Chateau de Saint Maclou la Campagne
|Minimum Stay||4 nights|
|Living space||800 square meters|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
|Theme||Historic, Romantic, Rural|
Description from the owner
Chateau de Saint Maclou la Campagne is a romantic and beautiful early 17th Century Chateau, located in the lush and verdant countryside of Upper Normandy. Set in magnificent grounds, this 400 year old stately home is steeped in history. The Chateau was first built as a hunting lodge in 1606, and then enlarged in 1661 in the reign of Louis XIV. It has a rich and dramatic history which further adds to the historical interest of this important piece of French architecture.
The Chateau is surrounded by a 6 hectare park, where thoroughbred horses graze on either side of the house, beneath avenues of centuries old limes. During the summer mon...Read more
Chateau de Saint Maclou la Campagne
Pont-Audemer, Normandy, France
Additional Location Information
The Chateau de Saint Maclou la Campagne stands in the middle of a 14 acre park, surrounded by lawns and centuries old Lime trees. There is ample parking in front of the Chateau and a very good restaurant in the village, within walking distance.
Location Type Rural
Rates shown in $ USD (Rental listed originally in EUR) (change)
|Rate Summary||$1,286||$1,286||$9,003||$36,014||4 nights|
|Jan. 8 2013 - Dec. 17 2013
Chateau weekly rental
|All Other Dates||$1,286||$1,286||$9,003||$36,014||4 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the owner|
- Breakfast - $17 / day - Per-Person Adjustment - Optional
Additional notes from owner
Enquire for rates for shorter or longer periods.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: March 12, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Thierry from France
It would have been...
I came to St Maclou on 17th of may 2012 with my wife. I have to say it would have been marvelous if only I had met the owner, the service was as fine as the old stones and breakfast as delightfull as the landscape.
But despite the fact the room was wonderfull, we never met the owner, and for a guesthouse it seems very important to me. Breakfast was very poor, "croissants" issued from a poor supermarket, some cheese was rotten, and it's not necessary to say that after this discovery we were extremely cautious with the rest of the meal, expecting if ham wouldn't give us a silly surprise few hours later. furthermore, it was not possible to have breakfast before 9.00 am ???
The person which recieved us was not clear about the price of the room and the invoice I was forced to claim was hand written on a "post it " note.
Mr Gage sould have been inspired to have lessons of hotellerie because owning a castel doesn't mean to be a professional in this activity. Fortunately, Normandy is beautifull enough to forget St Maclou. It 's clear I won't recommend this house to my friends.
Response from Robin Gage - 05/20/2012
We are sorry that it so important to you that we were not there to meet you. In fact, I was unavoidably detained and arrived on Friday, after your departure. Our staff is well versed in looking after our guests, and you are no exception. No other guest complained of my absence. I would have liked to have been there. There was absolutely no reason to be upset.
I shall answer your complaints in order:
1. Every one else showed their appreciate of our croissants, by eating all 9 and 2 pains au chocolat every day! They are all "pure butter", hot and flakey, as a croissant should be.
2. The staff immediately changed one cheese that showed some mould, which can sometimes happen with cheese. All the others were perfect. Of course we are very sorry for this, but we rectified the situation immediately. There were 6 other cheeses to choose from.
3. Your caution was unnecessary. The ham was fresh. No one was ill. Evey one enjoyed breakfast, except you.
4. You were in fact offered an earlier breakfast at 8:30, at your request; in the event, your wife declined, stating that 9:00 was fine.
5. The Housekeeper was quite clear that you had been given an unsolicited upgrade of a 200Euro room for the price 150Euros. She informed you of this. The receipt was stamped with the chateau' address, and contained the correct information . The other guests were quite happy to have the cost shown on their credit card statements, as proof of purchase. They declined a receipt, saying it was unnecessary. I have sent you an email with a copy of your credit card receipt attached.
