Palm Desert Golf Condo at Palm Valley Country Club
|Rental type||Apartment / Condominium|
|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyYes
Description from the manager
Just announced: Saturdays 10-2 Local Farmers Market at Palm Valley Country Club! Get fresh & local produce for your gourmet kitchen during your stay at our vacation rental.
Why pay high resort prices down the street for a tiny hotel room and a crowded resort when you can have a better experience for less money & more space? Our luxury vacation rental in Palm Desert is perfect for the weekend getaway from coastal California, or for vacationers looking to escape the cold. Use of this vacation rental includes access to the "Sports/Golf" membership which is a challenge golf, tennis, spa, and fitness membership at the renowned facilities of...Read more
Palm Desert Golf Condo at Palm Valley Country Club
Palm Desert, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$125||$125||$600||$2,000||2 nights|
|May. 1 2013 - Oct. 31 2013
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
Additional notes from owner
$135 Normal Cleaning (AC/Heat off, fridge & trash empty, linens in basket, dishes clean & away)
9% Palm Desert Lodging Tax on total
$45 Non Refundable Damage Waiver in lieu of security deposit (Covers up to $500 accidental damages)
25% Due at vacation rental reservation. Balance due 60 days prior to arrival.
Refund Policy: 25% penalty on all cancellations. No refunds on cancellations within 60 days of arrival.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 13, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Beautiful, spacious condo in a quite gated community on a golf c
We flew to Palm Springs, Ca from Toronto, on, Canada and were delighted by this condo unit! We loved the BBQ in the front porch and the hot sun in the afternoon. The condo is in immaculate condition with beautiful furnishings including very comfortable couches, two living rooms, a dining room that comfortably sits eight, and a great kitchen.
- beautiful, clean, well maintained condo
- lots of space
- comfortable beds
- lots of televisions
- free Wifi internet
- the pool at the club house is a heat, outdoor Jr. Olympic-sized pool
- very close to Ralph's grocery store, Gold's Gym, Highway 10, etc.
I had just gotten done with 6 months of grueling overtime, and I needed to get away from the city for a while. This place was perfect. I had plenty of space to stretch out and relax. The pools were nice, though the ones nearby weren't heated while I was there, so they were quite cold. The Jacuzzis were unheated as well, except one around the corner which wasn't far. The weather was fantastic, and I got a great tan. Every time I opened a cupboard or drawer, I found something else that made me go "they've thought of everything!" I hope to visit again someday.
one terrific vacation
We had a wonderful time in Palm Desert and loved this property. The condo was lovely and had everything we needed to 'live' there for our 10 day getaway.
The property has 2 golf courses, tennis courts, a terrific fitness facility, a spa and a saltwater lap pool.
We are extremely active and participated in everything that Palm Valley had to offer.
We even went to 'Pasta Night' and had a wonderful time.
The food was very good.
Although it was very hot (105-110 . . . unusual for this time of year), we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The mornings outside with coffee were lovely and the evenings were balmy and beautiful.
We loved it so much that we are considering buying at Palm Valley.
Thank you for the complete organization from check in to lock up. You couldn't have made it easier for us.
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 10/09/2012
So glad you were able to enjoy the beauty and fun that is available at Palm Valley Country Club. Be sure to come see us when you come looking or once you move in! Thank you for the review and for staying with us in the desert.
San Clemente CA
Great Desert Condo!
It was like walking into your home away from home. Everything is there that you need in the kitchen. You can entertain or relax and do nothing.
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 05/13/2012
So happy to host you and the "girls" for Coachella. We are fortunate to have had you as guests. Hope to host you again next year.
Awesome condo and area!!
This was our fourth visit to Palm Desert, but our first time staying in Palm Valley. The reason for the switch was our desire to experience the awesome facilities that Palm Valley CC offers: the fitness centre, the 25m pool, and the golf courses. They all exceed our expectations. This condo was well-stocked and equipped and very modern and well maintained. Everything worked properly and the owners made showing up and departing very easy. We loved the back deck area, which allowed a good view of the 9th hole of the Main Golf Course, which was fun to watch the golfers going by.
It was a 5 minute walk to the Clubhouse, which we loved. No need to drive in the Resort!!
Palm Valley CC was a very friendly club. People living and renting there as well as all the staff at the Clubhouse and Fitness centre, were the friendliest we've seen in Palm Desert. It was hands-down a far superior and happier experience to our other stays at other Country-Clubs.
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 05/13/2012
Thank you for the compliments on our Palm Desert Vacation home. We're happy you had such a pleasant experience at Palm Valley and hope you were able to find that dream retirement home here you were looking for in the Desert. You are always welcome to come enjoy your time at our place!
