- 3 bedrooms
- 2 bathrooms
- Sleeps 11
Description from the manager
* stone patio, hot tub, seating
* Very Private and miles of trails
* A popular Rustic get-a-way
Minimum Stay: 2
(Property location is approximate)
Additional Location Information
Last updated on July 22, 2014
Not available for your dates? Check availability for 234 other Oakland rentalsCheck Availability for Oakland
Rates shown in $ USD
|Don't see rates for your trip?|
- Ceiling Fans
- A/C or climate control
Phone / Internet
- Internet Access
Pool / Spa
- Hot Tub/Jacuzzi
- Stove or Oven
- Satellite or cable TV
- Stereo or CD player
- Outdoor Dining Area
- Pet friendly - ask
- Smoking allowed - ask
- Suitable for children - ask
- Suitable for the elderly - ask
- Wheelchair accessible - ask
What Past Guests Are Saying
Have you stayed here? Write a review
33 guest reviews
90% of guests would stay again
Another Great Week
In typical Maryland fashion, the weather went from beautifully warm in the 70s to snowy winterland, back to warm in one week. Bear Crossing had everything we needed, even the fireplace for the chilly nights. This is our second stay and the house was just right for us and our dog. As property owners in the Yough, it was extremely convenient to our lot for a spring time clean-up, and for daily rides on our atvs. The place is secluded, well-maintained, and peaceful, but with all the amenities of home. Can't wait to stay there again!
Lovely Valentines get away
When they say aWD /4WD... They mean it. We just happened to arrive after a blizzard and it snowed three inches while we stayed. We had a little trouble getting into the driveway and thanks so much to maintainance man who hooked us up with a Guy with a tractor!! He left right after and we couldn't find him to give him a gratuity :(. We loved that swallow falls was less than 5 miles away and the hot tub was def nice! If you are looking for a baby moon or just to get away you are secluded and the only people we saw were some on snowmobiles and of course plow trucks. Would def stay again! Thank you Offlake Rentals! Read more
Response from Offlake Rentals - 03/13/2014
Love the picture of frozen Muddy Creek Falls! Indeed Bear Crossing, and certain other homes which we always advise of, it can be tricky in the winter if one doesn't have 4WD or AWD. Frankly we encourage all vacationers to drive one of these vehicles with good tires when enjoying a winter vacation so as to not interrupt their precious vacation time stuck in a ditch! Bear Crossing is a truly awesome cabin for the right folks - certainly those seeking privacy cannot be let down with this rustic cabin!
Toms River, NJ
This was our first time visiting Oakland, MD. What a beautiful place. The cabin was clean and cozy. Everything was provided as listed and we even had a dozen fresh eggs waiting for us in the fridge! Peaceful and away from it all! We had a great time, the dogs enjoyed the woods as much as we did. No bears spotted this time but it is late in the season. Offlake Rentals were professional and very helpful with any questions we had. Thanks for the great time! Read more
Response from Offlake Rentals - 11/22/2013
Thank you for being our guest and I am glad that you enjoyed our farm-fresh free range eggs. My 'pets' are my hens and I will gladly provide a dozen beautiful brown cage-free eggs to any guest booking with us who mentions this offer. You can taste the happiness of my birds in their eggs! Watch your email for coupons in the coming weeks.
Kim,Mike and crew
Great get away!
Beautiful cabin, surroundings (especially the cliffs), very comfortable. The only thing was that only 2 of 4 jets worked for the hot tub. everything else was great!! Read more
Response from Offlake Rentals - 10/25/2013
Thanks for the heads up on the jets! We will contact the hot tub service company and advise them of the need for repair. While our inspector tries to make sure all is in order prior to our guest arrival, the hot tub is not something that they climb in and check - relying on guest and the hot tub service company.
nice get away trip
we rented this cabin before the start of the school year. it is very remote and private. the cabin had everything that we could possibly need... except firewood, but the cabin is in the woods and we were able to find plenty of fallen trees to burn. overall we had a great stay. watch out for rattle snakes! we saw one when we went for a walk!
The Cabin is well named...a momma bear and her two cubs crossed the street right in front of the house!
