- 5 bedrooms
- 4 bathrooms
- Sleeps 16
Description from the manager
Enjoy an evening among the stars in this mountainside chalet. Refresh your spirit as you take in the beauty of each season from the expansive deck. The unique floor plan and open living space are a few of the many special features of this well-designed home. Mountain Meadow offers the perfect place to reunite with family and friends for that much needed vacation. Unwind in the bubbling hot tub or enjoy a challenging game of pool or foosball. Let the magic of the mountains create warm, fun vacation memories for the entire family.
Additional amenities include: pool table, non - smoking, private home, game table: ahfb, lake access, communi...ty tennis courts.Read more
About the manager
Long and Foster, Inc. Deep Creek Office (814) 702-4158 Full profile
Calendar updated: today
Overall rating: 4.2 / 5.0 based on 1,507 reviews and 125 properties
Additional Location Information
Last updated on September 22, 2014
Not available for your dates? Check availability for 233 other Oakland rentalsCheck Availability for Oakland
Rates shown in $ USD
|Don't see rates for your trip?|
- A/C or climate control
Phone / Internet
- Internet Access
Pool / Spa
- Hot Tub/Jacuzzi
- Pet friendly - ask
- Smoking allowed - no
- Suitable for children - ask
- Suitable for the elderly - ask
- Wheelchair accessible - no
What Past Guests Are Saying
Have you stayed here? Write a review
34 guest reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
We were14 people in a house advertised to sleep 16. One downstairs double bed had a broken box springs which was taped. The sofa sleeper in the loft was entirely too uncomfortable for anyone to use. Fortunately we had brought a couple of air mattresses just in case. Also, many window levers did not work. Screens had to be removed in order to open windows, then close them from outside. Bathroom floors not so clean.
Also management called re. Dirty hot tub.
Detailed ratings for this rental
Bedding & mattresses
Other facilities & amenities
Kitchen & utensils
- Bedding & mattresses
It was a lovely house with a nice view. There were plenty of games and activities to keep us busy. Also the upper deck was great to just relax. We are definitely going back to this house next vacation. We did have some plumbing problems but Long and Foster were prompt in fixing the problem. The house felt private as there were plenty of trees between the houses. We liked the location also. Close to 219 which is the main road to everything.
Detailed ratings for this rental
Overall customer service
Bedding & mattresses
Other facilities & amenities
Kitchen & utensils
Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes
- Overall customer service
Did not meet expectations
This was the first house in the Deep Creek area that did not meet expectations. There were many chairs that had parts broken or loose. Many light bulbs were out. many Tv's would not work or connect to the cable. No chalk for pool table, no material for shuffleboard, air hockey had a broken leg. The outside area had cigarette butts. The charcoal grill was in need of an upgrade. Also, there were missing pictures on the wall. Only one thermostat regulator for the entire house. The upstairs became very warm while the basement was cold.
lovely house, spacious with great view
We were a group of 11-- there was plenty of room in this clean spacious house with beautiful views. However, we did not own 4 wheel drive cars and our mini vans had a terribly time getting out of the snowy, very inclined driveway (even when they plowed) We would also have a great deal of trouble getting up the mountain road itself. I would not rent this house in winter without 4 wheel drive. The only other issue was that the heat was badly distributed through the house-- in order to have the kids in the basement not freeze, the adults on the top level were sweltering. This house is probably best not in the winter. however, the views were spectacular of the snow all day long.
This house was perfect for a family reunion! We had such a great time & it was wonderful that we could all stay together. There was a few things that needed work. It seemed like the house was cleaned but not taken care of if that makes sense. The downstairs fireplace didn't work, the pots & pans are barely usable. The non stick coating was pealing off! The hot water heater only worked for at the most 2 or 3 showers. The showers need new liners (which cost $3 each) and the basement smelled like mildew. I don't mean to make this a bad review because its not, it's a beautiful home it just needs some TLC. It seems someone bought the house and sends in cleaning people but doesn't go to check on it themselves. If your going to stay here in the winter time make sure you get a 4 wheel drive vehicle! We got stuck in the snow and had to walk home through the neighborhood! There were about 10 cars that got stuck in that same night... We would love to come back again we loved the mountain, great skiing, spacious home, great backyard, just needs a little work.
Will Rent a Differnt Home Next Year
Making reservations was easy. I confirmed that early checkin would be available as long as the folks renting ahead of us didn't opt to stay an extra day. Upon calling 48 hours ahead of our scheduled check-in I was told that the renters did not stay an extra day but we couldn't get early checkin because the cleaners were too busy. This was frustrating because the agent whom we had worked with from the start was out of town and the back-up agent didn't seem willing to take ownership of our issue. We were able to get the early check-in issue resolved and checked in with ease.
