Whalebone Station is centrally located in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. Located at the very beginning of the exclusively residential South Nags Head neighborhood, you are just a stone's throw from the Whalebone Junction commercial district which includes the Tanger Outlet Mall, the Manteo causeway and too many restaurants to name. In case you would like to fit in a round of golf, this home is a K Club Member offering special golf rates, privileges and access to Kilmarlic Golf Club (the premier Golf Course on the Outer Banks). Guests are encouraged to reserve tee times well in advance of their arrival. For more infoClick Here... http://www.kclubobx.comExtensive oceanfront decks provide a wonderful view of the ocean and overlook the pool area as well. This convenient location offers easy access to the 5 mile long walk path and bike path for the jogger, skater or biker in every family. Tiki bar by the private pool. For those of us who need to check in with work while on vacation, the owner added high speed internet access. Whether your trip to the Outer Banks is for business or pleasure, look no further than Whalebone Station. New for 2014: Freshly Painted | New Mattresses | Flat Screen TV's with DVD Players | New Granite Countertops | Updated Bedspreads
Amenities Include: 10 CATVs, 10VCRs, DVD, High Speed Wireless Internet, 3DW, W/D, 2MW, Gas FP, 2 Wet Bars, 2 Refr, CFs, Jacuzzi, PCR, HC, BC, BB Goal, Fax Machine, 3 IM (two in refr), 28x10 pool, Tiki Bar, Fish Cleaning Table, Charcoal Grill, Furn Decks, Boardwalk to the Beach, Great Room boasts Surround Sound with CD.Ground Level: BR w/2T, BR w/2PymBnk, Conn. Bath, BR w/Q, Wet Bar, Pool Table, half bath.Level 1: Laundry Level 2: BR w/Q, BR w/2T, Hall Bath, BR w/Q, Conn. Bath, BR w/K, MBR w/K & Priv. Bath, Deck w/Hot Tub.Level 3: Desk w/Fax Machine. Level 4: MBR w/K & Priv. Bath w/Jacuzzi, Screen Porch, Half Bath, Living Room, Dining Room, Kitchen. Level 5: A reading nook complete with phenomenal ocean and sound views.
Additional amenities include: pool table, less than 500 yards, resort club, floor plans available, golf access home: kc.Read more
Great location in need of considerable maintenance
Left on 09/13/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | OBX Lover
Here are my comments:
Bathrooms had considerable mold, several of our family members became ill with symptoms similar to those caused by mold, sore throats, sneezing, sinus issues.
Kitchen: Leaking faucet and dishwasher
Main Bar: Ice maker does not work, called for repair, no response.
Deck furniture: Wood rocking chairs are falling apart, dangerous, loose boards with exposed nails and one not usable. Two chairs were turned over to prevent use and possible injury.
Deck condition: Many loose nails, dangerous to bare feet. Loose steps dangerous. Deck very much in need of cleaning and sealer. lack of maintenance has rendered the deck in bad condition with very rough, splintered finish.
Many, if not all, 3-way lights are not properly wired leaving them unusable.
Pool: Pool appears to be substantially out of level, has to be filled often suspect some kind of leak. Due to improper retaining wall design, deck fills with sand that filters through the retaining fencing. The proximity of the dune to the deck allows substantial sand to be deposited on the pool deck and in the pool especially during a NE wind. Beach stair treads are loose, gate not functional. Deck lighting is inadequate. Pool light is burned out.
Hot water capacity is inadequate for fully inhabited house, many evenings with cold showers.
Landscaping is poorly maintained, overgrowth had to be trimmed during stay to prevent injury to feet. One person's feet were cut buy the overgrowth at the bottom of the exterior front steps.
The photos on the website need to be updated to reflect the current condition of this property since the storm damage. Some photographs still show the pre storm dune / stair access to the beach which does not exist this way now. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 12/03/2013
We are sorry your vacation was not as pleasant as it should have been because of the various issues you had during your stay. The owner of this home has worked very hard in the off season to keep this home in wonderful shape. It is unfortunate that some of these issues occurred during your stay.
We will be forwarding your comments to the owner and our management staff so that some repairs can be made.
We want to thank you for taking the time to send us you comments.
Left on 08/08/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | none
We enjoyed the Whalebone. The kitchen was well stocked. The beds were comfortable. The house was spacious and well laid out. The pool area felt like we were in a hole and there was always sand around it. We really didn't mind the sand, but worried that it was damaging the pool. The commode on the first floor ran all the time. The air conditioner on the top level did not work 3 days. One of those days was very hot and several of our people went out for dinner rather than stay there. The other 2 days, we opened the windows and it was not too bad.