We enjoyed our stay and found the house comfortable, clean and cozy. We weren't crazy about the open ceiling design of the bedrooms as every morning we had to get up since we could hear everything. Other than that, everything was fine. The beds were comfortable, and the bathrooms and hot tube clean. We thought a slightly larger table would be better suited to a house that sleeps 6-8 (the table only sat 4), but it wasn't a major problem.
My husband and kids loved the location for hiking, and the nearby park was nice for my little one. I enjoyed the no bugs and quietness.
While a longer drive to town for groceries and other stuff, the location to the state parks is ideal...we really liked how close we were to the beach and went there everyday. Thank you for letting us stay.
We stayed from april 28 thru May 4, 2013. We found the people who worked in the rental office to be very friendly and accommodating. We asked for a repair to be made on the kitchen sink, and it was repaired the same day. We really enjoyed the remoteness of the location and the firepit. I would definitely like to come back again. I do wish that I could've seen a bear cub!
The location of the cabin was breath taking.
Absolutely loved the layout of the cabin and property. It was very cozy. Doggie loved it too. The hot tub, gas fireplace, fire pit and the overlook from the rocks made it hard to want to leave the cabin. The first morning we were three w saw three very little bear cubs out by the car. That was the highlight of our trip.
We did encounter a couple problems, but Bob and his staff went well and beyond to fix and accommodate all our needs. The staff at Off Lake were fantastic. I have never stayed with a better rental company that was that concerned about the needs of its guests. We will be coming back. If i could change one thing about the property it would be a
thorough cleaning from baseboard to ceiling. Other than that i would change nothing.
Thank you Off Lake!!!
Marielle, Leif and Luke the doggie Read more
Response from Offlake Rentals - 11/26/2012
Thank you for your kind words and certainly we KNOW that our guests are investing something priceless in what we offer - their vacation time! While there may be an occassion that we cannot accommodate, we generally are able to work through most minor problems that can occur.
Unfortunately the timing of your visit was bad for cleanliness. The owner had just had quite a bit of construction work completed and the owner and his friends had used the cabin quite a bit. Your note about the cleanliness is well-taken and we have already had a 'deep clean' completed after your stay as clenliness is critical to a good experience! We are very happy to have you as guests and look forward to your return trip!
August Bear Crossing
What can we say? We both really enjoyed it. The solitude is spectacular and the cool evenings a welcome relief from the city heat. The location was great with all of the state parks nearby-lots of swimming opportunities.
And no bugs. We were amazed by that. We could both sit out on the front porch and read without mosquitos, etc.
The cabin had everything needed.
Devoted Humble Dave
Again with the wonderful stay(s) at BC
How many different ways can I describe the enjoyment of this wonderful place. The peaceful sounds of the woods without social interferance. To have two stunning parks within 15 minute drive (or a 3 mile walk one way to the highest falls in Maryland!) A fantastic golf course (Oakland Golf Club) 20 minutes door to door.
I have been visiting this establisment for all most seven years now, 3-5 times a year. Doesn't that one sentence alone complete this review/answer anybodies questions?
Decent place, but hard to get to.
If you plan to rent this in the winter, you must, must, must have 4wheel drive. They are not kidding! Our vacation was virtually ruined b/c we trusted the national (and local)weather services that said there wasn't any snow, and then over a foot of snow dumped on us on the trip to the house out of the blue. All of our cars got stuck in the road on the way and if it weren't for the kindness of neighboring strangers who pulled us out with tractors as they plowed and brought us to the house on atvs, we would have been even more screwed. We had to abandon 3 of our cars and go without much of the stuff people had brought.