Upon entering, the home was clean and very large and looked nice. The rooms were all as described and all amenities which we were promised were included.
I understand that in homes like this the heat will rise and the rooms upstairs will get hot. That wouldn't have been a problem for us except the cranks on the windows were all stripped so opening and closing of the windows required removing the screen and using a knife to push and pull them open and shut. Very frustrating and very loud when you have a baby who is trying to sleep. I was on vacation and I felt like 35% of it was spent opening and closing the windows. Also, one of the blinds snapped in half when I tried opening it so our room was blindless for the majority of our stay.
Fireplace - when we were looking for a vacation rental, a fire place was a requirement. When we got to the home neither fire place was working. Apparently L&F; does not guarantee that the fireplace will be operable...that would have been helpful to know prior to renting. Thankfully L&F; sent someone out to fix it, however, the disclaimer was a bit disheartening given that we are in the mountains every home should have a fully functioning fireplace.
Tv - The TV in the living room is so tiny for the size of the room.
Need more seating in the living and game room
Overall, we had a really great vacation but will probably try to rent a different home next year. Read more
Response from Long and Foster, Inc. Deep Creek Office - 01/11/2014
Thank you for your review. We have passed these comments to the owner of the home. We apologize for your inconvenience during your stay. Please give us a call and we will help you find the perfect property next time. Let us know of your issues so we can ensure that you are in a place that you will love. Mountain Meadow is a great home, and we are working to get the windows fixed.
Wonderful house...great location...excellent kid friendly basement and hot tub...very well pleased!
Everything one needs to get away...
We host 2 events every year to bring together old friends and meet new ones and decided to finally provide a taste for Deep Creek Lake this time around. Having to host a large trip is always a daunting task but everything about this weekend went flawless and made my job easy. The house was better than expected and offered a perfectly secluded location that overlooked the water and bright blue skies without the distraction of neighbors or noise. Inside was ample room for different groups, whether couples, families, or friends, there was a great set of options to accommodate everybody. The kitchen was one of the main hubs for our getaway and the layout and inventory offered everything we needed to keep plates full. Getting to the lake was a cinch and getting groceries was effortless. There's a store that will deliver all of the essentials and more with the press of a button. There just so much to do around Deep Creek it was hard not to keep grounded but in the 3 days that we were there, I can't say enough as to how fulfilling everything was, and same goes for my group. We are looking at returning again at the same time next year (so book early :D )
House needs a refresh
We rented this house 3 years ago and it was fine for that time, however, it's about time that the owners replaced all the entertainment equipment to modern ones. Cooking-ware are all worn out and need to be replaced. Basement was smelling. House is big and nice and open. Owners just need to spend little money to refresh.
Good family reunion place
We stayed during the summer of 2013.
Pros - The place was very clean. Looks just like the photos. Located near the town and state parks. The jacuzzi was clean and hot! The view from the deck was beautiful. The kitchen was very large and came with lots of plates, glasses, cooking utensils, pots and pans. There was variety of spices to use. The sheets and towels were clean and soft enough. There was a large collection of videos to choose from which was good for the rainy days. Place comfortably slept 4 adults and 6 kids. With all of those people, the place was pretty quiet despite the open floor plan. The kids loved the gameroom!
Despite the below cons, don't be mislead. This is a really nice place. They just need to work on some of the fine details to make it perfect!
Upstairs shower didn't work - The shower attached to one of the master bedrooms did not produce anything more than a sustained trickle. We had to use one of the other showers. (There are 4 total).
Partial shades on third floor windows - Nothing to block the sunlight in the morning. Ie: No sleep ins!
Kitchen sink - Again, the place was very clean! But, the kitchen sink was covered in an uncleanable dirty grime. Pretty gross.
Volleyball Court - Not level. The wood boundary lines are a tripping hazzard. Who wants to play volleyball on wood chips? There were volleyballs there, so need to buy one.
Wet basement - The dehumidifier leaked in the basement from the prior guest. The front patch of the carpet leading into the basement bedroom was wet the entire stay. So every time we entered the room, we had to jump over it or get our socks wet.
Gameroom - There is a tv but not any couches near it. So not a great place to congregate and watch movies.
Note - There is a pull out sofa on the third floor, but it is located in the hallway. So not a great place to sleep as not private and lots of sunlight and noise.
Quiet and relaxing!
