5 BR Secluded Luxury Villa with large Private Pool
|Minimum Stay||3 nights|
|Living space||5600 square feet|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyYes
|Theme||Golf, Luxury, Spa, Away from it all, Resort, Tropical|
Description from the owner
Villa La Vida Loca is a private, residential vacation rental home located in Playa del Carmen, Playacar Phase 2 only a few minutes walk from beach and town. Located on Retorno Akab Uno at the end of a cul-de-sac the house is peaceful and quiet, with lots of room for entertainment.
This 5 bedroom, 6.5 bathroom villa sleeps 12 to 18 people - perfect for adult gatherings of friends or family. Children under the age of 10 will be considered on an individual basis.
â€˘ Master bedroom with king bed and en suite bathroom
â€˘ The office has a curved sofa that extends to make a circular bed. A full bathr...Read more
5 BR Secluded Luxury Villa with large Private Pool
Playa del Carmen, Yucatan-Mayan Riviera, Mexico
Additional Location Information
Located in the gated community of Playacar Phase 2 Villa La Vida Loca is only a few minutes walk from beach and town with its famous La Quinta Avenida where all the shopping and restaurants are found.
Start your vacation from the moment you step out of the airport with our private ground transportation. Our drivers will monitor your flight in case of delays and bring you directly to your vacation home. Return transportation will pick you up at your door three hours before your departure time.
To maximize your vacation time, take full advantage of our shopping services. Whether you want the peace of mind knowing that you will not need to shop during your stay, or just want a cold beer waiting in the fridge for your arrival, we can help. Send us your shopping list and we will work our magic.
We can arrange for catering service, massages, tours, trips and any other local activities. With many years experience we can help you discover everything the Riviera Maya has to offer. Whether youâ€™re into Scuba Diving, Sky Diving or anything in-between, our local expertise will help make your vacation unforgettable.
Location Type Away from it all, Resort, Tropical
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$472 - $858||$472 - $858||$3,300 - $6,000||$0||3 nights|
|May. 1 2013 - Dec. 15 2013
Low Season 2013
|Dec. 16 2013 - Jan. 5 2014
Holiday Season 2013
|Jan. 6 2014 - Apr. 30 2014
High Season 2014
|May. 1 2014 - Dec. 15 2014
Low Season 2014
|All Other Dates||$472||$472||-||-||3 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
- Tax rate - 14% of rental - Tax
- Damage deposit - $500 / stay - Security Deposit
Additional notes from owner
Rates are based on 12 people.
Add 250 USD per person per week for up to the maximum of 18 people.
Last minute rentals are welcome.
We preferably accept payments by eCheck or credit card through depositguard.com
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 21, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Luxury home away from home
The villa is fabulous,the staff courteous and responsive to our needs. Due to my lack df Spanish we had to walk out to the main road to hail a taxi. All things considered it rated a huge thums up from my family
Where do I start... From the moment I contacted this home I got an extremely fast reply from a lady named clau. Clau was amazing informed me about everything gave me great service contacted me and reassured me constantly on everything I had asked for. Pricing was unbelievable for what I got this home is at least a 5 million dollar villa the pictures don't even begin to show the homes real luxurious beauty . I was a little worried at first because of 1 bad review I had read. This guy must have no clue of what living well really is. The home is situated in up scale neighborhood called playa car 2 minutes by car to the downtown core of playa del Carmen. We were some business partners who went for business/party and we travel constantly around the globe and this was just an incredible house all the rooms were amazing all like master bedrooms ( so no arguments of who slept where)with your own private bathrooms and terraces or pool side the house had everything u needed from a to Z , BBQ ,pool, great living areas, privacy, great common areas , fully equipped modern kitchen , modern bathrooms, flat screens every where even outside I can keep going about how much this property had to offer but it would never end. House keeping was fantastic ( pattie & laure your the best) cleaned the house after a huge mess and when I asked her if she minded making us breakfast she whipped us up a feast ( gave her great tip of course) even on Sunday when it was clear that there was no maid service I called clau and she made it happen. Overall great place great location great service not even one complaint . Check in was a breeze check out was the same just so professionally ran.
I would like to thank the whole team of la vida loca for a great service and comfort at this incredible property. Especially clau and her brother for never bothering us but yet always being helpfull. To who ever owns this villa great staff and great property managers..
Phenomenal place for a family or group vacation
Excellent size home for a large group or family with lots of space for gathering as a group and separate areas to have your own quiet time. Clean, bright and very well maintained. Large covered patio with beautiful pool with lots of room for lounging. Excellent maid service. We had one meal brought in that was very delicious. Nice and close to 5th avenue and also the beach. Some of our family golfed at Playacar golf course which backs onto the house property at the 8th hole. Great transportation from the airport and return. All staff very personable and helpful. Management will arrange tours, meals, groceries. We would definitely go back. Our family thoroughly enjoyed our time here.
Staying at this home really made the vacation, it is beautiful,
The house is beautiful and the people in charge of renting the property were so helpful. They helped book trips to sites, baby sitting, catering, etc., they really made life easy so we could just enjoy being on vacation in Playa Del Carmen. The home is emacualtely maintained and situated in a nice neighborhood a short walk from 5th ave.. The house has a wonderful pool, en suite bathrooms in every room, many private balconies, and a lovely roof top for relaxing (with a bar).
