|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Vacations are for relaxing, and you will enjoy this 1 bdrm/1.5 bathroom upstairs cottage (sleeps 8). PETS ARE OK WITH A $50.00 NON-REFUNDABLE PET FEE. Whether you want to hear the sound of the ocean or enjoy the panoramic ocean view, this property will keep you coming back year after year. Amenities include kitchen, modern appliances, comfortable furniture, central air, all linens and towels provided. Bring your hammock for the deck ! You can also shower off the beach sand in the extra hot and cold outside shower. Bedding: 2 queen beds, 2 queen sleeper sofa. If this is booked - look at Seashell and Driftwood located on same property. NO SMOKI...Read more
Port Aransas, Texas
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$150 - $235||$150 - $235||$0||$1,400||2 nights|
|Mar. 1 2013 - May. 16 2013||$175||$175||-||-||2 nights|
|May. 17 2013 - Sep. 6 2013||$235||$235||-||-||2 nights|
|Sep. 7 2013 - Oct. 31 2013||$175||$175||-||-||2 nights|
|Nov. 1 2013 - Feb. 28 2014||$150||$150||-||$1,400||2 nights|
|Mar. 1 2014 - May. 16 2014||$175||$175||-||-||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|May. 17 2014 - Sep. 5 2014||$235||$235||-||-||2 nights|
|Sep. 6 2014 - Oct. 31 2014||$175||$175||-||-||2 nights|
|Nov. 1 2014 - Feb. 28 2015||$150||$150||-||$1,400||2 nights|
|Mar. 1 2015 - May. 16 2015||$175||$175||-||-||2 nights|
|View all 9 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: June 19, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Vacation with ease
Overall the house is comfortable and the view is breathtaking. The neighbors were really nice and my 5 year old loved the big deck to look out at the beach. My only complaint would be that all the paperwork says the house has a dishwasher and a washer and dryer and there is one that the winter renter's can use but not the spring renters. That really left a source taste to this otherwise really nice experience.
The view is the only thing that was good about this place. The house is in bad need of repairs. Also very unclean will not stay there ever again.
Response from Starkey Properties - 11/06/2012
Thank you so much for your response. This is one of the most popular rentals due to the location which is directly on the beach. It is also one of the older rentals as it was constructed in 1955. It is simple and rustic and we always try to let our guests know exactly what they are getting when renting our older units. Thank you again and we look forward to doing business with you again in the future.
closest to beach as you can get!
This is 50 yds from beach you will not find any thing even close, Nice deck with great views take binoculars.
Convenient...would rent again
It is a older house and is only the top level so you do have to work around others if the lower level has tennants, which can make parking kind of tight also. BUT...the close proximaty to the beach and Kick A deck overlooking the beach overrides everything! Would rent again.
I want to live here.
This was a wonderful vacation for us and the kids. We are thinking about getting a bunch of adults to come visit sometime soon. The beach was gorgeous, and the accomadations were great. We could not have asked for better weather or a cleaner beach. This is the hidden treasure of Texas. This is a place we would return to over and over. Thanks for an awesome time.
Nice older home right on the beach
This is an older home that sits right on the beach. It has a great deck that looks out to the beach. It has no covered parking and there is no laundry facility. We drove to the nearest hotel and used their machines. The kitchen does have a microwave and a coffee pot. Only had 1 pot holder and 1 dish towel so you might want to bring your own. It also came with its own critters. We had to keep ALL of our food in zip locks or in the fridge (nice new fridge w/ ice maker) due to the over abundance of large black ants. This is obviously a known issue since a can of Raid was under the sink. Once you spray they go away while you cook. It does have 1 full bath and an extra 1/2 bath. That extra 1/2 bath came in very nicely.
It's a little pricey for the quality. We would recommend this if you are wanting to stay on the beach.
4th of July
This cute house on the beach will sleep 8. The dogs had a great time and there is room for them. The sleeper sofa needs a little updating but other than that there is a full size stove, pots & pans, dishes and glasses are a little sparce but workable. There is a standing shower only that is a little tight. The views are wonderful and my family will be going back, using Starkey Properties and staying here again.
Perfect little beach get-away
7 of us girls recently rented this property for a bachelorette party and it was
absolutely perfect. Clean, about 50 yards from the gulf, an unbeatable deck
and all the cutesy charm of a beach house. I will certainly stay there again in
Could Have Been paradise
This home, while sporting a fantastic view, could have been so much nicer if it had only been cleaned properly.
