Delvin Health Retreat in beautiful Olinda
|Minimum Stay||1 night|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
|Theme||Adventure, Budget, Spa, Away from it all, Mountain, Village|
Description from the owner
Delvin is located one hour from the heart of Melbourne in Victoria, Australia. It is a big house with four guest rooms each with their own bathroom and a shared lounge room. It is a traditional style B& B/Health Retreat with the host living on the premises and at your disposal. I offer massage, facials, yoga and meditation, guided forest walks, counselling and evening meals. It is warm and friendly type of environment in a lovely location with a charming quaint village just two minutes walk away. Walk to the forests and lovely a 100 acre garden. Delvin is a quality 4 star establishment at 3 star prices. I am a non threatening, single male run...Read more
Delvin Health Retreat in beautiful Olinda
Olinda, Victoria, Australia
Additional Location Information
We are one hour from the city of Melbourne. You can get here by train and bus or by car. I can do a pick up service from railway station. Olinda is the top of a mountain 2000 feet above sea level. It is a lovely rain forest with quaint shopping villages and beautiful flora and fauna, gardens and nurseries and forest walks.
Location Type Away from it all, Mountain, Village
Rates shown in $ USD (Rental listed originally in AUD) (change)
|Rate Summary||$154||$154||$0||$0||1 night|
|All Dates||$154||$154||-||-||1 night|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the owner|
- Additional guests - $67 - Per-Person Adjustment - Fee applies to parties of more than 1 guest(s)
Additional notes from owner
There are no other charges, taxes or fees. I also give a cheaper price for singles please enquire about that.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 02, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
My week in the rainforest
I thoroughly enjoyed my healing stay at Delvin. Micheal is a very knowledgeable host, and I have been able to make several beneficial lifestyle changes, based on our talks around the dinner table. The meals were nourishing; the massages and yoga classes excellent; and I looked forward to
our invigorating walks through picturesque Olinda bushland each morning. And there's plenty to see and do in the area
Response from Michael Shane - 01/23/2013
I really enjoyed our time together too Ian, I also learnt from you too. I hope you can come back one day. Good luck in the future, and God Bless. Mike
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
I loved Delvin!
I stayed at Delvin early 2013. I went alone and was the only guest staying with Michael. I must admit the thought of staying with a strange man alone was somewhat daunting, however upon arrival my fears soon disappeared. Michael is a lovely, warm man with a friendly, and particularly non-threatening disposition.
The house was clean, and the room perfectly acceptable. No nasty smells, and I only saw the dogs for a total of five minutes.
The food was to my liking. It's simple, clean and very nutritious, just what I was looking for in a health retreat. If you prefer a more gourmet menu then there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
I had a massage, counselling session and a guided meditation session - all with Michael. I found these all very satisfactory and left feeling like a new woman.
I have been to health retreats all over the world. I have been to the Golden Door several times and stayed in five star health resorts in asia. Delvin is not a high end retreat. It is affordable and very pleasant. I know no other establishment where one man can offer so many services at a very affordable price.
I have already booked to come back with my best friend in a few months.
Response from Michael Shane - 01/18/2013
You are a treasure Shelley, it was a pleasure having you here. xoxo Mike
Good location, quite well appointed but food is lacking
We booked with two other couples and therefore felt sorry for the fourth couple who occupied the fourth room and had to share the common living areas with us but we did our best to be friendly and give them their space too. The rooms are comfortable and the house is in a central location for the Dandenongs. The main criticism is the food. We had an evening meal the night we arrived and we rated it as the most bland meal we'd ever eaten. I know it's advertised as a health retreat but really, there are healthy, tasty things that can be done with vegetables and meat beyond merely steaming them and there was no effort at all with the presentation. One of our party received a piece of chicken that was uncooked and opted to forego the rest of the meal. We ordered the bacon and eggs for breakfast and yes, the bacon was steamed (!!) and the eggs microwaved. We requested grilled bacon the following morning and did get it although it was pointed out to us that this was "more effort". Maybe the owner should practise a few tried and tested recipes for evening meals - healthy does not need to be tasteless - and include in the breakfast some mushrooms and tomatoes, and perhaps a splash of parsley or something to add flavour and enhance presentation to the scrambled eggs. There is so much good local produce and none of it was on show, although I must admit the eggs were free range. All in all a pleasant stay but I'd opt to eat all meals at the local cafes and restaurants.