The house itself is average. I've stayed at other Offlake houses and this one was definitely not as nice. To accommodate 11 people, you are rather packed in like sardines. Also, 2 of the 3 rooms have open ceilings like a cubicle so if you are in a house with a lot of people, it limits your privacy and soundproofing unless everyone happens to go to bed at exactly the same time. The hot tub saved our fiasco of a weekend, along with the nice fireplace. It was awesome and the house is very close to a gorgeous overlook as well. The house had lots of kitchy decor that was fun and a ton of VHS tapes that will bring back nostalgia and keep you entertained if you do happen to get snowed in like we did. If you want remote, it's the place for you! One small downside to the place also is that you have to go through a community gate to get to the property which requires you to go to the rental office to get the gate pass. You only get one pass, so if you have multiple cars coming at different times, it's kind of a pain as someone will have to keep going out to the gate to ferry people in. If you have 4 wheel drive (or it's summer time) and maybe only 8 people or so, this place is pretty great. If you try to pack it out to capacity and wing it with the non-4wheel drive cars, this place is not for you. Read more
Response from Offlake Rentals - 03/27/2012
You are correct that our advertisements are no lie! In Garrett County we NEVER trust a forecast - we count on local knowledge and common sense. Certainly your group had an eventful experience - while Offlake Rentals went out of our way to help you out of your predicament, we cannot control the weather. Certain homes that we offer clearly state "4WD or AWD are necessary when renting in the winter" and our reservationists reinforce this when renting these homes. Please take our advice and don't trust a weather forecast! While Bear Crossing has been very popular and has had more repeat rentals than any other home in our program, it does have it's limitations. Please make sure to take the advice of our reservationists when booking any of our homes as our staff is intimately familiar with every home and it's 'goods and bads'! Nonetheless, when I was out there helping you out of a ditch it appeared that your group was having a great time (which we love)! Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to taking care of you in the future!
Marvin and Cindy Kurylo and their 4 pooches
Manassas Park, Virginia
What a secluded and peaceful cabin: Tranquility Base!
When we first arrived, it was the perfect cabin for us. Extremely peaceful and secluded, thats what we needed. As far as the inside, they could use a king size bed in one of the two bedrooms with a tv that works. One of the overhead fans was bad which moved back and forth to the point of breaking off, so we did not use it at all. thank goodness the opposite one worked, it kept the heat throughout the cabin on a steady flow. if it was turned off, it would get too hot in the bedroom. The living room with the various dvd and vhs tapes plus tv with the propane stove made it very cozy. The hot tub was very nice, specially when it was snowing. The open fire pit with the logs that were provided, gave us a nice fire when we were in the tub. We plan to return at another time to enjoy more of the outdoor amenities with our 4 pooches. It was truly an R&R; experience! During the winter months an all wheel drive vehicle is recommended, since it snowed 6 inches when we were there.
We had a great time! I it was perfect in everyway. great location, great accommodations, lots of activities, one got to see a bear cub! just great!
J & S
Amazing, relaxing and everything you need!
Bear Crossing was awesome! Its nestled in the woods away from society and people! The only people we saw the whole weekend was on four wheelers and was random! I would highly recommend a stay here! Stacy from off lake was great! We celebrated my husband b day weekend there and she added some really awesome surprises! The cabin is quiet, surrounded by trees and wildlife! The hot tub was awesome and the lighted horseshoe pit was cool! The kitchen has all the utentils and pans you could want! We will definitly stay here again! The cabin was clean, smelled great and the beds were super comfy! If you go over winter---4 wheel drive is a must!!! Great experience!!! Love it!!!
Great private getaway!
We loved staying at Bear Crossing. We expected it to be private, but this was truly secluded! The place was surrounded by beautiful white snow and complete silence. When they say you need 4 wheel drive they mean it! The place is very spacious and clean and would be wonderful in the summer too with great outdoor seating. The pics online really do not do it justice. The rooms are bigger than they appear and the Florida room is very comfortable with a bar area and flat screen tv. The fireplace came the cottage very toasty. The worst part were the old bumpy mattresses. We wish we packed breakfast and lunch since it's a 20 minute drive to the main road and any place to eat. It's at least 35-40 minutes.