My family and I loved this house. There was plenty to do on our down time, game tables in the basement, videos to watch, hot tub, etc. We had a problem with ants on our last day there, but I called the realtor and they took care of the problem immediately so I was real impressed with that. It was in a nice location, easy to get to and very quiet. There was plenty of room inside also.
The entire unit needs to be updated and the basement had a very musty odor. Kitchen cabinet handles fell off as we opened them, the shower door fell off of it's track and the heating element in the electric oven caught on fire. Would not go back for the amount of money charged for the week. Not worth it for our family.
The house was a little out dated but had more for the money then the rest. Had alot of things not fixed and not working right that I had to call in.
Close to everything yet no reason to leave the house!
This house was absolutely perfect for our yearly ski trip! The house is less than a 5 min. drive from the slopes and surrounding restaurants. However, for those that didn't ski, there was no reason to even leave this beautiful house! Extremely roomy, great game room where all games were played and the hot tub...perfect! So big and hit the spot after a day of skiing and an amazing view. It was also nice to be able to get a later check out (1pm instead of 10am) for only $25 more. We will probably rent the same place again. Maybe in the summer!
The sinks and showers were not very clean in this rental. Also we were told that we would get the snow plowed every 4 inches of snow. The night we stayed we got around 16 inches. We didn't see the snow plow one time the entire weekend. We ended up having to shovel the entire driveway ourselves to even be able to get into the house.
Southern MD Resident
Great property and location but questionable cleaniness
Pros: The property is located in a prime location within a community setting that sets upon the side of a mountain. Very tranquil setting. Loved the chipmunks and awesome VHS/DVD collection for rainy days.
Cons: Upon arriving at the appointed 4pm check-in time, I was greeted with the disappointment of not being able to check-in due to a delay on the part of Long and Foster. Due to this inconvenience on the part of Long and Foster, I was never offered compensation for their failures, instead I was given the keys and asked to wait about an hour before going to the property because it was still being cleaned. This is where things take a turn for the worst. Upon going to the property 90 minutes later, you are greeted by a spacious foyer and open family room adjoined to the kitchen. To my dismay, the kitchen counter was not clean, food particles were left between the grout lines of the tiled counter-top. Even worst, the kitchen sink was stained black and brown, almost as if some had walked outside and then stood in the sink grinding their shoes to damage the procelain. The stairs leading downstairs had many stains and I was greeted with a moldy smell at the foot of the steps. Don't get me wrong the 5 bedrooms and many amenities were above par; I simply question the lack of upkeep of the property and instructions provided to the cleaning staff. When I went upstairs to one of the bedrooms, the extra blanket in the closet had red food stains from a previous guest. The grout in the bathroom on the main floor required cleaning as there was black mold and mildew stains. When this information was reported to the rental office, it took repeated calls to the office before I received a refund for the time I had to spend cleaning the kitchen only - there was no mention about the other problems. Quite diappointing because I know Long and Foster can do better.
The house, while not excellent, because of some leaks and other
The lake side windows leaked badly during a severe storm. A dehumidifier also leaked in the basement. I put a snow disk under it to catch the leak. We lived at Deep Creek for six years ending ten years ago, so we know the area well. It continues to amaze me which is why we plan to own a vacation home there soon.
A nice weekend away.
Stayed in this house with a group of friends for a long weekend. The house was clean and all linens were in place when we arrived. We enjoyed all of the games in the basement and the centralized location of the house. The proximity to a coffee/breakfast shop located just down the hill was nice. We enjoyed the huge selection of VHS tapes in the house. Sure, they are not Dvds or Blu-Rays, but it was kind of cool for a weekend to watch VHS tapes. The volleyball court left a lot to be desired, as it is filled with wood chips and is on a slant. You could still play on it, but I would not recommend diving for a ball or missing to one side and sending the ball down the hill. The basement had a musty smell, but it is a basement so that is kind of expected.
Good location, house showing its wear
We stayed here for a weekend in February. We enjoyed the house overall with pros & cons:
Pros: Gameroom downstairs (foosball, pool, air hockey, shuffleboard), Hot-tub was a good size, open layout, good location
Cons: House is showing its wear (dirty carpets, very dusty fans, shuffleboard table had no sand so we couldn't play, fireplaces were hard to get on. While we were there, a foot of snow fell so we went out to shovel the driveway Sunday morning and while we were leaving, the plow the owners rent to clear the driveway finally came through (at 11 am). In the future, since check-out is 11 am, it'd be good for the plow to come earlier.
Mountain Meadow - what a disappointment!
I would like to be compensated for the deplorable condition the unit was in. The mouse droppings everywhere made it so we had to purchase disposable plates/plastic ware to even eat. We cleaned up the unit just to make it somewhat livable for the younger children. I would appreciate it the issues were resolved in a timely manner by the rental agency. What a disappointment!!
