side and watch the sun coming up, the dolphins swimming by, and the pelicans and other birds flying and fishing. After time on the beach there are convenient showers to rinse off the sand. The bedrooms are comfortable and roomy, and there are plenty of bathrooms to go around. The hot tub is a favorite evening spot and is comfortably located on the middle deck on the beach side so there is relative privacy from the houses on either side. I cannot think of anything our group has ever needed that is not provided in this home...and it is a home - not a rental unit. It is very conveniently located to grocery and retail stores, without being in the heart of the shopping district. What I like least about the house is that I can only stay in it one week a year.
We had a wonderful, relaxing vacation
Left on 10/31/2013 for a stay in October 2013 | Kathy
The house was awesome! Perfect location - loved being out on the oceanside decks. Austin's fish market across the street was convienient and had a great selection. The house itself was well equipped and we enjoyed every minute!
Left on 10/20/2013 for a stay in October 2013 | obx
Living and dining area were nice. Kitchen area looked like it had been updated recently and was well supplied which was a plus. These rooms were on the top and you could look out and watch the ocean. Rental well stocked with games, books, magazines, and movies.
Other rooms needed some work though and the house could use a good cleaning. Housekeeping needs to spend more time cleaning. It smelled musky because it had a few leaks. There were ants and ant hills in the house. Maintenance came to spray for the ants but didn't even dispose of the ant hill.
The location of this house was great. It was near Jennette's Pier and Jockey's Ridge.
Sorry to say but my family and I just were not pleased with this rental. We hate to complain but hoping you will forward these complaints to the owner for other families will not be disappointed.
Thank you Glenn for stopping by leaving a review of Weekaway. We will most certainly pass along your suggestions and comments to the our owner. It is comments like these from our guests that help us keep our homeowners apprised of the condition of their home. We will also address the ant hill issue with the pest control company about disposing of said ant hills in the future. Thank you for booking your beach vacation with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Love this place
Left on 09/20/2013 for a stay in September 2013 | Karen
My whole family love this place! It is just a wonderful, relaxing place to stay. I don't think I have ever seen a better equipped kitchen in any other rental I have ever been in. My favorite place was the porch facing the ocean, I could sit there and look at the ocean forever.
Pine Bush, N.Y.
Very nice Rental property for a group
Left on 09/16/2013 for a stay in September 2013 | Paul
A group of us who Hang Glide... (9 of us)... decided to rent a house on the beach and enjoy a labor day week vacation, with some flying... but also all the other beach stuff that we love in Kitty Hawk.
The "Week-away" house is perfect for a group even with 4 couples...and it is located near many nice "hot-spots" on the strip.
The only bad part was having to leave.
Va Beach, VA
This cottage was fully equipped and met our need for a family va
Left on 09/13/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | C Vaiden
My family spent an enjoyable time at Week away Cottage. Seven adults and five grandchildren had plenty of room and made use of the various amenteties. We especially liked the hot tub and the boogie boards.
Week away has a great location, with direct beach access. Hope we can return next year.
Nicely equipped and updated home.
Left on 08/04/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Ramsey
Seamless process in reservations with realty company. House is spacious and well equipped with minimal upkeep issues (few broken blinds and damaged chairs), but otherwise great house with great amenities. Location central to other activities and shopping - very convenient.
family get together
Left on 06/06/2013 for a stay in May 2013 | beach fan
Week away suited our needs very nicely and I'M glad I rented it. It was nice to rent a vac. home that had decent and comfortable beds. Not all houses in this price range do. But for all the money the owners spent on a new kitchen, nice carpet, and nice beds they need to spend a couple of hundred and re place that nasty gas grill. I wouldn't use it. It's in pretty bad shape and we were disappointed that we were on vacation and couldn't grill out. I'll consider this before I nrent next time. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 06/11/2013
It pleases us to know that you and your family enjoyed WeekAway. I agree, comfortable beds are important. We apologize that you weren't able to use the grill. However, I'm happy to report that I have checked our work order system, and there is a work order in for someone to check on the condition of the grill. After that happens it will be reported to the homeowner and it will either be cleaned or replaced. Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments and for choosing Resort Realty.
Thanksgiving family week at the beach
Left on 12/06/2012 for a stay in November 2012 | Paul Ely
Even though the weather didn't cooperate most of the week, our stay was fantastic. This house is laid out for entertaining large groups. We've visited various beaches in the Carolina's and always felt that the houses that we rented left something to be desired. This house was the opposite. From the convenience of the wet bar with ice maker to the hot tub, hammocks and fully furnished gourmet kitchen, this house is a bargain for the money they ask! Resort Realty was very proffessional and explained everything to us at the beginning of the stay. They were what you would want from a rental management company. A group of people who were not in the way but always there when you needed them if the situation would arrise.
The convenience of the Brew Through across the street was great as well. A quick walk across the street when needed allowed us to keep the fridge stocked!