Problems with Offlake instructions
Bear Crossing cabin was great and we enjoyed our stay, however, we were disappointed with Offlake support for our trip. (1) We were initially given the wrong door code (that was corrected); (2) no where in the instructions we rec'd did it say we had to stop by the Offlake office to get a gate passcard - we rec'd instructions on how to get to your office but with no reason given why we needed to visit your office. Keep in mind that we had 3 vehicles coming long distances from 3 diff. directions. There was no reason why all of us had to be directed to your office. Imagine our surprise when we arrived to find a locked gate with no way to open it (in the rain!; a very kind gentleman happened by and let us pass through the gate)-no where in your description did you even mention that it was a gated resort!; (3) a member of our party then called your office to find out how to get past the gate - the comment she rec'd from your office staff was "didn't you read the email we sent"!- not helpful! We read every email you sent in great detail. My daughter had to then drive back to Oakland and get the passcard (one passcard for three vehicles was not enough-necessitating duplicate and unnecessary trips to the gate-a long drive!; (4) better instructions on how to open the doorbox would have helped-we are unfamiliar with these devices - a picture is worth 1000 words. In spite of our disappointment at Offlake failings, we all had a great time and are considering doing it again. Suggestion - in your description you may want to mention that if visitors hike up the road a bit - across from the neighbor cabin is a short trail that leads to rock cliffs and some very spectacular views! Regards - Bill Parker Read more
Response from Offlake Rentals - 12/06/2010
While it is unfortunate that you had difficulties with your check in, we are glad that you had an overall enjoyable experience. We know that vacation time is preciously short and that is why we are happy to offer a "self check-in" option with lockbox on most of our homes; however the homes inside the Yough Mountain Resort do require you to visit our office to gather the gate key. Certainly if this was a recurring problem we would have to revisit our arrival procedures; however Bear Crossing is one of our most popular repeat rental homes and we have not had a problem with other guests' arrival procedures, as other comments on our site indicate. Should you care to visit Bear Crossing again we look forward to having your visit. Again, the emailed instructions have not posed problems with other guests in the past and we apologize that there was confusion with your arrival.
Serene, private setting
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bear Crossing and would stay there again. Cozy, lived in setting. The hot tub was great after a day of hiking. And the firepit was a great touch. If you are looking for a place in the woods to spend some quality time together, Bear Crossing is the place. You won't be disappointed.
Carl & Diana
Secluded getaway, nice house/amenities, beautiful surroundings, quiet, peaceful, restful. Much appreciated.
Our stay was wonderful and very relaxing!
We've came here for 2 years and plan on coming back every year.
Mountain Man Dave
What? Another wonderful experience?
It is so hard to keep coming up with alternative ways to describe how wonderful this place is. So, for like, the 10th time, let me state how good offlake rental is/the services provided. As always the cabin is well maintained, all the little amenities, the location is just so powerful; set back in the woods away from the bulk of society, the location allows for so many activities from hikes in the woods, the nearby waterfalls (yes, only a 3 mile walk via wooded trails), Herrington manor, deep creek itself, cheese can the list keep going on...yes! Granted, fantastic weather helps these reviews...haaa...
it is a no brainer, anytime spent here will relax you.
A.A. County Md.
too far away from everything
It was a very nice cabin in a very secluded area. Not alot of wildlife around which you would of expected. There is a long ride just to get to the entry gate and then several miles after that to get into town to the main hgwy. The hot tub was nice, the firepit was awsome! They could use another aC unit as the one didn't cool it off much during the day. Swallow Falls was dreat for hiking and fishing.
Washington DC area
The cabin was beautiful, and we loved our stay. There were 3 couples, and we mostly explored the woods, hung out in the hot tub and Bbq'd. It was great. The cabin was in great condition when we arrived
The Roberts & Klages families
nice scenic get a way
Although the cabin was well secluded and beautifully decorated, we did have a few issues. The cabin needed a good "roof to basement" cleaning with a bucket of water and a good multi purpose cleanser. There was lots of dust high and low. The oven desperatley needed some easy-off. It looked like it had not been cleaned in a while. There was stale coffee left in the coffee pot also. The hot tub was "hot" although there were only 2 jets working. We had a culinary catastrophe with the gas grill. We put chicken leg quarters and baked potatoes wrapped in foil on the grill, and no longer than it took to walk back up to the kitchen to get a pair of tongs, there was black smoke rolling out of the back of the grill. It had not even been long enough for the chicken to get hot. Once the fire was extinguished we discovered there was plenty of grease left laying in the bottom of the grill, where it had not been cleaned well either. There were other issues, one with the sattelite for the TV in the sunroom where the flat screen is. even with following the written instructions, we could not watch regular TV in there. So on a scale of 1--10 we would have to rate the Bear Crossing as a 5 1/2 to 6. The location was superb, but the cleanliness and maintenance of equipment needs more attention.