Deep Creek goer
Overall good, but
could have been better only if the property was well maintained. carpet/rugs & linens were not too clean.
Cleaning Company Should be fired!!!
The cleaning company couldn't have cleaned in quit a while. Cobb webs with trapped bugs in the corners of all rooms,Hole in ceiling where a pipe was being fixed. Air vents bent filled with dirt,and rusty. Splatters on walls in several places. Mouse droppings in pot and pan drawers.Baseboards dusty. Kitchen sink needs replaced, burn marks all over, and cracked(looks to be cheep plastic. Some DR Chairs are falling apart. No Chalk for pool table, we bought. No salt for the shuffleboard table, pucks won't slide because of corrosion on the bottom of them. Rugs dirty and smelly. Worst of all when we reported all of this to the management company, they promised someone would call on Monday following our stay; it is now the following friday, and I still have not heard from anyone. It's a shame, because a few thousand dollars and some TLC, and it could be a very nice place to stay.
Our week at Deep Creek
This is the second year we have spent our vacation at Deep Creek Lake. I liked the house because of the size and there were lots of things for the kids to do but didn't like it quite as much as the one we had last year(Angel's landing) The kitchen was great and there was plenty of room but the view was not so great(trees in the way). The jets in the jacuzzi did not work and no one showed up to fix them all week but we had another issue and someone showed up to take care of that immediately. We will definitely come back and probably use Long and Foster again but will get a different house, closer to the water.
Stuart,Jackie,Scott,Christina,Staci,John,Steven, and Shane
Potomac , Md. 20854
Avacation at the lake everyone loved...
House was great and every body had plenty of room.We would rent that house again.On a suggestion note, the glass bulb above the hot tub was broken and we had to call to get it fixed before we could use the tub with my two grandsons.The two top floor master bedrooms had very low water pressure in the showera and when you tried to adjust the shower heads they came off in your hands,they had no plumers tape to hold them on to try and adjust the heads. Small things but need to be fixed for the next tenets. Also the lock on the lower level sliding glass door that let you outside to the hot tub did not lock.You sent a very handy young gentleman who said one was on orderand showed us how to lock it using his expertise.It needs to be fixed, the kids and our wifes always called us to lock the door when we left the house.thanks for asking,we had a great time.need cable boxes on all T.V.'s.
Good location and good size but...
We were happy with the location of the home and the size but dissappointed in overall condition of the home. When you take a vacation you expect to have things that you don't have at home. This wasn't the case. I believe that if the home is upgraded a little in its interior, the money paid would be more worth it. The kitchen was well stocked for cooking and serving, the rooms were good size for the amount of people we had, there was just too many other issues that we had to deal with. I think the home just needs a little TLC and some features added to set it apart from the rest. This was our third summer in Deep Creek and third property we stayed in.
A nice getaway for the Christmas holiday, that our children love.
few problems but overall a good stay
When we got there the cable didn't work, the jetted tub wasn't functional, and we found out later in the week the dryer didn't work. Once the cable and dryer were fixed (you may want to replace the dryer as it gets insanely hot and melted through the 220 cord causing the problem in the first place)it was a pleasant stay. Also upon arriving there was a slight odor in the basement that we had to open the windows for a day to get rid of, nothing major but for a family with breathing problems may have been and issue. The staff was pleasant and for the most part helpful in resolving any issues we encountered.
We arrived and were unable to even get our car into the driveway. 2-3 feet of icy snow was piled at the entrance of the driveway and the entire driveway was filled with 6"-1' of snow. We called the after hours number and were informed NOT to leave a message if we needed a plow. We had to spend two hours shoveling. The house was wonderful but we sincerely were disappointed in the lack of snow removal or even warning that this may be an issue.
N. Potomac, Maryland
We had a BLAST!!!
I can't describe how wonderful our stay was at Mountain Meadow the last weekend of January 2010. First of all the house is great with lots of big windows so we could enjoy watching the snow fall! It was clean and had a game room which we had fun using. Everyone was sooooo nice in taking care of our needs upon arrival. We couldn't get the fireplace to work and we called the office and within 30 minutes the kindest person on the planet came and showed us how to operate it. Unfortunately I don't remember his name. Also the driveway had snow and we were unable to park our cars and someone was sent to clean it out for us. The hot tub was clean too. There is a great coffee shop nearby as well that we were able to walk too as it snowed the first day and we weren't able to drive anywhere. Overall this is a nice house and I can't wait for us to come and stay in the summer.