It smelled musty and dusty when we arrived, but it was only as I was leaving and cleaning up our mess that I discovered mounds of real dirt under the furniture.... it has not been cleaned prior to our arrival.
If the units are not cleaned right before occupancy, they can build up the dirt, but I could tell this just hadnt been really cleaned in a long time.
Response from Starkey Properties - 02/24/2009
The purpose of this correspondence is to convey to you my sincere apologies for the inconveniences and frustrations you experienced during your stay at our property while visiting Port Aransas.
The owner of the property that you rented does have their own housekeeping service and does not use our Starkey team for cleaning. Your issues have been brought to the owner's attention and are being tended to.
Starkey Property Management continues to be committed to providing all of our guests with the highest standards of service in the industry. Our employees are striving to provide the best customer service possible and sincerely hope that you and your family would be willing to be our guests again in the future.
Marsha Starkey, Owner
Starkey Property Management
Chad & Beth Farmer
Great Vacation Home Right on the Beach!
This is an older home with a lot of Charm & sense of family! A very spacious and clean home with a great deck looking right onto the ocean! You cant beat this place, the price is right and your right on the beach.
coast loving Texas
San Antonio, Texas
amazing location with issues
I really love the location of the Outlook which is right on the beach. Its huge deck and amazing views will keep you outside on the deck and not inside. Sadly, the interior is dated with numerous updates needed. The most important update is flooring. It really is an unpleasant old fashioned linoleum. The kitchen has all that you would need although bring your own blender. The beds were very comfortable and ample towels were provided in the bathroom. The house was a little dirty with ants in the bed which I pointed out to management. This is not a luxury condo experience, but the location and views from the deck make-up for the other problems. Pet friendly is a huge plus!! The owner is very thoughtful and kind and wants your stay to be memorable.
Good if you can stand the smell.
We were warned upon arrival to keep in mind it's a "beach house." We have stayed at several beach houses in Port Aransas and they have never smelled so bad we had to purchase plug ins and air freshners to stay in them. It was quite obvious somebody had let fish spoil in the refrigerator. The smell was so bad you couldn't eat any food or drink from the refrigerator.
The house was fine but I feel more care should have been taken prior to our stay to do something about the frig. Even it's it had to be replaced.
The photos of the house are deceiving as the photos show a single house, which makes you believe you are renting the whole house, when in fact the house is split into 2 houses. I was very disappointed when I got to the house and realized we only had the top half of the house.
Fabulous Sunsets and relaxing days!
We spent 4 wonderful days in Port Aransas, Texas June 2008. The town is quiet and quaint with very friendly and helpful residents. Starkey was fine, although when they say 4:00 p.m. check in, they mean it and not one minute before will they allow you to get the key and go to the cottage. The cottage itself was functional and had a great location! It does need to be updated but other than that everything worked ... the air conditioning, the stove, the coffee pot, etc. It was ideal - get up and walk down to the beach and hang out and then in the evenings the sunsets were absolutely beautiful from the upper balcony. We had a great time and will probably go back!
This place was very dirty and not up to any standards I have ever experienced at any price. Ants crawling around, sand/dirt in the beds, pretty bad. They should AT LEAST show a picture inside so you get an idea of what you are getting into. I had to pay full price and then RENT ANOTHER HOUSE just to have somewhere clean/reasonable to stay. Starkey did a terrible job with customer service as well. They never followed up on ANYTHING. I would avoid them if at all possible.
Response from Starkey Properties - 11/12/2008
I wish to convey to you my sincere apologies for the inconveniences and frustrations you experienced during your stay our our property at "On The Beach". The issues you mentioned in the review have been brought to the attention of the Executive Housekeeper and the ant problem has been remedied through our exterminator. All of the issues have been brought to the property owner's attention and they are continuing to improve this property at this time. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations. We at Starkey Properties do have a new staff in place...sound, knowledgable and experienced employees who strive to provide the best customer service possible and sincerely hope that you would be willing to be our guests again in the future.
First trip to Port Aransas
We vacation in the Carribean about 3 times per year but wanted to do a Xmas holiday in driving distance. We also have timeshare in S. Padre that we do not use often because of sailing and Carribean trips. We found the area lovely and this facility is one of few that are ON THE BEACH and not a long distance. The patio is fabulous, is dog friendly, we met the wonderful owner who was delightful. We are booked again for our second ever trip to Port Aransas over this upcoming Xmas holiday. We just loved it!