Port Angeles, WA
All the conveniences of home
This condo has everything - good TV channels, complete kitchen, close to pool, good walking area, close to shopping. we had a great time!
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 03/30/2012
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoy our time there when we aren't working on the condo (well at least we get in dinner and a swim). Hope to host you again soon.
Thanksgiving Family Reunion
Terrific Time in the Desert
76358 Sweat Pea at Palm Valley Country Club was a fantastic place to spend Thanksgiving. The condo has been updated throughout - the kitchen was gorgeous and everything was top notch. Clean, comfortable, pretty and high quality. Directions and instructions were all perfect. We loved it and are very likely to tr to get this condo again if we return to Palm Springs. The only downside was that it seemed a little pricey.
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 03/30/2012
Thanks for the great review. November is so lovely in the desert. We'd love to have you back again, and although we try to keep our rates fair, we'll be sure to offer you a repeat guest discount when you come! We'll even give you credit for referrals.
On the issue of rates...many folks don't realize how incredibly expensive it is to have a place on a golf course and in a private community as nice as Palm Valley Country Club. Did you know that our homeowners association and club dues are approximately $1000/month? That's about $30/day just for being at Palm Valley.
Family Time In Palm Desert
We all loved the house and location, easy check-in, and the staff at security were friendly and helpful. We loved the close location of the pool, and the kids loved the tv dedicated to video games. Everything about our stay made us wish we could stay longer. It was a wonderful home, thank you so much for sharing it with us.
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 10/18/2011
We would welcome you back any time and are happy to hear your family was able to make lasting memories and have good times at our Palm Desert vacation home. Thank you for taking the time to review and we'll share the compliments for Palm Valley Security with them.
Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
Palm Valley Country Club
Palm Valley is a great vacation spot. It has all the amenities that anyone would want. We loved the condo, the workout facilities, the golf course and the grounds. They were manicured, clean and well maintained. Our condo was nicely furnished and equipped with a number of televisions, wifi and even a printer. It also had a game table and lots of games to pass your time. It was great!
My only complaint is that 10 am check out seems a bit early. If it was 11 am or even noon, it would allow you time to work out, play golf or even go out for breakfast. I feel 11 am checkout does not allow you to do much of anything before you leave. We vacated the condo at noon and there was an additional $55 charge.
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 08/23/2011
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Palm Valley Country Club and at our vacation rental so much that you weren't ready to leave. I wish we could routinely do later checkouts, but we need the time to clean and maintain the condo as check in is at 3 PM. We do offer late checkouts, for a small fee, but we have to notify housekeeping in advance so they can adjust their staffing and schedule. Unfortunately, we had to pay the housekeepers for their time and for two trips to our condo. That said, next time you come, I'll provide an early check in or late check out for free.
Just a note. Guests are welcome to spend the rest of the day at the club house golfing, playing tennis, eating, or swimming. There is free parking and the facilities are fantastic.
Relaxing Home away from Home
My family and I had such a great time. I wasn't sure what to expect or how much to pack. But I must say that they think of everything! That significantly reduced the anxiety for someone like me that worries about forgetting things. Also, my family and I love love watching movies and this place was perfect! Surround sound in everyroom and and easy to set up! We played games and had dinner together on that amazing dinner table! Thanks for everything.
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 08/10/2011
I'm so glad you enjoyed our oasis in desert and that the TVs and PS2 proved to be simple for you. Come back and relax and have some great family time again soon!
Needed the sun
Really nicely appointed condo
I would definitely recommend anybody thinking of staying at this condo. The condo itself is very well taken care of. The furnishings as well as finishes are very nice, and dealing with Melinda was very effortless. The place is clean, the grounds of the country club are very well maintained, and the clubhouse is very nice. Tennis courts are very clean and set in a beautiful and well maintained setting.
4 great weeks in the "desert"
We rented the flat from Germany via Phone/Internet and the entire process worked flawless. When we arrived from la airport everything was set up for our entry in the gated community plus access to the condo. The flat was in sparkling condition and what we enjoyed after our long flight, that all the small things like papertowels, spices, pellets for the DW etc. where there. After our long working days we returned with great pleasure to have a quiet drink on the patio overlooking the golf course. In summary I can only say that service and amenities were perfect for a good price. With pleasure I can recommend it to anybody who enjoys desert flavour in a very civilized environment. Palm Desert/Palm Springs + surroundings are a must see.
Should our business bring us again in this area we will defintely check in again.
