3 Flora Gardens
|Minimum Stay||5 nights|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyNo
|Theme||Adventure, Golf, Romantic, Beach, Ocean, Tropical|
Description from the owner
Flora Gardens is situated just meters away from the pristine waters of Four Mile Beach.
This stunning, contemporary villa is one of three in a quiet complex. Situated at the end of the complex you have direct access to the shared swimming pool and pavilion area.
When entering the villa for the first time, you will be greeted by sophistication and style. From the exquisite art work, to the contemporary furnishings. The villa has been cleverly separated into two distinct levels, bedrooms and bathrooms upstairs and living area down stairs. The master bedroom has a private ensuite, a split king bed which can be made up into a king or...Read more
3 Flora Gardens
Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
Additional Location Information
Location Type Beach, Ocean, Tropical
Rates shown in $ USD (Rental listed originally in AUD) (change)
|Rate Summary||$195 - $254||$195 - $254||$1,366 - $1,776||$5,464 - $7,103||5 nights|
|Jun. 1 2012 - Oct. 31 2012
|Nov. 1 2012 - Dec. 13 2012
|Dec. 14 2012 - Jan. 31 2013
|Feb. 1 2013 - Mar. 28 2013
Low Season 1 2013
|Mar. 29 2013 - Apr. 28 2013
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the owner|
|Apr. 29 2013 - Jun. 20 2013
Low Season 2 2013
|Jun. 21 2013 - Oct. 31 2013
High Season 2013
|Nov. 1 2013 - Dec. 13 2013
Low Season 3 2013
|Dec. 14 2013 - Jan. 31 2014
|All Other Dates||$254||$254||$1,776||$7,103||5 nights|
|View all 10 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 02, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
First impressions count - let down by the basics!
We stayed at Villa Flora for 8 nights in September having trawled trip advisor extensively to avoid those with bad reviews. We chose this property based on previous reviews and the description of the agent Stayz Resorts. We were looking forward to a "boutique" style accommodation as opposed to the mainstream resorts crammed around a communal pool.
The villa is on a small block of 3 at the end of a residential road 10 minutes outside of town and ours was the nearest to the pool. The property is large and bright and spacious and is appointed very well with modern furnishings and fittings. That's the good news!
However there were several small details that were not attended to that detracted from the experience and let the property down.
Firstly on arrival we would have appreciated a small gesture of welcome. Nothing fancy, perhaps a cold bottle of juice or water in the fridge. We had been travelling for hours and some basic refreshment would have been very welcome. All we found was a tiny carton of UHT milk in the door of the fridge. (we have stayed at more basic accommodation and have often had some welcome gesture)
Instead we were confronted with a workman trying to fix a lock (unsuccessfully) and replace light bulbs. The agent showed us around the property and was keen to leave as soon as possible. And her explanation (or lack of it) of how to work the TV, stereo, air con, local area, amenities etc. was rushed and inadequate. There was also little or no information or guide for guests of what to do or where to go. All we found was a drawer stuffed with leaflets. This was just disappointing.
After the agent left we then discovered all the bed valences had been removed, not a train smash, but it made the beds look scruffy and half made. We also discovered the shower in the master bedroom had no water pressure in it and was not hot enough. It was like having a luke warm rain shower. To make it worse the shower handle came off in our hand every time. We ended up taking showers in the second shower across the corridor. This defeats the object of ensuite and really was the major bugbear of our stay. As there was no bathtub, having a good shower in the master bedroom is very important. The bathrooms also have no external windows or extractor fans and the air freshener devices fitted on the wall were empty.
Outside the patio had not been cleaned and was black with grease and grime. At this point we complained to the agent who sent the cleaners back within an hour. They managed to clean it up, but it took two of them and a lot of elbow grease to get it clean. We were too afraid to mention that the balcony to the master bedroom was also dirty. On the subject of the agent, we had cause to complain twice on our stay and they were not very receptive to our concerns in general and certainly offered no apology of any kind for our inconvenience. If only they were as keen to help us as they were when they booked the property and took our money!
Later we went for a swim and the pool was great, but again we were disappointed to find there were no sun loungers provided, so sun bathing by the pool was off the agenda.
There was also no cable TV and as such we would have appreciated at least some basic entertainment for the kids such as a few DVD’s or books and games. But again none provided. We resorted to renting from a local video store which was painful as their stock was in poor condition and the Dvd's didn't play properly.
All in all there were many small but important oversights that added up to a lot of irritation that quite frankly we didn't deserve on our holiday and that could have been so easily dealt with by some care and attention. My advice to the owners and agent, try to think about the property as if you were staying there with your family on a well deserved break!
