|Minimum Stay||3 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Kalapana Shores boasts a luxurious 6-person spa on the upper deck to enjoy the ocean view and lava plumes! LESS THAN 15 MIN WALK over the beautiful, colorful lava field to experience the ocean waves up-close and personal.
This home is great for families! Groups of 6 or fewer rent the top floor with the main living, dining and kitchen areas, an expansive lanai with an ocean view, a hot tub, a gas grill and an outdoor dining area. There are 3 bedrooms with one King, and
two Queen beds, and 2 baths. Groups of 7 or more also have use of the ground-floor home featuring another living and dining area, kitchen, 2 more bedrooms with queen...Read more
Kalapana Shores - Ocean/Lava View, sleeps up to 10
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$199||$0||$665 - $1,325||$2,500 - $2,975||3 nights|
|Mar. 8 2013 - Apr. 15 2013
|Apr. 16 2013 - Jun. 14 2013
|Jun. 15 2013 - Aug. 31 2013
|Sep. 1 2013 - Sep. 30 2013
|Oct. 1 2013 - Dec. 15 2013
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Dec. 16 2013 - Jan. 5 2014
|Jan. 6 2014 - Mar. 30 2014
|View all 7 Rate Periods|
- Tax rate - 13% of rental - Tax
- Additional guests - $15 - Per-Person Adjustment - Fee applies to parties of more than 2 guest(s)
- Cleaning fee - $150 / stay - Other
- Damage waiver - $35 / stay - Fee - Instead of a security deposit, your $35 fee protects you and the owner against most accidental damage
Additional notes from owner
TAT ID # W75834021-01
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 19, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
San Leandro, CA, United States
Love the location! Amazing house. Had a great time there. Wish we could use hot tub after 9 because we are never back til around then. And I would just replace it to fix the noise problem. For me I would also get rid of the labels of how many on everything. It would give it a more comfortable feel there. Thanks
Response from Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals - 03/15/2012
Thanks for your review..the hot tub motor has been replaced and is now quiet enough to run at night. Thanks for the suggestion about the labels, we'll consider that! Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management
Chapel Hill, QLD, Australia
Property was in very comfortable and in good condition and had everything you would require (including wireless broadband). It was handy to all attractions. Pahoa was good for food and shopping. Would highly recommend this property.
Valley City, OH, United States
beautiful place, trash outside was full n floor needed to be wiped down, other than that it was great!
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Kalapana Shores vacation
Great vacation house! The hot tub is a wonderful place to relax and watch the birds, ocean etc. Location is a bit far from Hilo but we found lots of things to do . The owners have assembled a binder of things to do locally, which was helpful. Rental arrangements were handled very efficiently and instructions were clear. We would love to return to Kalapana Shores.
Chantilly, VA, United States
Thorne Bay, AK
This house is a great place to relax and escape from the cold and rain in SE Alaska. We stayed here for 10 days in Nov. and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The house has plenty of room to spread out. The view from the deck is spectacular. We had a rainbow almost every morning.
One thing that I liked was that you can drive to many places in under an hour. Looking at the location on a map, I thought we would be doing a lot of driving. But we even drove to Mauna Kea one evening for the Stargazing Program and we were there in about an hour. We loved the Farmer's Markets. All the great fruit and veggies.
My only complaint about the house was the noise from the road, especially since the master bedroom is right by the road. But it isn't too bad and we got used to it after the first couple of nights. But it may have been that we arrived at the house on Saturday and I guess the bar in Kalapana gets pretty busy.
A nice surprise was that the house does have WiFi eventhough we were told that it did not.
Need to change that on the description, if you haven't already.
The management company responded the same day when we complaned about the hot tub not being hot enough.
We will be back.
Scott & Holly D.
Couldn't be happier!
We arrived on the Big Island only to be informed that our original rental house (not through this management company) had no power. We frantically pulled up a rental website and began looking for a house with the key ingredients we wanted: immediate availability, king bed and laundry on the Hilo side of the island. This rental house fit that description and more....