Cheers Gernot + Christa Kafka
This was such an amazing place!!
The rooms and the bathroom were fantastic! The fact that we were right on the golf cart was a really exciting experience. We definitely plan on booking again!!
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 06/06/2011
Thanks for the great review. We look forward to your return!
Relaxing, great fairway view, near everything
We enjoyed our stay. The condo is well decorated and equipped. It is well-located in Palm Desert. The manger/owner is efficient. The fairway views from our chaise on the patio is beautiful. We had problem figuring out the TV, but got it to work.
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 06/02/2011
It was good to have you as our guest and glad you got to enjoy some rest & relaxation. It seems the TV remotes are giving a few problems, we'll be working to make those instructions easier and clearer shortly. Thanks for the feedback.
Excellent place to stay at a fantastic price.
We where looking on Vrbo for a place to stay in Palm Desert and this place came up offering a special rate of $150/nt, which is a fantastic rate for the time of year, so we couldn't pass it up. I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family. We hope to stay again.
Fantastic price. Great location, clean, well appointed, free internet.Comfortable. Access to the country club.Beautiful grounds. Owner Melinda, is quick to respond to emails and calls.
Automated reservation system is a little convoluted.
Tv/cable systems has more remotes than I do.
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 06/02/2011
We're happy you enjoyed our place at Palm Desert as much as we do. We are forever trying to find the balance between the great TV/sound system and the complicated ways to operate them. Our project for this summer is to try to re-lable and re-do the instructions to help. Always looking to improve, so thanks for the feedback.
The owner of the property responded promptly to email inquiries for rental. Smooth processing of down payment and payment. Access info emailed promptly. Some difficulty with lock box. Extra key would have been nice. Property well located. Clean. Beautiful Country Club. Safe. Extra face cloths would be good. Courtyard furniture stain clothes. Need to be cleaned and/or replaced. Would stay here again.
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 03/12/2011
Thank you for your excellent and detailed review. Some times the only way for an owner to know of some issues, is for a guest to tell us. We visited the property yesterday and the day before and added additional towels and face clothes, keys (one had been bent), linens, touch up paint, lamp replacements, and did a deep cleaning again. We will be sure to ask our housekeepers to hose down the front courtyard furniture each time, as we didn't have issues on our visit.
We look forward to hosting you again. Thanks for the review.
Good guide for future visits to the area
Too many cockrouches
I had to replace burnt out bulbs
Need better instructions for TV operations
Screen door would not stay in track
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 03/07/2011
Update March 2011: We've sprayed for insects and fortunately nothing turned up dead or alive. We are thankful this guest reported the problem and that we were able to take care before it became something serious. The guest has also mentioned to us privately that they are pleased with our response.
Thank you for reviewing our property. It looks like despite these issues you enjoyed your time based on the stars given. That said, I was absolutely distressed to see that there might have been roaches at our place. This is the kind of item that a quick phone call or email could have solved immediately. We have never heard of a roach, nor seen one before at this vacation home (since 2005) and would of course dispatch an exterminator for an immediate solution.
Although we contacted this guest during their stay, we were not notified of any issues (mentioned above), and since receiving this review we have contacted the guest to clarify and address these issues as they were not seen on inspection before or after the stay.
Note: A vacation rental is not the same as a hotel. Although we make every effort to replace light bulbs, batteries, and other regular items, some self sufficiency is expected (and even mentioned in the welcome letter). Changing a light bulb or a battery is pretty typical for the extra space and comfort experienced in a private vacation rental. We supply spare bulbs and such at our place.
Unfortunately today's electronic systems can be quite complex. We supply high definition televisions with surround sound and cable in Palm Desert, along with instructions and diagrams for operation. We are also available to help trouble shoot. I understand it can be frustrating, but other than downgrading the services (which guests tell us they want), we can only help those who ask.
La Habra, Ca
very upscale yet comfortable
been here before, never disappointed. Location is excellent and the view is great.
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 03/07/2011
Thanks. This group of guys comes every year to golf and leave our place in great shape. We hope to be part of their fun for many more years.
it was a great experience. easy, clean, high quality, roomy amd great value.
Jocelyne and Stan Shigehiro
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Relaxation and comfort
We actually were at Palm Valley Golf and Country Club in Palm Desert not at the Oceanside property. Everything was fine with the exception that the carpets in the bedrooms were very soiled. They need a good steam clean. The garburator plugged up once but my husband took the trap apart and cleared it - pays to have a handy husband! All in all we had an extremely enjoyable stay.
