|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
# # # # #
#CLICK THE ABOVE BUTTON TO VIEW OUR VIRTUAL TOUR. #
# # # "The home was great, very clean, well equipped for a crowd,and worked well for our combined families." - Happy Times # # #
#Classy, carefree oceanfront retreat features wide ocean side decks with ample seating, Lowcountry hammock, and private boardwalk to the beach. Plenty of glass and warm wood accents work to enhance the light and cheerful ambiance. Enjoy comfortable accommodations, game loft, and easy access to saltwater creek recreation. #
#5 Bed, 5 Bath, Max Occupancy 12, Ocean Front on Pawleys Island #
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$989||$989||$260 - $4,990||$0||2 nights|
|Jan. 5 2013 - Jan. 5 2014||-||-||-||-||2 nights|
|Jan. 5 2013 - May. 3 2013||$485||$485||$1,975||-||2 nights|
|May. 4 2013 - May. 17 2013||$590||$590||$2,600||-||2 nights|
|May. 18 2013 - Jun. 7 2013||$767||$767||$3,660||-||2 nights|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Aug. 2 2013||$989||$989||$4,990||-||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Aug. 3 2013 - Aug. 16 2013||$767||$767||$3,660||-||2 nights|
|Aug. 17 2013 - Aug. 30 2013||$557||$557||$2,400||-||2 nights|
|Aug. 31 2013 - Dec. 31 2013||$504||$504||$2,080||-||2 nights|
|Jan. 1 2014 - Jan. 5 2014||-||-||$260||-||2 nights|
|View all 9 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 14, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Pawleys is Lovely
My family certainly enjoyed our visit to Pawleys Island.
We have been coming here for years and always have a wonderful time. The house was a little off the beach but certainly beach accessible. No Problem. We enjoyed the house and its comfort.
Please make sure you ask that the stove top has been fixed and the dishwasher has been fixed. Just things you want to work totally and not make a lot of noise.
Otherwise a very nice home.
Wonderful week @ oceanfront property with soft white sand and pe
Our first time @ Pawleys Island will hold a lifetime of great memories.
Upon arrival after an 8 hour drive, Marsh Hen was a welcoming site
to behold. The back porch seemed to always have a breeze you can
enjoy from the rocking chairs or hammock. The cozy house was ready on time and was in order as expected. The property management was
very helpful for two minor glitches we had during our stay. They fixed
both problems within hours of being advised of our concerns and followed up to be certain we were satisfied. The house itself sits back
from the beach a little more than I expected. The short walk down your
own private pier brings you to an amazing white beach. The sand is
soft and clean. The few days we had a brief rain shower, we left our
umbrellas @ the beach only to come back an hour later and enjoy the
rest of the day. The convenience to many great restaurants, local gardens, pirate shows in Myrtle Beach and Charleston only an hour
away leaves us planning our next vacation back @ Pawleys Island. The only negative feedback I would say is some of the furniture is rather
worn, and the bathrooms are rather small. You do however, have more
bathrooms available than any other house I have stayed in. The 3 outdoor showers really helped prior to entering house. Also, some
nights the noise from the pool @ the condos next door would get rather
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 08/30/2012
We're glad you enjoyed your stay in Marsh Hen and that we were able to fix the "glitches" in short order. We hope to see you again very soon!
Family retreat to celebrate our 40th anniversery
Our stay aug. 18 thru 25 was excellent. It was perfect for the ten of us. Six adults and four children. Plenty of space. Great beach and location. Plenty of good restaurants and grocery stores close. Hope to
come back in two years when the twins are four years old. Working with Litchfield Real Estate was excellent through out the whole process.
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 08/29/2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay in Marsh Hen! We look forward to seeing you in a couple of years! BTW - you might want to keep an eye on the bookings next summer so you can get your preferred week for 2014! As you know, guests have first option for the same week the following year but if they don't "re-up" we can get you guys in there! Thanks!
Hopewell Jct. N.Y.
Homey, Relaxing, Restful a real family place.
Our stay was great. The house was just as pictured on line and it had a very inviting feel. Bedrooms with ajoining baths was great and offered privacy. The view and the beach were so close that it made coming & going so easy. The beach felt almost private.We truly enjoyed our stay and would strongly consider renting the house again.Some negatives are outdoor spaces need some repair and better maintenance. Some more detailed cleaning of hard wood floors.Outdoor showers were fabulous to use but needed some repair.
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 08/01/2012
Thank you for your review of Marsh Hen - we're glad you enjoyed your stay! We will look into the repair on some of the outdoor places and outdoor showers. We hope to see you again in the very near future!
Marsh Hen offered a beautiful and spacious setting for our college friends' reunion. With a game room upstairs, a large living/dining area downstairs, a covered side porch, a screened porch and open deck with ocean view and a scenic boardwalk right out to the beach, we were able to visit, read, sunbathe, walk, relax . . . . and nap, to our hearts' delight. Although we felt 'away from it all' we were moments away from wonderful dining, shopping at the Hammock Shop, book browsing at Litchfield Books and the spectacular Brookgreen Gardens. The worst thing about our stay? It was over way too quickly.
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 06/22/2012
Then come back again very soon! As you know, the owner has removed the screening from the porch to allow ocean breezes to flow through. Marsh Hen is a wonderful beach house and we're so glad you enjoyed it and all our area has to offer!
