4 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath Home Just Steps From The Beach.
This gorgeous beach front home is over 2900 square feet under a/c and 4000 square feet of total living space. The home has slider doors and wrap around porches on all sides. In this amazing home, you are reminded of the lovely lush vegetation and fantastic gulf views that make North Captiva Island a premier destination. The home is four floors with the living level up top to enhance the open water and nature views. The living area is a very comfortable design offering a fireplace, wet bar and open kitchen and dining room plan. The master suite is spacious and looks directly out on the... Gulf of Mexico. Wits End is a fabulous getaway retreat.
Additional amenities include: rating: 5 star, pool: club use included, stories: 2, num of TV's: 3, laundry: yes, grill: gas grill, beach chairs: beach chairs incl, tennis: on property, bedding 4: twin, bedding 3: queen, bedding 1: king, internet access: yes, bedding 2: double, golf cart: rental cart included, exterior hot tub: yes.Read more
Wit's End was certainly an adequate stay for our party of seven, including a teen, preteen, and a preschooler. Was very well stocked. Most importantly, the a/C kept it nice and chilly inside during late June! Furnishings were comfortable. Views and beach access were great. The master suite was a great size and a nice quiet retreat for napping and reading. The outdoor balcony space was nice. Outdoor furnishings need some updating; no seating on the balcony outside the bedrooms.
There were some problems. It's almost as if the home has been partly refinished, but with a few major items left out. Both bathrooms are dated and the tubs drain poorly. The motor on the washer went out on the first day, but the Island Club was brisk in bringing in a replacement. The coffee pot didn't work; again, it was replaced very quickly. The motor on the hot tub didn't work upon our arrival; it was five days into our stay until it was fixed. Not all windows have blinds. Had to use the hurricane shutters to have darkness in the master bedroom.
Another issue, however, is that the house was supposed to have two king beds, one queen, and two twin beds. In actuality, the master has a king. Two bedrooms have full beds, and the fourth bedroom actually has a twin trundle. Hard for an adult couple to go from a king bed at home to a full bed. Knowing the actual bedding situation might have changed our rental decision.
All together, however, this house is good but could really be a lot better with some updating investment. Would we stay here again? Probably not. Other properties seem to have more value for money spent.
Another lovely experience.
Left on 04/17/2013 for a stay in April 2013 | The Schneiders
This was our second year on the island and again we were not disappointed. We spent the first two days of our trip doing the amusement parks in Orlando and Tampa. The R&R; provided by the setting of North Captiva Island was again a welcome retreat from the usual crowds and chaos of spring break. We traveled with our kids (10, 8, 6, & 3) as well as my wife parents. The Island provided activities for everyone to enjoy. We stayed at Wits End and found it to be very comfortable and accommodating for our crew. The roof top deck is always a must when choosing a home. What spectacular views both during the day of gulf and the star filled sky at night. I was sad that the fishing trip is no longer available as we thoroughly enjoyed it last year. The best part was the dolphins thrashing under the surface to grab our discarded catch. I hope this can be reintroduced in years to come.
Nice house...very poor water pressure for the showers.
Left on 03/29/2013 for a stay in June 2012 | Alabama Girl...
North Captiva Island is a nice escape from reality. You feel as though you have arrived on "fantasy island." We arrived in a thunderstorm and it was very challenging to find your home with the poor maps the resort provides. Wits End is a nice home that presents well but the water pressure and the poor maintenance of the home does not bode well with travelers. The maintenance men tried to do what they could but I expected more with the price we paid for this home. I would advise to rent a home less expensive with a golf cart and tour the island on your own. Nice trip...not sure we will return and if we do, it will be at a less expensive rate.
Beautiful Beach Home
Left on 01/17/2013 for a stay in January 2013 | Ilene
For our second family vacation to North Captiva we chose Wits End. It's a beautiful house, close to the beach. We were four adults (two couples) and three children so we were looking for a house with two master bedrooms. We were a little disappointed to find that there was only one king size bed, and not two, as the description on the website claims. Regardless, we were very comfortable and received excellent service. The location to the beach can't be beat. We watched the sunset each night from the beach.
Very quiet hideaway
Left on 05/24/2012 for a stay in February 2012 | Winter Escapees
We have traveled to North Captiva for the last four seasons. And have enjoyed each and every trip. Very quiet. Very relaxing. Great place to escape. Plus, the crew is very helpful and dedicated to making your stay comfortable. Kayla is always incredible. We truly appreciate her spirit. Read more
Response from North Captiva Island Club - 05/26/2012
Thank you for your lovely comments and for coming back again and again! We are happy to have Kayla as well. I will make sure she gets your praise!
Rochester HIlls, MI
New Year's in North Captiva
Left on 01/05/2012 for a stay in December 2012 | A LaBrecque
We loved Wit's End's proximity to the beach! The house was great - lots of room, comfortable beds:), lots of kitchen utensils/appliances, etc..., great frig:) - really everything was great. The only thing is that we had no hot water. We reset the water heater several times, maintenance came twice, had a few spurts of scalding water but the water heater kept shutting off. Luckily, the weather was warm - but a warm shower would have been nice.
Left on 12/01/2011 for a stay in November 2011 | uday
great location great home nice kitchen, wish there was an extra bedroom
some new appliances like food processor and blender needed. some cleaning of the bathrooms needed otherwise great home.
We couldn't have picked a more perfect place!