6. We are not hoteliers, we are in the bed & breakfst business, which you should know, is not the same, and judging from our reviews, which are very important to us, we are running a successful bed and breakfast operation. We have had over 900 appreciative guests to stay, and only 4 guests in 3 years who did not like our style. You are the 4th.
7. I knew from your previous emails that you were critical, and eager to find fault, and frankly I am not sorry that you do not recommend us to your friends. I showed your review to the other guests, and they thought that you must have been writing about somewhere else! "He must come from Paris," they said.
I enclose a copy of the guest book review page for the day you left, which even includes some charming comments, among others, by your wife Veronique Gicquiau, that do not bear out your complaints.
"C'est agréable d'être chatelains d'un soir. Bel Accueil - Beau chateau et quel calme" signed "Veronique & Thierry Gicquiau, les motards"
"This was an unforgettable experience. We had a wonderful time!!
We hope to come again one day". signed Madalina N., Toronto 18th May 2012.
"Nous pensions rester, puisque on nous avait remis les clefs du chateau,mais nous devons revenir a la réalité - Bel accueil, Beau chateau. Fabienne et Alain (77)
"We had a lovely time and thoroughly enjoyed the chateau and the service. Add a couple of Labradors and it would be perfect." Anja, Rene & Nina, Finn & Greta 20 May 2012.
Robin Gage, owner.
An absolutely magical week in a fabulous chateau.
We spent a really wonderful week at Chateau Saint Maclou with four other couples (in part to celebrate my 60th birthday) in May - June this year and cannot speak highly enough of the experience. Many thanks to Robin for his trust in us, as, after showing us around, he returned to England and allowed our group to share his beautiful, but at the same time very comfortable home. The photos on the internet looked really lovely and I must admit I was a little concerned that the chateau would not live up to our expectations as has happened in the past. I need not have worried, as, if possible, it even exceeded them. The rooms are huge and beautifully decorated with modern ensuite bathrooms and the kitchen was equipped with everything you could possibly need to prepare & serve fabulous meals from local produce for a large group (with the minor exception of a good sharp knife) and the boulangerie, charcuterie & restaurant in the village were also extremely good. Luckily running up and down the stairs and long walks in the surrounding countryside kept us from putting on too much weight!
There is so much to do and see in the region that several of us are seriously considering a return visit in a couple of year's time. Thanks also to Martine, the very helpful housekeeper who came in for a couple of hours each morning.
All in all, we felt that this was the best holiday we have had in Europe (and also extremely good value) and we are frequent travellers with high expectations.
The ch?teau was amazing; it was incredible and was our favorite stop. My family and I went to France for 2 weeks and stopping at this ch?teau was exactly what we needed from the rate race back home (were from Miami). If you want something quite, tranquil and cozy this is the place. Furthermore, we loved the local restaurant that was recommended; we ate there twice. Robin Gage was friendly and courteous he made sure all our needs and questions were meet. So if you want something that takes you away from everything this is the place to stay.
Wonderful place, strategic location near Dauville, Honfleur et Trouville.
Very good service
A beautiful place!!!
My wife and I were looking for a nice and quiet place for a relaxing week end in Normandy. What we discovered is a real gem.
This place really stands out, truly beautiful, the owners Robin and Nicola made us feel at home right away. They have recently restored this beautiful chateau to its former glory (but adding a few modern amenities), all the rooms have high ceilings, are tastefully decorated with antiques, light is everywhere. Our room was huge, running the whole width of the house, with large double windows on both sides, king-size bed, paintings and sculptures. We had a
large double bathroom, very modern.
The grounds are perfectly kept, flowers, lawns, tables, sun-beds... So romantic and peaceful, we didn't want to leave! Deauville and Honfleur are only 20 minutes away, and we had a delicious dinner at the auberge in the village (only 5 minutes away).
To sum it up, this place is one of the finest we've been to: state of the art comfort, exquisite welcoming and a unique French charm.
Response from Robin Gage - 10/15/2010