Perfect low-country relaxing in our favorite vacation spot
This was the 3rd year we've stayed at Marsh Hen and we hope to keep the tradition alive for years to come. It's a roomy, fun beach house with a great deck and an unpretentious vibe - perfect for our family of 5 and our friend's family of 3 to enjoy one another's company, without being on top of each other. The outdoor showers are a favorite and catching small lizards down the long, private driveway covered by a canopy of low-country flora was a highlight for my 4-year-old. The beach in front of the house is absolutely incredible - huge during low tide with great sand for relaxing or playing - stretching out endlessly north and south. The breeze is consistent and helps keep the temperature from ever feeling to hot, which was a blessing for us coming from dry, cool Colorado. We had an amazing dinner at Frank's Outback just across the causeway and enjoyed daily walks on the beach and also to the old hardware store down the road - our kids would pick out a treat and we'd get a little bit of exercise and see what fish people were catching on the small bridge linking the island to the mainland. You can also pick up great fresh shrimp from a vendor in front of the hardware store during certain times of year. Some of the best moments of the trip were spent on the big deck (both covered and uncovered) in the classic Pawley's hammock rocking to the waves in clear view with a nice breeze and a fresh daquiri in hand (thank goodness they had a blender!). See you next year Marsh Hen!
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 05/22/2012
Thank you for sharing with us your stay in Marsh Hen! It is a wonderful Pawleys house, lovingly cared for by the owners. We look forward to seeing you back for years to come!
very , very dissapointing.
The first floor of the home had not been cleaned, both bath mats had not been washed,Dead bug & ants in master bath.No screen on screen porch.Light out in second bedroom 1st floor.2nd floor appeared to haave had cleaning service. No soap in ist floor baths.Dirty golf towel left onback on mbr bath door.The two tall windows in the great room with out paynes were open a inch or so and the night of the storm we kept putting down towels to soak it up for fear of the ardwood floors being ruined.The biggest dissapointment was the walk way to the beach , there was a 3 to 3hlf foot drop to the sand. When I booked the reservation I explained two of us had walking problems, so there was no way for 2 of us to get to the beach, as we could jump down that distance.I would like to say Kay was very professinal in every way and most helpfull getting someone to unload our cars.The two plastic lounge chairs on the deck are broken.The chairs around the card table are broken , they have had repair attemps but the wheels still fall out.The decor ,fabrics and antique touches were most attractive but the house was not in good dhape of clean, the white slipcovers on the couches need a good washing.Sorry to be so negative but I was very dissaointe.
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 10/28/2011
We are so sorry you were disappointed. Wow, were we surprised when we got your negative review as Marsh Hen is a very well-reviewed property! A staff member inspected the property just before your check-in and it was approved. We ask our guests to call us if they are not 100% satisfied, and we never heard from you the entire week! Kay and the entire Litchfield Real Estate rental department are here to ensure our guests have a wonderful time and when we don't hear anything, we assume all is wonderful! With regards to the walkway to the beach – we inspected it to make sure all is safe and that walkway ends at the high water mark and isn’t on the homeowner’s property. The “drop-off” is only about two feet of sloping sand – not unusual for the beach. And, just like the sea, the sand ebbs and flows constantly - we can't control Mother Nature.
Felt like a guest in a friends home.
This is a great house and well cared for by the owners! Plenty of room to spread out and kitchen supplies were better than most rentals. The only negative is that you can't see the ocean from the deck because of plant growth. The ocean is visible from the porch. Private walkway to ocean is very convenient.
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 09/21/2011
That is exactly how we want you to feel - like you're a valued guest in a friend's home! Marsh Hen is a wonderful beach house and we're glad you enjoyed it. We'll mention to the owner about the growth - thanks!
Attractive and comfortable Pawley's Beach house
Enjoyed staying at Marsh Hen...Liked the openess,and decor...House was clean and ready when we arrived - -really appreciated linens provided
Nice setting - enjoyed the boardwalk and happpy hour on the benches by the beach- especially liked bathroom in each room
Would have preferred queen bed instead of double in upstairs and kitchen was a little small - -otherwise - loved it!
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 09/01/2011
Thank you for telling us about your stay in Marsh Hen - we're so glad you enjoyed it! We will pass along the suggestion about the queen bed to the owner. Hope to see you again very soon!
A fun week at the beach with family and friends!
The house was great! We did not care for the location, being beside Pawley's Pier parking lot and not being able to see the ocean well from the porch. It is ocean front but does not feel ocean front with the house next door being out in front. We felt very lucky to have found the house so close to the end of summer in the area of the beach we love!
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 08/18/2011
We are glad you enjoyed your vacation and liked Marsh Hen! Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again very soon!
western New York
Great family vacation
We rented Marsh Hen and Know saints with my daughter's family.The accomadations were all we expected.The houses were clean and ready when we arrived.The weather was beautiful and the family fellowship could not have been better.We would not hesitate to rent these houses for our next vacation.
Thanks to all the staff of Litchfield real estate.
George and Dorothy wieder
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 05/07/2010
Both great houses - and right next door to each other! You are very welcome and we look forward to seeing you again - hopefully soon!
Stories,Surf, Sand, Sun, and Some Sleep! A Family's Shared Vaca
The home was great, very clean, well equipped for a crowd,and worked well for our combined families. The children loved being near Pier Village and some of their friends there with access to the pool and pier!
(Our daily walk to the north end and back was easy with no jettys to navigate.)
The ice machine did not make ice, but was a place to store one of the MANY bags of ice we purchased. It would have been nice to have an extra refrigerator (maybe downstairs)like many homes do.
It is definately a well loved home!
Response from Litchfield Real Estate - 08/20/2009
Thank you for sharing your feelings regarding your stay in Marsh Hen! That was very convenient for you guys to have friends staying in Pawleys Pier Village! We will pass along the request for the additional refrigerator to the owner . You're right... it is a well loved home! Come back and stay in Marsh Hen again!