This property has all the hallmarks of an "agent run" property with no local owners to provide the small touches that are necessary when you are advertising it as a “boutique” or "retreat" style accommodation...
Response from Michelle Jolley - 01/06/2013
Dear Andy F,
Thank you for your review on Villa 3 Flora Gardens – Port Douglas. Your review has been brought to the attention of the owner of the property.
In response to your review, I would like to reply.
Welcome Gesture – we supply a “Starter Pack” for guests just to get them started before they do their holiday grocery shopping – Tea, Coffee, Small Milk, Toilet Paper etc. Thank you for your suggestion of Cold Water, I do think this is a must and will ensure that this is followed through.
Agent Greeting – Our agency strives itself on professionalism, and I’m disappointed that you did not receive this upon your arrival. Regarding a tradesman at the property, minor issues do occur and we ensure that these issues are addressed as soon as possible and in a shortest amount of time to minimise the impact on your holiday.
Regarding information, prior to your arrival you were emailed all the information relating to the property and Port Douglas. There is a copy of the Compendium in the villa for guest use. We have now added a new Map for the guests to use should they require it.
Valances – The beds do not have valances as they are decorative, please refer to the website photos.
Shower Handle – Thank you for bring this to our attention, this has now been rectified.
Bathrooms – The property does not have a bath, please refer back to the website. The showers are working fine, there was nothing wrong with them. The bathrooms have no external windows as is with a hotel bathroom (the bathroom is against a sold wall and the bedrooms). Regarding the extractor fans, we do not have them in the tropics because of the humidity it causes too much mould to grow. We have replaced the air fresheners.
Sun Lounges – There are no sun lounges in the pool area – please refer to the website photos.
Entertainment – As per the website, we do note state that we supply entertainment (DVD’s, Books, Games etc)
Quebec City, Canada
Lovely vacation rental right off the beach
We had a lovely time at Flora Gardens.
The house was spacious and clean and had all the amenities needed for an 8 day stay.
We used the pool, the BBQ, the outdoor shower... it was great fun.
We especially appreciate the gate around the pool because of our toddler.
The house however is very "loud" there are no curtains to absorb noise and everything makes a noise, turning on and off the tv or air condition, when the dishwasher stops, the plates, the counter top, crazy noisy. We tried to be as quite as we could, but with a toddler it was quite the challenge...
We had a great time. But if you rent the house with a toddler, make sure to get two gates for the staircase.
The owner was nice enough to lend us a high chair and baby cot. That was very appreciated.
We had a great time, the house is just off the beach, you just need to cross a park with a children play area and you are there. The fact that this street is a cul-de-sac is great as almost no cars pass by.
We would recommend this vacation rental to anyone.
A group of 4 of us shared this place over Christmas and New Year and had a wonderful stay. We never saw another soul which meant we never even had to share the pool area and it was quiet and relaxing for us all. The place had everything we could have needed, a wonderfully equipped kitchen and was clean and modern. No complaints, would thoroughly recommend it!
Superb villa, modern, spacious, well appointed, luxurious, pool
We were a party of 2 adults and 4 teenagers and spent a week in Port Douglas and absolutely loved this villa. The villa is only 2 minutes walk across a reserve to the beautiful sands of Four Mile Beach. The pool is just outside the villa with a lovely decked pergola. As only 3 villas share the pool (our villa was closest to the pool) we were very lucky that we were the only ones there and had exclusive use! The beds in the villa were very comfortable. The property is very well appointed, with a big spacious kitchen which opens out to the living/dining area. The property has high ceilings and the downstairs area felt big and airy. Bathrooms are modern and clean. We cooked our meals most days and the kitchen is well equipped for preparing meals. We used the BBQ and even cooked a roast in the BBQ. There is an outside dining area and we had some of our meals outdoors which was great with the pool just next to it. We had a "resort holiday" without having to pay resort prices as the villa is inexpensive compared to what we would have paid for the 6 of us if we stayed in one of the more popular resorts. Covered car parking in our own garage. We had everything we needed at the villa and went to the shops (about 5 minutes drive away) to replenish our food supplies. There is a shuttle bus that goes to the center of town but we didn't use this as we had a car. We will definitely stay at Flora Gardens again when we next visit Port Douglas.
Only one of three units and situated right next to the pool and BBQ area. It was like there was no-one else there. High quality fittings and furniture, like staying at home. Very clean and tidy. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to other families. A little way out of town but that is what we were looking for, somewhere relatively quiet. Michelle met us with the keys and gave us a quick run down on things and was very helpful. The only downer was that the sliding fly-screen door in the main bedroom didn't work properly. Would recommend keeping an eye on maintenance issues (husband is a builder)! Next time we're back at Port Douglas, we will be contacting Michelle.