Mountain Meadow Review
We had a great time. The house was very nice and comfortable for our family and friends. However the water did not work on one of the days. We had to call the maintanence dept and they had it fixed a few hours later.
Adequate house, but we won't be back!
We had a great time but had some issues. The house was not as clean as we
would have liked and there was no mop or cleaning supplies for us to clean the
floors with after tracking in snow. The hot tub area had clothes and beer
bottles strewn about from previous renters, and the hot tub was dirty. We got a
lot of snow when we were there and the driveway was barely plowed when we
arrived and the 2 plastic shovels mountain meadow provided did nothing
against the icy snow mound that piled on the driveway. We could not fit 5 cars
as stated. Some salt or kitty litter would have been great since the driveway
was so steep. We had to have AAA tow out our all-wheel drive SUV.
The house is located in a beautiful area of Deep Creek - close enough to the main section to get out when you need to, but in the woods enough to feel like you are seperated from everyday life. The house itself is great and the owners had an impressive set of movies, all catalogued, and games to keep you busy if you don't want to leave the house. We cooked in all week and the kitchen was great to cook in.
The only problem we had was with the internet. It was not working the first two days we were there and although the Long and Foster team was very very responsive and Comcast came the second day we were there it never worked very well.
Other than that, wonderful stay and we would go back!
first i am creating a letter to the manager and general manager.all were very unhappy because the home was in need of repair inside and out.dead trees that could be a hazzard.grounds unkept.we all arrived and saw the front of the home and felt discusted.leak in the kitchen which you knew about and it leaked the whole time we were there.unrine stains on hopper that we cleaned up.washer and dryer kept kicking out the g.f.i.terrible smell at rear doors.I TRULY LOVE COMING TO YOUR RESORT BUT NOT UNDER THOSE CODITIONS.I HAVE MORE COMING IN A CERTIFIED LETTER.ihave been there several times before the homes we atayed in were allmost perfect.this time when i made the reservations i felt bad because the people that were with me were very very disappointed.than to be offered a 20% discount in the same house for a week or weekend is not exceptable'since that's something you offer anyway.we all are looking for a better offer than that.we are all retired people and have to make our dollars count.i think we were short changed this time.we would come again but need to see what the property looks like first.there are more complaints that i will put in my letter.what we did find are the nice people who work in your office very kind and considerate.home some what clean ,perfect weather,great location,when you need something it just take short trip in a car or a short walk.people very friendly.looking forward to hearing from you soon as possible. Read more
Response from Long and Foster, Inc. Deep Creek Office - 09/23/2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a letter to let us know the condition of the home you rented. Upon our inspections of the property we were able to get the issues repaired and the outside grounds in order. I hope the 20% refund for the conditions in which you found the home has changed your mind on we handled your issues. We value guests such as yourself and appreciate you brining issues to the forefront so they can be handled.
No as good as the previous 2 years
This was our third year staying at the house, and although we enjoyed all
three years the house is not being kept up. Each year the house gets more
worn down. The yard is overgrown and unkept, which is a shame because
our kids would love to play out there. This time the upstairs bathrooms
were leaking into the entryway and Long and Foster sent someone out, but
he only made the problem worse. And we had to keep calling to get them to
send someone out again---which is annoying when you are on vacation.
And the person they sent checked the stains on the ceiling by poking his
finger through the wet dry wall. The refrigerator rails on the door are all
broken, so everything falls out when you open the door. The dishwasher
has a broken soap dispenser and the internal parts get stuck in the rack
during washing. Some of the tvs, radios, speakers, etc. don't work or don't
have cables connecting them to the walls. The hot tub was so foamy when
you turned it on, it was almost disgusting getting in. The pool table isn't
level, the airhockey table is broke, the volleyball net won't stay up and the
court is covered in wood chips (so you don't want to play even if the net was
good), the down stairs bunk bed mattresses are so broken down they aren't
comfortable to sleep on, etc. Each issue is a minor issue, but when you put
them all together it just wasn't as enjoyable as it could have been. Needless
to say, we have found a different house to stay at next year for only a
couple hundred dollars more, which is cleaner and has more amenities.
For the price the house isn't that bad, and you could have a good vacation
there, you would just have to over look all the minor problems and not have
high expectations. Read more
Response from Long and Foster, Inc. Deep Creek Office - 09/23/2009
Thank you for taking the time to write down your concerns with the condition of this property. We have since replaced the shelving in the refrigerator and replaced the broken soap dispenser in the dishwasher. The owner is in the process of taking care of the lawn issue so next summer you should see a great improvement. He is also committed in bringing the overall standards back up for his home.