Left on 11/03/2011 for a stay in October 2011 | The Glenn's
This was our first vacation on the island and Wits End and the North Captiva Island experience was a perfect way to spend our 35th wedding anniversary. We needed some R&R; and were able to accomplish that on the island. The house was everything we had hoped for. The location was great and we spent hours walking on the beach looking for shells. The staff were enjoyable and very helpful. We certainly plan to return to North Captiva Island! We just wish we had known about North Captiva Island sooner. What a perfect place for a family vacation!
Cape Coral FL
Left on 10/06/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Phil Francisco
From the time we arrived to when we left everything, from the weather, the fantastic beaches and the great house were perfect.
Sandy, Brian and Kayla are the best.
Sonya & Chris Brooks
Palm Beach Gardens Florida
Island Captiva Club has Become Our Family Tradition
Left on 09/01/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Sonya & Chris Brooks
Overall we had an amazing time. This was our 4th summer and we have stayed in some very nice beachfront houses. The only feedback that I think you would find useful it this home owner has WaT to much clutter in the house. When we got there I felt like I had to put aways stuff. Every drawer in the kitchen is like a junk drawer. They really should get some beach towels for their guests. We didn't have a single beach towel but the owners locked room with glass doors was full of beach towels.
When it comes to the Club I have nothing but good things to say. Jeff and Mr. Brilhart are top notch gentlemen who went above and beyond to make our stay great. We will be back next summer!
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Great Island..."Wits End was awful"
Left on 08/23/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Jay
We currently stayed and upgraded to "Wits End" after booking a smaller unit that was not as close to the beach. We choose the unit due to being so close to the beach and its somewhat good appearance. After staying one night we discovered that the aC on the living level did not work properly and had to subsequently call two more time to have it fixed. One evening we also had discoved that the aC unit had leaked down into the master bathroom causing a small flood. The unit was also very weathered, which included holes in the walls, faulty ceiling fans and the constant smell of wet dog...Even after cleaing it several times. I received excellent service from the Ncic staff and they responded very well to my service request and even discounted the up graded amount at the end of our stay. Wits End is rated a 5 Diamond, which is more like a 3-4 star due to its poor condition...The island was fantastic, service was good, and it would have been an outstanding stay had we not experienced soo much problems with this unit...Needs alot of improving to get back up to its 5 Diamond false status...Dont stay at "wits end" not worth the money... Read more
Response from North Captiva Island Club - 08/26/2011
We are sorry for the issues with the a/c. Due to short notice, we were not able to get this property in the condition it needed to be. Since your departure all the repairs have been made and the house is in tip top shape. Many thanks for your nice comments about our staff.
Beautiful and Relaxing!
Left on 07/13/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Renee
We wanted a vacation with our family free from distractions and the need to run around and see everything. North Captiva was perfect for us. The house was beautiful and clean and the service from check-in to check-out was superb.
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful
Left on 06/29/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | Nancy
Our home was fantastic with beautiful views every direction you could look in.
A Week in Paradise
Left on 06/24/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | rtruitt
Our second week long trip to Wits' End was as fantastic as the first! The house is beautiful and the views amazing! Traveling with 5 teenagers...there was never a dull moment from golf cart rides, to trips to the pool, to lacrosse and chicken fights on the beach! Life is good! And looking forward to trip#3 next summer!
had a wonderful time!
Left on 05/25/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | mom
Nice house and kitchen was well equipped. The master bedroom however had no mattress pad on the bed and only a sheet covering a dirty mattress. Linens should be upgraded and kitchen towels should be provided. Only spounge in house was a half of old sponge to wash our dishes. Location is good and the views are beautiful. No beach towels provided at house. Bathrooms are average.
Left on 03/31/2011 for a stay in March 2011 | KP
I picked North Captiva because of the unique qualities it possessed. You take a ferry over and there are no cars on the island. The rental we stayed in was very nice and clean and the views were great. The only complaint about the house was that many of the utensils and dishes were dated or warped and they had a whole storage area of beach toys, kayaks, and beach accessories that were visible, but not accessible. They need to cover the windows so the kids are not able to view what they are missing out on. The staff is definitely on "island time". There was however one of the male staff members who regularly answered the guest services line that went above and beyond. I always saw him racing around to get stuff done. The chef in the Boathouse restaurant was not overly enthusiastic about her job. She was very short with me and basically pretty rude on the phone. Over all the stay was nice, but we will probably be looking elsewhere next spring for a place to stay.
wonderful and relaxing stay.
Left on 03/02/2011 for a stay in February 2011 | LB
The house was great, though it was missing some essentials that took awhile to get to. I would suggest that there be a checklist for each house (towels, linens, salt and pepper, paper products, etc) that each cleaning person would need to check off on before the guests arrive. If the house has a pool or hot tub the person should make sure they are in working order the day before the guests arrive. When we arrived, the hot tub was empty. Our cleaning person was still there when arrived and she lead us to believe the hot tub was broken and not able to work. It wasn't until my husband started to fiddle with it and make phone calls about it, that having the much promised hot tub became a reality. Also, there were no coffee filters in the house because the owners used their Keurig coffee maker. It would have been nice if we had known about the Keurig coffee maker, since we have one at home and we could have brought our little cups with us -- that said, we brought ground coffee and it had said in the rental description that coffee filters were included. It took two full days to get our coffee filters... little things like that make a difference. Other than that -- the house and North Captiva are spectacular! We rented a boat for a couple days and explored all around. Did shelling and fishing and swimming and snorkeling. Spent quality time with my family -- which was the best!
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.