The Warren Family
Exceeded Our Expectations!!!
La Vida Loca was without a doubt, the best place for our family to gather for a Christmas holiday. The house provided us all the amenities of home and more. Every bedroom had the most comfortable beds and the kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed. The little ones spent every waking moment enjoying the pool which allowed the adults to relax at the poolside relaxing area. The location was perfect, just a 10 minute walk to downtown Playa del Carmen and we took full advantage of that. The thing that most impressed us was the level of service from all your staff. They were available to us 24/7 for whatever we needed and the housekeeper kept the home so very clean and inviting. Our entire family wants to go back again soon and I wouldn't hesitate for a minute to re-book. Thanks so much for everything you did for us and for keeping such a warm and welcoming Villa for others to enjoy. Sincerely, Kenny & Lisa Warren and Family. New Hampshire USa
This house exceeded our expectations!!!
We were 14 people from a multi-generational family - grandparents, grown children, teens and young children - and the house was a great fit for us for 1 1/2 weeks. It is beautifully appointed, roomy, comfortable, and in a fantastic location vis-a-vis the beach and the town. The kids spent endless hours in the beautiful pool. We only have positive things to report about the house. We would come back in a heartbeat
and the property managers were amazing. They were responsive to our needs and requests in ways that we would not have expected. Thank you, Claudia!
We travel a lot and would rate this property as a fantastic find.
Perfect holiday with all our friends. Thanks Claudia !
Everything was perfect ! All the services provided by Claudia and her team were remarquably great. The villa is amazingly huge with all the equipment required.
We will definitively go back
Beautiful property, well priced and close to Playas downtown
The service provided by Clau Hocher when I first contacted her about renting this property was excelent. She is very friendly and helpful, and responded quickly to my e-mails. Once we got there, we were in paradise: Simon, our host, is very friendly and knows the area well, so dont hesitate to ask him for recommendations on beaches to visit, restaurants and activities. The property is great and has many different areas to enjoy, all of them with a different ambiance: the pool with a pool bar, a studio, a very nice living room with open kitchen,and a beautiful terrace. We had a barbecue by the pool one day, which was great.
All in all, we had a great time. The only thing we had trouble with was the cleaning service: we got there friday, and she didnt come in until monday morning. We could have used some help on saturday (we were a bachelor party group. Still, when the staff got in on monday, she was very friendly and did a great job cleaning the whole house.
A Piece Of Paradise
Finishing off the last day of another repeat visit to this villa that continues to be over the top with amenities and service. Came across the review from Candachee and it made me giggle.
Duh, take the stopper off the shower drain and you would be amazed at where the water goes...
Fountains weren't working properly during your "short stay"? Big deal. How about something for a comment on the awesome pool ???
Awful smell in the laundry room? Have you spent any real time in the tropics? Heat, humidity, drains? Leaving the door open, allowing air to circulate work wonders. Oh ya I forgot, Candachee still needs to figure out how water drains in a shower.
So the beach in Candachee's mind is too far to walk to? Heck, having the ocean 50 feet off a patio would be too far for me to pack what the Candachee "Griswalds" were attempting. It is a short walk, not a portage.
I cant speek to the property manager Simon, as this trip is my first introduction to him. Apparantly he bought out the previous managers who retired. He seems like a nice lad though. That said, if stuff goes missing during your stay at rental properties, you best be prepared to pay with a bit of a premium. That is how it works. Surprised more wasn't missing when Candachee tried to haul half the contents of the villa to the beach.
So anyway, this past week will have been my fourth stay at the beautiful La Vida Loco and can't wait for my fifth !!! I would think that should sum up my opinion of the "piece of paradise" !!!
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Poor property Managers
The house was beautiful, but there was a drainage issues with all of the showers. We were forced to use many towels to keep the bathroom floor dry when you showered. Fortunately, the owners must be aware of this issue because each of the 5 bedrooms had more than adequate towels. This house was extremely comfortable for the 9 of us who stayed there, but it is not a 5 minute walk to the beach. The beach is a little too far to drag chairs and coolers, but the house does have a pool so if you just want to hang out around the pool and relax it is a wonderful home.
The real problems that we had were with the management company, they were extremely rude and unprofessional. After we had spent thousands of dollar on this rental, the caretaker wanted to argue over $35 for a dinner that we had a chef prepare, and after he did a thorough walk through on the last day we were still notified that towels were missing, they deducted another $75.00 from the $500 security deposit. It really isn't a matter of what was done, it was how it was done. They further exascerbated matters by writing emails, after they realized that we were going to do a review and it might not be favorable. They actually tried to smooth things over by offering us a bottle wine, and asking us not to write reviews. Oh well, I guess I will have to buy my own bottle of wine, but lesson learned is that on the last day of any rental, I will do the walk through with the representative and get a copy of the check list signed by us both.
Response from VacationPlaya - 03/31/2012
Since you were traveling together with Candachee who also left a review we would like to refer you to our answer to Candacheeâ€™s post.