AWESOME CUSTOMER SERVICE
I cannot say enough about the excellent customer service Stacy provided to me. She was very professional but at the same time personable and caring. Hold on to her!
The cabin was very nice and secluded as I was told. I could easily understand how a big family would have a blast. Unfortunalty it rained during my stay so I needed to use the gas fireplace. It might be because I am used to wood fireplaces instead of gas because I found the smell of the fireplace a little off putting. Besides that an enjoyable experience all around.
Bear Crossing is a lovely cabin in the woods. The service at Offlake Rentals is exceptional, especially Bob Orr. We liked the home. There was lots to do. The kids enjoyed the X-box & Foosball and we all enjoyed the hot tub. One morning we heard two Bobcats fighting in the woods nearby. I think what would've been great is to enjoy the fire pit. But we had too much snow, ice & rain when we where there and then of course the bridge was washed out which ended our stay with stress. I would still recommend Bear Crossing as long as they install a new more structurally sound bridge.
Nice Cabin and Surrounding Area, Horrible Beds
Let me start by saying that the cabin was in a wonderful area and was, in all, a pleasant place to stay. The surrounding area is beautiful. Swallow Falls State Park is one of mine and my husband's favorite places to visit. The cabin had a fireplace, which made it cozy, and a wonderful "sunroom" type area where we enjoyed having our meals.
On the downside, the cabin was not very clean. I found mouse droppings behind the coffee maker, which had what seemed a layer of grease all over it. I felt that the kitchen area and the dishes were so dirty that I had to clean the countertops and wash the dishes PRIOR to using them. The carpets also had salt all over them. I hope the people before us didn't pay the extra cleaning/linen fees because if they did they were ripped off. The cabin was, without a doubt, cleaner after we left than it was when we came.
The worst part was the beds. They were, by far, the most uncomfortable beds that I have ever slept in. I have stayed in $50/night motels that had better beds. Had I had to stay another night I would have slept on the couch just to see if that was more comfortable. We stayed two nights and each night tried a different mattress. Both nights were miserable.
I would recommend this cabin if the mattresses were upgraded and if the cleaning people took a little more time with it. As a couple, we enjoyed it. We also decided we would not want to share it with other people and expect privacy. There are no ceilings in the upstairs 2 bedrooms. The walls were there, but were open up to the rafters.
Great house, but miserable treatment by Offlake
Bear Crossing is a comfy, cozy cabin that my family and I ended up having a great time in...eventually. We arrived two hours later than the time we told Offlake Rentals we would be, and were told they weren't sure what time the snow plow would be clearing the driveway (which was as long as a football field) so we could get into our cabin. Mind you, we had two dogs and an infant in our party and had driven almost four hours to get there. After waiting for a total of FIVE hours we were finally able to get out of our idling cars and into the cabin. There was no apology from Offlake, and it was obvious no one had even been out to the cabin to set it up for us. Not only was the heat off but no toilet paper or paper towels! Still waiting on a refund for our first night, which was promised but never received. We never received a return phone call after numerous messages! Bob, what's up with that?! Read more
Response from Offlake Rentals - 03/02/2010
It is unfortunate that you had such difficulties with accessing your home. As you recall, Garrett County was under the "snow emergency plan" and many roads, County and Community, were closed due to the enormous record-setting snowfall. With President's Day Weekend completely filled and the incredible difficulties with closed roads, Offlake gained the permission to have a private bobcat operator bucket the Community Road, which is 1/4 mile long. The driveway for Bear Crossing is a mere 100' turnaround area. Offlake and the homeowner went well beyond in paying a private contractor to scoop a community road (this expense far surpassed your reservation total!) as the snowfall was too high to simply plow. You are correct that we had not prepared Bear Crossing - the snow was too high for our 4-wheel drive pickup to access. You may recall that on your arrival to our office we advised you that the Community had yet to plow the road and to wait until they did so; however you decided to head out regardless. Offlake takes pride in preparing our homes for our guests - when we can get to the homes! We encourage all guests to consider purchasing the optional Travel Insurance (which you waived) affording some protections when the weather is outside of our control. Our office worked beyond midnight managing the various plow operators and handymen to help our guests. We did discuss a discount for the first night's stay (more for your inconveniences, outside of our control) and in fact that was put in the mail a while ago. You may have noted that even the postal service was closed down in Garrett County during this incredible storm. Rest assured, guests, that Offlake takes great pride in caring for our customers - doing everything within our capabilities to make your stay enjoyable. Please read other comments posted by rental guests to confirm this.