Response from Michael Shane - 01/12/2013
Sorry someone thought the chicken was uncooked, I have double checked the food handling and cooking times it comes out perfectly cooked at 75 degrees Celsius. Thigh fillets are normally pinky brown and steaming makes them very moist. Sorry you thought the 10 vegetables (some organic), the atlantic salmon, chicken, the free chocolate pudding and ice cream were all tasteless. You might have missed seeing the salt, pepper, lemon pepper, Tabasco, soy, sweet chilli, tomato, worcestershire & barbecue sauces. Sorry that you didn’t get 5 star value for your 3 star price. I know you didn’t intend this but sorry I overheard homophobic and judgmental conversation and sorry you didn’t take the time to say goodbye after I served you food and shelter and cleaned up after your mess. It’s amazing what a little bit of kindness does to ones spirit (and the service) and on the contrary it’s amazing what a sharp tongue does to ones morale and self esteem. Delvin is my home and should be my sanctuary. It is open for kind, considerate non judgmental people. I think this writer picked the wrong place however I will waste no time in putting out the welcome mat for her next time she wants to stay.
you pay for what you get
I was really looking forward to having a really peaceful getaway at Delvin! This was not the case! I was completely surprised at the retreat, when i got there it was just the owner and myself staying in his house which had me a little concerned! The house smelt like mildew! He had his washing everywhere and at one point while i was watching TV, his two dogs came and urinated in front of me! He had offered a cooked breakfast in the package but there was only a few cereals and couple of pieces of fruit bread and i then asked for some other bread to toast and he was shocked i had even asked such a question! i left a day early and would not recommend for anyone! Very disappointed!
Response from Michael Shane - 10/12/2012
Dear Catherine, sorry if you could smell a slight damp smell (there is no mildew). We had rain, mist, no sun and single figure temperatures for 6 months straight before you came. I can’t wait to throw open the house on the first sunny day. Sorry if indeed a dog did urinate in front of you, it would have been really nice if you told me so I could sanitise the area and remove them. They are not normally here anymore. Sorry towels drying over the railing offended you, you said it was O.K. with you when I asked. Sorry I looked surprised when you asked for white bread in preference for my home made health bread (not a fruit loaf). I asked you if you wanted bacon and eggs (a cooked breakfast) and you said no that you were happy with cereal and toast. I advertise on my web site that it is a big house and I live here (I am a man with a mans name, my picture is there for you to see)) and I run the place on my own. You chose to come here on your own, you chose not to do any research and when I encouraged you to have your boyfriend join you you said you didn’t think he would be allowed to stay! I really don’t know what you thought you were coming to! You do get what you pay for, you booked for bed and breakfast, a massage and a facial and that is what you get with friendly homely service with a smile and loving kindness- nothing more nothing less. You lied about the reason for leaving and were not honest in your responses to my questions however, you and your boyfriend are lovely people (like all Gods creatures). I would like to invite you back as my guest on a nice warm summers day, no dogs, no drying linen, white bread and a cooked breakfast (even if you say no thanks). I am Green, I recycle, I am health conscious, I am peaceful and loving, I am approachable, I take care of mother earth and all Gods creatures. If this sounds like YOU please come to Delvin. Namaste, MIke
Delvin Retreat is welcoming, homely and a truly relaxing experie
Micahel welcomes you into his house and it feels like coming 'home'.
The morning walks around the forests of the Dandenongs, up the Kokoda Steps and around the Rhododentron Gardens were fantastic!
I found Delvin Retreat to be very clean and comfortable and Michael's cooking, although plain, was very healthy and satisfying.
I would recommend staying at Delvin to anyone.
Mike, the owner, is very friendly and an excellent host. The retreat is located a short drive from Upper Fern Tree Gully station. There is a regular bus service from the station to Olinda. The accommodation is warm, clean, spacious and comfortable. The balconies overlook a lush garden. There are two quaint villages within easy walking distance. Loads of interesting little shops. A great range of locally made body products are available. Good food and service at the local restaurants. The guided daily walks which are part of the rejuvenation package are interesting, enjoyable and refreshing. The owner has lived in the area for many years so his local knowledge is vast and he has many tales to tell during these walks. Meals served at the retreat are freshly cooked, healthy and delicious. The lounge/dining room has tea/coffee making facilities and a microwave. Very comfortable lounge suite to sit on when watching the large screen television. I did not have time to experience a facial at Delvin but rate the massages 10/10. Yoga classes are fun and are suitable for beginners to the experienced. I have visited several retreats over the years and this is by far the best. Can't wait to return.
Much more than I had expected
Booking time away at a resort or retreat can be a minefield, and even when you do as much research as you can, and feel you have made the best decision, you really never know untill you arrive.
I was expecting a good outcome when I booked my 4 days at Delvin, and my experience in the very capable hands of my host far exceeded my research and expectations. The location is truly serene and magical, and even though not far from Melbourne, I felt like I was in another "world". Aided by Mike's willingness to take us for forest walks in the mornings, through Rhododendrum gardens, or the 1000 steps, I got to connect with the pristine surroundings. The location was neat and comfortable, and really invited relaxation. Even though I wasn't the only guest, Mike has a way of making each guest feel like they are the most important person there, and he goes out of his way to ensure that your needs are taken care of. What I liked the most was the genuiness and integrity that I expereinced from my host. The environment, service, meals and treatments were a sincere and genuine expression of how Mike lives his life, and I left feeling a lot happier, enregised and grounded. I would definitely stay there again and recommend Delvin to my friends.