It appears you have the numbers slightly wrong, but yes, towels were missing and in fact US 80 were deducted from the security deposit only after Candacheeâ€™s written agreement.
We understand from our Caterer you had a wonderful dinner time and consumed everything provided for the dinner that we arranged for you in good faith without the required prepayment, so we donâ€™t quite understand why you think you should not have to pay in full for this service.
We did send an email to Candachee offering our apologies for any miscommunication along with a bottle of wine asking to consider not leaving a review on this brand-new listing that was only created two weeks after your departure. We apologize for considering such a deplorable action.
All That Glitters Is Not Gold
I chose this villa for a short stay, Friday-Monday, for my 50th birthday celebration. The photos are accurate and the airport pickup, masseuers and caterers were good. However, the showers did not drain properly requiring us to roll towels by the shower entrance in order to prevent the floors in the bathrooms from flooding. The fountain by the pool and the front entrance did not work properly. There was an awful smell in the laundry room, the beach was too far to walk to with chairs, beach bag, blanket, umbrellas, drinks, etc. Finally, after spending thousands on this vacation, the property agent, Simon, was unprofessional and the company, Mexico Escape, charged me $80.00 for two "missing" towels and a washcloth! Lesson: Have the property agent do a walk through and request your deposit in cash on the day of departure .
Response from VacationPlaya - 03/15/2012
Dear Candace, Bonnie and the rest of your group,
We are very sorry to hear about all the issues you had during your stay and donâ€™t quite understand why you did not communicate these during one of the frequent visits by our staff.
Please allow us to address each point individually.
The location of Villa La Vida Loca is accurately shown in the listing reflecting the distance of about 600 walking meters to the beach. It is not more than a ten minute stroll to the beach.
For those who do not wish to carry chairs and drinks to the beach a great number of beach clubs and beach bars are located in town starting north of the ferry dock adding only a few more walking minutes. Taxis are readily available in town. Our vacation homes also provide the Playacar VIP card that allows discounted access to the Reef Club Hotel located also only about ten walking minutes away. We can help you find a beachfront home in Playa del Carmen, but as everywhere else, beachfront comes at a price.
We are making every effort to have all of our properties in the best possible shape and attend repairs as quickly as possible.
Unfortunately not all parts needed for repairs are always available. It can take several weeks for a replacement item to arrive after its been ordered with some parts not being available at all in Mexico, that need to be brought in from abroad.
The back fountain only broke on the day of your arrival and could have been repaired that day, but it would have meant emptying the pool to less than half its normal level. It would have taken up to two days to refill the pool. We explained the situation upon your arrival and you agreed with our decision to rather have this done after your departure so that the use of the pool would not be affected for your groupâ€™s short stay.
The laundry room has no windows and with the doors closed during a rental it can develop an unpleasant scent due to the high humidity here in the tropics. We have only had an occasional comment from guests on the laundry room in the past. However, we are considering adding an extractor fan to the laundry room to prevent the issue altogether.
As for the showers it is unfortunate that this house has an issue with the drainage system â€“ in this quiet corner of Playacar, shortly after the heaviest of rains, it has been known for bugs to enter the houses through the drains to escape the flood in the grounds. We work around that by using stoppers on the drains to block the holes. This works very well. However, the stoppers need to be removed while showering to allow the water to drain. This is explained to each guest upon arrival and only a small inconvenience for the reassurance that no bug will enter the home.
The current inventory of each property is reviewed on each arrival preparation and departure clean. A missing towel or two, especially in a big house like Villa La Vida Loca, would be hard to detect on a quick walk through. Therefore the security deposit is usually returned within two weeks of departure, as stated in the rental contract. In most cases, with nothing missing from the house and no other damages or outstanding bills the security deposit is returned in full.
Two beach towels and a hand towel were missing upon your departure. The amount to cover the replacement was deducted from your security deposit only after your written agreement by email.
Each home owner has wear and tear on their rental property and several items like sheets and towels need to be replaced each year at the home owners cost. Missing or deliberately damaged items need to be replaced or repaired at the renters cost. This is the reason for the security deposit in the first place. Any deduction is always emailed to the guest first and only upon agreement will the amount in question be deducted.
As a full service agency we offer many additional services like grocery shopping and catering, which need to be prepaid as the rental. This is clearly stated at the time of booking.
While you were apparently happy with the services provided, your payment for the catering did not arrive in advance. Nevertheless we confirmed your booking for 9 with our caterer in good faith as to not spoil your birthday dinner. Your check arrived on the day of service covering 8 dinners. Until your departure you refused to pay the difference of the agreed amount. Only once you returned home, did you accept by email to have the difference deducted from your security deposit.
We try to accommodate each clientâ€™s needs with as many last minute changes as needed, but just like everyone else we need to be paid for services rendered. We will have to think long and hard before confirming services prior to payment in the future.
Simon has been working as a tour guide & concierge for several years and we have received many glowing reviews of his services. It is unfortunate that you perceived his insistence as rude, but whilst he could have handled things differently, collecting outstanding money is part of his job.
Once again we offer our sincerest apologies for your inconveniences.