we had an excelent time.
THE HOME WAS WONDERFUL. EVERYTHING WAS READY FOR US TO HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND AND WE DID.
Great Thanksgiving Holiday!
We had an excellent experience at Bear Crossing. The home was warm and inviting. The setting was beautiful and secluded. The home had everything we needed plus a lot of extras. My only recommendation would be to add a larger dining set but we made it work.
The video selection was great and kept us entertained in the evening. We especially enjoyed the hot tub and the fire pit. Most importantly, our 3 young children and our Saint Bernard didn't want to leave! We were lucky enough to get about 4-5 inches of snow to top off our Thanksgiving! We highly recommend this property and Offlake Rentals!
Serenity in all its glory1
WE LOVE OUR STAY AT BEAR CROSSING. The cabin is so beautiful and decorated charming. We love hiking on the nearby trails and taking pictures from the cliffs. Not to mentions the breath taking view from the cliffs. We actually went for our anniversary and went back again with our children. The girls loved the cabin,sitting in the jacuzi,laying in the hamock. We even seen a bear one night. Although I scared it away trying to take a picture of it. The service we received from the staff was excellent. The cabin is located in the woods yet close enough to the city. You will literally be ten minutes from town and not even know it. You will not be disapointed with a stay at Bear Crossing. We can't wait to go back.
wonderful family experience
Bear Crossing is a very nice clean cabin. Our stay was very enjoyable. We checked in after hours so when we got to office to pick up key, it was not there like we were promised, this was an inconvenience but all worked out
Mountain Man Dave
purity in the woods
I have been actively utilizing this wonderful 'getaway' home for over 5 years now (twice a year minimum!). I have seen the improvements and growth of this property first hand and continue to stay impressed with how the owners apply themselves.
It is just not that the cabin is well maintained, stocked properly with kitchen supplies/cookware, and always clean (specially for something in the woods). But when something does unfortunately happen (ie out door hot tub leak) how quickly Off Shore Lake Rentals AND the Owner respond. Service is key when on a vacation and these folk have their act together.
What I think is the most appealing part of this property is not really the cabin itself but the surrounding environment. Bluffs so close by to walk to for stunning views, waterfalls (Muddy Creek and Swallow Falls) are within 3 miles walking distance. Herrington Manor lake and even Deep Creek lake are only a few minutes driving time away. It is amazing how removed you are from other individuals. If you need some quite time, haaa, yeah, this is the place. To hear just your own breath is rare to find these days. The leaves sound like crisp glass shards as the breeze toys with them. And lastly, how could you ever pass up a large, comfortable fire pit!
One Happy Woodsman
Offlake Rentals gave us a getaway that we will never forget!!! With their kind staff and easy to use website we were able to book the Bear Crossing property with not problems at all. The cabin is located in a great place for quad riding (provided that you are with someone that has property in the gated community). There was plenty of room for the 8 people that were staying there and NO ONE had any complaints! There was even sleeping room for 2 more. The house is fully stocked with dishes, cooking utencils, and linens (provided you pay the small fee for the linens). There was a gas grill, hot tub (which we didn't have time to use) horse shoes, and a fire pit out side. We all have agreed to make this a yearly event as we had a BLAST!!! Just sitting on the deck was so relaxing and beautiful! So if you are going to stay here I'd recommend packing clothes and some food for the grill and enjoy! There are many places/stores near by if you forget something. The location, cabin, and staff of Offlake Rentals were all WONDERFUL!!! To have 8 people, male and female, to not have one complaint about ANYTHING is pretty amazing!