I would and will book this house again!
Comfortable Get -Away
Left on 11/01/2012 for a stay in October 2012 | beach324
Regarding the realty office that rents this home-service was fine-very easy going and quick.
The home was cozy and provided nice amenities-hot tub, jacuzzi tub and working fireplace. Kitchen was nicely remodeled. Oceanfront decks and walk were great-provided awesome views of the ocean.
There were a couple of problems-two bathtubs had cracks and we would not use them and couple of ceiling fans should be replaced-very loud and annoying to use. The location of the home was great. Close to restaurants, shopping, etc. Overall, we would stay here again-granted the tubs/fans replaced.
It was a wonderful week!
Left on 09/24/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | Karen
Our week at "Week away" was one of the best weeks we have ever had. The weather was perfect, and the house is better equipped than my own! Location: right across from Jockeys Ridge, a Brew-Through, and a fresh seafood market! We had a family reunion, three generations, something for everyone. Loved it!!
Lovely place to stay
Left on 09/18/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Robin Walker
It was a great location. The beach was not to crowded which was nice. The rooms were spacious and there was enough bathrooms for everyone.
Great for a family reunion
Left on 06/30/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Deacon Blues
We planned a week with extended family and were able to have plenty of room to invite people over. The kitchen is beautiful! And it was funtional enough to let the 20 or so of us eat dinner buffet style - with plenty of seating!
The house is very well kept and very well stocked. The puzzles and games were great to have on hand and the TV/cable let us keep on top of our favorite sports.
The proximity to the beach was wonderful and we were able to spend time on the dune deck or go out to the water with ease.
Great family vacation spot.
Left on 06/06/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | Chris
A great place to stay. The beach is outside your back door. And it is close to Jockey's Ridge; a great place to fly kites.
I was definitely in my element.
Left on 05/16/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | Luanne Lynch
Service was great as we had plenty of towels, sheets. Was able to pick up info when office was closed.
I loved the house. It was in a perfect location for our family. I am a beach person and my husband and son went golfing and flew a kite on jockey's ridge.
The best was just being able to open the screen door and go to sleep with the sound of the ocean. The least I liked was I had to go home to reality.
Left on 02/02/2012 for a stay in January 2012 | Pamela/Patrick Mills
We love to come to the Outer Banks in January. The beauty and pristine nature of the dunes and beach come to life as there is limited acitivity.
The house is well maintained and clean. We think the appliances and kitchen could use an update, especially the appliances.
There was beach replenishment going on in front of the home's access to the beach which made it inconvenient to access since there was periodic heavy equipment coming and going over the course of the week. We had to step over the yellow tape and walk through the cement culverts and posts to get to the beach. We would have liked Resort to apprise us of the situation prior to our arrival so we wouldn't have been awakened by heavy equipment delivery and work so early in the morning. The decision by Resort not to tell us of this project directly at the "door step", took away our decision of changing to another home prior to our arrival. Our pictures of the beach were marred by the cement structures in view. That was a disappointment..
We loved staying on the beach and we're sure that under normal circumstances the view of the beach is beautiful..we're sorry we didn't get a chance to have that view. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 04/26/2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on this home and your vacation experience. We are sorry about the inconvenience of beach nourishment. It has been completed, and now you can enjoy large, wide open beaches. Also, since your stay the kitchen at WeekAway has been completely remodeled and fully equipped kitchen with granite counters and new stainless appliances.
Again, thank you for your time and we hope that you will vacation with us in the near future.
Great vacation at an awesome cottage!
Left on 09/28/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Judy
Overall the cottage was perfect - possibly a little too big for the 7 of us but allowed us plenty of privacy when needed. Views of the ocean were spectacular, cottage location is great too.
Great for families.
Left on 09/01/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Family fun
Plenty of room, great location and property. Dune deck was great!
Great house for a family week at the beach
Left on 06/30/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | The Morris's
The house had everything we wanted. The decor was great and the numerous games/books/puzzles coupled with the Xbox kept everyone entertained. The location is also great. Just across the street from austins Fish Market for fresh seafood. The smoke from the fire in the south caused two days of smoky weather.
Great value, lovely house!
Left on 04/25/2011 for a stay in April 2011 | Laura
House was furnished extremely well, beds comfortable, showers had plenty of pressure, kitchen was nicely stocked. Had the additional under counter ice maker which was great.
Newport News, VA
Feels like home.
Left on 04/14/2011 for a stay in April 2011 | D Smith
My sixth year at Week away and it is definitely home away from home. We love the house, the hammocks, the hot tub, being on the beach, and having austin's at the end of the driveway. The house is large enough that even with bigger groups and kids we have never felt cramped. The kitchen is well equipped, and the dining area is great for larger groups and relaxing for smaller groups (really comfortable chairs). We hope to come back every year.