There was a watch on the floor of one of the bedrooms. I was the last to leave and thinking that it belonged to one of us, I bought it home with us. No one has claimed it. Has anyone from the previous week reported it missing? Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 09/03/2013
It pleases us to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Whalebone Station. I have let our property manager know about the sand around the pool so she can check into it. It is unfortunate that the air conditioning malfunctioned on your vacation, and we must apologize for this. I checked our lost & found records, but did not find a missing watch. Thanks for letting us know. Thank you for booking your vacation with Resort Realty, and we hope to see you again next year.
Resort Realty Customer Service is Slooowww
Left on 07/24/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Jeff
Checked in on Saturday, tried to alert someone that the WiFi wasn't working, couldn't get anyone until Mon. 1st thing. No one showed up until Tue., it was Wed. and another phone call before it was fixed. Called Thur. about a broken Refrig handle, no big deal, but no one ever showed up! Overall, we all had fun, and no one was hurt, but no WiFi was an inconvienence, and no customer service left us feeling less than warm and fuzzy. Probably won't do this again. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 08/15/2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry you had some concerns and thank you for bringing them to our attention. Please know that our maintenance department strives to correct any and all issues with the home and its amenities as soon as notification is received. I forwarded a copy of your review to our property manager, so she can make sure we have the correct info for the internet access. I do see a work order for the refrigerator handle.
Thanks again, and we hope you will give Resort Realty another opportunity.
Round Hill, VA
Left on 07/10/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Phipps Family
We enjoyed our stay very much. We were close to the sand and ocean and the grandchildren loved swimming in the pool & hot tub after being on the beach all day. We stayed during the 4th of July so this location was very good for viewing fireworks in Nags Head as well as Manteo. We had plenty of room for the 17 of us that were there.
The only complaints were that appliances could be upgraded as the water dispenser on the frig did not work and the inside temperature did not keep food as cool as should be. My children complained that their mattresses in the master bedrooms, 2nd floor, were very uncomfortable. And, there was a leak in the 1st floor closet that kept getting items wet. And,the blinds in the living area could certainly be replaced as many of them were bent or had a hard time releasing.
All in all, we had a great time!
Beautiful oceanfront home
Left on 08/25/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Jbc
Beautiful view of the oceani with plenty of room for our large family to enjoy. The only complaints was all the food crumbs under the downstairs couch and the condition of the grill which we decided not to use.
The Big Group
Left on 06/30/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | The Big Group
Our stay was great. House was awesome. Had everything we needed. The way the bedrooms were set up was great for our large group. We really liked not having to stop and check in at the main office. We got an extra BBQ grill, and this was all arranged by Resort Realty. We are all ready to go back in two years and will try to get this same house. Location was good for us.
We had a great vacation and was awesome to be on the beach but.
Left on 08/24/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | water babies
When we arrived the cleaning staff was still there which was fine with us and it took a considerable length of time for them to finish. I was very encouraged since it took so long they must be doing a great job. Not true. My daughter stepped on a fishing hook in the dining room area, there was a lot of clothes left from previous renters, used razors left in one of the bathrooms. We also found the area outside around the pool area to be dirty and there was a lot of sand around especially under the steps to the beach. I realize it blows through the fence but there was a lot there. We were somewhat disappointed in the overall condition of the house.
Excellent house-Beach inconvenient
Left on 08/18/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Beach Lover
The house was great, very clean with all problems solved in a timely manner. However, the beach project was not great. The letter informing me of the program stated that we would be inconvenienced 1 or 2 days; we only had 2 days of the week that we were able to walk to the beach in front of our house. I fully understand the project and know it was necessary, but when you look at the rental of properties, it was the beach front property renters that were inconvenienced. I feel sure all realtors knew of the project long before the information went out, therefore not giving us the opportunity of making a choice in another location for our vacation. As a consistant "beach front propery renter, I feel there should have been some type of compensation for the inconvenience. 1 or 2 days of having to relocate at the beach would have been okay, but 4 days was a bit much.
Great family vacation!
Left on 07/23/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Happy Vacationers
The house was a perfect choice for our family. The house is well designed and equipped for a very large family like ours. Everyone had a great time.