The management company was fantastic, processing our application and payment promptly allowing us to check in just a few hours after our call (not normal situation so best not to count on it!). The house was clean, organized, and stocked with the basics.
We were a little surprised at first that there was no A/C but quickly realized the first night that it was not needed. I should mention that we visited in November and were out of the house most of the day so I don't know what it would be like if you were hanging out at the house during a different time of year.
Then again, why would you hang out at the house (other than the fantastic view - the pictures are accurate, the hot tub, etc.) when there are so many adventures within short drives:
Volcano National Park (and the lava viewing position just down the end of Rt 130 from the house - it wasn't flowing during our visit but you could see the glow...and we were standing on the lava from the flow that occurred 11 months prior)
Hilo with its waterfalls, Farmers Market and the Kaumana Caves (a must do for anyone who likes an adventure - bring your headlamps and flashlights and explore both sides)
Puna adventures including Champagne Pond, Lava Tree State Park, and the walk to the new Black Sand Beach just down from the house.
The only downsides (and I'm really stretching here) were the Coqui frogs at night that can seem really loud at first and the house is just off Rt 137 so there is some traffic noise in the morning.
Loved it and already started thinking about coming back in the
Awesome Vacation Time at Kalapana
We had so much fun...loved the house. Everyone was so comfortable and there's lots of room. Thank you so much! We will be back!
We really enjoyed our time at Kalapana Shores. We used this as a jumping off point to Volcano National Park and Hilo. The drive up the coast is just spectacular. Accomodations are very nice and relaxing.
Saint Cloud, MN
Kalapana Shores is a wonderful place to stay. Spacious house, great amenities, and fantastic view of the ocean and lava flow! Hawaii Holiday was very accommodating to work with. What a vacation!
Shane & Dee R.
White Bear Lake, MN
We had a great time at Kalapana Shores!!! Fortunately the property manager is "on the ball" as we got a call about 10pm letting us know of the upcoming tsunami. Though the home is pretty close to the ocean (within a few steps) it is high enough above the tide that we had no problem with the tsunami. We evacuated and returned within hours. All in all, we had a great time! Will go back again! Thank you.
Mountain View, CA
Jeri K.'s review of Kalapana Shores: Ocean/Lava Views 5BR, Spa,
Lovely, well furnished home with everything in the kitchen we needed to make some delicious meals. Found fresh flowers on the table when we arrived, a very nice greeting. It's a bit of a drive to many things but fun to explore and enjoyed the lush foliage and the stark contrast of the lava. We were a little surprised with the traffic noise but by the end of the stay had adjusted to it.
Victoria, BC, Canada
Our stay at Kalapana Shores
On the positive side.Overall a good spot.We had a wonderful time on the Big Island and the accomodation was clean and spacious and the set up with lock boxes and a gate made us feel safe.Great to BBQ on the deck.
Recommendations: the house is a little has lots of instructions posted about and make you feel a little intimidated about using all of the space with a looming extra cleaning fee possibility.Air conditioning would help as at night you have to close everything up because of the noisy frogs.
Very nice house indeed....
Very nice house indeed. It was a nice location for our purpose. I was sleeping in the Master bedroom (upstair room with the router for internet). I think that the bed need new sheets (to me its old and worn). Additionally the internet did not work for me there after I was told that it would work.
Response from Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals - 01/25/2011
The owners just replaced the sheets, and we will look into the internet issue thanks for letting us know! Mahalo, Hawaii Holiday Management
The 3 main bedrooms give directly onto the road, and it made our nights very noisy. In order to get to downstairs, you have to take an outside staircase, which would not be suitable for young kids. it's not really one house as is specified in the description, but 2 separate units. Other than that, limited supply of dishes (we had to run the dishwasher everyday just to get more plates), but everything is in great condition and the place is nicely painted in vibrant colors.