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 02/08/2011
Thanks for the feedback. We had the carpets cleaned as soon as the guest departed, and had spot cleaned prior to their arrival. We apologize if they were not up to standard. Thanks for fixing the disposal on your own! We gladly send out handymen right away. We look forward to hosting your 3rd visit with us next year and we'll be sure those carpets are cleaned right before your arrival!
Enjoyable & Relaxing w/Suggestions
My son and I were very happy w/the accomodations. Master bedroom was very nice and bed/pillow really comfortable. The air condition was perfect and the condo was perfectly stocked.
If I could change or better the experience although a beautiful condo the list of ito dos could stated that the water heater needed to be increased in temp. Thist would have avoided an unecessary challenge. We were on a timeline only to find out the water was cold and when turned to hot it actually became colder which caused confusion. This was due to the fact that a few items were opposite (lights, hot & cold direction or indicators) of what would be normal and caused delays in plans. Again, advance notice of relators wanting to show the property would have been acceptable rather than dropping by. Last, if check out is 10:00am I would rather house keeping not come @ 8:00am to see when we were leaving. If this was also on the list of to dos when arriving, I would have confirmed our time on the front end of the stay.
This is the first time renting a condo this way and therefore I realize I may not be aware of the procedures. Please know that I am not unhappy and the property is beautiful. Thank you to Tammy for being so helpful in overcoming the payment not posting and all questions and follow-up with everything. Thank you to Chris w/Hotel Bell and there customer service.
Greatful & relaxed,
P.S. Fyi - I noticed in the pantry right of the fridge that there were some bugs. I moved the sugar to the fridge but later noticed that they were on the other side, above spice rack, in cabinet w/plastic cups.
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 01/20/2011
Thank you for the review, Kym, and we are glad you enjoyed your first time in a vacation rental. We hope you'll come stay with us again in the desert.
We've checked out the water heater, and all of the lights and faucets, and all are working just fine and in normal directions and are sorry for any inconveniences you experiences with the way they are set up. The Realtor should never have dropped by and we have now asked that the lockbox be removed whenever we have a guest in house, nor should the cleaning people. We've reiterated our checkout time and guest schedule and apologize for these unfortunate events. They are by no means normal in our vacation home rental. We have removed all open food items, and had the exterminator out. Unfortunately we have to do this periodically in our harsh desert environment, though we try to avoid the use of pesticides.
We appreciate your feedback so that we could check into everything and make our vacation rental even better. For the issues you did have, we'd be happy to take $100 off your next stay.
1/11 Update on the water heater: oddly enough the water heater worked fine for 4 more months, and then went dead. The plumber noted that it had cracked due to overheating at some point. This heater was just a couple years old, so we're guessing this probably caused your issue too. Now we've got a brand new water heater! Also, our home is no longer on the for sale market. For those of you who like irony: our great holiday rental in HI over Christmas has a pest problem. Interesting to be on the other side.
Great Location in Palm Desert
We stayed the month of May in the Palm Valley Country Club in the Vista Las Palmas Condo. It was very comfortable. It had all the amenities you could ever want. The kitchen itself was very nice, as was the master bedroom.
The only negative points to this place was the overall cleanliness. On the surface everything thing looked very clean. All the drains were very slow and in need of unclogging. Some lights were burnt out, a little mold around the bathtub and shower stall. Nothing that would ruin a vacation.
We loved the place and would certainly return.
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 11/09/2010
Thanks for taking the time to review our condo. We have taken your input and spoken with our housekeepers again about some of the items that they "forget" on every visit. Drains have been snaked (again) and all caulking removed and replaced. It does seem that slower drains are just a part of our home and we've put them on our checklist for our cleaners.
Hope to have you back again next year.
The cleaning could have been better before we arrived. The surface area were clean but under the beds and sofa they had not cleaned in a long time. The master bathroom tub was clogged with hair and we had to use Draino. The dinning mats were stained as well as some of the towels. The towels were clean but stained from previous use. The condo could do with some sprucing up. The screens were off their tracks on the sliding glass doors. Just attention to some details is needed.
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 02/06/2010
Thank you for the thoughtful response. We've spoken with our cleaning crew and asked them to do some deeper cleaning and pay special attention to drains. We do have deep cleanings every 3 months, but some things sound like they were missed. We are also checking towels to be sure stained ones are taken out of service.
This condo has been fully remodeled with travertine floors, high end linens and towels, a granite/stainless/maple kitchen, high end electronics, and decorator paint and furnishings. That said, as soon as there is an opening, the owner will be visiting the condo to take a first hand look.