Great beach great times
Left on 07/15/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | B KEPPLE
Other than hard mattresses and disappearing pillows our stay was fantastic. Five families with children and Plentuy of room for all. The hot tub,pool, and beach were excellent. What a difference from all the hustle on the grand strand. Much more peaceful and Quiet---just what we wanted!
Left on 05/25/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | Whalebone
The house had everything we needed. Only down side was cleaning took all day on check in and they showed up early on last day essentially only giving us six days in the o
house. Other than that the house has plenty of room , is well stocked and everything worked great. Will rent again.
Nags Head Visitors
Everyone enjoyed the house and the weather was wonderful.
Left on 12/02/2010 for a stay in November 2010 | Nags Head Visitors
All of our family, children and grandchildren enjoyed the home. It was very clean and spacious for us. The children enjoyed having access to the beach and had fun. The location was great and we hope to stay there again next year. The weather was great!
average house with below average amenities
Left on 08/13/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | SWM
After having stayed in the outer banks for over ten summers and stayed in some of the nicest homes, especially for their prices. Yet, this home disappoints. Yes it is oceanfront and yes it can allow a large family, friends, etc... to stay together in one place, but the pool size and cleanliness, disappoints. The average house rooms and appointments leave little to the senses and the crowded beach from the adjacent hotel and public access certainly do not make a repeat stay warranted.
Family Vacation at Whalebone Station
Long Island, NY
it was a wonderful home for a family experience
Left on 08/11/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Family Vacation at Whalebone Station
The house is well maintained, stocked and furnished and in a great location. It was available cleaned and on time and the maintenance staff promptly provided a new BBQ grill when it was reported that the existing one was useless. I recommend this home and realty company to anyone wanting a great time in the Outer Banks
Relaxin' in the sand
Left on 07/23/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Relaxin' in the sand
Right next to the Quality inn so the beach was always crowded and the light in the back of the hotel was always on and it was kinda loud. Was a very good spot if you are looking to be close to the shops in Nags Head. The quality of the furnishings was a little on the cheap side (especially the window blinds) but overall, we had a great time. Should have been about $1000 cheaper than it was though. Would use the real estate company again with no problem. They were great. Doubt I'd spend this much money again on that house though.
Perry Hall, MD
Left on 07/08/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Marylanders
The house needed to be inspected prior to our arrival. It was not clean and there were a great number of items that needed work. The refrigerator/freezer was not working properly. After notifying the realty company, it took from Sunday till Tuesday to have it fixed and we had to throw some food out.
North Carolina vacationer
Chino Hills, CA
Left on 06/09/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | North Carolina vacationer
The house is great! Be careful as the location is right beside a public beach access and next to two hotels as well as condos/apartments on the other side.
Left on 09/25/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | Beach2009
Pretty nice house for nine bedrooms. Great ocean view - you can actually see WAVES crashing on the sand - the view isn't blocked by a sand dune. Rooms were nice, bathrooms adequate, parking ample. I liked two rec rooms for the size of our group. Pool was nice and warm. The early check-in was REALLY great - gave me an entire extra day at the beach! Wouldn't have minded if the main TV and hot tub were a little bigger. Kitchen was also on the small size for a nine bedroom house. The pool table was also pretty worn. I was afraid the beach would be crowded because we were close to a hotel, but it wasn't a problem at all... And the hotel served as a nice land mark after coming back from a long walk on the beach.
Great property but too much sand in the pool!
Left on 07/17/2009 for a stay in September 2008 | Matta10
We had a great week stay at Whalebone Station. The house was in great condition and well maintained inside. It was in a nice area of Nags Head, very close to grocery stores and other shopping, as well as plenty of great restaurants. We had more than enough space for everyone and loved being right on the beach, and enjoyed having the hot tub on the deck - we used it every night. Our only complaint (aside from the weather) was that when the wind picked up a bit, there was always a ton of sand blwing off the dunes into the pool, and we were having problems with the filter. Someone did come out to service it, but we just couldn't keep the sand out of the pool!
Fun house, won't use Resort Realty again
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in July 2008 | had fun
Had a nice stay. Don't like Resort Realty.
Resort Realty charged us extra cleaning fees for nonsense.
For instance, two seven year old girls pushed a pair of twin beds together.
They charged us something like $100 to bring in "outside movers" to push
the twin beds apart, because it was too much for house cleaning to move a
twin bed 18 inches.
They actually questioned us on why we threw away one of our own beach
towels. I don't get it. (what they were looking through the trash for is
Only returned phone calls WEEKS later.
VERY VERY VERY disappointed with RESORT REALTY and how they handled
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.