Obx Marathon Weekend Getaway
Left on 11/23/2010 for a stay in November 2010 | Pamela Saine
We had a great time in this house. The location is fantastic and close to much that OBX has to offer. The views from the decks on both sides of the house give you the ocean and Jockey's Ridge to sit and enjoy. The house has plenty of room for families to stretch out or to be together when they want to. I would rent this house again.
Pearl River, NY
Left on 10/06/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | Laura
Had one maintenencec issue that waht fixed very promptly. 2 overhead lights did not work but didn't consider it an issue. Cleaning of the house was somewhat superficial as there were dead bugs and dirt along baseboards and in bathrooms.
Lower Alloway's Creek, NJ
This house needs help!
Left on 09/17/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | obxbabe25
The deck is in desperate need of repair, you cannot walk on it without shoes for fear of cut/splinters. The house had bugs...spiders all over and ants in the kitchen. The Master bedroom bed is horribly uncomfortable. Location is great! On the beach and just across from Brew Thur!!!
Great Stay at the Outer Banks
Left on 06/10/2010 for a stay in May 2010 | Dave patterson
The entire family was very pleased with the comfort and location of the Weekaway. The views were great, with close access to the beach and centrally located where we weren't far from many of the most interesting sites in the area. Closeby access to Jockey's Ridge State Park, the Wright Brothers Memorial, Roanoke Island, to shopping and restaraunts, to include a fish market right across the street, gave us more options than we could satisfy. And, oh yes, the price was right as well. We're already talking about another visit next year. Many thanks to the folks at the Ourter Banks and Resort Realty for making our week about as good as it gets.
A wonderful time with friends and family!
Left on 09/27/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | Lume
The house was great, more than enough room for everyone. It's location was great too with a fresh seafood market right across the street and a Brew Thru! We didn't have the best weather while we were on vacation this year so the WIFI access really came in handy to the few who brought there lap tops plus there are so many games and movies in the house we always had something fum to do TOGETHER.
Also, all the appliances were in great working order. And it has a huge ice maker!
Perfect week at the beach
Left on 09/10/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | jad
My family has rented this house for the last 5 or 6 years.We come from 3 different states and look forward to our beach week at WeekAway. The house has the perfect location. It is right on the beach with a great dune deck to sit on in the evenings and many decks some with an ocean view and some with a view of Jockey's ridge. Great places to hang out and read.The hot tub is in a good location on the ocean side deck and was in perfect condition when we arrivied. The house is fully furnished with comfortable furniture in all rooms and flat screen TV's in some of the rooms. The kitchen had a full stock of dishes & silverware no worry about running out as there is a dishwasher. All appliances were in good working order.
The reservation staff at Resort Realty where very good and were able to answer all questions. The house was very clean when we arrivied.
We look forward to renting this house for years to come. The worst thing is having to leave.
Silver Spring, MD
It was a wonderful week!
Left on 08/15/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | email@example.com
The one complaint I have is that we arrived early (1:00ish) and were told when we called the office that the unit had been cleaned and that we could pick up our keys early. When we arrived at the office, we were told that the unit had not been inspected, so we could not have keys. Three hours later (several of us sitting in the driveway, waiting to meet the inspector), we were told that we could now pick up keys, but that if we had left the premises, an inspector might have come by earlier--but we were never told to leave, and the unit was never inspected. Frustrating--on a very hot day!
Falls Church, VA
Our Family Vacation was awesome !
Left on 07/31/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | spetrelles
Our Family rented "Week Away" for 2 weeks in July, we have rented this house many years through several rental companies, I have to say we were so impressed with the cleanliness of the house. It was spotless, even the driveway was swept. That house has NEVER looked so good! Even the kids noticed, which is saying a lot ! The service in the office was wonderful and so are your cleaning people. We happened to meet them on our way to the beach while we waited to check in. We always buy early check in, my Dad and Mom are older and
want to get into the house ASAP. I love the fact that when the house is inspected you allowed us to check in earlier if it's ready. Our vacation experienec this year was the best one ever! The first day was great because we got in early and spent the day on the beach, we have never done that before. The kitchen was well equiped and we loved the addition of 2 TV's in the bedrooms. If you added 2 more in the single bedrooms where the kids stayed, it would be perfect. The location is awesome and we will continue to rent this house through Resort Realty. Thank you so much for doing an impeccable job.
Family friendly house and location
Left on 07/24/2009 for a stay in November 2007 | MJOY
This house had ample room for our children and
grandchildren. We liked the layout of the inside. Our
favorite part was the eating area because there was
room at the table for all adults and the children
loved being at the counter right beside the table.
The living area decor was very pleasing. The decks
were great. We also loved the location, because we
enjoy climbing the sand dunes and being close to
shopping and seafood outlets.
Our least favorite thing was the climb from the
beach to the decks, but the views were really good
and we saw lots of dolphins going by daily.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.