|Minimum Stay||1 night|
|Living space||1400 square feet|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyYes
|Theme||Adventure, Historic, Romantic, Downtown, Ocean, River|
Description from the owner
Escape to the Sunshine Coast! 2 lovely cottages located in the heart of Powell River, BC. Fantastic ocean views and gardens featured annually in the Garden Tour. Full kitchens, bathrooms with tubs, high speed internet, fireplaces and covered barbecue areas. Rates include a fresh breakfast basket. From the single traveler to the group looking for a relaxing holiday, we have what you need.
Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
(Property location is approximate)
Additional Location Information
Boxwood Cottage is located in the center of town on one acre of beautiful garden, Walking distance to the bakery, restaurants, beach , ferry, art gallery, and park.
Ocean view on the front and garden view on the back. there is a large lawn for events and wedding party. Many outdoor sitting areas.
Location Type Downtown, Ocean, River
Rates shown in $ USD (Rental listed originally in CAD) (change)
|Rate Summary||$145||$145||$871||$2,614 - $3,485||1 night|
|Sep. 1 2011 - Dec. 31 2012||$145||$145||-||-||1 night|
|Apr. 1 2013 - Dec. 31 2013
|All Other Dates||$145||$145||$871||$3,485||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the owner|
- Tax rate - 12% of rental - Tax
- Additional guests - $24 / person - Per-Person Adjustment - Fee applies to parties of more than 1 guest(s)
Additional notes from owner
Boxwood Cottage I rate based on double occupancy. Add $25.00/night for each additional bedroom used.
There is a 12% HST on top of the rental fee. Cleaning deposit required. It is fully refundable at check out time.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 01, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Tranquil, relaxing, private accommodations!
Very private accommodations in a character home. Beautiful gardens, view of the ocean. Close to the ferry. I would stay again.
Gorgeous! Looking forward to our next visit.
We stayed here for a week. It was a lovely place for us the stay. The kids had a wonderful time playing around the garden. It is a lovely garden with many paths leading here and there to traverse. There are many lovely places to sit and enjoy the view or simply to take a casual stroll though and enjoy the serenity.
So first the gardens are wonderful. The amount of work to maintain these is wonderful and I really enjoyed talking with Diana about different aspects of gardening. She gave us a tour all around and we all enjoyed that.
The house is older and has lots of charm. The kids loved the bedrooms upstairs. The one is smaller and just seemed the right size for the little ones. All the bed were very comfortable and had lovely bedding, nice smooth sheets and down duvets. We were all very comfortable at night.
The kitchen was great the stove and fridge worked well and there was lots of pots and pans for us to use. There is a BBQ and outdoor grill also available. Great for cooking crabs!
The view from the property is breathtaking. Its been a couple weeks now and I still miss sitting there in the evening with a glass of wine. Such a lovely relaxing place to stay. We look forward to our next trip.
Lastly the jewel of the Boxwood Cottage is Diana herself. She is right next door if you need any info but I never felt that she was intrusive. Very quickly I felt like we were visiting an old friend. She is very busy with the gardens and keeping up the property but was always willing to chat with us and even joke a little with the kids.
Looking forward to going back again soon!
British Columbia, Canada
We stayed in the treehouse for two nights. It is rustic, but everything that is required is available. There was WiFi available, but we took advantage in order to have an unplugged vacation. The gardens were amazing and there are a multitude of relaxing enclaves which we enjoyed. If you like rustic, and you like whimsy, the Treehouse is an ideal stay. Highly recommended!
What a find. Dianna Wood has several options for sleeping, from a secluded treehouse to an English cottage and other options in between. My family of four stayed in the suites, part of the main house. Three fine bedrooms a tiny kitchenette and access to fabulous gardens and outdoor space. Hammocks, gazebos, swings and luscious garden eye candy. The honeysuckle hips were tasty too,Dianna gave us some homemade raspberry preserves, showed us where to boil the crab for our outdoor dinner and told us where to buy the crabs as well. My only complaint is that I didn't have enough time to really see it all. And I tried.
Fyi My check took almost 2 weeks to make into Canada from Colorado.
there is no doubt that the property is amazing, every nook is filled with delightful surprises. The accommodation however needs a bit of work. It is a very old house and while it is adequate, it is loosing it's appeal. Best to spend as much time as possible outside! The tree house definitely has a mold/mildew problem and needs new bedding and a good airing out. The cobwebs threaten to take over the buildings but the bedding and towels were clean. Think, very rustic!
A Beautiful, Comfortable & Quiet Getaway!