We hope that this guest was able to enjoy the HDTV's, quality golf, and luxury amenities during their stay.
Peace and Quiet!
Serenity in this lovely country club condo complete with swimming pools, golfing, and childcare. Our family enjoyed the spacious layout (two bedrooms and two patios!), fresh oranges and lemons, huge stocked kitchen, and tranquil/beautiful setting. We were gone most days exploring (Living Desert, Kids Museum, shopping, swimming/golfing), but it was great to come home for supper and then an evening of playing games at the dining room table. Easy access to many amenities, so was an ideal place to be; would definitely stay there again.
Great Place, Great Trip
We had a great time at this place. the house was totally updated with 4 flat
screen tv's, a stocked kitchen, and pretty much everything that is need to have
a relaxing trip. The pool was close and we had breakfast every morning on the
patio on the golf course. It doesn't quite get the sun in November but across
the street at the pool the sun is there. I would definitely rent this place again.
Beautiful location, very nice condo .....but didn't have TV or phone service from Tuesday to Saturday (4 days)....owner wasn't very helpful in getting the service restored sooner. Will probably return to the complex but not this condo.
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 07/13/2009
We are sorry the guest had TV and phone issues and responded quickly and repeatedly to them regarding these problems. We worked diligently within hours and for several days to address these issues and unfortunately the service was out in the area for the first part of their stay, which we cannot control. After that, we had trouble communicating the trouble shooting process re: surround sound & the TV. The bedroom TV worked fine, and the next guest was able to operate the TVs without issue as were the prior guests. We are considering removing the surround sound functions to simplify TV operation as what seems simple to one guest, is terribly frustrating to another. We are sorry the TV problem hampered this guests' fun and that they were not satisfied with our response.
Kailua Kona Hawaii
We had it all
The unit had all the amenities, more than the two of us could utilize. Convenient location in community. Access to clubhouse functions. Pleasant quiet neighborhood, good for walking and many pools to chose from. It was a good rate compared to the previous accommodations in the same community.
Nothing of consequence to criticize. The TV controls were difficult to comprehend and available instructions unclear. The outside BBQ didn't seem to work. And the vertical blinds were in process of replacement. We are very happy with our stay and plan on a return visit asap.
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 06/25/2009
Ah...the TV...we get more questions about this system than anything else at any property. It's so good that it's difficult to understand. The founder of BVR is owner of this condo, and as soon as it's vacant again we are either going to try a universal remote or simplify and remove the surround sound. The BBQ has been replaced and the new blinds are in! We look forward to hosting the Blecks again.
Beautiful vacation rental
Beautiful condo and setting. Gorgeous golf couse setting, wonderful complex. Beautiful country club with many amenities...golf, tennis, workout room, spa, restaurant.
We took our 3 kids and they loved it! We loved sitting outside on the patio to eat and enjoy the views. Would definitely go back.
Lovely, Comfortable Desert Condo
We were looking for a condo that was "kid friendly". Melinda's rental caught our eye because pool toys, board games were included in the description. The condo was in fact kid friendly, comfortable and lovely. We used the small pool that was directly across the street-just the right size for our grandchildren. It was a pleasurable couple of days with an array of activities to take in. The golfers of the group had a great time, hiking just outside the city, shopping and the Living Desert Zoo were highlights. Our grandson can't wait to return!
Melinda and staff were very accomodating from the first phone inquiry. The only complaint is the hide-a-bed was quite uncomfortable.
It was a true mini vacation!
Response from BETTER Vacation Rentals - 05/11/2009
We are considering doing away with sofa beds. Would love to hear from guests and potential guests directly and have posted a survey on our blog at http://bettervacationrentals.blogspot.com so you can help us decide! We personally prefer the new Aerobeds over sofa beds. Thanks for the feedback.
Really nice house
We stayed at this house for the Coachella Music Festival. It is at a pretty good distance from the polo field and overall it's very comfortable and with a really cool decoration. TVs were great for us.
The area is very nice and quiet, great for resting after a very busy day!
Thanks for everything
Very Nice Condo
This is a very nice condo to stay in. We were pleased with the layout
and all that was provided for us in the unit. I loved sitting on the patio
each morning with my coffee, and the kids loved the games that were
in the front room. The only thing we weren't pleased about were the
fees associated with the property. Our kids were really looking forward
to playing tennis, but having to pay the start up fee and then a daily
fee per person was too spendy. Our family has a timeshare not far
down the road, and they don't have those fees, so we used their
property for extra activities. Otherwise, everything was good. Thank
you for making the condo feel like a home away from home!!