This is my 4th stay at the Boxwood Cottages and I have always thoroughly enjoyed my time spent here. The suites have 3 full bedrooms with double beds, a kitchenette, living room and bath. The setting is beautiful, quiet and comfortable. The owner is gracious and personable. I love the organic gardens and the variety of plants and trees is interesting. The place is clean and very comfortable. The location is excellent with a view of the ocean. A great place to relax with a morning coffee or an evening glass of wine in the garden. I look forward to coming back. My biggest dissapointment is that I never get to spend enough time here!
Dirty, Damp, and Completely Uncomfortable; Not like pics on webs
First off, the landscaping in this property is amazing. I would come here to take pictures for weddings, graduations, etc.
Unfortunately, it appears that all the owner's time has been spent working on the garden and the intertior of the Boxwood Cottage has become dilapidated and in serious need of renovation.
Myself and 3 other colleagues were booked here for a business trip for five nights. We were to pay close to $200 a night for the four "bedroom" (though there are really only 3 bedrooms, with 4 beds, as the attic bedrooms do not have doors). We chose the place based upon the internet site which makes the rooms look great, and on the two tripadvisor reviews that currently exist - though are a couple of years old.
When we arrived the owner was out of town, so the neighbour let us in. We noticed right away that the interior did not look like the images that are posted online in the advertisement. The place was literally dirty, with cobwebs everywhere, dead bugs on nearly every window sill, and the house smelled incredibly musty/moldy. Much of the paint is peeling, the peel-and-stick tiles (popular in the 50's) are curling up in the living room and many of them have been removed, and some of the floor boards in the upstairs are soft. There has undoubtedly been water damage to this place at some time. I suspect that the random blankets on the ceiling have been strategically placed to hide the worst of this. As we were extremely busy, however, we decided to simply 'rough' it out and stay here for the five nights and overlook these issues (many of these issues we sort of "discovered" the longer we stayed there).
Unfortunately the problems kept compiling. None of us could get the internet to connect, which was especially a pain since for our work we need to be connected. This meant that we spent a lot of time (and money) working outside of the home in coffee shops. A big issue was also the fact that the wiring is outdated, with only a few of the outlets actually having grounds (three prongs), so we could only plug our laptops into a few places (the living room and kitchen); not the bedrooms.
After a few nights of staying here, we decided to leave early because this place is simply unlivable. Each night we would spent time clearing away new spiderwebs that had been created by spiders during the day. The worst occurence, however, was that we discovered mice had been getting into our food, most of which we had to throw out (which cost us considerable expense).
As it is, this building needs some serious attention. Despite airing it out for three days, the smell of mold remained which suggests to me a health hazard. If I had my child with me, I would not have stayed here one night. Additionally the mice (we discovered a hole with mice droppings where they are getting into the pantry) is an issue that needs to be dealt with.
I was also extremely disappointed by the fact that the photos online certainly do not match up with the experience once inside; to me this reeks of false advertising. I hope the owner decides to take these complaints seriously and shuts down the building until all the above issues are properly addressed.
Response from Diana Wood - 07/14/2012
I appreciate your feedback. I'm very sorry that you did not enjoy yourself at Boxwood Cottage and as we discussed previously, I have comp-ed your entire stay.
My cottage is a simple, summer cottage set in beautiful surroundings. You were my first guests of the season, and in the future I will ensure the window sills are vacuumed of any dried insects when the cottage is opened for the season.
I took your concerns very seriously. I have had the premises inspected by certified mold specialist and some minor repairs have been made. For the record, no mold health hazards were discovered.
I have also had a repairman install a new door sweep to keep any out any little critters from squeezing under the door and I have upgraded the wireless Internet access for better reception.
Again, I'm sorry that you were not comfortable during your stay.
Owner and proprietor
Spruce Grove, AB
Lovely old house, Location with a sunset view, Lillies galore
The hosts are most welcoming and the breakfast basket much appreciated. The original Boxwood Cottage is a beautiful character home that has been well decorated to maintain its original warmth and feel of what was a family home. The kitchen is fairly well equipped and the BBQ and patio tables in the garden make for easy evening dining. The location is close to all of Powell River's amenities and has amazing sunset views over the ocean. There are great beaches and hiking close by. Without a doubt the gardens are stunning here. This is master gardening and every little corner brings a blend of beauty and harmony. There are flowers to wake your spirit and the gentle sound of a stream to calm you. The garden is the best.
Solutions Staffing Inc
Beautiful property with the most welcoming owners
As a company we have the need for a home away from home for our staff. I am glad we have found it in Boxwood Cottages, Anthony and Diana have been great to us and our staff. Anything we needed they were there immediatly to help us with or offer suggestions. I have to say that of all the places our staff have stayed at they have overwhelming voted Boxwood Cottages Number 1 on their list.
Thank you again Anthony and Diana we will always return.